My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  War Games
Edition:  Risk
Series:  Risk
Genre:  War & Combat
Format:  Board Games


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 90 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Albert Lamorisse

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Parker Brothers

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

The classic Game of Global Domination. A favorite for over 40 years! Includes 360 military miniatures.

Product Information


  • gameboard
  • 44 Risk cards
  • 12 secret mission cards
  • 6 sets of military miniatures
  • 5 battle dice

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 3.9 in 25 reviews

Sort reviews by:

Simple, Fun, Timeless
November 12, 2004

In the world of wargames, nothing can be simpler and more time consuming than a classic game of RISK! This for many people is their first introduction to a basic war game and is perfect for younger kids just getting started or a party of older players who just want to have some fun and roll dice or if you are stuck in an airport (computer version). The basics of piece placement, negotiations, dice rolling, combat, and non-combat moves, and re- enforcements start off on this classic stage of world domination. I also have the Pocket PC version and my friends and I have played RISK in airports all over the world and what a great way to blow off some time.

5 stars - yes, because this is the forefather of wargames and should be honored and played by all who wish to start. The beauty is the simplicity and audacity of multiplaying. The real fun is the alliances and negotiaions which can get pretty intense ala Diplomacy! I've moved on to all the variations and many other games, but my Pocket PC Risk goes with me all over the world and I never get bored with taking out a few friends over Europe or North America.

Yours truly, Lifelong Gamer John D. Min

The Best Game Ever
June 28, 2004

If you have an attention span, and are somewhat interested in war and politics, play Risk. It's more than taking over the world, it's about bending players' wills to yours. Oh, it's not simple. In fact, it is extremely hard, especially when they know that's what your doing. Nonetheless, manipulation is key.

It is a Board Game.
May 10, 2004

If you want a game for people who rely on strategy, play Chess or something. Want to play a luck based game go for Craps. When you take two different elements as Luck and Strategy, combined into a familiar forum such as War, you are going to get a game where you have to play on both.

Look at Backgammon, luck of the roll, strategy of what you do with it - true of most dice based games. So dont get all poopy to the point you have to whine to everyone about how superior other games are. This review is for Risk, not you opinion of every little aspect of why you cant handle Strategy/luck based games. Doesnt the name just imply it - taking a RISK.

So in short, if you can't handle dice games - luck of roll - don't play them. Or for that matter, don't review them. Some people are easily frustrated, some can use that frustration in a game as a form of entertainment. Everyone likes to say I won, but as soon as you sit down to play a game, be prepared to loose, you FRIEND may be happy to see that (playing WITH people means its not all about you).. You will never win a truly challenging game without the chance you could loose. - DUH. If you have to show how much 'smarter' you are then an opponent at a game, don't be 'stupid' enough to play a game with dice. - Double DUH.

Risk has stood the test of time, all different age groups can play, and CHANCES are a 12 year old could beat his Grandpa, yah thats fun. It seems to me the only people who would give a negative review are people who wish they were something else and cant deal with loosing. So if you are someone who can have fun taking a chance at WINNING AND LOOSING, have fun, Risk is a very fun game - no crybabies.

very good if you are lucky and have patience
March 19, 2004

This is a very good game i recommened you get it. i gave it 5 stars because i love the board game although i wish it didnt rely so much on the luck of the dice. But with the different kinds of dice and uniforms and maps and announcers it is a very good game.

by Pam
We are a family addicted to RISK!
November 25, 2003

We love the 40th anniversary edition of RISK. Our family plays it only during the major holidays. We even award a traveling trophy to the Victor that has a tank on the top and says World Conqueror on it. The silver anniversary edition is beautiful and well made. Though the dice looked cool with little explosions on it, our only complaint is that the markings on the dice wore off quickly (within 3-4 games)and we had to scramble through the monopoly box and other board games for a more durable dice.

Second only to Monopoly
May 27, 2003

Risk offers an excellent mix between luck and strategy that many find hard to accept, Its called risk for a reason. There is definately strategy in place with this game, suck as defense styles and attack styles that offer unique strategies. The luck of the dice offer the important element of chance, as there is in any war. There is risk in war, and sometimes a little luck involved, therefor I see RISK as a truly brilliant war game.

