My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
No cover photo available.
Store:  Strategy Games
Series:  Statis Pro Sports
Theme:  Sports, Baseball

Statis Pro Major League Baseball


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Avalon Hill

  • Year: 1979

  • Weight: 700 grams (estimated)

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #82

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.6 in 16 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by STEVE H
It's the summer of '78 all over again!
May 01, 2009

This is the most realistic, exciting board game ever invented! Me and my buddy started playing the '78 season in 1980 and that's where the "high voice" commentary started. We would call each game like we were Kurt Gowdy or Phil Rizzuto... "the PB is within Guidry's range, the pitch (random number), is a 28...Chet Lemon strikes out for number 11 for Guidry thru 5 innings!! The game plays out so real its amazing. I played each team through about 60 games before the game got stashed away while I was away at college. Then I resurrected it again for another 20-30 game per team. Both times I tossed the stats and started over (what was I thinking!?). I'm currently up to 60 games per team now. I developed my own rating for each player to determine if he makes the All-Star game. When my friend and I sit down periodically and ask each other if he name the lineup from any team in the late 70's early 80's, I always picture the statis-pro cards and inevitably pull out a name like Bill Nahorodny of the White Sox or Dan Ford of the Twins.

 
 
 
 
 
by wally walters
Statis Pro baseball rules
January 25, 2007

My first Statis Pro season was 1977. I played the entire season, the all-star game and post season It took me, off and on, 30 some years. When I finished the '77 Season, rather than play a new season I decided to make my own cards and league. Thus the Hyper League was born -16 teams with all the best players throughout history. Thus, Mantle, Dimaggio and Ruth play the Yankee outfield, Cy Young faces off against Bob Feller, etc. etc. Thus far I am 50 games into a 156-game schedule. The AL is led by the Cleveland Indians, with their amazing rotation of Feller, Paige, Hoyt and McDowell. In the NL, the Giants of New York, with their Un-hittable rotation of Matthewson, Hubbell, Marichal and Chesbro are setting the pace. I'll never get too old to enjoy this game.

 
 
 
 
 
Best game ever
August 23, 2004

This is the best game ever. And I still admit that I pull it out from time to time and play with my favorite season 1982. Yes I am 32 and still looking for anyone to play this game. I wish I still had all the old cards. Seem to have lost some of my seasons over the years.

 
 
 
 
 
Played my first Statis-Pro game in 1974
February 24, 2004

The original game designer/creator, Jim Barnes, lived in my home town...Waterloo, Iowa. A couple of times, I peddled my bike over to his house to pick up the cards for the new season. God that was exciting.

Then I'd literally spend the entire summer playing that game with my friends. Not uncommon to play 7-10 games a day.

That was when I first started following baseball...Oakland was in the series back then so they became my team. I played them through Statis pro seasons year after year.

Kind of got away from the game about 1981. Then I happened to be in a Walden's book store back in about 1990 and came across Statis Pro baseball...of course I had to buy it.

Statis pro baseball brings back some really great memories.

 
 
 
 
 
The great ones CAN NOT be matched!
February 22, 2004

I began playing this game in 1980 (1979 season game). I then bought the 1985 game, and also the 1986 Commodore 64 computer version. Since that time, I admit I've wandered and played other baseball games, but always seem to go back to the classic, and have made my own cards for several seasons along the way. I'm old and married now, with a job and family to think about, but I still find a way to make time to play this game, as I have for 24 yrs. How many games can you say that about?

 
 
 
 
 
Awesome Memories
January 10, 2004

I bought the 1988 edition and loved it the minute

I started playing. My friend and I played for countless hours. I haven't touched the game in a few years but my interest is brewing again since I found it in a storage bin. I thought my wife threw it out. It brought back some great memories when I found score sheets from the past. I have tried playing a computer baseball sim but nothing beats the board game. Hopefully I can get my 10yr old son away from his ps2 to enjoy this game again!

 
 
 
 
 
It is truly the best
February 19, 2003

I started in 1984 and continued playing out entire seasons until the drought came, in 1992 when they stopped making them.

It took me a few years, but finally I got the time and expertise to make my own cards. The game is still going strong because I have gotten tons of orders from ebay for them.

Yes, we still are missing a good web alternative to playing the game on-line.

I am sure we could get 30 people into a major league and spend about 20 minutes a day playing it.

Long live Statis Pro

Brett

 
 
 
 
 
by Frank
Best baseball sim ever
December 28, 2002

I played Statis pro from 1984 1990.

