My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Ivanhoe: The Age of Chivalry

Ivanhoe: The Age of Chivalry


List Price: $25.00
Your Price: $19.95
(20% savings!)
(Worth 1,995 Funagain Points!)

This item is temporarily out of stock []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available!

Quantity:

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 20-60 minutes 2-5

Designer(s): Reiner Knizia

Manufacturer(s): GMT Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Take on the role of a knight and join the prestigious tournaments at the king's court. Use your cards to win the jousting competitions, or fight with your sword, axe or morningstar. Rally your squires, gain the support of a maiden and play action cards against your opponents. The first player to win four or five different tournaments becomes the overall victor. The game consists of many consecutive tournaments. The player who starts the tournament determines which weapon will be used in it. A tournament may start as jousting, as a fight with swords, axes, or morningstars, or as a fight without weapons. Usually a tournament is fought with the same weapon throughout. However, some action cards allow the players to change the current tournament weapon.

A player who wins a tournament receives one token of the final color in which the tournament was fought. However, a player who wins a jousting tournament may take any color token (due to the prestige of the jousting tournament). Let the tournaments begin!

Zoom In Cover Image: Ivanhoe: The Age of Chivalry
Close Zoomed Image aIvanhoe: The Age of Chivalryb
Cover
Zoom In Photo 1 Image: Ivanhoe: The Age of Chivalry
Close Zoomed Image aIvanhoe: The Age of Chivalryb
Photo 1

Product Information

Contents:

  • 110 full-color Playing cards (70 color cards; 20 supporter cards; and 20 action cards)
  • 25 colored chips (tokens)
  • 7-page Rule Book (includes Sample Tournaments)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.2 in 23 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
One of Mr Knizia's best
September 19, 2008

Brilliant. Just brilliant. Quick, fun, and the theme fits perfectly. It's been our Tuesday night game sesh opener for, oh, years now. We have a great laugh with the role-playing ("Thy maiden's good name has been besmirched, sir!") and stitching-up ("T'would appear thy lance was made out of balsa-wood"). And it's easy to get into -- when people turn up halfway through a game, they just get a hand of 8 cards and off they go. I got very sad a few years ago when it became out-of-print, as my copy was becoming a bit tatty. So huzzah when it was reprinted!

 
 
 
 
 
Great Beer and Pretzels game,(go easy on the pretzels)
September 06, 2008

I wrote a review of this game in 2002, this summer I've been pulling out some quick playing card games that I can play with non-gamers and gamers alike. While sampling a friend's micro-brew selections a group of us played Ivanhoe. It was a great time. I credit GMT for departing from there serious wargames to produce this game and I think some of the newer games have kept this one in the closet for a bit, but I just wanted to remind gamers of this fun little gem. I keep seeing Rage, Slide 5, and other neat little card games on the Top Seller section. If these appeal to people maybe they should look over the rules to this game and they might make it a staple. A cold brew seems to add to the strategy!

 
 
 
 
 
by Domnos
Ivanhoe: Great Party Game!
September 22, 2006

Ivanhoe allows you to play a quick competitive game with some interesting twists by using "special" cards to alter the game flow. The simple concept of winning four of five possible color related battles makes it simple to learn. I highly recommend!

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent Game... Once You Get Past The Rules
July 29, 2003

I recently decided to purchase Ivanhoe based on several accolades--including one here--that I read by Frank Hamrick. I have known him for years and trust his judgment. However I wish he had been there when I tried to play Ivanhoe for the first time. I'm still fairly new to this type of gaming; Checkers, Clue, Monopoly, and various trivia games have pretty much been the staples for me for years. I'm not used to several pages of rules. I, like most people I suppose, catch on to games a lot faster if I have someone who already knows how to play show me how instead of having to read the rules, but I persevered. Of course trying to read and understand the rules at 2 o'clock in the morning may have been the wrong thing to do, but I found reading the sample tournaments at the back of the rules booklet to be more helpful and informative than the rules themselves. Once I finally got into the game, I found it to be fairly easy. I've played the game twice with my nephew now, and we really enjoyed it. I look forward to teaching it to my other gaming pals. Ivanhoe will definitely get a lot a playing time out of this gamer.

