My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Quoridor
Close Zoomed Image Quoridor
Store:  Family Games
Edition:  Quoridor
Genre:  Abstract Strategy, Maze
Format:  Board Games, Travel Games

Quoridor

travel edition


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Quoridor


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Product Awards:  

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 10-20 minutes 2-4

Designer(s): Mirko Marchesi

Manufacturer(s): Family Games, Gigamic

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

The goal is to be the first player to reach the opposite side of the board. Your opponents are putting up fences to block your chances and slow you down! Can you find the shortest route in this game of mazes and madness?

Product Awards

Mensa Best Mind Game Award
Best Mind Game, 1997
Games Magazine Awards
Game of the Year, 1997

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Mirko Marchesi

  • Manufacturer(s): Family Games, Gigamic

  • Year: 1997

  • Players: 2 - 4

  • Time: 10 - 20 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Est. time to learn: Under 5 minutes

  • Weight: 491 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item. Game components are language-independent. Manufacturer's rules are printed in multiple languages (including English).

Contents:

  • one board
  • 20 wooden fences
  • 4 wooden pawns
  • rules

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.5 in 14 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
A great game from kids to adults...
January 19, 2003

I received this game as a Christmas present along with Tikal and Puerto Rico this winter. I had asked for Tikal and Puerto Rico, but Quoridor was a surprise. I took one look at the directions and decided I would play it a couple of times so I could tell my dad I tried it, but after that it would end up in some little kids bedroom. The directions looked too easy and made me feel that the first person to go would always win. You can do one of two things. Move your piece or put down a wall. Too easy. I opened the box and played against my wife. (I went first). She beat me. What!?!? I couldn't believe it. I took it to school where my students (6-10th grade) could play it during lunch. They absolutely love it. We play before school and as much as I hate to admit it, I lose every now and then.

One thing we did to make it a little more difficult was to take one of the other reviewer's idea and expand just a bit. He suggested to paint the top of the wall green and then bottom red. Now whenever you play a wall you have a chance of moving an already played green wall and moving it anywhere else but changing it to red (where it may no longer move). You need to divide the 20 walls into 2 (or four) groups with the markings on the top. We made 10 black and ten white to distinguish. You may only change your own walls. If you change your opponents walls, the game doesn't work right. It essentially changes your game from Quoridor to Ever-changing Labyrinth! I great change once you feel you have mastered it (which you wont't :-) )

It is definitely worth your money, especially as a teacher of middle or high school students who enjoy playing games. It is short and can fit in a recess or lunch period.

It doesn't compare to Tikal or Puerto Rico (completely different types of games) but it is great for a short thinking game.

 
 
 
 
 
by Tom
Brilliant!
November 27, 2001

I love this game! I've played now about 20 times and still seem baffled by the enormous amount of depth and strategy derived from such a simple premise. On your turn, you can either move your pawn a space or place a wall. First one to the opposite side wins. There, now you know how to play!

The 2-player game is about the most enjoyable abstract strategy game I've ever played and I've played them all from [page scan/se=0548/sf=category/fi=stockin.asc/ml=20](A)balone to (Z)ertz. And it only takes 10-20 minutes for a full game, always leaving us saying 'do we have time for one more?'. The 3- and 4-player games are fairly chaotic with far less strategy involved and turn into a 'gang up on the winner' game. Just like any classic strategy game, this is best played with 2.

I highly recommend it.

 
 
 
 
 
by Bart
The best abstract game I have ever played
September 19, 2001

This is the best abstract game I have ever played. The rules are so simple, a five-year-old can play it, and both of my five-year-olds do. However, this is a game of pure strategy. There is no element of luck at all--at least not in a two player game.

I frequently play with my children, but the game is made competitive because I give them one or two of my pieces.

I know of no other pure strategy game that can be played competitively by a young child and an adult. But the game is great fun for two (or four) adults also.

