My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Survive!
Close Zoomed Image Survive!

Survive!


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Atlantis


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 45-60 minutes 2-4

Designer(s): J Courtland-Smith, C Courtland-Smith

Manufacturer(s): Parker Brothers

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

A volcano has erupted and an island is sinking into the sea. Unless they escape in time, all the inhabitants are doomed! In this gamem try to lead your "people" from a sinking islandto safety on any of the four island nearby. You can get there by boat or by swimming. But it will be a perilous journey as you avoid serpents, sharks and whales! When the volcano explodes, the player with the most survivor points wins the game

Unique playing pieces, ocean perils, strategy and luck combine to make Survive! a fun and exciting adventure game for the entire family.

Zoom In Front Image: Survive!
Close Zoomed Image aSurvive!b
Front
Zoom In Other Image: Survive!
Close Zoomed Image aSurvive!b
Other

Product Information

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.6 in 7 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent full of backstabing nailbiting fun
February 01, 2004

Survive is possibly one of the greatest games of betrayal and teamwork ever made. Best of all it takes minutes to learn and every time you play is different. PLus it only takes about an hour to play and you can add up your points as you win and play multiple times. Yadda.

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent Game for 4
October 11, 2003

With absolute replayability, 'screw your neighbor' factor and fun graphics, this is one to be reissued. I have not played Atlantis, but it does look similar. How fun is it to use sharks, whales and sea serpents to eat all your friend's islands survivors!!!

My friends and I had a great time with some other games, building repoire and having lots of fun, but then we played this game last and we all left mad (Mockingly so!) at each other. 'Thanks for dunking all my people in the water, Lee!!' 'Well they were all good swimmers John!'

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent, excellent strategy game for all ages
February 17, 2002

This is not Risk. This is not Acquire. It doesn't take long to play, and it doesn't reward deep analysis of the board or the long term benefits of a given move. And that's what makes it so great.

It's the perfect beginner strategy game, and it's always, always fun to play. It's a fantastic balancing act of luck and forethought, looking out for yourself and attacking your opponents. It's fast paced, and full of twists and turns.

Plus who can resist moving one of those fanged sea serpents onto a space with another player's boat, full of frantic people tokens! : )

 
 
 
 
 
by Joe
Not just for kids.
February 14, 2002

I had this game ever since I was younger.I remember me and my friends used to play it quite a bit.Now my 7 year old daughter loves to play this one.Do not be mistaken though this is a game not only for kids.There is a good deal of strategy and the chance to wreak havoc upon your opponents people is such good fun.If you can find this game get a copy.There is also a similar version called 'escape from atlantis' or 'atlantis' I do believe.I have not played those editions so I am unaware of the gameplay differences.

 
 
 
 
 
by Brad N.
A classic that is hard to find
January 22, 2007

I had Survive! as a kid and loved it. About 6 years ago, I decided to look for a copy because the one I had as a child was long gone. It's hard to find and I eventually did win the bid for one on e-bay (I'm pretty sure this game is out of print now).

This is one of those old fashioned American board games that is more than just rolling dice and flipping cards. The theme and strategy is unique and makes for some tense moments. It is best when played with 4 players although 3 players isn't too bad. It should be noted that there is a fair amount of "being mean" in this game. As a result, those players that can't handle watching you swallow up their boat of three valuable survivors will not like this game.

With the island sinking into the ocean and sharks, whales and serpents coming after you, it's a challenge to "Survive!" Of all the games I played as a kid, I'm not sure if there is any that is better than this one.

 
 
 
 
 
by Bart
I almost forgot about this one!
January 23, 2002

Keith's review reminded me of this hysterical game from years past. He summed it up quite well but he didn't mention its potential for evil-doing and backstabbing. You get to control one of the aquatic denziens on your turn (determined by die roll I think...) You can send these beasts to destroy your opponent's boats and devour their fleeing survivors! The random determination of which monster you get to control avoids players from ganging up too much on a single victim.

I have fond, wonderful memories of this game! I think I'll comb EBAY for a copy.

 
 
 
 
 
Fast-paced simple strategy.
January 22, 2002

This is a simple strategy type game that even younger children can play. Quite a few elements combine to make for a really exciting board game. First, there is a time element. The island is sinking, so you must move your characters off the island quickly. Additionally, there are sharks, whales and sea serpents that must be avoided. Figuring out how to get your characters into boats, around the sea creatures and onto the safe islands makes for the strategic element. A very entertaining game that is fast-paced with more than two players. For two players, however, I recommend that about 6 of the island pieces be removed so that the game is challenging and progresses more quickly. I especially liked being able to build a different island at the beginning of every game, making for a unique game each time it is played. If you can find a copy of this game somewhere, make sure to get it.

Other Resources for Survive!:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.