My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
NEW!
REWARD
program
 
 
NEW!
MEMBER
program
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Pig Pile
 
 
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Card Games, Family Games
Theme:  Pig
Format:  Card Games

Pig Pile


List Price: $15.95
Your Price: $13.95
(13% savings!)
(Worth 1,395 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
7+ 3-6

Designer(s): Richard Borg

Manufacturer(s): R&R Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

No mud slinging allowed in this fast-paced family game where players compete to corral the most pigs. Get rid of your cards first and be awarded the prime pile of pigs. Sounds easy, but pigs can be slippery! The more cards you have, the better your chances of calling out HogWash! and clearing away the deck!

But don't hog the cards too long or you'll get stuck. The player with the largest stockpile of swine after the final round wins. Quick thinking and clever card play determine how high you'll heap your hogs.

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Richard Borg

  • Manufacturer(s): R&R Games

  • Year: 2001

  • Players: 3 - 6

  • Ages: 7 and up

  • Weight: 366 grams

Contents:

  • 80 cards
  • 40 pink pigs
  • illustrated, multi-lingual rules

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.9 in 11 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
My kids are addicted to this game.
January 08, 2004

My kids love this game and I like it too! The game comes with a deck of numbered cards and a bunch of rubber pigs. In each round you

try to be the first person to discard all your cards. First person to get rid of their hand gets the most pigs for that round. Basically you try to win the biggest herd of pigs that you can. There are a lot of quirks that keep this interesting. There are secret cards you

have to play that even you dont know what they are, or you can slow down or skip other players. Ive been looking a long time for a game I could play with my kids that I would enjoy as well, and this is it. Its not very complicated and even my six year old plays well. Its fast enough to keep

everyones interest and the kids just seem to love those rubber pigs. The artwork is cute (ewe-turn and hog-tied cards especially!) and the pigs are made with soft, bouncy rubber. Great family game! Loved it!

 
 
 
 
 
by Jeff
I always lose, but I can't stop laughing
October 20, 2002

This game is lots of fun. If you win a few rounds, you'll have lots of little pigs to play with, too. I never seem to get to that point, though. The game's been described well already, but I did have questions, and the designer was kind enough to e-mail me the second edition rules, which answered my questions, and made the game more fun. (It flows a bit better with the new rules.) They're posted at boardgamegeek.com. If you play this game, I'd highly recommend those new rules. And have fun playing with those pigs!

 
 
 
 
 
Great for groups
September 23, 2002

Pig Pile is a great game for a group of family or friends. It's simple instructions get even the most casual gamers interested. And it's not all luck. As we found out with 6 players, there's a good amount of 'defensive' actions that need to be taken to keep yourself in the game.

 
 
 
 
 
by Dave
A Fun game with pigs
February 07, 2002

Okay I chuckled at first but that's the point. No hardcore strategy here, justa great time. You can learn the rules in a few minutes but along with the surprise factor (3 face down cards played at the end of your hand) and how quickly hands can change Pig Pile offers a wonderful evenings fun. Light but definitely recommended!

 
 
 
 
 
Great game to play with family or casual gamers.
July 31, 2001

My wife and I have now played Pig Pile with many different groups. This can be an ideal choice when you want to play a game with non-gamers or casual gamers, but can't possibly face another trivia game. With more than one set, you can also readily handle larger numbers of players. We have played with as many as 8.

The rules are simple, the play is quick, and there is a good balance of luck and strategy.

The cards have nice artwork, and the pigs used for scoring will be familiar, as they are very much like those from Pigmania/Pass the Pigs.

It also has a nice 'Woo Hoo!' factor as face down cards are revealed for an incredible win against the odds or snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

Similar in weight to Skip Bo, [page scan/se=0064/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Uno, or [page scan/se=0209/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]The Great Dalmuti, but different from all of them. If you're looking for a good, family card game, check this one out.