10 years later, I became a computer programmer and decided to write up a baseball game based on Statis Pro. I still had the old games and used the rules. It was so cool to generate the 2002 season on screen and then print out the cards and play with them. I can print out the cards and play with them or play on the computer. But the table top version is still the best. I showed my friends recently and it brought back so many good memories. Statis-Pro lives.

 
 
 
 
 
our improvements
November 22, 2002

we improved the game, we think, by using dice for the random and PB numbers. it's too easy to memorize the cards after a few thousand games. you can get odd sided dice at a game store that features role playing games. we still use the cards for Z, BD etc. random occurences.

I wish there was an online version. still on of the best baseball simulations around, computer or otherwise.

 
 
 
 
 
Great Baseball Simulation!
June 30, 2002

A GREAT BASEBALL BOARD GAME...IVE BEEN PLAYING THIS GAME SINCE 1982....AND IVE BEEN ORIGINATING LEAGUES THAT MY BUDDIES AND I HAVE BEEN PLAYING SINCE THE MID 80'S....WE HAD TO ADAPT A BIT WHEN THE CARDS AND GAME WERE DISCONTINUED IN THE MID 90'S,BUT NOW WE DO OUR OWN CARDS YEAR AFTER YEAR .....TRY THIS GAME OUT,YES IT IS A SIT DOWN TABLETOP GAME,EVEN YOU COMPUTER GEEKS COULD HAVE FUN WITH THIS ONE.....I WOULD LOVE TO TALK TO ANYONE THAT HAS PLAYED THIS GAME OR RUNS LEAGUES TO SHARE SOME ADVICE.....

 
 
 
 
 
Love This game
June 06, 2002

Okay, so Im grown up, with a family to ake care of & the computer can play all different kinds of baseball games, BUT.....

I fell in love with Spatis Pro Baseball in 1983. (Bought the 1982 version) I still have the game, although I lost the AL players a few years ago. While I dont play it much anymore, its truly a classic that I spent countless hours playing. If you see it at a price you dont mind. Get it... its awesome!

 
 
 
 
 
by Tom Newton
Great Board Game
April 03, 2015

I bought my first season of this game in 1985. It was the '84 season. I bought very year through 1988 season and played 64 game seasons for each year. It is a great game and I still play it once in a while. They now have excel spreadsheets you can download that simulate the FACs. It makes the game go a bit quicker, and you don't have to keep buying decks of cards.

 
 
 
 
 
by Glyn Lovelock
Great Game
November 21, 2007

I agree with all that has been written about this game. The great thing for me is playability which is where the Football version struggled. For those who want to play new seasons I have found a site where you can by new cards for up to 63 seasons, which are either sent via the post on a CD Rom if the full 63 are purchased, or for single season they are sent via e-mail in 4 zip files that can be downloaded and printed. Even the 2007 season is available. Just search the web for Tabletopbaseball.

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Excellent Baseball Simulation
May 28, 2007

I started playing this game after college with the 1980 edition. I played tons of solitaire games including full seasons with a couple of teams. I still pull it out now and then to play, although I don't have the kind of time to play it that I used to. I have purchased several of the historical seasons online. One of these days, I want to get 8 or 16 guys together, take one of the historical seasons and then draft teams making up names of "historical" teams from fiction like the New York Mammoths ("Bang the Drum Slowly") and New York Knights ("The Natural"). I learned a few years ago that the writer Jack Kerouac was a big baseball fan and created a fictional league in which one of the teams was the Cleveland Studebakers. Anyway, I digress.

The great thing about this game was its design simplicity with pretty reasonable results. Games could be played solitaire in 30 minutes or less. The only thing that prevents me from rating this game a "5" is that it was missing a few things such as lefty-righty breakdown. On the other hand, this would have lengthened games with more complexity. Besides, I've found tons of other fans of the game who have filled the gap with homemade rules and charts. I haven't tried these out, but I am getting ready to. Thanks, guys.

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
One of my favorite baseball games
May 31, 2005
This is a very fun baseball game. It is not as in-depth as other games and does not have a LH/RH breakdown. However, there is enough realism in the game and combined with the ease of play, this is a very fun game to play and one of my favorite baseball games. I would really like to see this game come back to the market.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
It's awesome what people can do with some imagination.
September 11, 2005

I have this game since 1982 when I bought it in Florida. I played more than 2000 games since then including complete season for two teams in the same season. One in the AL (Seattle 89) and NL (Reds 89). I have a homemade computer program for the stats so finished the pen, paper and calculator. I reborn when I found that people still doing new cards and did some upgrades to the charts including the new stadiums. It's awesome what people can do with some imagination.

Other Resources for Statis Pro Major League Baseball:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.