My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Falling
 
Store:  Card Games, Family Games
Theme:  Humorous
Genre:  Real-time
Format:  Card Games

Falling


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Falling: The Goblin Edition


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Product Awards:  
Games Magazine Awards
1999

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 2 minutes 4-8

Designer(s): James Ernest

Manufacturer(s): Cheapass Games, James Ernest Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Everyone is falling.

Hit the Ground last.

It's not much of a goal, but it's all you could think of on the way down.

FALLING is a freeform card game in which players are falling, fighting, and struggling to hit the ground last. There are no turns in this game, which means everyone is playing at once. It's almost exactly like the real thing!

Game Synopsis: One player deals from a shuffled deck, while the other players play their cards as they get them. The Dealer isn't falling; he just distributes the cards and moderates the game. The players receive stacks of cards, like Skip, Stop, Hit, and Push, and try to cope with them as quickly and accurately as they can. Sitting on the bottom of the deck are five Ground cards: when you get a Ground card, you are out, and the last player to hit the Ground wins. To win a game of FALLING, you just have to avoid getting a Ground card for longer than anyone else.

Product Awards

Games Magazine Awards
1999

Product Information

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.4 in 14 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
I've rarely had so much fun with a card game
February 07, 2004

The game took us a bit of time to understand at first, but it's a great deal of fun. The first few times you play it are spent focusing on yourself and mainly figuring out how to play properly, but after you start to get the hang of it, you can take in the status of the other players better, and work to make them lose faster (making you more likely to win). It's important to have a good dealer, and at LEAST 4 players. The deck only comese with 5 'ground' cards, but says 2-8 players. In reality you can play with 6 players becauuse the last ground card doesn't matter.

 
 
 
 
 
Great Quick Game - Total Fun in 60 Seconds.
April 25, 2002

I learned to play Falling at a game convention. There were 5 of us playing. Getting all the rules and strategy down at first took a little bit of time. But once we all got it, stand back. Within 30 minutes our group had swelled to 10 and others were standing around watching.

This game is a blast. I've probably played it around 1000 times. The main problem with the game is that you need at least 4 people to play. If you can find the people, 5-7 is a much better game. With a good dealer and experienced players, games take around 60-80 seconds. For someone who likes quick turn around games, this is the one for you.

The action stays high as players interact with each other in rapid succession to keep themselves alive and add to the demise of their opponents. Normally in games where players directly screw with another, it can lead to conflict and problems. But with Falling, the games are so quick that it doesn't really matter. It all comes out as good lighthearted fun. Plus, the premise is just too hilarious. You're falling off of a building. Be the last one to hit the ground.

I strongly recommend this game for anyone. It's very quick and lighthearted.

 
 
 
 
 
Quick-playing real-time card game
January 02, 2002

This is a special card game -- no player's turns, it is a real-time card game.

Before the game, find a player to be the dealer and he does not involve into the game. The dealer start to deal cards to players. If he like the card deals from the dealer, he can pick it up, but be careful, only one card can be hold in hand, so if you see another card you like, you must first use your card in hand before another card is put about it.

Most people are very confusing when playing this game first time because of its real-time playing(no turn sequence), but when they knew the playing mechanism, they play this game in a happy manner.

Almost 99% of the game involves play sequence, so if you want find one without play sequence, this game suits you and it doesn't cost you much.

 
 
 
 
 
Fall into a hilarious Frenzy
October 29, 2001

This game is perfect when you only have five minutes to spare. It can be played in under one minute. The more players, the better (although if you have a lot of people, I would suggest buying a second deck).

If you plan on playing with children, make sure that they are at least ten. I tried teaching this to kids at summer camp and only those above ten could understand what was happening. Sixth graders got quite a kick out of it.

 
 
 
 
 
My new obsession
July 30, 2002

...and my friends' greatest fear. I love this game, they hate it. I have a deep love for wacky games that are unusual in more than just their theme. However, the chaos was a bit much for some of my friends who would rather play Lord of the Fries or Magic or something else that lets you sit and stare at your cards before making a decision. There really is strategy in this game, you just have to be able to absorb the chaos to find it. Not a game for everyone.

 
 
 
 
 
Don't miss out the fun AND strategy!
February 03, 2001

This game is absolutely FUN! But I don't agree to some of the comments listed that say the game is completely chaotic. It can also be very strategic. You can play it in so many different ways.

a) play it stupid :P

yes, just fling out every card you receive! and see who is the luckiest. have some great fun and great laugh.

b) play it with deep strategy!

from middle game (which is about 1 minute after the game starts LOL) on, this game boils down to something like stone-paper-scissors if you prepared well early game. It's neccessary to accumulate cards in the right combination and order strategically in early game to win. If you saved up only 'skip's, watch out for 'grab's. Even if you had a whole bunch of 'stop's, you will still lose if you got 'extra-split + hit'. In addition, the strategy differs from person to person and you can really have your own style of playing.

What I like most about the game is that there are no ways you can guarantee to win, while experienced players do have a serious advantage over new players.

c) and lastly, if you get tired being the player, try to be the dealer and you will have a completely different array of fun.

There is one thing very true from the previous comments. The game can't 'stand alone'. The game length is too short and there's no way to lengthen it (that would ruin the game play). Otherwise, this game could be a good 5-star game! The only 2 games I have rated 5-star are Settlers of Catan and Bohnanza.

There is one more thing that's remarkable about this game: it's so small (it is even thinner than a deck of playing cards!) and simple! And it can be played by up to 10 players or even more! unlike Tikal, where you have a super big box (nice packing though, I have to admit) and lots of small pieces for a merely 4-player-fun...