 
 
 
 
 
Supreme 'Beer and Pretzels' game, lots of fun.
August 13, 2002

No this isn't the typical gamer's fare, it's a quickly-played card game with some King Arthur thrown in for color. It's a blast! There is actually quite a bit a depth to it, as there is in gin rummy and backgammon. No, this isn't a brain buster like Modern Art or some of this guy's other 'masterpieces', but who wants to hear Mozart all the time? This game was made to have some fun with. Grab your shield and enter the fray!

 
 
 
 
 
by Rich
Great Family Game!
July 13, 2002

I give this game 5 stars for Families and casual gamers. I have played this game with 2,3, and 4 players and it played equally well with each. All the players enjoyed the game and wanted to play again. What more could you ask for in a light game.

Ivanhoe is an update of Reiner Knizia's Attacke. Unlike Battle Line (which is an update of Schotten-Totten and I play without the tactics cards), the tactics cards in Ivanhoe really fit the theme well and add enjoyment and strategy.

Ivanhoe is a great value because of it's price, portability, replay value, and scalability.

5 Stars for light casual gaming, espically good for introducing to non-gamers.

 
 
 
 
 
Chaotic, yup. Still great fun, yup!
May 14, 2002

I can't add much to the meat of the reviews below. I won't add much about the game itself. However, on a personal note, gaming (particularly wargaming and German gaming) are big passions of mine. I have been preaching the gaming mantra to many non-gamer friends for many years. Without fail, every person who has tried Ivanhoe has really liked it. More than a few have bought their own copies (granted, a few just come over to my house to play).

Is it my first choice for strategic subtlety? No. However, there are definite strategies that are important for winning the game. I have seen more than one game come down to the last round where every player needs only one chip to win.

And considering how many German games feel like the theme has been weakly applied at the end, Ivanhoe's theme actually holds up pretty well. The concept that you can't change a tourney colour to purple (jousting) from any of the other colours makes some sense. The cards have good art, and the actions seem to make a modicum of sense. Plus, there is the great joy of shouting, 'I am the Hoe!' when you have just blocked someone's dastardly play with the Ivanhoe card.

Anyway, it is a fun little game that will help draw more gamers into your circle. Consider it an entry drug, err...game (first one's free, then you gotta pay!)

 
 
 
 
 
Wild fun for kids & adults
September 15, 2001

Ivanhoe is a wild, chaotic multi-player game. The rules are so simple that they are quickly learned, and children can play with adults on an even level. Lots of back-stabbing and rapid changes of fortune. Game is great fun, and everyone is interested and involved all the time. Small box, no time to set up, so it can be played anywhere. Perfect family game, great for travel. The 'criticisms' that it is chaotic and that it is not an analytical strategy game are true; it's not a chess-like game. One reviewer compares it to poker, and that is fairly apt, except that Ivanhoe is way more fun!

 
 
 
 
 
Thou must mind the chips as much as the cards... Great Game!
April 07, 2001

This is not a game like Bridge in which card management is key; it is a game of chip management and probabilities like Poker. In this game you must determine when to withdraw from the tournament rather than throw more good cards on bad. The old saying: 'Is this the hill you want to die on', often rings true. Contests are tense and the action cards add random elements which can frustrate. Another saying: 'He who fights and runs away lives to fight another day', also rings true. By keeping out of the contest, you raise the total cards in your hand and increase your chances in further fights.

This is an excellent abstract card game in which the theme adds color. After playing several cards and finding that it's between you and another player, just try withdrawing from a tournament based on your head and not your heart.

If only the old Avalon Hill could have made instructions to their games as clear as these. I swear we were knee deep into the game after a brief reading.

This game is a lot of fun; not as stategic as Schotten-Totten, but moreso though than Lost Cities. It is emotional and requires bluffing more than many card games. Those who think Bridge is a game of skill and Poker is just pure luck will probably fail to see the genius in this game. Fortunately, great designers such as Knizia are not as limited in their thinking.

