My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Strategy Games
Edition:  Doge
Format:  Board Games


English language edition

List Price: $39.95
Your Price: $31.95
(20% savings!)
(Worth 3,195 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here. It may also be available in another edition. Try: Doge

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
12+ 60-80 minutes 3-4

Designer(s): Leo Colovini

Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Goldsieber

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Venice, also called Serenissima, the most venerable, flourished in the late middle ages as a merchant center. The old established families competed for political power and influence in this city state. As the heads of these families, the players use their power and influence to build the most magnificent buildings and palaces along the Grand Canal. Those that move swiftly and cleverly may attain the highest office in Venice: the office of the Doge!

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Leo Colovini

  • Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Goldsieber

  • Artist(s): Franz Vohwinkel

  • Year: 2000

  • Players: 3 - 4

  • Time: 60 - 80 minutes

  • Ages: 12 and up

  • Weight: 1,405 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English.


  • 1 board
  • 60 houses
  • 32 palaces
  • 9 advisors
  • 28 ballot boxes
  • 24 influence markers
  • 42 cards
  • 1 rule booklet
  • 1 rule summary

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 3.6 in 9 reviews

Sort reviews by:

Thought-provoking game that plays in an hour.
April 08, 2001

Unlike the last two reviewers, our group really enjoyed Doge. I found Doge to be exciting and fun. The game played quickly, and prompted careful thought. As long as you like a game with some bluffing, I give this one a thumbs-up.

I suppose some might complain about 'blind-bidding' in this game. But I felt there was a lot of information to process around the decisions. You always know what the next seven elections will be. Consideration for whether or not an advisor will be in place at any given election must be given. We frequently abstained from claiming advisors in order to move houses across town.

We expect to be enjoying Doge for quite some time!

by Jake
Neither here nor there.
April 02, 2003

Doge is a neat little game. Its great for non-competitive players and families because of its above-average luck factor. The luck isnt so overt as in Settlers, but it lies in the guessing of your opponents moves. Nobody is ever sure of whats happening due to the blind bidding. So its hard for beginners to implement a strategy, but not impossible. In fact, there is more strategy happening on peoples faces than the game board. This I like.

While comparisons have been drawn to El Grande and Taj Mahal (two games I quite enjoy), I saw the parallel, but I didnt feel it. I think Doge is much more reminiscent of Knizias Royal Turf (another light strategy game thats high on luck, high on fun) especially with that 0 betting chip.

The theme works. It doesnt make me feel like Im in Venice, but it does make me feel like Im in a political battle. And this game does a wonderful job of solving the downtime problem so unmistakably avoidable in other games. For this reason, it plays fast. Very few games can boast this kind of tension in such a quick duration. I originally passed on this game because of my ignorance of the designer, but Colovini has done well. Not groundbreaking, but unique.

by Ryan
Political Intrigue in Venice Lives Again
June 19, 2001

Doge is the type of game that gives you a lot of choices on each turn, and for me, this is what makes the game so much fun. On each turn players must decide how many districts and which districts they wish to compete in, how many votes each district is going to get, and the respective value for each of these votes--and this is just phase one. In phase two, the elections are resolved and further questions arise related to moving houses or controlling representatives (this is further complicated by the order in which the elections are held for the current round as well as the known order for the elections for next round). Factor in the ever-increasing cost of building palaces and the parliamentary district and you've got quite a game on your hands. You'll find your head swimming with options as new situations arise requiring new decisions and new strategies.

Doge has a lot going for it. First, I find the setting of the game--Medieval Venice--fascinating (sorry, I'm an historian). The Doge was one of the great power-brokers of the Middle Ages as he controlled Europe's major trading center with the East. Second, Doge is beautifully produced with a colorful map and solid wooden pieces. Third, despite the fact that there are so many options on each turn, the game is fairly easy to play. The rules are simple and clear, with little abiguity. Fourth, the game is playable in about one hour. The turns play quickly (all players play phase one simultaniously and phase two involves all players at various times) and the interest level usually remains high. Fifth, because of the way all players reveal their districts in phase one simultaniously and the way the elections are resolved in phase two, each turn is full of tension. Lastly, since there are no dice involved, the game relies more on players' actions than on pure luck (this is not to say that chance plays no role whatsoever).

Doge has its drawbacks too. The early part of the game (when all the districts are open and no palaces have been built) seems to rely much more on chance than later rounds. If someone runs unopposed in a few districts early on, he/she is virtually guaranteed a couple of easy palaces while the other players are going tooth-and-nail over three or four tightly contested districts. This can lead to one player building up a solid lead while the others scramble to catch-up. Personally, I like the way the game develops. Since each player is responsible for where they place their own votes, it gives some sense of control but also allows an acceptable amount of chance. Plus, it's interesting to see if someone who jumps out to an early lead can capitalize and exploit their advantage. The second drawback to the game is related to this, however. If one player gets a lead, and knows the subtleties of the game, it's almost impossible to overtake them. This doesn't necessarily mean whoever gets the early lead will always win, but if they know what they're doing, they probably will.

Still, despite the aforementioned issues, I find the game very worthwhile. Doge is challenging, fast-moving, beautiful, and very re-playable. In fact, as I was teaching a friend how to play the game, he asked me what the overall strategy of the game was. I knew I liked the game and would be playing it for a while when I realized that I couldn't give him a general formula for victory. There are just too many variables. While it's true that certain patterns appear (like using advisors early and moving houses later on) and strategies become apparent, specific situations demand different strategies that may run contrary to those patterns (e.g., the last time I won, I won because of a crucial late-game advisor move to break a tie in a key district). If all of this sounds too confusing, don't let it scare you. As I said earlier, the game is simple to learn, but the strategies are complex. If you like strategy games that give you a lot of options each turn but are playable in about an hour, you'll enjoy figuring out the subtle, yet elegant, nature of Doge.

