My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot

Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot

Blue Starter Deck plus Yellow Booster Deck


List Price: $30.00
Your Price: $24.00
(20% savings!)
(Worth 2,400 Funagain Points!)

This item is temporarily out of stock []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available! It may also be available in another edition... try: Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot

Quantity:

Ages Players
12+ 2-8

Designer(s): Jeffrey Neil Bellinger

Manufacturer(s): Playroom Entertainment

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Killer Bunnies is a fast paced, action filled card game, in which you must try to keep as many Bunnies alive as possible, while eliminating your opponents' Bunnies.

The problem: Your opponents are armed with weapons and will stop at nothing to keep you from winning the game, which can get dreadfully vengeful, horribly nasty, hilariously messy, and just plain fun!

Can you keep from being attacked by the whimsical Whisk or the torching Flame Thrower?

Defend your Bunnies with the Magic Spatula, or use a Feed The Bunny card to starve out an opponent! It's off-the-wall strategic fun, where the goal is to survive and claim the Magic Carrot to win the game!

Zoom In Cover Image: Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot
Close Zoomed Image aKiller Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrotb
Cover
Zoom In Photo 1 Image: Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot
Close Zoomed Image aKiller Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrotb
Photo 1

Product Information

Contents:

  • 165 Large cards (including Blue Starter Deck (001-110) and Yellow Booster Deck (111-165))
  • 36 small cards
  • 6 twelve-sided dice
  • Instructions
This game has the following expansions available:
Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Red
Booster Deck #1 (Restocking)
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)
Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Violet
Booster Deck #2 (Restocking)
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)

Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Orange
Booster Deck #3 (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)
Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Green
Booster Deck #4 (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)

Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Stainless Steel
Booster Deck #6
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)
Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Twilight White
Booster Deck #5 (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)

Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Ominous Onyx
Booster Deck #9
List: $24.00 $15.00 (38% savings!)
Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Perfectly Pink
Booster Deck #7
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)

Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot: Wacky Khaki
Booster Deck #8
List: $12.00 $9.75 (19% savings!)
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Killer Bunnies and the Conquest of the Magic Carrot: Violet Booster (Restocking)
List: $12.00 $9.99 (17% savings!)
Secret Tijuana Deathmatch (Restocking)
$7.50

Killer Bunnies and the Journey to Jupiter
Deep Blue Starter and Solar Yellow Booster
List: $50.00 $40.00 (20% savings!)
Killer Bunnies and the Conquest of the Magic Carrot: Blue Starter Deck (Restocking)
List: $35.00 $27.99 (20% savings!)


Killer Bunnies and the Conquest of the Magic Carrot: Red Booster (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $12.00 $9.99 (17% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.7 in 33 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by Paul
A great game
March 03, 2009

This is a great game for the whole family. Our 10 year old and 8 year old love it. It is competitive, interactive, and engaging. The more expansions you get the faster the game goes. It definitely takes time to become familiar with all the cards, but once you know them you can play for a long time. The variety of cards gives each game unexpected twists, so you are never bored. And there is always an element of surprise at the end as the magic carrot is unveiled. Some would complain that the ending is anticlimactic and leaves too much to random luck, but it could mean that even a person with one carrot at the end of the long game still has a chance to come out a winner.

 
 
 
 
 
Great.. Great... GREAT!!!!!!!!
November 28, 2007

My buddy introduced it to me. We played it and I was immediately hooked. For a lot of people they take this game way too seriously and they get mad because they take this game as a focal point of their existence and if they don't win then oh crap my life is over. Anyone who can't handle losing and losing frequently and often then this game is not for you. But for people like me who love to just have fun but have some competition along the way then this game is the game for you. I love the randomness of the finally it's truly unique. There is no game like it. The funny cards make it something anyone can relate to. I thought the instructions were very tasteful and easy to understand. I know my twelve year old kid brother got the game for Christmas and had never played before and he had no problem figuring it out. Wow some people just like to complain about everything don't they. They are probably the same people who think the world owes them something just for being alive. Simple, fun, and inventive.

 
 
 
 
 
KB - Great Game
October 21, 2005
Great game if you have a sense of humor. It is one of the few games you can really enjoy whether you win or not. Winner is random, so you can appear to be losing throughout the whole game and still pull off a victory. Great artwork and high quality cards.
 