 
 
 
 
 
GMT and Knizia win this tournament.
January 26, 2001

This is a great card game. The artwork by Kurt Miller is awesome, the rules are simple, and the gameplay is exciting. A game of Ivanhoe takes less than an hour to play, with virtually no setup time. Each game I've played has been a tense, white-knuckled affair, with no clear winner until the end. The game itself is one of the prettiest I've ever seen; even the inside edge of the box has neat historical facts and trivia. The cards themselves are also well-designed, and add to the medieval flavor of the game. The special action cards are interesting, and generally add more options and strategy to the card management aspect of Ivanhoe. All my gaming buddies will be playing this one for some time!

 
 
 
 
 
by Elyah
Blood Spilled in Barnes and Noble!
January 23, 2001

Ivanhoe is the kind of game you can pull out and play on a moment's notice. No set up, no mess to clean up. Easy rules. Quick games. Fun. My friend and I arrived at a speaking engagement in a distant town an hour and a half early. What do we do? We found a Barnes and Noble and sat at a table in the coffee shop, pulled out Ivanhoe (which I just happened to bring along) and spilled our blood in jousts, sword fighting, etc. We played two games in the hour that remained, picked up our cards, and rushed to the meeting (almost late)!

That's one of the great things about Ivanhoe. You can play it anywhere, anytime, in little time! Yet, it is full of fun, challenge, and drama. I feel the tension of a long battle, the agonizing choices of whether or not to retreat and save that maiden, or whether or not to press the fight to the bloody end. I give this game a 5 because of all of the above. How many other games of this quality and tension can you play twice at a Barnes and Noble in an hour, and still not be late?!

 
 
 
 
 
Huzzah!
December 16, 2000

Most gaming groups have their staples. The games that get brought out every session due to popular demand. Some groups play Bluff (aka Liars Dice or Call My Bluff), some revisit classics like Can't Stop or Sleuth and others break out standard decks of cards for any number of well-known games. Our group has recently discovered Ivanhoe from GMT Games (designed by Reiner Knizia)!

Like the reviews have already said, this game is fun, exciting, loud and manages to capture the theme quite well. It also ranks as my favorite GMT Games redo (since it is 'based on' an earlier effort from Herr Knizia called Attacke).

The artwork is gorgeous, the manual is easy-to-read, the rules are simple and the game is awesome! This game is being played so often that I'm already considering purchasing a second copy since this one is already showing signs of wear (but believe me, the cards themselves are excellent quality!)

A must-have card game!

 
 
 
 
 
by Sam
Best of the GMT Knizia games so far!
December 11, 2000

This game is amazing fun! I only became aware of the new GMT Games line from Reiner Knizia this fall, and I really liked Battle Line (but Galaxy wasn't exactly my cup of tea). Unfortunately Battle Line was for only two players, so it doesn't fit the bill when we have four or five to play. Well, Ivanhoe certainly does! It's simple to teach, easy to play (even young children can handle it), and SOOOO ADDICTIVE!

The art on the cards is beautiful (that's what first drew in the children that I've played the game with), and the gameplay is every bit as good as the art. I'm hooked!

 
 
 
 
 
A merry olde time of Jousting fun
December 07, 2000

The first time I played this game I was so frustrated at losing that I immediately demanded a rematch. Soon I found that everybody was demanding a rematch. That's when I realized how addictive this game is. Although the luck of the draw plays heavily into the game, there is a good deal of strategy to be had. At first you may be taken off guard by the various cards that dramatically change who's winning a round, but after getting a feel for how often they come up, the game is simply brilliant. Best for 3-4 players. Highly recommended as a filler game (though it could easily take your whole evening as people demand rematches).

 
 
 
 
 
Pasted Theme - But still a fun, light game.
September 30, 2004

I’m still waiting for a good board game with a jousting theme or even a good chivalry theme. Therefore, any game that boasts such a theme draws my interest, and Ivanhoe (GMT Games, 2000 - Reiner Knizia) did just such so. Of course, I knew before I opened up the game that since it was Knizia game, the chances were high that the theme mattered little or nothing to the game. The artwork reassured me, however, as I opened it up; it sure looked chivalrous.

