My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In The Napoleonic Wars
Close Zoomed Image The Napoleonic Wars
Store:  War Games
Series:  Napoleonic Wars
Theme:  Napoleonic Wars
Genre:  War & Combat
Format:  Board Games

The Napoleonic Wars

First Printing


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: The Napoleonic Wars


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
12+ 1-5

Designer(s): Mark G McLaughlin

Manufacturer(s): GMT Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

The Napoleonic Wars, 1805 - 1815, brings you a fast-paced, tension-filled, card-driven wargame using a point-to-point movement system that pushes the envelope in a new direction for this pivotal period of history. Having a simple-to-learn strategic system and short rulebook, The Napoleonic Wars, can be played in an evening as the cards and Diplomatic Track make for tough decision-making in the face of everchanging enemy threats.

Product Information

The Napoleonic Wars has the following expansions available:
Napoleonic Wars: Super Deluxe Map
List: $30.00 $23.95 (20% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.4 in 10 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
A great game, destined to become a classic!
February 19, 2004

The Napoleonic Wars is a superb game. It has a simple play system that can be learnt (If you are taught by an experienced player) in 15mins.

The game plays very well, giving players a wide variety of options...'Do I influence Turkey to become my ally or do I attack neutral Prussia to gain points, I could help my allies - they might double cross me later though.'

The game takes anything from 1 hour to 4 hours to play and each game is garunteed to be great fun and diferent from the last.

 
 
 
 
 
Great depth of play behind simple system
December 13, 2003

This is one of the finest multiplayer wargames. The system is easy to learn but good play involves many less than obvious points. I've played it in all configurations from 2 to 5 players, and as all sides. I've won from every position, and I've seen every possible game end. Anyone bored by it is not paying attention or is playing very poorly.

Take the contention that Russia must do XYZ or Austria will be conquered and France will run away with the game. I've won on the last turn as Austria, by a single 'key' over Prussia, which depended on the outcome of the last 2 battles resolved (either going the other way would have swung it) - after being conquered by France on turn 1.

When Russia did not help me enough and France concentrated on me alone, Britain made gains on the other side of the map. So I just sided with France. In one turn, Russia became immensely solicitous and Britain lost its entire position on the continent.

When I switched back again it was all we could do to bring France down again on turns 3 and 4. By the last turn is was clear he was going down, but not who would get the lion's share on the coalition side. I was in a long competition with Britain for that position, but Prussia almost pulled off a last minute steal. In the end I won my last battle against the French while the Prussians lost theirs, and that was the difference.

I've also seen France conquer England on turn 2 (after a disasterous 'Trafalgar'), which brings an automatic early end rather than the die roll 'possible early victory' mechanism. I've seen France conquered on turn 3.

The core of the game is the card system, not the moves on the map. The command points cards confer are effectively 'money', and just about anything can be accomplished with enough of it thrown at a given problem. The largest battles often turn on supporting cards rather than mere odds. Burning cards gets things done, but being left lower than others makes every minor threat a menance (because you won't be able to react to them all). All powers have some control over how fast they play their hand.

The strengths of the various powers are asymmetric, and trying to play any of them just like all of the others will get you creamed.

Britain's strength is its ability to disengage at will (behind its fleet) and the strategic coherence its investment of cards can take on because of the flexibility this allows. It does not have to react to most threats as urgently.

France's strength is the power of its superior leaders, combined with the largest hand. Together these confer a marked initiative when things are going well (to deny battle here, overwhelm there, etc). But it has numerous threats to cover, and pushing too aggressively in any one area can lose the other half of Europe in half a turn. It must use the threat of its initiative to paralyze enemies, at least as much as executed campaigns. The combined hand of its opponents can always outspend it.

Russia's strength is its distance and the near invulnerability this confers, boosted by bonuses when fighting in Russia proper. It also has the next best leaders to France. Its best role is leading corps supplied by other continental powers. Its main difficulty is securing actual territory for itself as opposed to its allies. It has constant temptations to get that by actually or tacitly siding with the French (e.g. by going after minors and neutrals).

Austria faces the greatest immediate threat from France. It must be played diplomatically, not merely militarily, to be successful. It is in an excellent position to pick up territory whichever way the war goes, but only by moving with events instead of against them. It should also husband its army, preferring to lose a war occasionally rather than throw away the investment it represents.

Prussia can typically get away with more neutral play than the other powers, picking its moment. It can be hard to defend if the war comes to you at the wrong time, and its hand is not very large. But you can usually take your pick of offers, and territory to gain is readily available nearby, against any chosen target. I find Prussia typically wins only when it sides against France in the end, because when it backs France it usually gets a small share of the spoils. I've seen the direct road to Paris pay off for Prussia several times, in the later turns.

