My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
The Farming Game
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Family Games
Theme:  Farming / Ranching
Format:  Board Games

The Farming Game

List Price: $34.95
Your Price: $31.99
(8% savings!)
(Worth 3,199 Funagain Points!)

This item is out of stock indefinitely []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available! We do not expect it within the 30-day period for .


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 60-180 minutes 2-6

Manufacturer(s): The Weekend Farmer Company

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Players harvest crops with the roll of the dice; dodge droughts, uncertain markets and insects; buy land and cattle; wheel and deal. Always different and always a challenge. Build the best farm in the county. A truly rewarding time that entertains, teaches and is just plain fun.

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): The Weekend Farmer Company

  • Year: 1979

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 60 - 180 minutes

  • Ages: 10 and up

  • Weight: 1,256 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is a domestic item.

You might be interested in these related products as well:
The Farming Card Game (Restocking)
(7% savings!)

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.1 in 16 reviews

Sort reviews by:

So happy to find this...
May 01, 2009

My husband got this game back in the late '70s or early '80s and grew up playing it. I remember the first time he asked me to join his family and play it. I thought for sure it was going to be seriously lame. The original box is not very attractive and theirs was falling apart. I couldn't believe how much fun we ended up having. And being from the Pacific Northwest (USA) it's fun to see names of places we know.

My kids now get to play farmer sometimes, but as our game is so old we have to be really careful with it so we don't play often. I am totally buying this new copy it seems like the same old version with little to no changes except the packaging.

I tried getting a copy for Christmas at one of the mall stores but every time I went in they were sold out again!

Thank you Funagain Games for helping us find old favorites and new quirky games to entertain our families. Kudos!

by Thomas
If you like the idea, you'll love the game
January 19, 2009

This is in my mind THE ideal game for a laid-back evening with good- humored family and friends. The official version is too long, but it allows you to shorten it.

This game is not Monopoly, Life, or Candyland, all of which are games I hate. To compare this game to "Monopoly" is like comparing a barrel of flour to a barrel of gunpowder. They look similar but feel totally different. This game is certainly not very competitive; you simply play as neighboring farmers. At the same time though, it is involving and engaging, as each player battles the fates to scrape a living. This is great fun if you have any sense for irony, and can stand everyone having a good laugh at your many misfortunes.

If your or your friends like being passively entertained, DO NOT buy this game.

If you want to pretend to be a farmer, this is the only way to go.

by EricL
Great Game
November 16, 2008

My dad got this game for christmas one year when I was still a kid. All of us loved it. We played it so much the sticker things wouldn't stick to the board anymore. I'm glad that I was able to find it.

Coldfoot Sounds Bitter
November 21, 2003

He seems to have a bias against so-called 'luck-based American style games.' Well, in a world where diversity should be embraced, there's room for luck. The Farming Game puts you at the mercy of a die roll, a microcosm of the fates you tempt when going into farming yourself. Do you want to know if this game is an accurate model? The World Bank translated it into Russian to assist in the privatization of former Soviet farms. If you want strategy, play Diplomacy (all 18 hours, you won't regret it), but the Farming Game is perfect for what it is: a game about farming.

Personally, growing up we had countless hours of fun with this game. My friends, who thought it was goign to be stupid, would want me to bring it everywhere we got together.

Excellent: Fun, Educational, and Kind-spirited
August 13, 2003

The Farming Game is an excellent game for family and friends. It is realistic and (unlike monopoly) invites neighbors to show one another kindness and build community through barting, loaning, or even giving gifts to those in need.

Also, for those who like a shorter game, edit the rules: make the winner the first to $120,000 without debt or simply set a timer and count each other's assets minus any debts--declaring the one with the greatest total the winner.

Welcome to farming!
December 03, 2002

My husband & I are farmers ourselves...& to play this game is like what we do in real life. Farming is not an easy life at is depicted when playing this game. Yet, we have a blast every time we play! We have introduced it to several friends & now have them hooked on it as well. Alot of farmers can relate to this game...others may find it frustrating. I say, 'welcome to our world!' Maybe with this game, people who don't farm , will get a sense of what real farmers go through every year of their life. It's based on real life. That's what makes it fun for us. We love it!

Great Game!
February 09, 2002

Was introduced to the game from a great friend of ours. Thought it was close to monopoly, but We liked it better. The only problem we have, is that you can find the game anywhere to buy it. We are still looking. We loved the game a lot though and made mention of the tiles sticking together, friends of ours said to clean them and the board with a little window cleaner and either tissue paper or paper towels. Wonderful family game.

Great family entertainment
December 11, 2001

We have owned this game for years and have enjoyed it very much. Last year my son and my son-in-law both asked for it for Christmas. I was disapointed not to be able to find it in any stores around the area. We had gotten our original game at a farm store. I found the address on the box and called to order new copies and also found the website. This year, our middle son has requested it, so I am ordering another one. This is a game the whole family can enjoy. It is a great farming version of Monopoly. It gives city folks a taste of what farmers go through to make a buck.

love this game!
December 01, 2001

I am an urban girl all the way. This is as close to farming as I ever want to get, and I LOVE it! It's not like Monopoly at all except that it takes a long time to play. It sounds like it could be boring, but trust me, it's great fun and you'll have a great time!

Classic Family Game
November 24, 2001

As a kid, I was a HUGE Monopoly fan. It is no surprise, then, that when I was introduced to the game at a friend's house, I fell in love. I doubt being originally from Washington state (the game's locale) has anything to do with it.

The game can get frustrating at times, especially when you consistently roll past a certain key harvest. However, you'll feel proud when you've bought a ridge full of cattle and harvesting equipment in the form of those fun little stickums.