Playing the game was a very enjoyable experience. The game flowed well, and was a light card game, reminding me slightly of the “Chicken” mechanic found in Taj Mahal. Some of the colors on the cards had special abilities, and I would have liked a reference card; but overall, game play was fast and fun. While the game box states that the game is for two players, it really only shines with 3+, where it becomes a fun game of deciding just when to play your cards. No, it didn’t feel like we were battling knights, but the overlying theme helped make the mechanics feel non- abstract, and we all had a blast. My next playing, however, was even better; because it was with kids. Then, it DID feel like we were battling knights, and the game was even more fun!

A rather large deck of one hundred and ten cards is shuffled, and eight cards are dealt to each player. There are five suits of cards: green, yellow, blue, red, and purple - each with fourteen cards. The values on the cards range from one to seven, but the distribution varies between suits. For example, every green card is a “1”, the blue cards range from “2” to “5” and the purple cards range from “3 to “7”. There are also twenty “wild” cards, known as supporter cards, with values “2”, “3”, and “6” (the value “6” supporters are called “maidens”). Finally, the last twenty cards in the deck are action cards with a variety of results.

A pile of chips is placed near the board, matching the colors of the five card suits. One player is chosen to go first, and the first “tournament” begins with play proceeding clockwise around the table. On a player’s turn, they first draw a card, and then decide whether or not they will withdraw from the tournament or participate. The first player must play at least one card in front of them, starting the tournament in that color. (They can also begin the tournament with a wild card, picking the color of the tournament.) Each successive player must either withdraw or play a card/cards that exceed the previous player’s sum. When a player cannot do so, or will not do so, they must withdraw. Players must always play cards that match the color of the tournament or supporter cards.

When all but one player has withdrawn, that player wins the tournament, taking a chip matching the color of that tournament. The winner of the tournament is the first player in the subsequent tournament. The first player to get a predetermined number of chips is the winner of the game. Some of the colors have unique rules:

  • In a green tournament, all cards played have a value of “1” - even supporters.
  • The winner of a purple tournament can choose any color chip they want.
  • A new purple tournament cannot be started immediately after another purple tournament.
  • If a player uses a maiden and is forced to withdraw, they must forfeit one of their chips, if they have any.

A player can play as many action cards as they like on their turn, after which the action card is usually discarded. The action cards can do a variety of things:

  • Change the current color the tournament (all current cards stay on the table.)
  • Force a player to discard cards (but never their last card.)
  • Draw a random card from another player’s hand.
  • Force all players to discard their last played card.
  • Cancel another action card.
  • Etc., etc.,

Some comments on the game...

  1. Components: The tokens included with the game are the exact same ones in Knizia’s Galaxy: the Dark Ages, small, poker-style chips, with colors that are quite similar to those on the cards. The cards show knights fighting in different styles, with the blue cards being axes, the red cards showing swords, etc. The cards are of decent quality, with white borders (keeps the cards from looking too scuffed up.) The artwork on the cards and boxes looks like that of your typical chivalry- styled artwork from the early twentieth century and helps keep the theme of the game. Everything from the game fits nicely in a plastic insert that fits well in a nicely decorated, small sized box (the standard size for GMT and Steve Jackson small boxes.)
  2. Rules: The game is quite simple, but the rulebook is fairly lengthy - totaling eight pages. But the game is explained quite clearly, and the last two pages play out two sample tournaments. This was extremely helpful to understanding the rules, as well as detailed explanations of the action cards (which I thought didn’t really need much explaining.) The game was easy to teach and learn, but the special abilities of green and purple aren’t mentioned on the cards, and I thought a small reference card pointing out some of these things would be nice.
  3. Withdrawing: Knowing when to withdraw is an important strategic decision. Since there is no upper hand limit in the game, it’s a good idea to withdraw from tournaments in which one has no chance, in order to give one the edge in future tournaments. However, if one waits too long, another player might sneak in the victory before they unleash their full power. The maidens could really hurt you, but most players didn’t play them unless they were positive they would win the tournament.
  4. Action Cards: Knowing when to use the action cards is crucial, also. You’d think that they would add a great deal of chaos to the game; but I found that it was kept in check, because the cards were easily controlled and planned for. They had about the same effect as the action cards did in Battleline. One could play the game without them, I guess, for a more strategic game, but probably less fun. The action cards also helped the thematic elements of the game, making it come to life just a little more, and many of them matched the theme well.
  5. Fun Factor: We shouted out dire threats and listened to soundtracks as we played our second game, and it made it a lot more fun. At heart, it’s just a simple card game; but the theme, even though it’s pasted on, can be taken and run with; and everyone can have a blast!