 
 
 
 
 
by Tom
Even Non-Gamers Will Like This!
November 29, 2000

Quoridor is the answer to my prayers! My wife doesn't usually like to play games that are all luck because 'what's the point?' Nor, in the past, has she liked to play any games of skill like chess because I'm always 'too smart for her.' But in Quoridor, we've found a game where we are evenly matched and the play is exciting.

This may just be the game that turns my non-gamer spouse into a gamer.

 
 
 
 
 
Best abstract game of the millenium
September 12, 2000

You might say I have become a Gigamic afficionado. I have all of their 'Q' games and several others. In the two years I have been playing their abstract games, there is one that consistently stands out as the best: Quoridor. I have never met a person who didn't like this game. This elegantly simple to learn but difficult to win game has been entertaining to me and my friends and family.

In my experience with the game, several strategies include what I call 'the snake,' 'the trap,' and 'push ya' back.' I am always finding new strategies for the game so playing is never dull. As with many games, the key is thinking ahead several moves and anticipating the many possibilities.

As such a wonderful game, it is disappointing to find so few enthusiasts over the Internet. I have also never seen an online version. Moreover, now that American Trading no longer distributes it in the US it is difficult for my friends to buy it.

 
 
 
 
 
Quoridor - unbelievably addicting!
June 20, 2000

I first became aware of Quoridor a little more than two years ago. When I first read the description of the game I had no idea how much fun it would be. It's one thing to see the game and read about it. It's another thing entirely to actually play it! After playing it just a few times I instantly fell in love with it. It is VERY addicting!

It's harder to imagine such simpler rules; simply be the first one to move your pawn to the last rank. On each turn you may either move your pawn or place a fence anywhere on the board. The one exception to placing fences is this: you may not place a fence where it would completely block your opponent from reaching his goal, i.e. you must always leave him with a least ONE valid route to his/her last rank.

Conveniently, most games last less than 15 or 20 minutes although I've seen games between two competitive players last 45 minutes or more. The game can be played almost anywhere... on the beach, in a car or bus or train, at the office, etc.

Over the past couple of years I've shown Quoridor to perhaps a dozen different people and every single one of them have also reacted favorably to it... and some of these people aren't exactly fans of games. Thus, it is no surprise to me Quoridor won Games Magazine's prestigious 'Game of the Year' award in 1997.

Like Scrabble and Pente, the two-player version is by far the best. In my limited experience in playing with three or four players, Quoridor becomes less of a game of skill and more of a free-for-all.

I consider myself a good player and my guess is I still have a lot to learn! In fact, out of the dozens and dozens (hundreds?) of games I've played, I have yet to come up with any kind of a winning opening or defense!

If you find you are much stronger than your opponent, a wonderful way to give yourself a handicap is to simply give your opponent one or two of your wooden fences!

 
 
 
 
 
5 Stars doesn't go high enough for Quoridor
May 10, 2000

I have been playing this game for a couple of years now and I love it even more every time I play. I consider myself an expert player and insist on teaching everyone I know. A dozen people at work now have their own boards and many more are playing because I taught them. I am amazed how easily everyone picks up the game and within 2 minutes they are playing and having fun.

I keep thinking about how easy it is to learn but how intricate the stategy gets... boggles my mind, I love it!

For those of you who haven't yet discovered the game Quoridor, you are missing Best game I have ever seen. I believe the stategy equals that of chess but only takes 5-15 minutes to play a full game (for 2 players). That means, you can have twice the fun in only 1/3 the time of chess.

Also, for those select few who think they are good at Quoridor I challenge you to think about a small veriation that requires no extra pieces....

Advanced Quoridor:

  • Paint the tops of the wooded fences green.
  • Paint the bottoms of the wooden fences red.

Now, in any given turn, you can do 1 of 3 things:

  1. move pawn
  2. place a fence green side up (meaning go)
  3. take a fence green side up already on the board and place it anywhere else Red side up. This means that fence can no longer be moved.