 
 
 
 
 
Had a Hog of a laugh!
October 31, 2002

Pig Pile

This is another of the games my friend Tom talked me into reviewing. This cute little game reminded me a lot of UNO. The quality of the components is very high and fun to play with. I built a little cheerleader pyramid with all the pigs I won. The game play is fast and laughable. There even is the evil element. Where you can smack the people sitting next to you with a nasty card.

Not a down in the trenches strategy game. I fun fast card game.

There is a new set of rules by the author of the game (Richard Borg) written and put up at www.boardgamegeek.com If you have the game - I highly recommend that you print them out.

 
 
 
 
 
Good Party Game (every once in a while)...
October 31, 2002

If you like Uno, you'll enjoy Pig Pile. It's a great 'no-brainer' game for a relaxing night at home with the family or friends. I would say that the artwork and general gameplay of Pig Pile is more geared towards kids, rather than adults, but it is fun to play for all. It is a relatively short game, with a winner declared at the end of five hands. So, it makes for quick fun, too. At any rate, this is an entirely enjoyable game, but not one that will be played every night for weeks on end. Buy it, and have some fun!

 
 
 
 
 
A lot of fun - and a pile of piggies!
October 27, 2002

If you're here looking for a strategy game along the likes of the Longest Day by Avalon Hill, then stop - this isn't for you. However, if you like a light game - with player interaction and a lot of fun, semi-strategic decisions, then this is the game for you!

Pig Pile comes in a box with a deck of cards and a pile of pigs (go figure!) The pigs are a scoring device, nothing else - but we found that if you put a dot on one side you can play Pass the Pigs with them. And they make for an attention grabber - when I introduced this game to a group of children, they wanted to play with the pigs. When I introduced it to some adults - same thing! The deck of 80 cards has 6 of each number 1-12, and 8 'Hog Wild' cards.

There is a set of rules that comes with the game, but the author of the game (Richard Borg) has rewritten the rules and put them up at www.boardgamegeek.com . I played with both sets of rules, and found the second edition MUCH better, so my review is based on them. If you have the game - I highly recommend that you print them out and play them. The original game rules are fine, but they had a few questions, so the improvement was nice.

Each game is five rounds, or until all the pigs are gone. For each round, each player is dealt 3 face down cards (pig slop) and 7 cards for their hands. They then choose what 3 cards to place down face up on top of the face down cards. The other 4 cards compose their hands. The rest of the cards go to a draw pile. Next to the draw pile is the pig pile - where all cards are played. Each player then goes in turn, playing a card onto the pig pile. A card played on the pig pile must be equal to or higher than the number on the pile. So, if a '6' is on the pile, and you have an '6', '8', '1', and '5' in your hand, the '6' and '8' are playable, while the other two are not. 'Hog Wild' cards act as Wild cards, can be played at anytime, and reset the pig pile number to zero. If you have two or more of the same number, you can play all of them at once. The face up cards cannot be played until all the cards in your hand have been discarded - which takes a while, as each player draws a card after taking their turn - until the draw pile is out of cards.

If it is your turn, and you don't have a playable card, you have to take all the cards in the pig pile into your hand. This is partly good - as it gives you more options to play each turn, and mostly bad - as it fills your hand with a pile of cards, while you are trying to get rid of them.

Once the draw pile is depleted, players can then get rid of the cards in their hands, then the cards face up, then the cards face down, randomly flipping one over, and hoping it's higher than the pig pile, otherwise they scoop it up. First person to get rid of all their cards gets 3 pigs, with the second person getting two pigs. At this point the round ends - with all other people getting 1 pig, except the chap with the most cards - who gets squat!

There are some special cards. All number 4 cards are basically a 'Skip' card from Uno, while the number 11 cards are a 'Reverse'. The number 8 card is a 'Hog Wash' card, and washes the pig pile away - putting it back to zero, and giving the player of the card another turn. If three cards of the same number end up on top of each other, it also 'washes' away the deck and gives another turn.