The game is simple, the theme has obviously been added, but there is enough strategy to make it worthwhile. I normally don’t buy too many of GMT games, as their main focus is war games, something I merely dabble with occasionally. Ivanhoe, however, has become a decent filler, and has the very invocative knight theme surrounding it. Whether it affects game play or not is totally up to the group; but with a role-playing group, the game is an extreme blast. With a “gaming” group, it may not be so rip-roaring fun, but the decisions are decent, and strategy plays a good enough part to make it more than simple mindless fun.

Tom Vasel
Real knights play board games.

 
 
 
 
 
More than meets the eye
September 12, 2001

At first, Ivanhoe seems pretty simple and straightforward. But after a few rounds of play, some interesting strategies start to emerge.

Some spectacular battles can occur as the result of skillful timing and smart play. It's a truly gratifying moment when your opponent realizes you've outplayed him--initially picking a fight with a weapon you know he's strong in, purposefully luring him to play his strong supporting cards early, then shifting to another weapon where you hold the upper hand. If both players are equally skilled, an interesting game of cat and mouse emerges.

I've only had a chance to play this game with groups of 3 players, and we had great fun. Don't know how it will fare with more players.

 
 
 
 
 
Will work at age 8 and up.
June 03, 2001

If you don't take it too seriously, this game works fairly well. The cards are attractive but they are not as durable physically as other game companies' good, plastic-coated cards. For the money spent for this game, it should have physically better cards. The game is good though, and my six-year-old plays it (but needs help with the action cards). If a youngster can read, he/she can play this game.

 
 
 
 
 
by Mike
Remember... Its a CARD Game.. and a Very Good One!
January 17, 2001

I have to chime in. I'm sorry. I really can't help myself. I've been reading some complaints elsewhere on the net that have been hammering GMT and their entry into another game market!

Well, here's someone who has never bought a miliary simulation game that would not have bought a GMT game unless they expanded their game market! Bravo to GMT for trying to broaden their base appeal and for listening to their customers. The price was a little high--so they listened and lowered their prices!

As to the complaints that Ivanhoe has a randomness and luck element, please note, this is a card game and as such it will have randomness and luck involved. These are atrractive elements in a card game. And in case I'm wrong, I beleive military simualtions use dice as a random luck element?

As to Ivanhoe itself, it has become a great ice breaker. I have played with 3-5 players multiple times and have very much enjoyed every time I have played. I find the theme to be outstanding! The artwork is very good. This is a great package here.

So the long and short of it is that I will continue to purchase all of GMT's new [page scan/se=0876/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]European Game series and will support their product because they seem to be listening to us.

 
 
 
 
 
Random card game entertaining if in the mood
December 18, 2000

This GMT card game is a remake of Knizia's Attacke. Each player has a hand of cards representing strengths in different tournaments (colors). One player begins a tournament by playing a strength card, then other players must decide whether to play card to beat that value in the same color or skip the tournament (pass). Players still in the tournament continue to add strength cards or withdraw from the tournament until only one is left, and wins a chip in that color. In a five-player game, a player needs to win tournaments in four different colors to win the game. There are also action cards which allow various things (change the color of the tournament, steal cards from another player, discard played strength cards, etc.). 'Random' is the word of the day in this game, as there is no control at all in what cards you get, and the power of the action cards can be extreme; however, the game is attractive, has clean mechanics, and plays quickly. It's likely a love-it-or-hate-it title based on your amount-of-strategy taste.

