My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Cosmic Wimpout
Close Zoomed Image Cosmic Wimpout
Store:  Family Games, Strategy Games
Edition:  Cosmic Wimpout
Series:  Cosmic Wimpout
Format:  Dice Games

Cosmic Wimpout


Your Price: $5.00
(Worth 500 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Players
2 or more

Manufacturer(s): Cosmic Wimpout

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Cosmic Wimpout

  • Year: 1993

  • Players: 2 or more

  • Weight: 31 grams

You might be interested in these related products as well:
Can't Stop
newer German edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Can't Stop
List: $39.99 $31.99 (20% savings!)

Pass the Pigs
List: $12.95 $11.99 (7% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by Mark Smith
I really love this game!
October 16, 2007

The game is a lot of BANG for the BUCK! Seriously, I have never had so many laughs for such little money. The game is fun to play with your family, or if you are in line for a concert of a big movie. You can bring it anywhere, and it takes up little space. This is an awesome game to take camping or backpacking. I keep a bag of dice in my bookbag, so it is always with me on campus. The rules take a little getting used to, however, once you get it, it's fun. In fact, there is such a high "silly-factor" to this game that you have to laugh at the rules. The game designers encourage players to make up their own rules too, and have fun with the game. I really recommend this game. It is a BLAST!

 
 
 
 
 
Fantastic game of luck and greed
September 08, 2004

I was first introduced to this game around 1989 and have been playing it ever since. Its addictive nature is obvious by how many of my friends who purchased their own sets. The rules are relatively intuitive with the play of just one game, but the fun comes in pushing your luck and feeding your greed, while cheering on (or making fun of) your co-players. What keeps it fresh is the ability to add and modify rules as long as all players agree. It is a never ending game, loads of fun and doesn't require any batteries. Great for parties. Also much better alternative to the traditional brainless and uninspired college drinking games, for those so inclined.

 
 
 
 
 
greed, luck, and laughs
July 06, 2001

Cosmic Wimpout is a dice-rolling greed game. If you keep rolling, you might get more points, but you might lose all this turn's winnings! There's plenty of room for probability calculation, but when we play, things frequently elevate to the 'What the hell, I'll just go for it!' level.

There is down-time between turns, sometimes more, sometimes less. I like to play with only two or three players so there's a shorter wait while my opponents are rolling. On the other hand, I have friends who like it with more players because those who aren't rolling the dice can just talk to each other.

Winning big or wimping out, there's lots of hilarity here. This one's always welcome on my table.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Mary
Extra fun when peer pressure comes into play
December 16, 2003

I enjoy this game of chance (and taking chances!) so much that I teach it to my probability classes. The entire game can be won in one turn or 50. My favorite rule is the one referring to 'getting on the board.' You have to have a good enough turn (35 points) to earn the right to 'wimp out.' There have been games when one person has 'gone out' (won) and other still haven't got any points 'on the board.'

The reversal of fortune can be swift in this game. The faster the pace, and the more others try to influence the decision of the roller, the better.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great travel/party game
July 10, 2001

Dice games usually have a simplicity to them. No matter how many dice you have, each die is only capable of six different results (unless you are using polyhedral dice, a la [page scan/se=0834/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Dungeons and Dragons, but I digress). Six results per die can get old fast, so most dice games are built around achieving certain combinations. Cosmic Wimpout falls squarely into this camp, but has one interesting twist that elevates it above much of the pack.

Like the classic Can't Stop, Cosmic Wimpout is a game based on greed and playing the odds. Each player has a turn at the dice, and can usually stop rolling at any time, taking the points scored so far. The first player to reach a certain goal is the winner. Why not simply keep rolling, then? Because any combo that does not score results in a loss of all points for that turn, and forfeiture of the dice to the next player.

The tension from this mechanic is delicious. Do you risk another roll, or play it safe and score only middling points? Most of the time, the choice is yours. And this is the unique twist from other games of this type. There are certain times when the player is forced to roll again. If all five dice are scored, another roll is required. This can results in a ballooning score that one wants to take, but can't because of a 'lucky' run of the dice. Ten great (and required) rolls followed by one disastrous one can result in the same zero score as one bad roll at the beginning.

Simple, fun, easy to learn, and packs away in its own little pouch. This game may be a relic from hippie days, but its still a good, fun game. Recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A long time camping favorite
June 03, 2001

The travel set is a bit spendy, but it's perfect for camping trips. Everything you need except for markers (a coin, rock, twig, etc. will do) is in the small suede pouch. The scoring cloth avoids the need to carry paper and pencil. You don't need a table to play on, the ground works fine. A book or ice chest will work for rolling the dice on.

The game is fairly simple. Just roll the special set of Cosmic dice to score points. You can keep rolling as long as you keep scoring points, or you can stop when you think you've reached the end of your luck. However, if you fail to score, you get no points. Some scoring combinations will force you to roll again when you'd rather take the points and stop. Some of the optional rules can add a little more challenge for those who desire it. We always yell, 'Wimpout!' whenever someone blows a roll. If you like [page scan/se=0034/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Yahtzee, you'll probably enjoy Cosmic Wimpout.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Strange? Yes. Complex? A little. But fun!
May 24, 2001

In the Travelin' set, (the most expensive, but nicest set) you recieve 5 Cosmic Cubes, a felt bandanna scoreboard, and a nice suede pouch to keep everything in.

Play involves rolling the 5 cubes to score points. If you score points, you may keep going, or you may have the option to stop, depending on the situation. Rolling and not scoring any points is called Wimping Out, and this makes you lose any points you accumulated. Stopping adds any points you earned to your total. Either way, play passes to the next player. Possibilities abound for large sums of point-scoring, but the unique rules make it so it's a pain to stop, once you start raking in the points, increasing your chances of losing them. Play is usually to a certain point total, (300 or 500) whereupon everyone gets one last shot to top the leader's score (and steal the win!). Overall, a game I enjoy highly. And contrary to popular belief, you don't need to be stoned to understand/enjoy it. :o)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
I just didn't get it
August 24, 2002

This game came highly reviewed but after trying it a couple times, I just don't get the attraction. Where is the fun? Where are the interesting choices? Of course, I don't much like 'Pass the Pigs' either, which is similarly brainless. If you are looking for dice game, I would suggest the classic 'Can't Stop'.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Cosmic Wimpout:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.