 
 
 
 
Killer Bunnies is a blast.
March 28, 2005
I got this one for Christmas, and play it the most often of my games. Both my hardcore gamer friends like this game for the expandability, and my non-gamer friends and family like the game for the fun sociability.
 
 
 
 
 
by Lorie M
We can't get enough!
September 05, 2004

This is one of those games that my friends keep asking for at EVERY gaming session. Each week we play a different game or two PLUS Killer Bunnies, and that system has now become standard.

Those of you who find little strategy in the game need to go back over the rules and learn how to manipulate the game to go your way through the whole wheeling and dealing aspect to the stab your friend in the back aspect.

Revenge is a huge motivator for us all, where people are still trying to get back eachother for wicked moves played the week before!

If you've got a sense of humor and a little bit of a mean streak, be sure to pick this one up!

 
 
 
 
 
by Amy
I think its great
September 04, 2004

i love this game, It's true that strategy doesnt mean much in the end... but ive often forgotten i was even collecting carrots because i was concentrating on what card to play next. It's fun, it's off the wall, and the booster packs make it even better.

i think its the best thing since monopoly.

 
 
 
 
 
Fantastic game, highly addictive and very funny!
March 25, 2004

Killer Bunnies.... I have to admit it was the title that made us fork out for this one. Within an hour we had ripped it open and started playing. Seems daunting at first, but it's actually quite simple to play. We've played it with 2 and 4 people, and like most games the more people the better, but it is one of those rare games where with 2 people it is still quite fun.

We have only owned it for a week and are about to buy the booster decks!

Highly recommended, and your friends will love it too

 
 
 
 
 
After many months of playing, it is still a favorite
June 18, 2003

Killer Bunnies is the one game that my gaming buddies ask for again and again. It *is* light, but still has a strategic side if you actually play strategically. The best part is the table talk and the 'threatening' and 'deal making' that goes on. To all that complain about not having enough bunnies - trade for them! Thats what we do and it makes the game even better!

I can't wait to get my hands on the latest booster!

 
 
 
 
 
Favorite Game of my Group
May 22, 2003

I've been playing killer bunnies for a while now. I bought the basic set and four of the expansions from sarsen stuff before he sold the rights. So I have more cards that most other people and I'm eagerly awaiting the printing of the zodiac deck which is the only one that I'm missing. Although the game rules can be vague and overly complicated. My friends and I love nothing more than to kill, steal, trade, or abduct each others bunnies. I was introduced to the game by someone how already knew the rules, so that helped with understanding the game, and I can understand how first timers could get confused, we still have many philosophical debates about some of the rules. By it is by far the favorite on my group of friend, even beating out settlers (of which we have about 7 copies floating around). Trust me the expansions just make it better and better. There is no better feeling than using a mothership to abduct all of someone's bunnies, or making someone gorge his bunny, or using a miniture black hole to suck in 9 bunnies.

 
 
 
 
 
Killer Bunnies worth the money
February 10, 2003

At first, I didn't buy this game because of the two bad reviews and other 'gamers' claiming this game was dull. I'm glad that a friend of mine introduced it to me at a recent game night. This game is great! Sure, it's silly, but it's alot of fun trying to keep your bunnies alive or, if you don't have any, trying to kill everyone else's. The rules aren't that vague. I visited the company's website and, if you're looking for answers, they'll help you out. The cards are terrific and I can't wait for the expansions. I bought myself a copy and have played it with other people and, though there have been times that no one has won, we would still play another round and laugh at the ways people will try and save their bunnies. If you want to have some fun, get this game. It's game fluff at its best!

 
 
 
 
 
hilarious fun
January 05, 2003

Though the rules seem a bit overwhelming, they are funny all by themselves. Once you quickly read them, dig in and play! What doesn't make sense then, really doesn't matter - after all, what sense IS there in using a whisk as a weapon or feeding a prune Danish to a bunny? Killer Bunnies may sound violent, but the suggested age of 12 and above is for the intricacies of play, not a violent content.

 
 
 
 
 
Killer Bunnies is the most creative game out there.
January 01, 2003

Killer Bunnies is the greatest game that has been invented in a long time. To those two other people who left such horrid reviews about this game, I am sure you don't have the ability to tie your own shoes, so I doubt any game about a 2nd grade level would not please you. I will admit you can not judge this game by the first time you play it because it takes a few times to get the hang of it and understand the set up of the game, but once that happens this game is addictive. So anyone who is looking for a new game that is different then games you have played in the past must buy this game. I will not wast everyones time like others with prolonging words, but I will let you know my opinion; Killer Bunnies is well worth your time.