Very good and challenging
April 28, 2001

This is a good game if you like bluffing and strategy. You have limited resources and cannot go back to an area in which you have already bid. This forces you to really have to think about your goals and how best to attain them while thwarting your opponents. Timing of your bids can be crucial, and don't underestimate the power of the advisors!

by Jim
SdJ Material
January 02, 2001

If you are looking for a light, fluffy fill game, this game isn't the one. Like the previous reviewers have said... this game can be mentally taxing... but thoroughly engrossing and enjoyable.

If you enjoy games with a large amount of bluffing (you Aladdin's Dragons players will love this one) and a lot of mixed strategy and tactics, this game should not be passed.

The only problem we've had with the game is the occasional slow bidding round when one or two key areas are being contested (it's really hard to decide what to do with your limited options). There is virtually no downtime during the game itself as all bids are revealed simultaneously.

Probably best played with four instead of three... and, with some tweaking, could probably be played with five if you wanted to fudge some game components.

Highly recommended! This game is definitely SdJ material... it should give Java a good run for the money.

good game, but limited replayability
December 12, 2000

I agree with the statements by the other reviewer. It is a very good game with little luck involved. It does not merit five stars because it seems that it would get old fairly quickly, although your milage may vary. I would recommend buying this game to someone looking for a game that emphasized strategy over luck.

"When the moon hits your eye, like a big pizza pie..."
December 11, 2000

'That's Amore, 'Volare', 'Forget Domani' Just like Martin, Sinatra, and Como crooning Italian love songs in the 50's & 60's, Italy seems to the game designer's country of choice recently with La Citta, Princes of Florence, Vino and Leo Colovini's latest, Doge. By definition, 'Doge' was the title bestowed upon the holder of the highest office in Venice for over 1000 years influencing the control of trade and business of Italy. Rome had the Pope, but Venice held the purse strings. Doge is a simple recreation of the families of power jockeying to become the 'Doge'.

Doge consists of two phases in which players vie for control of six districts and advisors of Venice along with the advisors of the Quarantia, a type of Italian parliment. Control of a district lets you build one or two houses, which in turn build palaces. With each palace built in a district (max. 5), the cost to build the next one increases. Build six or more palaces throughout Venice guidelines and you win the title of 'Doge'.

Phase one consists of three rounds (four with three players) of secret voting. Players select an area from their identical set of cards, lay it face down with 1 - 4 votes (values from 0 - 3). Players reveal what district they are trying to influence, BUT not the value of their votes until phase two.

Phase two reveals the value of votes for each district. Top # of votes receives the 'Advisor' for that area and two houses in that district. Runner-up receives one house. Control of an 'Advisor' allows the player to add 1 vote per advisor in any other district but its own. As soon as a player meets the criteria (# of houses) to place a palace, he may do so.

Players repeat phases till a victor is determined.

I really enjoyed the play of this game. There is very little down time between players, and with the '0' votes, the opportunity to bluff your opponents in the districts is great. While it sounds like an oxymoron, the pre-determined randomness of when districts reveal the votes placed on them, it works in this game and reduces any luck factor. There are however, two rule disputes that kept me from giving a five star rating. The first challenge involves players who tie with the # of houses to build a palace. When players tie, rules state both may build a palace for the same cost, but only five palaces are allowed in each district. If the tie occurs for that fifth palace, can both players build, putting a SIXTH palace in the district? We decided since ties are allowed, you could though there is no space on the board to put it. The second challenge involves the Rulebook versus the Rules Summary Card. When a player gets majority votes in a district, he receives two houses in the district and the 'Advisor'. A player can give-up (neutralize) the advisor and instead move an exsisting house in or out of that district to another. Rulebook states this happens BEFORE placing your two houses, Summary card shows it happening AFTER. This is important as a player could place his two houses, then immediately move one of them to another district. A distinct advantage later in the game. We decided Rulebook takes precedent, but one player balked as it killed his endgame strategy.

DOGE is a medium complexity influence game in par with El Grande, Web of Power and Taj Mahal. The bits and pieces are solid, cards neat, and wonderful game board graphics. Worth buying and will probably be in the 2001 Spiel de Jahres running.

Not going to make my top 10
February 11, 2001

This game looked quite promising, and Leo Colovini's other two new releases (Carolus Magnus and Cartegena) were really quite good; this one, though, is fairly pedestrian.

It's basically a bidding/bluffing game, where you allocate your pool of influence to 3 of the 9 regions each turn, with the player who allocates the most getting houses. Houses can then be converted to palaces, with the early converters getting better rates.

And that, sadly, is about it. You get to claim advisors in regions that you win, and these have some small effect on the game, but really it's all about getting the most mileage out of your bid tokens.

For me, I guess, it comes down to the rather ugly matter of cost. For a $10 card game (which it could very easily be) this would not be too bad. For a big-box (and price) board game, it doesn't hold your interest much past the 3rd play. In a Goldsieber line that is not exactly known for killer games, it's not even as good as Big City, Medieval Merchant, or Vino (never mind Lwenhertz).

Ugh! Don't let the Doge OUT!
April 05, 2001

Tried this one at the weekly game session. The concept of blind bidding didn't make sense to the players and consumed a lot of time until the end of the game. Hard to stop someone who breaks away from the pack. This one is going to sit on my shelf for a while, which was agreed by the rest of the group. "Seemed like guessing and whoever guessed best to stay away from other players won, 'cause you can't stop 'em for long." Blecch!

Other Resources for Doge:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.