Risk is one of the worst wargames known to man!
March 27, 2003

As a wargame, no contest! As a fun game for kids to knock out on a saturday, maybe it has a place:) But i'd hold back on calling it a real wargame, there are many other games out there that deserve more attention (try GMT for a start). As and example, try to find a copy of we the people as a great game to introduce people to wargaming.

Risk is one of the best board games ever invented!
March 25, 2003

Risk is definately number one on the top of my list. The strategy and concentration are immense but in the end it is worth it. What other board game takes 8 hours to play?? You gotta love it!!

The only other would be Monopoly which takes an eternity.

This game is exciting and i would definately recommend it to anyone, eventhough it is kind of tough for newcomers.

Risk Is A Great Board Game
August 05, 2002

I started playing Risk in my teens and still manage a game or two a year (whenever all of us 'old timers' managed to get a night off at the same time). This game is the best.

Don't listen to people that say that the game drags or that it is not fast pace. To those people, in the words of the great John Wayne... 'That's because you're no good.'

by Ken Mc
A classic, no doubt about it.
October 14, 1999

What puts RISK into the classic status is its theme. Everyone wants to rule the world, even if it only happens on the table top. It's not perfect, however. The game can drag after the first person is eliminated. Australia & South America are the preferred starting areas since a player can protect them better than say Asia. And the luck of the die plays a far bigger role than it should in battle. Still, nits are nits, and that doesn't detract from its classic status. The best introductary boardgame (dare I say 'wargame') on the market.

A Must for All Gamers
April 20, 1999

This is the game that got me into true boardgaming. Recently, it has been released with the European rules which include secret missions for a shorter game. International RISK players are a community that is divided over a common game. It is played by different rules in England, Italy, USA and Australia. To add to the confusion, the orignal 1959 USA rules are much different. All versions provide an absorbing game.

And please, this is no more a war game than checkers is. I am a complete pacifist, but I have no qualms about playing a round of this game.

Risk players will speak of past games like life events. (Like the time I had 21 armies in Greenland and attacked Iceland which only had 2. I LOST!)

If you don't have this in your game library, you don't really have a game library.

This is a classic!
December 20, 1998

I think I have played Risk more than any other game. This is the 'Conquer the World' game! Sometimes we get so involved in the game that we have to make a 'silent rule'; which means if you tell another player what to do or who to attack, you lose armies. Otherwise, we spend just as much time making treaties and debating strategies as we do rolling the dice! The game can get intense! The game has strong elements of luck and strategy. (To add to the fun, we have even purchased specially colored dice, that correspond with the color of armies with which we play.)

by higi
A very long, but strategic game
June 15, 2007
You are trying to take over the globe by building up your army, conquering territory by territory, and defeating the enemies! with real geography!
As long as there are dorms and barracks there will be Risk.
July 30, 2003

Coldfoot's Rule of Thumb Number 8: Don't play Risk with people who only play 'Sorry', 'Monopoly', or 'Scrabble', they won't have fun. Likewise, don't suggest playing Risk with people who are fanatical about Chess, Go, or Diplomacy. Your stock as a friend will go down.

For those people who don't fit either category, and there are quite a few, Risk can be a great trash-talking, back-stabbing, gang-up-on, fun-fest. I played a lot of Risk in the Army, it was a great way to kill a rainy Saturday afternoon. I played more in college, it was a good way to socialize when you were broke or hung-over (disclaimer: my problem was being broke). Now, I only get to play once or twice a year, usually after a Church pot-luck. (Believe it or not, Risk has become a minor tradition in my Church after pot-lucks).

Yes, brilliant plans can go awry with bad dice rolls. No, it's not a true wargame. Yes, it has been around a long time. No, it isn't deep. Risk is one of those games that serious gamers and infrequent players can play together and both have fun, time and again. Just keep in mind Rule #8.

But most importantly, always, always talk trash when playing Risk (even in church).

That game that starts us all off. . .
December 30, 2004

Back in the day, I had a ton of board/box games in my closet. I loved gaming back then, but at about 8 or 9 (when I sersiously started reading for pleasure) I began to notice that Sorry, Life, and Mousetrap were not coming out of the closet much anymore. No it was a new day in my gaming life and Risk was that catalyst of that day.