The very first time I played, we removed all of the bad cards... and it was STILL a fun game! I haven't played it now for at least a year, because I didn't get it for Christmas ;-), but I really enjoy this game. It is definitely hard to find.

Fun but flawed
March 08, 2004

Having grown up on a farm, I can positively enforce the authenticity and realism of this game.

I feel the components are good, the directions clear,and the execution of theme excellent..The best part of the directions state 'Feel free to make up your own ranch rules.' This is important, because as written, the rules make for a very long and frustrating game- just as farming so often is. Rather than a monetary amount, my family of 4 adults felt that a defined length in years was more appropriate. We also felt that the acreage of fruit and number of cattle available needed to be adjusted. We also felt that the option to buy cards ,while accumulating value for net worth, needed to be recycled. I gave it 4 stars for the following reasons-1- execution of theme 2-appropriate element of chance 3- quality of production 4-replayability. I deducted a point for the need to amend the directions. I also agree with a previous review, there is no element of strategy or required player interaction, but that clearly was not the intention of the game. This is meant to be a role playing game, and for that purpose, it succeeds exceptionally well.

by A Real Farm Kid
Good if you like to have a view into the world of farming
December 02, 2006

The Farming Game is a game based on farming and it shows within the game! In this game, as in farmer life, a farmer is only successful when the market is kind to him and he doesn't have dust bowls for fields. Thus, you get a game based on luck and a long play time which is suited for persons who like to talk a lot and focus little on the game they are playing. The Farming Game is a very well themed game but only good for kids and people who like strategy lacking games.

Monopoly for farmers--only more fun
July 22, 2001

I like the fact that you can lose money on a crop, just like in real life, and a lot of it is based on chance, just like in real life. The prices are way off, though. Maybe that's because I have the original '79 version. :) I may be biased about this game, cuz we've had it as long as I can remember, but I think it's in the top 50% of the games out there.

Only rural folks will enjoy this game, and only for an hour
July 09, 2003

I played the Farming Game quite often when I was a kid. It tended to last too long for what it offered, we kids got bored long before it was finished. I bought it as an adult thinking it would be a good starter game to entice my fiancee (now wife) into playing games. She grew up on a farm, so I figured she could appreciate the farming humor incorporated into the game. She enjoyed it, but it still lasts too long. Now we routinely play games and the Farming Game is rarely one of them. Thankfully, she has grown to appreciate German style strategy games over luck based American games.

Each player starts with one hay field and one wheat field. You roll the dice, and move around the board. One trip around the board represents one year, each space is one week of the year. As you land on harvest spaces you earn money and eventually buy more land, cattle, or farm equipment. But, after each harvest you must pay expenses, frequently losing money or breaking even. Land and cattle are represented by small, vinyl squares, that you stick on the middle of the board on your farm. In the winter you can harverst nothing, but may have expenses.

The guy who invented this game was probably brilliant, although I doubt he had any exposure to good games, only standard fare such as Monopoly and Life. In fact, the Farming Game might be best described as a cross between those two games. There is little player interaction, little strategy, and lots of luck (much like real farming). After you have played for an hour or so much of the humor in the game has lost its value.

The board is set up like Monopoly, and you collect money as you pass 'Go'. In the Farming Game 'Go' is 'Christmas Vacation' and the money you collect are the wages from your part-time job in town. Spaces are color coded, similar to Monopoly, except colors represent harvest times. For example, fruit harvests are red groups, wheat and corn are yellow groups, hay harvests are green, livestock sales are brown. Instead of 'Chance' and 'Community Chest' cards you have 'Expense' and 'Farmer's Fate' cards. 'Expense' cards are drawn at evey harvest and 'Farmer's Fate' cards are drawn when you land on a space that directs you to draw a card.

As I was saying, the fellow who invented this game was obviously a smart and funny farmer. Only a farmer could think this stuff up. Each player starts the game in debt to the bank in order to buy their first farm. (Most games start you at $0 or give you money to start, that isn't real life). The IRS might garnish your earnings for the year, leaving you to pay expenses. Dear hunters may damage your land. You might pay hundreds of dollars per acre for insect damage. You might get paid by an oil company to drill gas wells on your land. The cattle inspector might order your whole herd slaughtered because of disease. If you do not see humor (at least irony) in this do not buy the Farming Game.

Because everybody is familiar with the Monopoly style of play it is a good game to play with (rural) non-gamers during a small get-together. Anybody and everybody who grew up or worked on a farm will get laughs out of the game. However, I suspect only people familiar with farm life will care for it.

Glorified Monopoly
April 01, 2001

We bought this game because it was highly rated but we were severely disappointed. The concept is good and the game is strongly themed, but it was way too frustrating. It's mostly a math game with lots of percentage calculation. One frustrating thing is the large amount of bad luck in the game. You (the farmer) are always getting hit with this disaster and that expense (some of them extrememly damaging) and it's too easy to get a mediocre or non-existent harvest (and therefore no income). You spend most of the game with no cash and lots of debt.

Unless you're a mathematician or a hardcore Monopoly lover, skip this one....

Only the theme has any value at all
December 04, 2001

I found the concept of building a farm interesting, so I bought this game. Unfortunately, it was a terrible experience.

In a nutshell, you just move your token around and around the board. Frequently, you have an opportunity to harvest crops. You do some fourth-grade math, consult a table (also equation-based), and determine whether you lost or gained money.

This game has two similarities to Monopoly: a square board and paper money. I would have given it two stars, but the little vinyl pieces got stuck together after a few months and now the game is ruined.

Other Resources for The Farming Game:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.