My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Aquarius
Close Zoomed Image Aquarius

Aquarius

1998 edition


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Aquarius


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
8+ 2-5

Designer(s): Andrew Looney

Manufacturer(s): Looney Labs

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Aquarius is a fun, simple card game for 2 to 5 players, ages 8 and up. It features three types of cards: Elements, Goals, and Actions. Element cards are played kind of like dominos, with each player trying to win by connecting seven panels of one particular element. Goal cards determine which element each player is going after, and Action cards allow players to shake up the action in five different ways. The game is fast, fun, colorful, and easy to learn.

Zoom In Photo 1 Image: Aquarius
Close Zoomed Image aAquariusb
Photo 1

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Andrew Looney

  • Manufacturer(s): Looney Labs

  • Year: 1998

  • Players: 2 - 5

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 120 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is a domestic item.

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.6 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
multi-player dominos with strategy and poker-style bluffing
June 20, 2002

Pretty, Multi-Player Dominos with *strategy*!

The bluffing elements are incredibly interesting. There are luck elements, but not huge ones.

One of my favorite card games, and one of the few American card games I've heard of that have had success in Germany. (We're always importing their winners, but few games are able to 'swim upstream.')

BTW, there are other games that use these cards, too--among them a pretty good solitare game (by Kristin and an Icehouse game by Kory.

 
 
 
 
 
Awesome artwork, fun game.
December 10, 2000

This game flows smoothly, has great artwork, VW Buses, a concept that anyone can understand, and fits in your back pocket. Aquarius is great because it is fun, but doesn't require a lot of time or re-reading of the rules, and anyone can play. Overall, this game makes a great gift--just make sure to get one for yourself.

 
 
 
 
 
Simple, Light, and Fun
January 20, 2006
I would give this game about 3.5 stars. It's a good, but not great, game. I would say for the price, it's a good game to add to your collection if you're wanting an easy-to-learn, light game with bluffing elements.

I have no regrets about getting it. Just not quite as exciting as some of my others... but I do like having lighter games in my collection as well, and this game fills that need.

Finally, the game works better with 3 players than only 2. Two isn't aweful, but when you trade goals, suddenly every player knows what all the goals are. My wife suggested we alter the rules a bit to say you had to change goals with one of them in the pile, rather than the other player. We haven't tried that variant yet though. Anyway, with 3 or more players, only two of the players know what each other has after that card is played.

Once again, a good and fun game that's easy to learn, and fun. Just not THAT great. Yet, I am glad I have it. I recommend it if you're looking for something lighter.

 
 
 
 
 
Fun game. Easy to learn.
March 14, 2004

I first played this game at gaming con, where people had renamed it 'arbitrary victory'. It didn't stop them playing or enjoying the game though. I think it becomes a lot less arbitrary and a lot more tactical if you simply remove 'shuffle goals' from the deck.

It has the advantage of having very simple rules, so that even a severely inebriated friend of mine picked it up quickly.

 
 
 
 
 
Pretty good
December 06, 2000

Basically, it's dominoes meets Fluxx. Each person has an element and they're trying to connect seven tiles of that element. Ok, so it's not Icehouse, there's really only one game to play. And luck is a major factor. But, there is a lot of strategy involved here, and games are typically short enough to play over lunch or between classes. Not Looney Labs' best, but definitely worth a look. Try Javaquarius first, though, since it's there.

 
 
 
 
 
Simple, fun, pretty
December 05, 2000

This is a game that falls into my 'games that I can carry on a conversation and still play' category, like Fluxx and [page scan/se=0478/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Button Men. Luck plays a great part in this game, so you might want to pass on this one if you're looking for a test of your strategic skills. Also, I have found that the young (and young at heart) seem to enjoy this game more than older players.

If you're looking for something light and entertaining this is a good bet. If you are looking for a deep game of strategy, well... perhaps you should just go get El Grande or something....

 
 
 
 
 
Ummm... why don't I like this game?
June 30, 2003

I just don't see the value in this one. Yes, the deck 'looks' nice, although the card quality doesn't nearly rank high enough in my book. The artwork is fantastic and the deck box is easily portable. Thats where the 'fun' ends.

The gameplay here just doesn't do it for me - I see no skill or strategy in it - definately not one of the Lab's better games - even Fluxx has more merit and I have issues there as well.

 
 
 
 
 
Pretty but not very interesting
December 02, 2000

Another pretty but dumb game from Looney Labs. Aquarius has a very 'hippie-do' feeling--the player with the longest hair goes first. The art on the cards is beautiful, but the game is a big snooze. Imagine dominos with any sense of strategy or skill sucked out of the game. That's Aquarius.

Other Resources for Aquarius:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.