My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Phase 10
 
Store:  Card Games, Family Games
Edition:  Phase 10
Series:  Phase 10
Genre:  Set Collection
Format:  Card Games

Phase 10

mattel


List Price: $7.50
Your Price: $5.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 599 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Ages Players
8+ 2-6

Designer(s): Kenneth Johnson

Manufacturer(s): Mattel

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship MATTEL products outside the United States.

Product Description

A Rummy-Type Card Game with a Challenging and Exciting Twist!

The Challenge: Be the first player to complete 10 melds (phases):

  1. 2 sets of 3
  2. 1 set of 3 & 1 run of 4
  3. 1 set of 4 & 1 run of 4
  4. 1 run of 7
  5. 1 run of 8
  6. 1 run of 9
  7. 2 sets of 4
  8. 7 cards of one color
  9. 1 set of 5 & 1 set of 2
  10. 1 set of 5 & 1 set of 3

The Twist: The Phase to be completed is specific for each hand. Those that complete the phase advance to the next, but those that have not must try again.

The Most Challenging Card Game You'll Ever Play!

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Kenneth Johnson

  • Manufacturer(s): Mattel

  • Year: 1992

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 180 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #173

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.1 in 11 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by karen b
best card game around
June 24, 2008

we have been playing phase 10 for ten plus years. its a great family game. every year we go to maine on vacation for 2 weeks and play every night. the kids cant get enough of phase 10. my family has added a new rule. if the discarded card is one you need or you are just looking for the top card, you can knock and pick up both the top card and the discard. but look out if the person before you wants it they get it first because their turn comes before yours.

 
 
 
 
 
by jen
Phase 10 Masters Twist
May 21, 2008

I have been playing phase 10 for years. I love the game. I have taught everyone I know how to play. My sister and I play masters a lot but we put a twist on it. We take all 40 of the phase cards and shuffle them together and deal out ten to each player. You don't get to look or choose. You turn the top card of the phase deck up and that is the phase that you have to complete. We think it makes it more challenging. To make it longer you can deal out all 40 to just two players. My luck I always get stuck with all the 2 sets of 4, while my sister gets run of 7 and 2 sets of three! But it is more fun that way!

 
 
 
 
 
by Phase10lover
I love Phase 10
June 26, 2007

I absolutely love phase 10. Me and my family play it every time we go on a trip. Its such a fun game filled with strategy galore! We will be going out of town next week to visit friends, who also love Phase 10. Its a great family game. Hope you and your family have fun playing Phase 10 too.

 
 
 
 
 
by Cori
10 extra phases
August 30, 2006

Hello everyone. I would like to say that my family and really love playing this game. We play the dice one everyday. I give this game a 5 star rating. This game is very frustrating which makes us want to play it that much more. Adding the extra 10 phases to it makes even more challenging and most times longer to play. There are times when it does not take very long to play but that is only once in a great while. We decided that only having the original 10 phases was getting kind of boring but after adding the extra 10, WOW! Very fun Very challenging I recommend it to everyone, play with the 20 phases and see how much fun you will have. My stepson who is 7 also loves to play this game. It is definitely for all ages. Bravo to the creator of this game.

 
 
 
 
 
Great Game but VERY addictive!
August 29, 2004

Just played my second game and LOVE it. Played my first game at a family reunion last week. Both games took us 4 hours to play and we loved every minute of it. We laughed and joked alot which made our already close family closer.

Would playing with 2 decks make a game of 6-8 players go faster? Playing with 1 deck seems to take foreever...

 
 
 
 
 
Great, great game
June 28, 2004

I've been playing this game for years, probably the past 10 or so. It is the best way my family and I have spent time together. It is also possible, if you don't have a deck, to use UNO cards, just changing the value of a few cards.

Anyway, this game is my favorite, by far, and I am a huge card player!

 
 
 
 
 
Best game!!
June 13, 2004

This game is so much fun! My friends and I play it all the time, it's a great way to pass time when there is nothing to do. It's really easy to learn and I have never met a person who doesn't love to play it. Watch out though, it is habit forming! You should make it available to play online with other people!

 
 
 
 
 
by Angel
Phase Ten is the best
April 14, 2004

My whole family loves to play phase ten and i can naem about 25 friends who do also. The game is awesome. My mom has been playing it for abot 15-20 years. we still have the old version bu tfreaked out and bought the new ones when they camre out. We even have the tin one also but my mom hasn't opened it yet!!

We especially like all the different phases and how you can leave eachother behind.

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
average
January 03, 2010

a fun game but loses steam - after a while it becomes redundant when everyone is drawing cards again and again, waiting for that one card they need. good filler for 30 min or so.. but we always get bored before we make it to phase ten. It's hard to keep everyone on board for that long. We don't pull this game out unless we're having game night with beginner gamers. There are much better card games out there.

Pros: easy to learn, play anywhere.

 
 
 
 
 
by Tom
Should be called 'Phase 10 Hours'
August 22, 2004

The mechanics are good, but this game seems to take forever to play. Most of the time seems to be spent drawing cards waiting for that one particular card to appear. There are card games out there that have more fun for much less time: Wizard, Rage; even Yahtzee, which is similar, will finish long before you're done with this.

 
 
 
 
 
by Joshua St Amand
Very Little Thinking Involved
June 01, 2009

I played phase 10 for the first time the other day, and I was not impressed.

Once you arrange the cards in your hand, and see what you need, it takes about 5 sec to complete your turn... here's what every turn consists of:

Look at the most recently discarded card, do you need it? Yes/No... If Yes, pick it up and either play your phase or discard a useless card. If no continue:

Draw a card. Do you need it? If yes, play your phase, then discard in the following order: SKIP card, 10 or 11 or 12 card, 9 and below.

Repeat until someone gets all ten phases. It is a very narrow game, allowing for very little strategy.

Warning: games take WAY longer than they should.

Games could be made shorter and more involved by adding these house rules: allow players to "swap" their cards in hand for played wild cards... say if someone played four of a kind using a wild card (played out three 1's and a wild), another player can replace that wild card with their own 1. Also, dont do the phases in any given order. That might make games a little quicker.

Even with these "improvements" I would recommend picking up a different game like Wizard, Cribbage, Make A Million, Eucher which all have lots more thinking involved.

That said, if you like really simple games, this is for you.

Other Resources for Phase 10:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.