 
 
 
 
 
Chaos in a Box
December 14, 1999

This is certainly the fastest card game I've ever played! Much faster than Dutch Blitz or Spoons. Although the game has more luck than I'd like in a regular game, it certainly accomplishes its purpose of chaos. The dealer deals to each player based on cards called riders that people can play on each other. When the ground comes at the end of the deck you can start hearing people screaming as their ground card is stuck in front of them! Great game for 6-8, less than that and it seems a bit bland.

 
 
 
 
 
Fast and furious...and painful.
February 02, 1999

I was immediately intrigued when I read the description of this game -- the game length was rated at 2 minutes. What can I say? Everything about this game is fun. You (and everyone else) are falling, and the goal is to be the last person to hit the ground. (It's not much of a goal, but it's the best you could come up with on the way down.)

You have a deck of some 60-odd cards consisting of various Riders (which control how cards are dealt to you), and Actions (which allow you to manipulate Riders). And Ground. At the bottom of the deck is a stack of Ground cards, and when you get dealt one of these, you're out.

The idea is to arrange things in such a way that you're well prepared for the onslaught of Ground at the end. This can involve making sure all of your opponents are receiving cards in multiple piles, or just making sure that certain cards are at the top of your pile when it gets close to the end. You can't completely avoid the ground... you just need to hit it last.

What gives the game its frantic pace is the dealer. This is a player who is not falling, but is instead simply dealing cards around the table at a constant rate. Once the players become experienced, the dealer can start dealing faster... and faster... the ground can come up pretty quickly sometimes.

The only reason I rate this game 4 stars instead of five is that it really is just a filler. It's a lot of fun, but a gaming session composed of nothing but Falling probably wouldn't do it for me.

 
 
 
 
 
A complete frenzy of a card game
December 22, 1998

It seems that James Ernest of Cheapass Games has decided for once to ditch his bizarre themes and hand-assembled cheaply printed games for a proper card game.

The cards are rather nice full color art, but the theme is, um, very unusual. All of the players save one are falling. Object is to be the last one to hit the ground.

One player each turn takes on the role of the dealer, and begins dealing from a deck of cards, never stopping. As each player receives cards, he may use them to affect the outcome of the deal. Each is an instruction to the dealer to perform some special action.

Example: A Hit card causes the dealer to add an extra card to your pile. A Double card starts a new pile for you, so the dealer will deal you two cards for the rest of the game. A Pass card will cause the dealer to skip you.

The problem begins when the dealer gets close to the bottom of the deck. All of these cards are Ground cards. When you are dealt one, you are out of the game.

So the object is to build up a collection of good Pass cards, so that you can be skipped as the ground appears. Fairly simple.

Except that a round of Falling lasts about a minute, with players constantly playing cards on each other. It is a furious game, perhaps only equaled by the old Parker Brothers game Pit. And because games are so short, you can play about 10 rounds in between a few other games.

 
 
 
 
 
Confusing at first, but watch out....
November 13, 2001

I first played this game at a friend's house with five others, and we were all totally new to the game. When the rules were explained, I caught on in about five minutes while others were still unclear about which cards were placed where and what they did to whom at what time. So the first few games were pretty much a 'throw it out and see what happens' style. I eventually took over the dealer role and talked out what I was doing to help the others understand the gameplay a bit more. I think we all had some idea of how this game worked after about half a dozen rounds.

The game is certainly light, filler fare. It's a nice change-of-pace game for a pretty large group (we played Falling as a break between Witch Trial and Dragon Delta at our last session) or as a quick distraction while waiting for the other players or the pizza to arrive. Definitely not a game to plan a whole evening around, but the frenzy of cards and hands going every which way across the table (especially when the dealer is tossing out cards rapid-fire) is enough to make me want to play again.

 
 
 
 
 
Not much to it
April 03, 2001

There is not much to this game. You need to hold onto Stop and Skip cards for the end of the game, so when the dealer deals you anything else, you play it to get rid of it. There are some embellishments but nothing that gives any depth or strategy to the game. Our group tired of it quickly, and I doubt we will want to play it again.

 
 
 
 
 
Waste of Resources
April 30, 2002

I hate to disagree with those who fancy this little card game, but I found no point to it at all. Either you play it as a random passing out of cards to see who 'wins,' or each player simply holds one card til the last round and sees who can play it first. Either way, for me anyway, this game is a pointless waste of time.

 
 
 
 
 
Can't find anyone who will play it twice... buy Brawl instead
January 10, 2002

I have to agree with the previous reviewer. Falling is fairly high priced for what you get (although I respect the fact that the cards are of much higher quality than the author's other games.

Unfortunately, everyone I have played it with

just can't see a real game in there. IMHO, save your money and buy two Brawl decks instead if you want a real time card game by the author that is FUN with lots of replay value.

PS: I think the author has done a great job on some of his other games, as well as reviving the whole 'low cost' game gendre (a la microgames).

 
 
 
 
 
A big disappointment
January 08, 2002

I bought two decks of FALLING to play with friends over the holidays, but the game fell flat with everyone who gave it a try.

Even after we had all caught on to the rules, we felt the game was pointless. There seemed to be little rhyme or reason as to who would win, and the fast paced nature of the game felt confusing, not frenetically fun.

With one group, we kept running into the problem of all the players being stuck with Action cards in their hands and having no Riders available to use them on. This meant that the dealer continued to pass out cards while all the players could only sit and wait. We found this annoying.

Both groups that tried FALLING love to play games, but neither group found much enjoyment with this one. They both strongly preferred BOHNANZA, my other holiday purchase. I'm glad I opened only one of my FALLING decks; I'll be returning the other deck for a refund.

Other Resources for Falling:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.