My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
221B Baker Street
Store:  Strategy Games
Series:  221B Baker Street
Theme:  Sherlock Holmes
Genre:  Logic & Deduction
Format:  Board Games

221B Baker Street


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Play Time Players
80 minutes 2-6

Manufacturer(s): John Hansen Company

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

221B Baker Street is the London address of the world's most celebrated detective, Sherlock Holmes, and his dedicated companion, Dr. Watson. In this game you start at 221B and travel through the streets and alleys of London picking up clues and attempting to solve the most intriguing cases Holmes and Watson have ever faced.

Each player assumes the role of Holmes and matches wits with the other players to determine who possesses the most skillful deductive powers. The first player to figure out the correct answers to a particular mystery or crime, return to 221B and announce the solution, is the winner.

Zoom In Cover Image: 221B Baker Street
Close Zoomed Image a221B Baker Streetb
Cover

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): John Hansen Company

  • Year: 1977

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 80 minutes

  • Weight: 610 grams

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.5 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Great game... entertaining and highly interactive
April 04, 2005
This is one of the greatest board games I've ever played. Not only is it fun and exciting, but the unique cases make it worth playing again and again. This is a timeless game that, if you can find it, is well worth any price. The game is afoot!
 
 
 
 
 
by Ryan B
Almost the ultimate detective game.
February 04, 2004

Had to review this one. Picked up a copy in England in 2003. Widely considered a sleeper in our collection. EVERYONE who has played this game with us, loves it.

Similar to Clue in that you have to travel from room to room... but to find clues, you have to solve riddles once you get there... and then you still have to put it all together to get back to 221B Baker St. to win.

The only problem is that once you have completed the cases that come with the game (20-40 depending if you have a U.S. version or U.K. version) then it is pretty much in effect, all over.

You have to dig to find expansion cases to buy... but it can be done. (20 expansion cases in a set...)

Overall, a great game if you can find it.

 
 
 
 
 
by Jacob
This is a great game
June 18, 2003

I am a detecive my self and i dont usually play board games but i must say this is the best game i have ever played. the cases are really well thought of and certainly the clues and places where great. There is one thing that could have made the game a bit more enjoyable and that is if the board and the places where a bit more colourful.

 
 
 
 
 
The Ultimate Game
March 29, 2003

this greate complex game is the ultimate gmae. it is the original version of clue with 10 times more advantages and adittions. you find unexpected things at every cornor. if you are a fan of mysterys and wish you were the detective you know what to do. unlike clue you can really solve things instead of geuss work and oviece ideas.

 
 
 
 
 
Another great game for two
June 21, 2008

This is a really terrific game for couples, even if one of the two is not an avid gamer.

I recall this game sitting on the shelf at the hobby store where I spent far too much time while growing up in the 1970s. The game appeared to sell well, an assumption confirmed by the production of 9 (!) expansion sets of twenty mysteries each. Still, not my cup of tea, I thought.

Fast forward thirty years and a copy finds its way onto a shelf at a used bookstore, comes home with us, and becomes the stand-alone nightly game for weeks. The combination of word puzzles, brain teasers, and the demand that you actually use some imagination to connect the dots makes this a game that absolutely anyone can love. Great atmospheric fun. Especially enjoyable is the opportunity to spout off your theory of the crime while doing your worst impression of Basil Rathbone.

The only problem, from my point of view, is the boring mechanic of rolling a single die and crawling around the board. A second minor detraction (only from the point-of-view of two-player games) is the lock and key mechanic. This rule, which allows players to close-off clues to opponents, who must spend a key card to access them, really only makes strategic sense for games involving three or more players, since both players begin each game with both a lock and a key... although I am still trying a few angles in this regard.

This is a wine and cheese game that plays quickly, invites play for all kinds of people, and makes a perfect game for couples. We will be buying all nine expansions, which are still available on line as it turns out.

 
 
 
 
 
Fine 'old school' game
September 02, 2002

I just played this little game again (it had been nearly 10 years since the last playing), and I really enjoyed it. Sure, it is from 1977 and has the 'problem' of roll-the-dice move-around-the-board, so poor rolling can cause a player some grief, but it's still a hoot.

Each player rolls a die (like Clue) and moves to locations where clues can be found (they're very short) and when they've visited enough locations to solve the mystery (read aloud at the beginning), they race back to 221-B Baker Street to announce their solution aloud, look up the answer, and as often as not, bow out of the game as one vital piece is incorrect.

I guess, now that we have all the German games, with their 'lawful good' mechanics (to steal a term from D&D), one could print movement cards of dice rolls and allow each player to identical sets. Or use a common die roll so that no one suffers from poor rolling. But even as it is, it's a fun little game, if you're looking for something different than the style of game that has been in vogue for the past 10 years. After all, when the Settlers and Medicis and even Hare & Tortoises of the world came around, this game was already in full stride.

 
 
 
 
 
by David
Clue for Grownups
April 06, 2000

First you read a short story then you have to solve the puzzle. Who did what, with what, why, where etc. Different problems with different stories keep it fresh. You travel around London picking up clues that may tell you one of the answers or just point you in the right direction. There are a lot of additional cases available so this game will last a long time.

 
 
 
 
 
Better than clue brain teaser
February 18, 1999

This game follows a similar process as does clue, but with greater intrigue and more moxie. You still visit locations to gather clues, but you are given facts or riddles that help you answer identified solutions. I played this game 20 years ago in high school and now as an adult and still get a good thrill.

Other Resources for 221B Baker Street:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.