My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Tally Ho!
Close Zoomed Image Tally Ho!
Store:  2-Player Games, Family Games
Edition:  Tally Ho! / Halali!
Series:  Kosmos 2-player games
Theme:  Hunting
Format:  Board Games

Tally Ho!

English language edition


List Price: $24.95
Your Price: $19.95
(20% savings!)
(Worth 1,995 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 40 minutes 2

Designer(s): Rudi Hoffman

Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Kosmos

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

What happens when the hunter becomes the hunted? One player takes the role of the hunters and the lumberjacks; the other takes the role of the foxes and the bears. Both players hunt each other!

At first, the forest lies peacefully under the face down tiles. As the players turn the tiles over and move them on the board, the forest awakens and the hunt destroys the serenity of the forest. The lumberjacks cut swaths through the forest to provide hunting fields for the hunters. The bears then use these same aisles to track the hunters and the lumberjacks.

The two sides are balanced with luck dominating the early game, but skill taking over at the end. Good hunting!

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Rudi Hoffman

  • Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Kosmos

  • Artist(s): Franz Vohwinkel

  • Year: 2000

  • Players: 2

  • Time: 40 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 513 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item. Game components are language-independent. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English.

Contents:

  • 1 board
  • 48 tiles
    • 8 tiles with blue background
      • 2 bears
      • 6 foxes
    • 10 tiles with brown background
      • 2 lumberjacks
      • 8 hunters
    • 30 tiles with green background
      • 7 ducks
      • 8 pheasants
      • 15 trees
  • rule booklet

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.1 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
A MUST have!!!
September 25, 2004
This is soooooo much fun. Okay of course it always bad luck for you , but you are ging to switch sides and play again. The first time it is just luck, but the more tiles get turned around, the more tactical it gets. Fun theme, fun game, good grafic. A MUST have!!!
 
 
 
 
 
by Kelan
Excellent with variant
February 28, 2003

This is one of my favorite two player games! The sound effects add great flavour.

With the written rules, there is a bit too much luck, which is why I suggest a variant: Before the game begins, each player selects ~5 random tiles and places them on the board. It adds a significant amount of strategy and planning to the game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Kitty
a good fast game
May 24, 2003

I always have bad luck playing this game, but it is true what some of the other reviewers had said about the chance factor. I think it's more chance driven then Hera and Zues, and slightly more strategic than Lost Cities. Overal not a bad game, would have been more challenging if each player can choose where to place his tiles, or at least some of them at the beginning.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Bears go 'Yummm Yummm'
July 22, 2001

I'll echo the sentiments about this game inducing animal noises from the players (at least from me). My wife and I very much enjoy this game, and the initial perception of the amount of luck turns out to be a bit overblown. There is a lot of luck in this game, but I think also a larger amount of strategy than you may perceive at first.

Almost five stars, but due to the theme and luck you need to evaluate whether it seems a game which would appeal to you and your potential opponents. Non-gamers may actually find the chess-like strategy towards the end of rounds difficult and thus get frustrated by consistently lopsided final scores.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
That there bear just ate my lumberjack!
June 23, 2001

Two different perspectives on this game:

For those of you who've tried other games in the Kosmos 2-player line, this one is good, a bit [page scan/se=0035/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]chess-like, with more luck than even Hera & Zeus, but fun and strangely involving. (I tend to make a lot of bear-like and duck-like noises as I play this game.) And in the same way Hera & Zeus has a lot of gut-wreching card draws, this one has some gut-wrenching tile flips--you know it is pure chance, but you are trying to will the tile/card you need to that exact position! I like it and I liked Hera & Zeus too. So take that for what it's worth.

For people who don't know much about German games, this is a 2-player game by Kosmos (one of the best game companies around) that basically concerns a rather silly battle between the humans and the beasts that takes place on a 7 x 7 board. It plays a tiny bit like chess, but don't let that scare you off. The game is fun, the board art is exceptionally well done, and it has a good dose of luck which makes it a good family game to have around. A mom could play against her 10 year old son, and the son would have a shot at winning. (Try saying the same for chess--HA!) Something like that can't be said for most games that have strategic moving involved--adults just have an advantage for long range planning.

And it's hard not to like a game that elicits noise-making from all parties concerned!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Entertaining, but can be frustrating.
December 12, 2000

Tally Ho plays much like a game of chess with nothing but kings and rooks. Strategies are simple with the rook-like players (hunters) trying to clear the board with the lumberjack to bring his greater ranged attack to bear on the king-like bear. Confounding this is the element of luck. Turn over a bear surround by trees, and you have one dead bear. In summary, most people seem to really like the game. The fact that you can completely lose this game solely due to luck prevents it from becoming a 5.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Chess-like, only faster
November 26, 2000

This is a game of hunt-and-capture, with unequal 'teams.' The brown team (8 hunters and 2 lumberjacks) vs the blue team (2 bears and 6 foxes). It's not at all politically correct, in that the brown team's mission is to cut down the trees in the forest and kill all the critters it can (the blue team plus neutral ducks and pheasants). The blue team tries, in turn, to eat the birds and kill the humans.

However, the icons on the playing pieces are pretty meaningless. It could have been gangsters trying to snuff out the police and vice versa, with illegal bribes as the target of both groups. In other words, it's another abstract game with a theme grafted on.

And this abstract game is quite chess-like, in that all the pieces move either as a rook (foxes, birds, hunters) or as a diagonally-challenged king (bears, lumberjacks). And they all carry with them a point value (bears are the big prize, immobile trees the least). Your mission: bag as much prey as you can until all the tiles are uncovered (they begin face down and your turn is either to move or reveal a tile). When all tiles are exposed, you start the silly 5-turn countdown during which you may either continue to kill the opponent's pieces, or rescue your pieces from the board (leaving through an exit space).

Its main positive attribute is that it's quick. You don't have to invest chess-like time in this game. In fact, for balance, you have to play twice in succession, once for each 'team.' And that takes about 30-40 minutes total. Its main detriments are the luck factor (the random board can create a painful situation from which recovery is impossible) and the choice of theme. With the German insistence on non-violent games, why weren't the hunters provided with bows rather than guns?

In all, it's quick and fun and different at every playing. It won't work as a gauge of skill, so don't expect to see any national Tally Ho tournaments, but for what it is, it's one of the better two-player games around.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun, but in limited amounts
January 11, 2003

I've played this game with lots of people and they want to play it over and over again ... for a while - then it goes back on the shelf for six months.

It's a great way to introduce your non-board gaming friends to the hobby, but I would suggest Tuscana because of the element of a tad more strategy.

However, the theme is great and the cartoony characters have made all my friends laugh.

As I mentioned earlier, I find that luck plays a LARGE roll in this game. I've played it dozens of times and sometimes I'll get blown away while other times I do the dominating and still there's the odd close game. All that despite using different strategies.

Other reviewers who say the game is 'chess-like' especially at the end aren't that far off, but you don't have to think like 30 moves in advance.

Also, if you play this game, I recommend making noises, it adds to the game

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Tally Ho!:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.