My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
König der Elfen
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

König der Elfen

original German edition of King of the Elves

We currently only have used copies of this item available.


Ages Play Time Players
10+ 45 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Alan R Moon

Manufacturer(s): Amigo

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

The elven king is dead. By tradition, a new king is chosen from the elven princes. In their quest for the crown, the princes leave their castles to tour the villages of Elfenland using the unique modes of transportation available in Elfenland. They first visit the villages in their own realms and then travel to the villages in other realms. In each village, the princes receive a few gold coins as tokens of their visit. To thwart their opponents in the quest for the crown, the princes can place thieves and obstacles along the routes. The prince who collects the most gold in his journeys, will be crowned the new king.

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Alan R Moon

  • Manufacturer(s): Amigo

  • Artist(s): Doris Matthaus

  • Year: 1999

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 45 minutes

  • Ages: 10 and up

  • Weight: 469 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are language-independent. An English translation of the rules is provided.


  • 120 cards
  • 75 gold coins
  • 24 heraldic tiles
  • 1 dragon with stand

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 3.8 in 14 reviews

Sort reviews by:

One of the best card games ever
July 07, 2002

You might be wondering why I say that it is one of the best, when it is so easy to abuse the rules, and break this game? Well if you make some minor rules adjustments, the strategic possibilities of this game are fantastic. Here are the rules tweaks that I would reccomend:

1. After the first turn, deal 8 cards to each player, but have them discard down to a maximum of 10 cards. That way, they get some advantage by keeping cards, but not an undue advantage.

2. Only allow the gold doubling bonus to occur the first time you land on the village.

The first two rules are pretty much necessary, but this third rule is optional:

3. Playing a thief on a village with another players gold card cancels the effect of the gold card instead of giving the player 2 gold for that player. All other players who land there must still give the thief 2 gold.

The fact that you can add and remove villages, buy cards, exchange cards, play obstacles, and thieves, makes for a very challenging and exciting game. Also, the theme of the game, the artwork, and everything else make this game a winner, despite its susceptibility to abuse.

This game plays much better than Elfenland, and has more strategic possibilities. It is also easier to set up and take down.

A must-have card game!
September 08, 2000

I write reviews with family game nights in mind. King of the Elves is nearly perfect!

The game is based on the excellent board game Elfenland and is almost like a souped-up, fantasy-themed Mille Bornes. Players play two phases. In the first phase, village cards are played, and obstacles/bonuses are added, making the 'board' the players will travel on. The second phase, players get as far around the 'board' as possible, collecting coins as they go.

This game is fun, unique, and clever (and the artwork is beautiful!) Everyone I have played this game with has loved it and wanted to play again immediately. The game can be a bit edgy (sometimes all the obstacles seem to affect mostly you and no one else; sometimes you can't seem to get the cards you need to travel) but it tends to balance out through the number of rounds played and through special cards like the knight card. And if you hate card games and have to have a board game, pick up the also excellent Elfenland!

King of the Elves

The good: Fun, fast, very inexpensive, high replayability, beautiful artwork. The bad: As with most card games, sometimes the cards just don't fall your way.

All in all, highly recommended for family game nights!

Not as fun as Elfenland
November 17, 2004

This is the card game version of Elfenland+Elfengold. The components are similar and the travel cards are identical to those in Elfenland and the coins to those in Elfengold.

The play time is a little shorter but it is not as fun just seeing the cities. You don't get the feeling like you're going to ride a dragon across the desert.

If you really like Elfenland and would like a shorter game with less set up time, then you will enjoy it.

by Tom
Become a Fantasy Travel Agent!
June 30, 2002

King of the Elves is a very creative card game in which you play travel cards to move through the world of Elfenland. Whoever acquires the most gold on his travels is the winner.

One thing I really like about this game is all of the options available to you on your turn far more stimulating than the common draw then discard routine seen in most card games. The more I play this game the more I appreciate how well thought out it was.

All in all, this is a fun and unique game. Ive enjoyed playing it with 2, 3, and 4 players but have never tried a 5 or 6 player game. For the price, I would certainly recommend it.

Don't be put off by accusations of 'broken'
February 09, 2002

This is an excellent game - there is no doubt about it. We have played it several times and it will come out many more times. This is with no modification to the rules. Sure there are good card combinations that get a player a lot of points, but I don't see this as a major problem. Most of our games (always 3 player so far) have been close and resulted in an exciting finish. That's the point - its an exciting game simply because - 'if I ONLY draw that card I need then...'. Overall an enjoyable family game with plenty to think about and a pleasurable theme.

Come along and ride on this fantastic voyage
February 22, 2001

I have heard many complaints about this game, mostly from people who've played Elfenland, and prefer the board game to the card game. Fair enough--and so I will also say I haven't played the board game, so that is a caveat. But I will say that I find King of the Elves to be an excellent game.