As an adult who now continues to love table top gaming of all sorts Risk is still one of the select board games of old that can still be whipped out and run through for a quick and dirty game of wits and dice.

This game is simply....a classic.

8 hours of rolling dice. Intro wargame only.
March 27, 2003

Risk, for all its knocking against, is a good intro wargame, ONLY. There are plenty of other wargames out there that are better and offer more strategic and tactical decisions. But still, as an intro game, it is a classic. But, it is best to leave it at that.

If you are a gamer, and you REALLY want to do Risk, consider Risk 2210 or Lord of the Rings Risk. For other good intro wargames, consider the likes of Vinci.

The game, once you get beyond the basics is just a bunch of dice rolling. Not quite 8 hours, but still a bunch of dice rolling.

It's fun... for a while
March 27, 2003

Don't get me wrong, Risk is a good game. I have played it many times, and it is fun. But if you are like me, it tends to lose its fun factor after a while.

I recieved this game for Christmas several years ago when I was about nine years old (I can't remember exactly). I had played it and wanted it for several months. I had a lot of fun playing this game.

But there is too much luck involved in Risk. Yes, there is strategy, but a good strategy is worthless if you don't get good dice rolls. It is frustrating when you play a game and find that your intelligence is virtually worthless.

In conclusion, Risk can be very fun. It is an excellent introduction to classic American war games. It is also a wonderful game for younger children. But if you are a big fan of strategy games such a chess, you may be dissapointed by the high luck factor. If you like luck games, or are looking for a family game that is good for 7-9 year old children, check this one out. But if you want to play a game where your intelligence and strategy is what determines the outcome, play Diplomacy.

Great in its time, but ...
March 25, 2003

Thirty or so years ago, Risk was great. I remember at Christmas when the whole family was together and we had plenty of time on our hands, we played games of Risk that lasted days. In comparison with what was available at the time, Risk was a blast! But with what is on today's market, I can't imagine in my wildest dreams going back to those endless hours of tossing dice. The only reason I rate Risk as high as a 3 is because of old, long-gone, fond memories.

Very much a family war game
June 27, 2001

I have fond memories of playing Risk when I first bought it, but since then, I've moved on to bigger and better things. It's a great title for those casual board gamers who are wanting a game to help break themselves into wargaming. Each player has a number of units (made of different miniatures, depending on the edition of the game you have) to utilize in their conquest to take over the world. There is a certain amount of strategy involved in knowing how to hold your ground and when to attack, but in the end it often comes down to who can obtain the best dice rolls. I've often seen a superior force decimated by a smaller set of defenders because the attacking player could not roll dice to save themselves. This aside though, Risk also makes an excellent family game and it all becomes far more interesting with a full complement of players. Most hardcore gamers will play this a couple of times before moving on to something like Britannia, which offers both historical accuracy and relies a lot more on strategy (but still uses dice).

A dated classic that offers fun.
November 21, 2000

If this were 1965, Risk might rate 5-stars, because there were very few competitors, and none were marketed as well. When we discovered the game in the early '60s, it was fresh and different, and we spent many a rainy afternoon conquering the world with our dice.

But time has passed this veteran by. Although it has been in continuous production for over 40 years, little has changed, save the bits (wooden blocks, to plastic bits, to plastic figurines, and even metal figurines), and the addition of secret mission cards. The mission cards can shorten game length a bit, but it usually doesn't take long to discern your opponents' objectives. Strategies are rather obvious after the first couple of plays.

A variant sold in the '80s titled Castle Risk spiced up the game a bit, adding rules for capital territories (represented by plastic castles and flags), die-roll modifier cards (generals, marshals), and amphibious assaults (admiral cards). It was played on a map of Europe, which seemed to have been lifted from Diplomacy. If you like Risk and can find a copy of this game, get it.

As other reviews have noted, there a many better geo-strategy games available now (e.g. Diplomacy, Vinci, Supremacy), and they've reduced Risk to light fare. Still, it has a certain charm to it, and it's fun to drag out from time to time, especially since so many people are already familiar with the rules.

World domination on a tabletop
November 24, 1999

Risk is a dicefest - there's no denying that - but it is at least a classic dicefest, one of the first of its kind. As such, it has moulded so many other grand-scale warfare games that its mechanisms seem almost simplistic compared with its descendants.