This creates an even more strategic game and takes longer to play, but the results are amazing!

 
 
 
 
 
by Ian
The best abstract strategy game of the decade
December 08, 1999

Quoridor is deceptive. Its simple rules gives the new player a grasp of the game very quickly, but the actual strategy is much deeper. Each game takes on its own character... some are primarily wall-building... some games are about deft maneuvering of the pawn... other times a player can be very deceptive in what the real motive actually is. The key is that the walls can be used for both offense and defense in ways which are not readily apparent on the first few plays. This game is addictive and should be considered a classic.

 
 
 
 
 
Move over checkers and chess
November 26, 1999

QUORIDOR is the game for today's stratgey game players. It's easy to learn to play, does not take a long time to play (10-20 minutes) but it requires a player to think offensively and defensively to win. I know QUORIDOR will become a classic right up there with checkers and chess.

 
 
 
 
 
Smart quick strategy game
December 28, 2003

This is a quick strategy game which can be taught in a matter of minutes. It plays very well with both 2 and 4 players. I was surprised by how the walls could be used both offensively and defensively expanding the possible moves to be considered. Ive had very minor problems with fence wobbling. This is a great game. I had high hopes for this game after reading some reviews and it came through and then some.

 
 
 
 
 
by DAC
An Innovative Maze Game!
May 15, 2002

I really enjoy most of the abstract, ornamental games of the Gigamic company. Especially for the reason that they look nice, and are very easy to learn.

Quoridor is one of the more recent games I have bought. Prior to purchasing the actual board game, I played a computer download of the game (However, the computer is a genius...I've only won about twice!).

But as for the game itself, one problem that occurs when I play it (with a person), is that we often use up the wooden fences too quickly. This ends up as a 'race' to the finish line (which can be a little boring)...and it's also a reason why I sometimes have more fun playing against the computer! However, I like the idea that I can bring this game to school, and it fits in my backpack.

A WORD OF ADVICE: Many people have complained that the wooden fences wobble a lot (and yes, it's really annoying when you move the pawn pieces and the fences get knocked over). To solve this problem, I wrapped the fence pieces one or two times with 1-inch masking tape. This SIGNIFICANTLY reduces the wobble...! (^-^)

-Dexter

 
 
 
 
 
Great Idea. Simple to Learn, Hard to Master!
January 04, 2002

Positives: Easier than chess to learn; not quite as competitive (as I've found); capable of three or four player (although three-player can be tricky); Makes fun designs by the end of the game; quick games and breadth of strategy keep each game fresh. I have gotten all types to play with me, whether they consider themselves 'gamers' or not; Good for all ages and types.

Negatives: The wooden construction of the regular edition is a little shoddy. To be more precise, the woodworking is not (precise, that is). It does not affect the gameplay at all, but does make the fences a little wobbly sometimes. This lack of effort on the part on Gigamic lost them the star.

Verdict: Definitely buy. I do not know about the physical quality of the delux edition, but if it is more carefully made, the game gets 5 stars. Despite the workmanship, the game is phenomenal.

 
 
 
 
 
I don't get the great reviews
January 11, 2003

Yes its a fun little game, but the strategy seems to be lacking. This is nowhere near chess in depth and I feel somewhat slighted by the price for so little in pieces. All in all I dont find this game to be as great as some make it out to be. Its an ok game that I dont see myself playing too often anymore.

 
 
 
 
 
by Paul
Limited Possibilities
May 31, 2000

The other reviews here are raves, which is what my friend came over with.

I was not so enthusiastic. It is a good game, but there just isn't enough to consider. The moves are fairly predefined for you after the first 5 or so, since some moves are so obvious you can't help but play them, and we rarely actually played out a full game as it would become obvious who was going to win, particularly when we each had 0-2 walls remaining to play.

It plays like a race game pretending to be a maze game, but it seems to miss both marks. I do know that a lot of people think its the greatest game out there. I'm not one of those people.

Other Resources for Quoridor:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.