My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Boggle Deluxe
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Word, Party Games, Family Games
Edition:  Boggle
Series:  Boggle
Genre:  Word Games
Format:  Dice Games

Boggle Deluxe

5 x 5 Boggle

Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
8+ 2 or more

Designer(s): Alan Turoff

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Parker Brothers

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

The ultimate Boggle game. More cubes. More letters. More fun!

One you shake it up--you can't put it down! It's been that way for over 25 years...

Now to celebrate a quarter-century of word-finding fun, here's a deluxe edition for all those Boggle lovers who can't stop connecting letters to spell words and collect points.

Unique to this edition is the Boggle Bar, which lets you play two kinds of Boggle. Pop it on for a 4 x 4 grid. Then pop it off and play Boggle Master on a 5 x 5 grid. With more cubes, you can make longer words--for bigger scores.

So shake it up--and join the Boggle celebration!

Product Information

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.7 in 13 reviews

Sort reviews by:

Please sir, may we have some more???
September 09, 2008

Please help! We need Big Boggle, or Master Boggle. It offers the same and more than regular Boggle with the 4 x 4 grid. The superior version has a 5 x 5 grid. It is the best word game in the history of the world. It is fun, educational, challenging and competitive!

Please make more!!!!! Too expensive and iffy to buy on E-Bay.

Boggle Deluxe
September 09, 2008

Big Boggle, Boggle Deluxe is the best word game ever! My son is now in college and can spell because we played the game. He persisted for many years before he could better my score on occasion. It is fun and challenging. I cannot understand why it is no longer in production. If you try to purchase it on E-Bay you will pay more. There is a version available in England. However, it is just as expensive. All Big Boggle fans should inundate Hasbro/Parker Brothers with requests for the 5 x 5 game. It is much better than the 4 x 4. If you haven't played and you like word games you will love this one. Too bad you can't find it!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Continuously great.
August 16, 2004

I don't know why they stopped making this game and kept the four grid one. This one is so much better and there are many more words. I was very surprised when I tried to buyu a new game for my daughter in law. My old one is much superior.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Sam
why don't they make Big Boggle anymore?
January 10, 2004

people are paying fifty bucks a pop for 5x5 boggle on ebay, and they aren't making new ones! i can't believe how stupid that is. anyone at hasbro reading this, get crackin!

of course, i'm only frustrated because my parents have an old Big Boggle, and i do not. the 4x4 is just boring to play compared to Big Boggle. but i don't want to drop fifty bucks on a board game, so i'm stuck.

Big Boggle bettered by budging blocks bodily
December 05, 2003

My wife and I play Big Boggle two-to-three nights a week before bed. If you get tired of the randomness, divide the blocks evenly between players and if there are any left, put them in the enclosure and roll them, then manually, by taking turns, put the blocks in wherever you want them, and then play without a timer.

It's great fun and the scores are often huge, but it's a blast to out think and out maneuver your opponent both by having control over block placement and the word gathering thereof.

If you're creative, this variation is for you.

by Chad
About 460 times as exciting as Boggle
March 17, 2003

25 letters instead of 16. The possibilities are so much bigger, that this game is a must. After playing Big Boggle once, I cringe at the thought of the oppressive 4x4 regular Boggle. There are more chances for longer words, necessitating a higher Score Goal for the game. I recommend it to anyone who can read.

by Kim
I love playing Big Boggle!
December 24, 2002

I enjoy word games, especially Big Boggle. I like the challenge of connecting the letters to form words quickly. It is so fun! I prefer Big Boggle to Boggle because there is a bigger area of letters to work with, and I can find more words. I wish it were still being made! My parents have it, but I don't have my own.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Munny
Boggle Rules!
December 20, 2002

I have always loved Boggle! Now the Boggle Deluxe adds another row/column to the games and makes it a little tougher. But all word lovers and scrabble/word jumble lovers will love this game and get addicted :) I am currently addicted and my sisters are tired of playing with me. My girlfriends and I stayed up 'til 3AM at a slumber party playing this game. It's a great game!

just plain fun
December 18, 2000

This is so much better then the original. I can find more words and get better pionts (but my older sister still beats me). I think they should still make this game, but the orignal is still fun. This game is good so if you can find it, buy it as soon as possible.

by wifeof1momof3
Where is the 5 row Boggle?
November 27, 2009

I am trying to buy the original Boogle, and it seems that it is no longer being produced. Waaaah! We want it back, and it would be a well received by avid Boogle players. It's comeback could make new customers!!!!!!

April 09, 2007

This 5x5 edition creates so many more word possibilities than the 16 cube (4x4) Boggle game. the only change in rules is that words must be at least four letters in length and the corresponding point values for word length have all been upped one letter. I love the game! It appears no one sells Master Boggle anymore though. I hope it goes back into production. I have a lot of friends who would love to have the game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Great Version of Boggle
December 10, 2002

Boggle is one of those games that you love or hate. If you love crosswords, you're gonna' like Boggle. It's a cerebral word game that is great for all ages. It's great for kids learning words as it will get the spelling juices going. The version Boggle Delux is very nice, the bits are well made and pleasing to the eye. The L shaped bar adds a nice touch as it allow you to play both versions (Boggle and Boggle Master). As a variant, my wife and I allow the shaker (next turn) to view the letters first, and place the L down on the corner they think is best for them. It's great fun.

by Brad N.
I've played hundreds and hundreds of rounds of this game
May 09, 2007

I was saying this to my friends after the first round of Boggle Master one night. My list was 40 to 50 words long and their lists were 5 to 10 words long. I know that their vocabularies are larger than mine (or at least as big), but I've played Boggle Master a lot! I've played hundreds and hundreds of rounds of this game... maybe a thousand. So, I find a lot of words.

The result of this is that there are only about 2 or 3 people I know with whom I can play this game. I've learned how to always add "s" and "ed" and "er" and "ing" to any word when possible. I now know how "tine" and other short words often show up on the board and most people don't think to write them down.

I like Big Boggle or Boggle Master or Boggle Deluxe (or whichever version you play), but it really isn't a great competitive game to play. It might work for you if you play with the same people all of the time, all have a similar vocabulary AND all enjoy word games. Otherwise, you'll probably have to try something else unless people just don't care who wins.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Boggle Deluxe:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.