I really like card games that play more like board games, and I really dislike card games that I could have played with a regular old card deck (Lost Cities is a prime example of a game I could have played with a regular deck of cards--and should have played with a regular deck of cards.) K.o.t.E. is a great example of the first type: a card game that plays more like a board game. There are two phases: the first phase you actually build a land with cards around the table, the second phase you race around the land trying to visit every city. You could almost think of this game as a vastly improved version of Mille Bornes with half the luck of Mille Bornes, but enough luck to keep the game fun and not too deep.

This game is inexpensive and plays really well with 3 and 4 player. 2 players works, but seems to be too easy to play. 5 or 6 players tends to take a long time in the planning phase with people constantly burning cities, redrawing cards, re-redrawing cards etc. But even still, if you are patient, it still works with five all right. This game is great for families and non-gamers who seem to take to the game quickly. It is a lot of fun to try and make it all the way through the land and get your bonus, but also fun trying to max your hand for points.

I never mention game variants because I never play with game variants, but this game has 2 small problems, that I feel really do require fixes, so I'll mention them here.

  1. Gold is too powerful if the player can get to the city twice, so we play that you can only claim the gold bonus once with the one gold card (though of course other gold cards that you have laid in other cities would still get you the bonus for that city once.)
  2. You need a hand limit for carrying cards into the next round or else players hoard cards in order to make bonuses later. I think I heard someone say a limit of 8 or 10 carryover cards worked for them.

I like playing this game, and though it is not an all-time classic, it does get played often because it is light and fun. And 'non-gamers' love it. Great bang for the buck.

by Mike
The Game Elfenland Should Have Been
December 12, 2000

I hated Elfenland. There. I said it. This is blasphemy in many gaming circles. But I never could see the point of Elfenland--it sure seemed like a lot of work. Amd what was a card game doing trapped in a board game body? So I suprised myself when I bought King of the Elves.

I shocked myself by liking King of the Elves. That may sound weird, but consider the game play is more open-ended and player intercative in King of the Elves, and the strategy seems to be even better. King of the Elves is a strong game.

The cards are very pretty, and the game play is logical and fun.

The best part of this game is the price. Save yourself some money and buy King of the Elves instead of Elfenland!

If you liked the original, this latest iteration will please
July 04, 2000

I'll confirm that Elfenland wears a little thin after a few years, and that it's not some kind of panacea for a gamer's longing for perfection. But it's a great game with a special place in my heart, and although I play infrequently, I still love it. King of the Elves fills in another niche in the Elfenroads string of iterations, simplifying the simplified version of the original Elfenroads. It's quicker, lighter and much more interactive than Elfenland and mechanically better than Elfengold (which, in my opinion, isn't saying much). The addition of new special action cards adds a much-needed tactical edge to the game, and the absence of caravanning both simplifies the movement from village to village and forces players to manage their cards well. I think the trade-in option during the planning round is a superbly simple control and balancing tool, where a player may draw three cards from the supply, then has to discard four. I may make that a house option in Elfenland right off the bat next time we play. One of the best things from the original, the transportation card management and planning, is still preserved perfectly in the card game, with the added fun of gold. All in all I think it is a great little card game that has a wonderful versatility, plays very well with only two (which Elfenland doesn't) and keeps the flair and piquancy of the original in fine Doris Matthaus form. Now that I have the three sequels to Elfenroads, I have literally hundreds of cards, counters and gold chips, which are all totally interchangeable. Theoretically I have enough stuff to make an entire new game or a 12-person game of King of the Elves! Not that I would ever want to... Nutshell from-the-hip review is, if you liked Elfenland and found it somewhat lacking, or wanted to like it but just couldn't quite get there, try this one. I really think it's different enough to work for you.

Return to Elfenland
March 27, 2000

Alan Moon revisits his beloved Elfenland in this card game, which retains much of the flavor of the board game but also has a few surprises of its own.

The game includes the same transportation cards that its forefather uses, as well as a few new types, such as village cards, escorts, and thieves. The goal of the game has changed from visiting the most villages to earning the most gold, but the feel of the game is remarkably similar. Movement has changed not a whit, other than being able to use any available transport cards to journey from village to village. No longer must a player agonizingly stay in a town because the only way to the next town is via giant pig and you have a fist full of dragon cards.

If there is a downside to this game, it is that players have quite a few options available each turn, and deciding between them can cause some agoningly long waits between players.

If you enjoy 'Elfenland' and want a travel version of it, one that actually has a lot of strategy of its own, King of the Elves will certainly fill the bill.

Much better than Elfenland!
March 18, 2000

This isn't simply Elfenland minus the board! This game represents a great improvement over the already award-winning original. King of the Elves has done away with the board, making the routes much more variable, and added many action cards, making play simply much more interesting.