Many editions of Risk have been produced over the years, with the standard version containing plastic figures of infantry, cavalry and artillery and a brightly-coloured mapboard, and a deluxe edition in more muted colours and featuring metal pieces.

The rules seem to have not been modified since the game was invented around 1960. The aim of the game is to dominate the world. Each player begins with single units (represented by infantry figures; to save congestion on the map, the cavalry figures represent five units and the artillery ten) in a number of provinces around the world. Then, on your turn, you receive a number of extra units based on how much of the world you already control (with bonuses for controlling entire continents). These can be placed in any provinces you already control. With concentrations of units you can then invade neighbouring provinces.

Battles are determined entirely by die rolls; for large armies attacking small ones, the rolls favour the attacker, but if the sides are even the defender has a slight edge. When the last defender of a province is vanquished, the attacker moves in, and can then attack again.

Your turn ends when you cannot or do not want to attack further. You then get a change to regroup your armies before the next player gets a turn. If you captured a province from an opponent you draw a bonus card from a deck; you can redeem sets of these for extra units on a later turn.

And so play goes, until one player is all that is left, or if you are playing with the secret mission cards, one player has achieved the stated conquests (such as 'North America and Australia').

The mood of the game changes depending on the number of players (up to six can play). With three or fewer the game comes down to rolling dice and the luck of the draw of bonus cards. With more players, the art of diplomacy becomes more important, as you and an ally agree temporarily to avoid conflict so that you can both face a common enemy.

Risk can drag quite a bit, especially in the midgame when players are evenly matched and dug into their territories. Once a player gains the upper hand is it usually tough to catch up, since the rules favour the player in front. Ganging up on the leader is perfectly normal in Risk.

While the premise of Risk is very violent - world domination - this isn't really a wargame. There is a complete lack of realism in the game, indeed if it were not for the map of the world the game would be quite abstract. There are several variants that attempt to address this, as well as at least one third-party expansion - Risk 2042 - that adds different units.

Several ideas in Risk have subsequently appeared, distilled, in later games (for instance, the removal of luck and a heavier focus on politics in Diplomacy); conversely, many games have elaborated on the simple rules of Risk. As a game, it probably leaves a little to be desired, but its heritage is a very rich one indeed.

Pretty good but dated
October 13, 1999

Fun, for a while, but experienced players can drag the game out (especially with long endgames). I haven't tried it with the mission cards, but I imagine they can speed things up. There are faster, better territory-grabbing games out there now -- such as Settlers of Cataan, El Grande, etc...

Or if you enjoy the diplomacy/deal aspect of Risk:

Diplomacy, Machiavelli or Kingmaker (which if you see -- buy -- they are now out of print).

Fun concept, but dice are much too important...
February 26, 2003

I've played Risk for years, it's just one of those games that everyone who grows up in the States has come across at some point in their lives, and I can still appreciate it.

That said, Risk just doesn't do enough to reward good strategy, and as such I can't give it more than 2 stars. There are games that involve dice, and then there are games that rotate around dice, and such is the case with Risk.

A grand strategy and a huge army can be absolutely decimated by a string of bad rolls, conversely, a poor defensive position can suddenly become brilliant if your lone defender can keep rolling 6.

Sadly, this inadquacy is the central element of the game, as everything revolves around chucking the dice.

The new editions of Risk also suffer from annoying components. I remember starting out with an old board which had the old Roman numeral pieces to denote how many men you had in each country, and that was much more convenient then trying to count up the mobs of cannons, cavalry, and infantry that the more modern editions ask of you.

Of all the games of my youth this is still the one that I'm willing to occasionally drag out to play with my more casual gamer friends, but serious gamers can do much better.

out of date
October 25, 2000

Well, this can be fun until you recognize that with careful play it never ends. There is a much better 'risk-like' game: Targui! And it even plays well with 2 players.

if you think this is the best game ever invented...
March 26, 2003

then you obviously haven't rather blindly entered this site and magically transported yourself to the risk link.

Take a look around buddy! you'll find a magical assortment of german games out there that have a zillion times more strategy and fun in 1/10th the time it takes you to play this game! ok...maybe this is an exaggeration, but so is the below posters sweeping generalisation about being 'the best'.

also, war is highly over-rated anyway.

Other Resources for Risk:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.