 
 
 
 
 
Lo! Ivanhoe. And it was so-so.
April 19, 2001

This is another Knizia game brought to the U.S. by GMT. And though I really enjoyed GMT's Battle Line, I find this game lacking. Randomness is in ultra high gear. There are few strategies to employ, and for a game that claims 20-60 minutes, it's usually longer. Beautiful card art by Kurt Miller and all the rest of the pieces are first rate. This game simply doesn't have enough meat on it for a seasoned gamer and not enough excitement for the party game crowd.

 
 
 
 
 
by JF
another fair Knizia luck game
April 19, 2001

Knizia has an uneven record. Some of his games (like T&E) are brilliant and some are poor. He seems to be cranking out lots of these filler games, and many are not very good.

Physically the game is beautiful, one of the nicest I've seen. Mark Simonitch and Kurt Miller have done a great job. The game itself is a luck-dominated one. You can try and manage your luck, but you don't have much control. Little interesting decision making, and it takes a while to play. Try Can't Stop instead.

 
 
 
 
 
by Lee
Too much chaos for me
January 24, 2001

I have to say I was a little disappointed with Ivanhoe--well, maybe a lot disappointed. Having only played it 3 times however, my opinion isn't entirely formed yet, but I suspect not much will change with subsequent playings.

I guess I just didn't like the chaotic nature of the game. It seemed difficult for me to employ any type of tactical or card management strategy because of the powerful special cards. You can never really count on anything--there are so many cards that can distort and alter your tournament numbers, that it seems foolish to feel confident about your display--you never know what can happen.

Some people like this factor in their games--I don't. I generally like to have a little more control over my games.

As Mike pointed out in the review below, military simulations do have the luck of the dice element--even the simpler ones like Axis and Allies. But to compare the luck in those types of games with the luck in Ivanhoe is like comparing apples to oranges--you just can't do it--it's not the same.

Basically the special cards in Ivanhoe ruin the game for me. They give you a sense of not having much control in the outcome--you don't even have the illusion of being in control. So you think you have won a battle? Wait a minute, I have a card that can take your 4 away from you and give it to me--that's an 8 point swing. Ooh, and here's another that will make all of your 3's disappear, and another that forces you to discard all of your purple cards, and another that gets rid of all maiden cards. So you really need that red chip? You've plannned and held cards for just the right moment? Great, it looks like you may win, but wait, I have a card here that changes the tournament to blue--so here, have a blue chip--hmmm... I'm sorry, you already have a blue chip.

So, in summary, if you don't mind playing a very light card game with an almost insurmountable amount of luck, then you may enjoy a few hands of Ivanhoe. For me, the game was way too long for what it was. There are just too many other great games out there for me to waste time playing a mediocre game.

By the way, I checked a gaming session on the WestBank Gamers website, and Greg Schloesser seemed to have the same feelings as me. Check out his session report before you decide to buy it--it's very informative. In fact, that report pretty much confirmed it for me--Ivanhoe will probably not hit the table again at my house.

 
 
 
 
 
Not quite sure what GMT was thinking...
December 15, 2000

GMT is a long-time wargame company that has produced many high-quality, but highly complex, games (Paths of Glory, Barbarossa: Army Group South, and For the People being some of the highlights). They have recently branched into the German games market with Galaxy, Battle Line (really Schotten-Totten), and this (which is really Attacke).

I'm not quite sure what GMT thought they might add to the already super-saturated genre of light card games, except possibly the exceptional graphic design and illustration talents of Kurt Miller and Mark Simonitch. Ivanhoe is a beautiful game, but it remains one with a very large luck element, not a whole lot of interesting decision making, too much uninformed guessing, and a high frustration factor if you don't get much in the way of useful cards or lose too many tournaments. It's also a bit too long to really be considered light. It's not bad, the decisions are occasionally interesting, but it's certainly not a thinking person's game.

Which leads to the real problem... for a Knizia game, it's solidly in the bottom half. Which means the GMT version is rather expensive for what you get. Despite the attractiveness of the game, it's not very good value for the money.

Hopefully in the future GMT will either focus on better small-box games or games more in tune with their company's strengths (Galaxy is both), and leave the light German-style card games to the German companies that already publish tons of them.

Other Resources for Ivanhoe: The Age of Chivalry:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.