 
 
 
 
 
by Ken M
Give it a chance & you won't regret it.
December 30, 2002

Unlike the previous reviewers, I (and everyone I've introduced this game to) love it. Yes, it's mostly luck. But, so what? It's a LOT of fun. It has been stated that his is a 'collectable' game (CCG). It is NOT. Each expansion is supplied complete. And, yes, the different colored dice do mean different things (I guess you'd actualy have to read the cards instead of trashing the game).

Now, there ARE some problems with the game. If you don't get any bunnies, you are screwed. Some of the cards just shouldn't be in the game. So, the solution? Take them out! It's your game after you spend your bucks. Also, the rules could be a little clearer in some regards.

Here's what I have done to make the game more enjoyable....

1) Remove the cards that close the markets. These cards make the game draw out & get boring.

2) Put in a rule where if you have no bunnies in play, you can discard 2 cards (and draw 2) instead of playing a card. This will get you bunnies more quickly. Also, in a later expansion set, there is a market that allows you to buy bunnies that have been discarded/killed (for 10 Dollas). Why wait for the expansion? Let everyone buy them now.

3) Remove any cards that you find confusing (or your players will). When I play with my parents (in their 60's), I take out some cards that will confuse them. When I play with my other friends, I put them back in.

4) Forget trying to prove how smart you are, admit that the game has a lot of luck (not all....there is quite a bit of strategy once you know what you are doing) & just have fun!

Bottom line. This is a great game that if given a chance will win you over. When the expansions come out, you will see what I mean (I have them all).

 
 
 
 
 
by Eric
Best Game Ever
December 04, 2002

A perfect mix of pop culture and science, Killer Bunnies is THE card game to own! No more rare cards from foreign lands, no more complicated rules! Play with friends, use them and abuse them, and remain friends after the mushroom cloud settles. The artwork is a fantastic. The cards are very funny, but do not draw the players' attention from the objective. Pacing is smooth, turns are quick, and the strategy is suprisingly intense. If you call yourself a gamer, you can't pass this one up.

 
 
 
 
 
Every game is an all out war full of laughs!
October 24, 2002

This game is one of the best games I've played in a long long time. Revenge reigns here, where if you touch one of my bunnies, I will unleash the Ebola Virus on you all!!!!!!

This game is fun fun fun and will become a staple at all of our game nights. The rules are easy to pick up and it's great for groups (2-8 players and everywhere in between).

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent game with one
February 15, 2012

First off, if you are a die-hard gamer, this game isn't for you because of its "issue", which has been documented repeatedly but bears repeating - the actual winner of the game is determined randomly, not by any measure of strategy or accumulation. As a player who dabbles in all sorts of games, it's understood, but the gameplay of Killer Bunnies is so engaging and entertaining that it still makes for a great game. The game was simple play rules, a wide variety of special cards, it doesn't get bogged down in any phase of the turns, and the game moves quickly. Even playing it 2-player is quick and fun, though with only two players it does slow down some. Overall, an excellent game, and highly recommended. Even though I think it's a near-perfect game, the randomness of the ending keeps it from getting a perfect score.

 
 
 
 
 
Killer Bunnies -- Killer Game
October 05, 2009

Lets start with just the main set. Killer Bunnies marries the suprise and limitless combinations of cards inherent in collectible card games with out the costly collecting of cards. Yes, buying all of the exansions has nearly put my wife and I in the poor house... but I can remember all those boxes of Five Rings cards I bought just to get a (gasp) dragon. But what makes this game classic is only partly what happens during play which happens to be a fairly well-balanced mix of strategy and plain old luck, backstabbing and helping, randomness and humor, little nuances and sweeping actions; no, what is really enjoyable is trying to describe the game to non-players.

"Well, I had launched a nuke at them, but it bounced it back at me! Thank goodness I had the Magic Spatula!" Blank stare.

"That cyber bunny got to me! And I was just about to play a rainbow bunny that gave me a bunny run, get two carrots and I *just know* that that one was going to be the magic one!" Advice to enter a mental institution.

Or, my favorite, "My bunny starved right before I could have it eat that large prune danish I was saving. SOOO sad...." Immediate call to the SPCA.

