My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
No cover photo available.
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Word, Card Games, Strategy Games
Genre:  Word Games
Format:  Card Games


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Information

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.6 in 9 reviews

Sort reviews by:

This one should return
October 25, 2008

A mixture of double solitaire and word games, I still use my old copy every day. Excellent solitaire word game.

The Favorite Game of This Word-Game Addict!
April 30, 2004

I 'discovered' Bali about 15 years ago and must admit that it is my favorite game. I find it more challenging and fast-paced than scrabble and it is also easy to take along when traveling. I have introduced at least twenty people to the game and have given away about 10 decks over the years. I did not know it was discontinued; I'm saddened by the news. Sometimes when playing outdoors, some cards have blown away and I laugh to think of the heroics performed to 'save' them. Once a woman dived off a boat into Lake Cumberland to retrieve a card. She was fully clothed and wearing contact lenses. God bless her! Write for a challenge!

Bring it back, please!
March 16, 2004

We played Bali with some friends at an ocean getaway lately and I am heartbroken to learn it isn't made anymore. Our friends had a very old deck, it had been in the family for years. Does anyone know where I can get it?? Surely, a game manufacturer could snap this one up....

Not from New England...
March 03, 2004

. . . but did live in Brockton, Mass for a couple of years. I'm a New Orleanian addicted to Scrabble, anagrams, and crosswords -- now living in St. Louis, where I picked up a box of Bali cards at a thrift store for under $2.00. Had never heard of the game, but the red and blue decks were in a nifty slide box and it sounded interesting. Fell in love with it immediately, needless to say, but later, in a gesture of mad generosity, gave it away to a fellow Scrabble fan -- only to discover soon after, during an increasingly desperate internet search, that it was impossible to replace.

I'd love to see some company bring this great game back to the market and promise to buy 3 or 4 a year for birthday and Christmas presents.

One of my favorites!
December 01, 2003

Interesting that the only reviews are from New England because that's the only place I've ever heard of it. I played Bali with my grandparents every time I went to visit them in Mass. This is a great game of word-making, letter manipulation, awareness of letter blends, and luck. I have so many wonderful memories of playing this game. I, too, hope they sell Bali again. 2-4 players, game time = 1 hour at least

Return to Bali
August 07, 2001

As I play the solitaire version of this game with cards that are tattered and worn, I wish this some company would remake this classic. With all of the silly card games which are based on Oh Hell! flooding the market, you would think that they could keep this great word game alive.

Bali is a classic which I hope returns
December 06, 2000

Bali is a word game that plays something like rummy, something like Klondike solitaire, and like nothing else. With the demise of Avalon Hill, I hope this game returns. It can be a cuthroat at times. Like if I make 'BOOK' and you make 'KEEP' and I steal your whole word and make Bookkeeping!

January 08, 2008

I too am disappointed to learn that Bali is no longer available. I'm 56, and we just moved, so my box of Bali decks is missing!

I've enjoyed the game since at least 1970, when a good friend and I would run simultaneous solitaire games competing for high scores.

I can play solitaire Scrabble, but I'd like to disconnect from the computer. A Bali deck would enable me to join my husband in the den for reading and TV hanging out time.

by Joe Smiley
A solitaire game where you wait for others to get over their AP
December 04, 2009

This word game includes some aspects of a solitaire card game. Briefly, seven letter cards are laid out so as to head seven columns. On a player's turn, he may move several columns to the tail end of one existing column so as to form a new word (or the beginning of one). The openings thus created are filled with newly drawn cards. You score the words you built based on the consonants' values and the length of the word (multiply the consonants' total by the number of cards). Completed words may be retired to create new openings. If you manage to use all 54 cards (including the Bali wild card), you've Balied the game and your score triples.

Good as a two player, light alternative to scrabble with quite a bit of strategic thinking involved. But the game is as much solitaire as solitaire games can be. To make it worse, it is a puzzle-like solitaire game where you think for way too long - meaning there is way too much sitting around while the other player is thinking.

Other Resources for Bali:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.