My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Chez Geek
 
Store:  Card Games, Strategy Games
Edition:  Chez Geek
Series:  Chez Geek
Theme:  Humorous, Academia
Format:  Card Games
Other:  Small and Portable Games

Chez Geek

2nd edition


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Chez Geek House Party


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Product Awards:  
Games Magazine Awards
Best Party Game Runner-Up, 2001

Ages Players
18+ 2-5

Designer(s): Jon Darbro

Manufacturer(s): Steve Jackson Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Chez Geek is a fast-paced, satirical card game for 2-5 players. Take it to a party, a bar, or your favorite cafe. Your friends become your roommates as you each try to get enough Slack to overcome the stress of your job. You can get points for sleeping, watching TV, and nookie. Got money from home? Buy beer and CDs, and invite your friends over to Chez Geek!

Product Awards

Games Magazine Awards
Best Party Game Runner-Up, 2001

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Jon Darbro

  • Manufacturer(s): Steve Jackson Games

  • Artist(s): John Kovalic

  • Year: 2001

  • Players: 2 - 5

  • Ages: 18 and up

  • Weight: 200 grams

  • In order to play Chez Geek, you will have to provide One 6-sided die.

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.5 in 14 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Hilarious!
December 23, 2002

One of my favourite games! It's easy to learn, and can be played again and again. The artwork is swell, and the game runs smoothly.

It's much like the game Munchkin, only more thought through and funnier cards.

Oh, and to the person who complained that you don't get a D6 in the box, I'd like to remind that 99% of all housholds has one of these random-number-generators. I'm glad I did not have to pay extra money for an item I already own!

 
 
 
 
 
My Favorite Card Game!
October 23, 2001

I adore this game. It is easy to play, easy to teach and really funny. It's even better with Slack Attack. I probably like so much because I can identify with the people, places, and things vividly, and I really enjoy simple games that have a lot of playability. Every time we play, there are new ways to win. We sometimes aim for 'theme' wins where most of our slack comes from one type of card such as 'enlightenment through nookie' and 'smoking at the cafe'. But, caution, you will need a sense of humor and 6-sided dice to play.

 
 
 
 
 
A great party game
October 22, 2001

Anyone who's ever shared an apartment/house or gone to college will recognize and appreciate the humor in this game, which is accompanied by some very nice John Kovalic (of Dork Tower fame) art.

The game plays very well with 3 or more people and is a great party game experience. It's easy to teach to beginners, and also not punishing to those new to the game.

 
 
 
 
 
finally a game that rewards slacking off
April 10, 2003

Chez geek is a fun little card game that is great to just look at. With art by Jhon Kovalic and the twisted people at Steve Jackson games writing the flavor text it's a barrel of laughs before you even start to play. the game play itself is pretty simple and well explained. Everyone gets a job card. Jobs like the corporate drone, the drummer, the campus job, and with expansions you could acquire such employment as the enveloope stuffer, the graphic artist, and even the Lord of the Fries(an injoke about a james earnest game.) I could explain how the rules work but just read them in another review or at sjgames.com the game itself is fun and with expansions allows for a lot of variety so it's not usually the same game twice. it's not very strategic but that doesn't mean it's arbitrary. it just means you can learn all the strategy in a few sessions. I play this game a lot and keep getting sick of it but then I stop playing it for a few days or a week and I come back to it. It's fairly mindless but it's a fun and funny game to add to your collection. Also it's a great game to introduce to people who don't really game to get them into it. I like to call games like this one gateway games. Like all steve Jackson games it's a bit pricey for what you get, but this ones pretty worth it.

 
 
 
 
 
by Chris G
funny cards and smooth game play
March 11, 2003

I like this game, not just because the cards are all ridiculous and funny, but also because the game play is smooth and sparks some serious debate (like, do you think origin of the species would really give you slack?). The evil cat jokes ar e my favorite part of the game. Come on, we've all had bad roommates, even if they were your siblings.

 
 
 
 
 
Great game for your geeky friends
December 08, 2001

This game is simple enough that it takes only minutes to learn but complex enough that there is some real strategy to be discovered. The cards are hilarious. With the expansion set, I've already played this game 6 times in the 3 weeks I've owned it and it's always surprising. It's great for parties, especially with your non-gamer friends who still won't forgive you for the last time you tried to explain Settlers to them.

 
 
 
 
 
by Eric
Great little game.
April 28, 2001

Very easy to learn, very fast paced and very funny. The lack of depth is forgivable given the pace of the game. Not much fun with less than 4 people--a 2 player game is just plain boring.

The geeky theme of the game makes it great for any sort of anime/scifi/gaming convention.

Just remember to round up about 10 pennies per player and a six-sided die before sitting down to play.

 
 
 
 
 
Addicting
December 05, 2000

This game has become a weekend tradition amongst my friends, and every time people come over they want to play Chez Geek. The cards themselves are the best part. The rules are almost too simple, but there's still some strategy involved. Tip: use pennies to mark slack points. Optimal with 3-5 players.

 
 
 
 
 
It's so true, it's funny.
July 27, 2000

Being a Computer Science major at a technical school, I found all of the geek stereotypes in this game pretty close to reality and hilarious. Even with these stereotypes, non-technical folks should find it amusing as well.

I have usually played the game with four players and game length tends to vary with how cutthroat people are playing. Generally we end up playing it several times in a row because playing it just once isn't enough. It has quite a bit of replayability.

The card graphics are cute, and the game idea overall is very clever.

I'd highly recommend buying it.

 
 
 
 
 
I would gladly live there
December 16, 2002

This is a great game for a decent size group of people. It is very light and the cards are humorous, with very fitting artwork. There are a lot of obnoxious cards to play on one another and at least in the games I have played, once the first one is played everyone then plays theirs. This causes a tremendous amount of havoc and fun. There is little strategy but the amusing cards make up for it. One little problem with the game is if the group is too large (8 or more) the down time between turns can start to take its toll on the fun. Overall this is an excellent game which with many laughs.

 
 
 
 
 
Enjoyable quasi-party game, but not very replayable
August 10, 2002

This is a fun game... the first 3-4 times you play it, when you're seeing new cards and laughing at the witty descriptions.

After the amusement value wears off, though, it's not a deep enough game to be really interesting for gameplay's sake. If you pull this out at a gathering of drunken geeks, you'll have fun; but if you keep pulling it out time and again, fun diminishes exponentionally.

 
 
 
 
 
by Mike
Better as a Comic Book?
November 20, 2000

The cards are funny. Oh yeah, there is an alleged game that is played too. Do yourself a favor and let a friend by this game. It is funny to read the cards and the game is an amusing one-time activity. Read all the cards and laugh. It probably would have been better as a comic book.

 
 
 
 
 
One-hit wonder ... and it's incomplete to boot
November 05, 2000

Much like Give Me the Brain, this game seems interesting the first time you play it. And insomuchas you get to sit back and see where the game takes you, with a few laughs thrown in, it partially succeeds.

However, there's about zero replayability for this game (like Give Me the Brain) and, worse than that, the game is incomplete. A six-sided die is integral to the game, yet nowhere on the box is this mentioned. Nope, you have to purchase it first, then read the instructions to find out that the Steve Jackson Games do not provode everything necessary to play their game. Argh!

 
 
 
 
 
Pass on this one...
July 02, 2000

The cards have amusing graphics, but the game play seems to really drag on. It could be because we played with the maximum number of players. By the end, we were giving cards to help a winner emerge so we could finish.

Other Resources for Chez Geek:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.