My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Grave Robbers From Outer Space
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Grave Robbers From Outer Space

List Price: $19.95
Your Price: $15.95
(20% savings!)
(Worth 1,595 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here.

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
13+ 20-40 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Stephen Tassie

Manufacturer(s): Z-Man Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Bad acting, poor special effects, and a plot with a thousand holes. These ingredients make up the B-movies you love to hate and hate to love. Now you and your friends can create your own B-movies with Grave Robbers From Outer Space, the soda and the popcorn card game that pays homage to the great turkeys you stay up late to watch.

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Stephen Tassie

  • Manufacturer(s): Z-Man Games

  • Year: 2001

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 20 - 40 minutes

  • Ages: 13 and up

  • Weight: 205 grams


  • 120 cards
  • rules

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

Great game, loads of fun for movie geeks
January 04, 2004

I haven't gotten much of a chance to try out the expansions yet. I throughly enjoyed this game early in its beta period. I've recommended it to many people in the past, its loads of fun. The game play gives you something a little different every time and the various expansions I'm sure add to this effect. As a B movie fan and a gamer I give it two tenticles up.

I laughed! I cried! I raided the snack bar!
April 10, 2002

I avoided Magic. I started 7th Sea, but I got trashed every time I played, so I lost interest. Then I found GRfOS. My wife and I are now addicted. We quote the flavor text constantly. It's a pleasure to find a game that doesn't take itself seriously, and where you won't lose just because your opponent has more expensive cards. Once you're familiar with the cards, you have the same chance to win as someone who has been playing twice as long. It has the same sense of fun as MST3K, the same 'I can't stop' appeal of buttered popcorn or a good bag of potato chips. Collectible card snobs will no doubt hate it, but if you love B-movie sci-fi and want a game that makes you laugh win or lose, this is your game.

Fun for several generations
December 01, 2001

Our family of three generations of fans of drive-in horror flicks enjoys this game very much. Similar in play to the popular collectible trading card games such as [page scan/se=0534/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Magic: The Gathering, it is less complex and intimidating because players do not create individual decks. The shared 'back story' of B Science Fiction and Horror movies provides a humorous and familiar background for player interaction and creativity.

by Chris G
neat cards, but repetitive game
August 23, 2002

this is one of the large numbers of games i've played lately where there are just attacks and modifiers basically, seemingly the standard set-up for most card games lately. the design is therefore smooth because it's a refined version of the basic rulebook. the instructions themselves are fairly confusing though, and the way you win makes no sense, but over all it's a good time. the cards are really funny and have great art. if you're a fan of b-movies especially, this is one of those games you could play again and again. after awhile though, you will likely start wishing there were more cards though, as the same ones are always important every game.

Nightmare of the Attack of the Three-Headed Hitler
May 28, 2002

As described elsewhere, the game is a self-contained card game with the goal of killing off your opponents characters while keeping your own scoring cards alive until the end (all the while introducing new characters and locations).

Gameplay is simple and amusing - game design is pretty average but the theme and humor of the game bump it up to a weak 4 stars.

You have to play with a sense of humor as a 'serious' gamer will be mighty annoyed by how much luck plays a factor in the game. But the right people could make this a welcome 'in-between' game.

Tentacles abound.
January 31, 2002

Lemme tell you, there's few things in the universe that are easier to appreciate than a well made, easy to play, Beer & Pretzels game.

Which is why it's so darn easy to love GROS.

The goal of the game, to create a movie close to the title chosen at the beginning of the game, is at times secondary to plain fun.

It's fun to subject the Nymphomaniac cheerleader to 'We've Seen your Breasts, Now You Must Die!' while she's in the back seat of the car.

It's fun to use a special effect to turn Dracula into a space vampire. It's fun to do a lot of things with this game.

It says a lot about a game that a player who, guaranteed of winning, will chose not to do so so they can play another round or two.

GROS is fun. Replayable and enjoyable, it'll appeal to everyone, even if you don't have the Drive In Movie channel as one of your favourites.

Quick fun and laughs, but not much of a game for 3 players
January 07, 2002

I played this game with two other experienced gamers, hoping that it would live up to the expectations raised by the box cover. The game starts by putting together six randomly drawn words (one printed on the bottom of each card) to put together the title of a make believe B-Movie (I think ours went something like 'Zombies attack the subterranian radioactive witch dungeon'). Bonus points are scored for having cards with these words at the end of the round.

Unfortunately, that was the most fun part of the game for us. The conflict is so bloody that sooner or later everyone's movie gets whittled down to almost nothing, so winning the hand is based upon who is on top at the moment they play the 'roll the credits' card.

Needless to say, we went back to the rules to see if we were doing something wrong, but alas, we couldn't find any fault in our play. Maybe the game plays differently with more players. The problem is, none of us really feel like trying it again (read that as little or no repeat value).

On the plus side, we had loads of laughs during the game. Alot of the situations are quite funny (I had the dumb jock and the nympho cheerleader actor cards in the 'backseat of the car' movie set -- I kid you not! -- until they were one by one eaten by something or other).

Ending on a positive note (or I would have given it only 2 stars) I then gave the game to my 16 year old son, who stayed up all night playing it with his friends -- He'd score it at 5 stars!

Long on theme, short on game
September 07, 2003

This game was rather difficult for me to review. On the one hand, it isn't much of a game for 'gamers.' On the other, I guess I didn't really epxect it to be much more than it delivers. I was leaning toward 3-stars, but give it a very high 2-stars.


- Very true to its theme of SF/horror B-movies. The text on the cards is often hilarious to fans of the genre.

- Quality components. The cards are well done, with different colored type delineating card types, and fine black & white drawings of characters, locations, creatures, and props.

- The game play does remind one of CCGs such as Magic: The Gathering, as one reviewer noted, except that cards are drawn from a common deck (no customizing), so one has no inkling of what acrs he/she will get to play with.


- Play is rather chaotic, totally reliant on luck of the draw. In one 2-player game, I didn't draw a creature with which to attack my opponent until she had built such a strong movie, it was nearly impervious, despite doubling or tripling of attack stength via special effects cards. Additionally, some cards are totally crazy, like one that causes everyone to pass their hand to the left. And with the Roll The Credits cards being playable after the second turn, the game can end quite abruptly.

- Expense. The list price of US $19.95 (for 120 cards) is rather steep considering the availability of better card games at $10-15. I was really expecting more.

All in all, it's fun to play for the humor, but not satisfying enough as a game to invite replayings. It reminds me of a more recent release -- Munchkin -- in that it does a great job of making parody of its subject matter, but isn't substantive enough as a game. (I like GRoOS more than Munchkin, only because I prefer the subject of the former to that of the latter.)

If you and your gaming partners are devoted fans of these movies, and aren't looking for a serious game, rate this one at 4-stars.

But if you're looking for a game that challenges its players and improves with each playing, this game will not satisfy.

Other Resources for Grave Robbers From Outer Space:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.