And that's basically it. The game play is very fast and smooth, reminding me of Uno. You don't have a whole lot of options, but there is a small amount of strategy, and you do get to mess your neighbors a lot, which is often fun.

I'm not sure that I absolutely love that the player who has the most cards getting no pigs, espcecially with children, but it seems to work okay - and even if it doesn't, it's easily modified. The game seems to run in about 30-40 minutes - with downtime while I stop people from playing with the little piggies.

But it is fun. Is it the greatest game I've ever played - not really, and I don't think I'd play it with a group of 'serious' gamers. But it is a great game with my students, and our wives like it, and those who aren't real big into 'deep' games. But, even we 'serious, deep' gamers did have a lot of fun with the game. Theme was fun, price is good, and time is short. This one should see a lot of play in our group.

My ratings: Strategy Factor: 5/10

Components: 8/10

Fun Factor: 9/10

Time Factor: 9/10

Interaction 8/10

Total: 8/10 - Get this game! I highly recommend it!

 
 
 
 
 
by Greg
Good family game, best if played by four or more
January 24, 2003

Pig Pile has enough strategy to interest an adult, enough whimsy for a child, and a game mechanism that can be enjoyed by all. Players strive to get rid of the numbered cards in their hands by playing them face-up onto a single discard pile. There are a few special rules and special cards to add spice to the game but the main rule is that a discard must have a value equal to or greater than the top card of the discard pile. If you cannot make a play, you must take up the entire discard stack. The pigs are used to keep score over multiple rounds. The first player to go out in each round receives 3 pigs. Play continues until the next player goes out, who then receives 2 pigs. At this point the round is over with everyone else receiving 1 pig EXCEPT the person with the most cards, who gets none.

I can't give the game more than 3 stars, though. The implementation is very disappointing. The main components, the cards, have a cheap feel, probably due to an inadequate coating that prevents them from smoothly sliding over each other. This is a far cry from the coated, linen-paper-covered cards in German games. It is even a far cry from a nicely coated deck of American playing cards. The plastic pigs, however, are very nice. The problem, though, is that these pigs are only used for keeping score. My personal preference is that more emphasis be put into the components that are actually used in game play, and less on the scoring pieces. Plus, I was disappointed, after seeing all those pigs, that they were not directly part of the game instead of only being a means to keep score.

There is also a problem with a three-player game. I think a rule for family games that include children less than 8 years old is that they proceed more quickly toward the game end, or at least not lose their momentum. With three players, a round slows down after the first player goes out. Ownership of the discard pile starts to oscillate between the two remaining players. With more than three players, this has less of a chance of happening because only first and second place is played for. A good house rule to get around this is that the round ends (in a three player game) with the first person to go out, with that person scoring 3 pigs, the person with the second most cards getting 2, and the remaining person none.

 
 
 
 
 
Fun if you don't care who wins.
October 31, 2002

I think I couldve enjoyed the game more but it was late and not everyone was in the best mood. It doesnt seem like a game for late at night but it has potential for daytime playing. You never know wholl win until the very end. Luck has a big part in the game so being competitive is pointless. Its just a game to have fun. The pigs for points are a cute idea and I liked the point system. We noticed that the higher the number on the card, the fatter the pig. Some of the cards reminded me of Uno mixed with hands and feet. (reverse, skip, wild) (getting rid of certain piles before you can get rid of others) I guess I would play it again to give it another try.

 
 
 
 
 
by Jeff
Extreme Lame-ness
June 02, 2003

I could see this game being fun for very young children. But the game needs major rules tweaking to be interesting for many adults, I would think.

The artwork is great and the cards are charming--and the little pigs are a nice touch. But cute little rubber piggies does not a good game make.

If you have little kids to entertain, pick this game up. If not, then you may end up disappointed with Pig Pile.

Richard Borg, however, is a genius game designer, so I might have to give this one another chance.

Other Resources for Pig Pile:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.