In 4 player the Prussians are a minor neutral, up for grabs diplomatically. This tends to force the Russians and Austrians to cooperate somewhat more, just to balance France. In 3 player they are controlled by the same person, and Austria's diplomatic niceties aren't really part of the game. Instead it becomes Russia's shield. I think England is slightly weaker than the others in 3 player, but I've still seen it win. In two player it is everyone against France, and France is heavily the underdog, because coordination of play of the combined allied hand is vastly improved. But I've still seen France e.g. conquer England outright in a 2 player, after naval events took an unexpected turn. I think the game is best played with 4 or 5, but I've enjoyed it with any number.

Learning the deck is a key to improved play. At a more basic level so is full use of the intercept and evasion system to choose your battles or deny them. That includes e.g. use of small detachments to reduce occasions for intercept, hold passes, and use of several leaders in mutual support distance to be strong in several places at once.

It also helps to develop a realistic sense of the likelihood of outcomes involving multiply dice, because control of variance is as important as the expected outcome. Understanding when risk helps you and when it hurts, etc. Just because you are favored to win a battle does not mean you want it - not if too much would be lost on serious defeat e.g.

I found this created a good period feel for the decision to accept or deny battle, and the role of leadership in making that easier to do. This is the bread and butter of a turn of maneuvering. And even if you aren't the one playing a card, you should be watching the board carefully, because those decisions are going to come up and they are crucial. You should not just let the other guy decide such things for you by always accepting battle, or even by always accepting if favored and declining if not favored. There is a lot more to doing it well.

It is also just a fun game to play. There is enough chance cropping up to make events seem unpredictable, and enough control over the flow of your operations and card play to let you try to drive events through those chances anyway. There are definite better and worse courses and it is easy to make outright mistakes. But there are also multiple courses open to you on every impulse - you are not 'railed' on a single optimum track.

 
 
 
 
 
Captures the Napoleonic Era with fun & flair
October 13, 2003

The Napoleonic era was complex time in history, but THE NAPOLEONIC WARS has captured the period feel with a smooth and remarkably fun card-driven system.

I have enjoyed this title several times both 2-player and multi-player, each game being more tense than the last.

Personally, I found the included rules to be OK, but the latest version puts to rest those inevitable queries which trail the card-driven games.

The components included with the game are topnotch - it's a bit strange to read that another reviewer found the components below par.

Anyway, my feeling is that THE NAPOLEONIC WARS will go down in gaming history as a classic. It's a versatile design that almost effortlessly transports players back two centuries to the Spanish Ulcer, the Tsar's Palace, or the Streets of Paris.

Easy call to rate this one 5-out-of-5 stars.

 
 
 
 
 
There is no better multiplayer wargame on Napoleonic Wars.
May 23, 2003

After you get past the rulebook (go to GMT Games on Consimworld for clarifications and eventually a revised rules book), which I think has been overly criticized, this is the most fun you can have with a multiplayer Napoleonic Wars game--and some people think it's even better with 2 players!

4-5 is ideal, though Prussia is best with a newbie. I love all the card-driven system games, but this is the only one that's multiplayer.

 
 
 
 
 
The finest multi-player game I have ever played
December 18, 2002

This is a wargame, not a German game, but it is far superior to any wargame I have ever played. The 90+ event cards insure that every game is different. It can be played in one sitting with five players, and the group dynamics are fascinating since many event cards can be used for or against other players even when it isn't your turn. The rules do take a while to master, and the online errata are essential for understanding the nuances. After that though the sky is the limit! There are a multitude of low, medium, and high risk strategies which can be pursued. In the last few months I have played this game dozens of times, and every game is different. Our local group has been playing weekly and sometimes twice a week for a couple of months now. We can't get enough of it.

 
 
 
 
 
Vive Le Emperor
August 16, 2002

The perfect compliment to the We The People system, Napoleonic Wars executes the multi-player card driven genre superbly. If you were disappointed by Successors, you must try this game.

It combines interesting diplomatic options with the general requirement of bringing Napoleon to heel. The combat system is very dice heavy, but full of tension and drama (everyone waits with baited breath to see if that die will make a defeat in to a route).

Its greatest innovation comes in they way card play is handled. It also helps simulate the amazing ability of France to outmanuver their opponents. Essentially, the player with the most cards remaining in their hand can interrupt (repeatedly) before an opponent takes their turn, and take operations. This ability to sieze the initiative really is what makes France the 300 pound gorilla in the game.

It appears nicely balanced, with every player position having a shot a victory depending on the end game circumstances.