The biggest problem I had with the original Elfenland is that there was too little interaction between the players. Each player plans his/her own route, can't waste the limited transportation chips to mess up someone else's route, and has only one obstacle to directly hinder other players. In King of the Elves each player builds his/her own kingdom of two or three cities (normal or two-person game). Each city has a worth in gold, depending on how difficult the terrain is (for example, 3 points for meadow, 5 for mountains, 7 for sea). The travel route, however, is the same for everyone. Each player must travel through as many kingdoms as possible, starting with his/her own. Mulitple rounds are played (as many as there are players) and each round means a completely new route and new travel possibilities. In King of the Elves, there are no more transportation chips, just the travel cards like in Elfenland. Therefore, travelling is just a matter of having the right cards. During the planning phase each player in turn either adds a city card to his/her kingdom or tries to collect better travel and action cards. Finally, there are all sorts of interesting action cards, which one can play either during the planning phase (e.g.: obstacles, which only hinder your fellow players; the thief, who will steal some of the gold for you each time someone reaches this city; or extra gold, which doubles the value of the city only for you) or the travel phase (e.g.: bodyguards who protect you from theives and obstacles; and change direction, to allow you to return to cities you just visited). A nasty little mechanism prevents you from simply collecting an infinite number of cards in your hand--so you have to decide at some point if you want to concentrate on travelling further or making the way more difficult for other players.

If you're like me and wanted to like Elfenland but were disappointed, give King of the Elves a try. And even if you don't know Elfenland, try King of the Elves. It is just a great little game with a good portion of luck, strategy, and meanness!

by Mark
Good but not Great
May 03, 2003

The King of the Elves is a good game - it involves a lot of decision making and some sprinkles of strategy. I would only rate a 5 to what I believe to be a 'perfect' or 'pretty damn close to perfect' game, so below are what I believe to be the game's negatives :

- Your 'strategy' is initially dictated by the cards randomly dealt to you in the opening hand, and so a player who starts off with an excellent hand might still defeat someone else who plays the game better than everyone else, yet who has a handicap of having useless cards to begin with.

Similarly, there is too much luck with the draw 3, replace 4 action as well.

- There isn't true interactivity between players in the game. I think it would be possible to play this game without anyone uttering a single word (not that we do of course, but I hope you understand my point!).

- As has been mentioned, the gold card seems to be too powerful. A variant that we proposed (which we haven't fully playtested yet) is to make the amount of gold earned when playing the gold card equal to the village value - 2. So the higher priced villages (where the gold card would predominantly be played) still pay more than lesser priced villages, but not outrageously so as is the case with the current rules, whereby the gold card pays double the village value. Also, you only get the gold card bonus the first time you pass it, and cannot acrue the bonus again if you journey back to the village using a reverse card.

Anyway, the game has its merits and is a worthwhile investment, but there are certainly better games out there worth consideration.

It's ok....
December 02, 2001

I read the reviews and picked it up. It's not very thrilling for me, since the game is over very quickly. At its core, it's a card counting game; you have to track your cards so that you can travel around the land as many times as possible. I like light games, this is a pleasant diversion. It won't get pulled out of the closet very often.

Good game, with some caveats
September 10, 2000

A couple things on this game:

First, in general it's pretty good. I like it better than Elfenland, although that's not saying a huge amount. It's got a lot of the attraction of Elfenland in a more manageable package, and it steals a little bit of the cash management stuff from Elfenland + Elfengold without the headaches of that longer, more substantial game. In short, it's a decent game.

Now, the caveats: firstly, the game is monumentally unplayable with 6. In this particular case, the game really works best at about 4. I'm horrified that they even printed 6 on the box.

Secondly, the gold cards are rather obviously broken (especially in combination with the reverser cards) and result in the strategy of hoarding cards being extremely powerful. That's OK; the rules change we use it to make gold a revenue doubler for every player, not just the playing player, and we remove the reversers from the deck. This seems to work all right.

As I say, there is a decent game in there somewhere, but I must admit being put off by its rather obvious and serious problems... makes you wonder how much playtesting they actually did.

Why Rate it Based on Changes?
December 30, 2001

This is obviously personal preference, but I find it quite off-putting that people will give a game 4 and 5 stars only to go on to say that it is broken. Shouldn't the rating be based on the game as it is written? If you give it a low score and then go on to say 'however, with these changes, it becomes a 4 or 5' it would make more sense, in my opinion.

And the fact is, as so many have mentioned, that this game is broken due to the over-valuing of the gold cards. They can be readily abused, especially in concert with a 'change of direction' card. Beyond that, a lucky player doesn't even NEED such abuse if they manage to draw more gold cards in concert with the higher valued cities than other players. It becomes quite boring with each player hoarding cards hoping for that one 'big combo' since no other action you can take can compete.

Yes, with some changes the game is enjoyable. However, when you rate a movie, do you say 'Well, I give it 4 stars because if the acting were a bit better and the director had done a better job, that's what it would have deserved'?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for König der Elfen:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.