It also tends to be shorter than more recent card driven games like Paths of Glory and Thirty Years War. More of a 4 hour game than 8 to 10.

It should appeal to wargamers of all sorts and German-style gamers who don't mind getting involved in something of serious length.

 
 
 
 
 
5-star game of the Napoleonic Wars
August 08, 2002

This is yet another GMT title following their successful line of card-driven systems with point to point movement. Easy to learn and lots of options make for a lot of replay value. This game is very suitable for two player action but really excells in the multi-player area. Works well with 3 to 5 players.

The components are top-notch with very useful player aid sheets. Both sides are equally fun to play. This game is of the same quality as the very successful GMT title 'Path's of Glory'.

 
 
 
 
 
In a word: fun
March 24, 2003

When I am asked to review a game, I am also often asked what are the measurements of a good game.

The measurements include such concepts as:

Complexity: is it easy to learn the game, and its concepts

Re-playability: how many times can you play it before it gets boring? Are there enough scenarios?

Accuracy: is it an accurate portrayal of history, and do actions have plausible consequences.

Quality: of the components

Balance: is there a bias?

Innovation: does it bring something to the community, or is it just a re-hash?

Luck: does it rely too much or not enough?

Time: how long does it take to play compared to what you get out of it?

Experience: do you leave with more insight into history, and better overall ability at general strategy and/or tactics?

Value: based on price

Fun: which is based on individual taste

People usually stop me there. 'Fun?' What's fun? How do you measure fun?

Napoleonic War may not rate higher than average in most of these areas, and may actually do poorly in some, but gosh dangit, it's 'fun'.

When someone asks me to define fun, I'll give examples. Up until now, it was a little harder to think of games that were universally believed to be 'fun'. Now there is one.

 
 
 
 
 
Multiplayer Malaise
February 16, 2003

A nice try, but this game falls flat. The components in this game are beautiful, like most GMT products. Unfortunately, while at times entertaining as armies fly across Europe, most of the gameplay leaves much to be desired. Powerful random-event cards litter the deck and disrupt the flow of the game much more than they should. The rules could be written a lot better and this is clearly not a game for a beginner - downloading a massive amount of errata and clarifications is also necessary. Prussia is no fun to play and can have nothing to do for hours. And I do mean hours - this game can easily go on for more than 6 hours. If you can actualy get five players together, there are many better multi-player games to play.

 
 
 
 
 
In five words: only if you are France....
March 26, 2003

This game is great IF you are France, otherwise, it is hurry-up-and-wait game. As stated before, Prussia is absoluely no fun. After the first turn, neither is Austria, and that player can find himself sitting for 3+ hours waiting with nothing he can do while he is overrun.

I have played this game 6 times. Only when I was France did I not get up and watch TV for long streches when I ran out of cards (Prussia, Austria, Russia).

I will rank this game based on the measurements given in the last review:

Complexity: This game is higher than average complexity with extremely large errata.

Re-playability: Good, if you can be France. There is alot you can do with France. However, if you are Austria or Russia, there is very very little variation you can do in the first 2 turns. You have certain moves you have to do to stay alive, then you hope to get good cards and France doesn't.

Accuracy: Very Good

Quality: of the components: Below-Average. The board is not mounted and is just a flimsy coated piece of paper. The cards, while being of high quality, are too high quality...they can't be shuffled without an automatic card suffler. And you need to shuffle them well after every turn...see Luck below.

Balance: Un-balanced. If a specific move is not made by Russia EVERY GAME, France will easily conquer Austra and run away with the game. At the end of every 2 year cycle, a die roll is made which can end the game. The person who rolls this is fairly balanced, but the rules surrounding it are not. You must roll a '6' to win (unless one of the special cards gets played). If you want, you can 'burn a card' from your next hand to increase your chances to 5-6. However, everyone else can burn one to bring you back to just a 6. And since the hand size is so very small to begin with(except France's), no-one except France can comfortably give up a card to try to have a 33% chance of winning.

Innovation: Not bad.

Luck: As previously stated, the random deck of cards are a mixed bag of piddly stuff and some that are ridiculously over-powered

Time: Most of the games I have played went for 4-5 hours. If you are not France, 90% of that time is waiting either for your turn or waiting until you get more cards

Value: Below-Average...see Components and Time

Fun: Depends on if you are France or not. Very good if France, Below-Average if not.

As stated in the previous review, this game does not fare well in many of these categories.

I disagree with the previous review that it is a game to be called 'universally fun'. Only if you like to sit around and wait for hours to play your 5 minutes can it be categorized as that....well...unless you get to play France every time....

If you can get 5 people together to play a game for 5 hours, try Advanced Civilization or History of the World.

Other Resources for The Napoleonic Wars:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.