This is a great party game, with fairly simple rules to start off with. Each card adds something to the game, a new rule or new way to use the copious dice, so that every time you play something new seems to come up. Liquid strategies and careful cultivation of relationships(read, flatter until you can nuke 'em), plus uncertainty on who will win until the very end, keeps a high level of interaction and interest throughout the game. I haven't played a game yet when someone though they were left out or targeted, even in a sparse three player game, because the game is balanced to affect all players sometimes when you least expect it.

Overall, this game deserves to be played, and it has been a growing craze stretching beyond my circle of friends to their circle of friends, and a true testament of how fun a game is is how much it is played. It even broke through Settlers of Catan, which, owing to the genius of that game, is quite an accomplishment! To keep the surprise element, this game begs for expansions(and oh, how many of there are), but they really aren't necessary to have fun. If there is one downside, it would be that if you DO get expansions, the deck is impossible to shuffle well; just try shuffling over 700 cards, let alone finding the space to play! In addition, the game does require a fair amount of table space, and sometimes rule disputes get in the way of the fun. As this is easily resolved with a roll of the dice and a wide card table, it is no deterrent. Feed on, fair Flo, feed on...

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Fun game
July 28, 2009

Killer bunnies is a fun game that holds the attention of my 10 year old daughter. I also find the game quite entertaining. Although the game is fun I do find some problems with it. Firstly, there are situations in the game that come up that are not explained within the rules. Different combinations of cards cause issues where we need to make up a rule for future games. It is not a big deal, just annoying. Secondly, at times the game can be a bit tedious. Sometime when a bunch of cards come into play it makes the rules a bit tiresome, but not too badly. Overall I would recommend the game for families.

 
 
 
 
 
It is not fair to give this game under 4 stars!
November 22, 2006

Bad and seems to me not complete instructions make learning how to play this game a TORTURE! If you are patient and willing to research for explanations of the rules on the Internet you are going to love this game! You spend first few games with instruction next to you but after that you are going to wonder why it took you so long to figure out this game.

Thanks to the enormous luck factor especially at the end, my husband finally has a chance to win a game with me! Don't get me wrong there is some strategy playing this game.

Cards are very well made with funny illustrations. It is pleasure to look at them. For you guys who are already have this game: These are answers for our 2 questions that we had after reading the instructions. We got them at www.boardgamegeek.com:

- A Feed the Bunny card lasts only one round: either the bunny is fed and lives or it is not fed and dies (in a later booster, the feeding can be postponed for one round, but that is a rare exception). In either case, the Feed the Bunny card is discarded.

- A weapon that affects additional adjacent bunnies can, if fact, hurt the launcher's own bunnies. This effect can by eliminated with the use of Barriers, which are not penetrated by the effects of such weapons.

BOTTOM LINE: Game is great! 4 stars because of the instructions and 3 days that we spent learning how to play it!

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Total Blast!!!
July 03, 2005
I played Killer Bunnies for the first time last night. I LOVED it. My friend and her husband showed me and my husband how to play! At first I thought it would be complicated, but its not....especially if you just read what the cards say (weapons etc) It IS a social game...having no true skill....more like the luck of the draw. You'll love it if you don't take card games THAT serious...and ...like ME...if you have a streak of wicked in you. I love it and am planning on buying it as soon as I can!!!
 
 
 
 
 
It's not always the destination, sometimes it's the trip.
June 02, 2003

I have read the reviews and even played the game with people of two drastically different minds on this little card game, and I see all the good and bad points. I assume that by now you have read most of the other reviews, and also have read the write up on here that gives the basic idea of the game. You get bunnies, and attempt to collect carrots so that you get the 'magic' carrot. A game largely based on luck, that I don't suggest for people who play games to get a sence of victory. If you play a game to have fun, and you don't care if you win or lose, this is a great experience (especially if you are a fan of cartoons, that seems to be important, near as I can tell).

PLAYING PARTS/CARDS:

This is benchmark I have compared all other cards to since I opened the box to this game. I think the quality of the cards might be higher than Bicycle or Bee, and they are certainly thicker, but not in a rigid way. By far the highest quality playing pieces (cards) I have ever encountered. The dice are the same chessex quality dice anyone would buy to add to all other games they play.

EASE OF PLAY:

Here's where the game loses points. It's just complicated enough to confuse a lot of non-gamer types, but most gamers find it too lite to pay attention to, and thus don't want to really read the cards (which really are the game rules). The printed rules are a bit clunky and require a lot of interpretation. I suggest you go to their website to get the errata and descriptions about certain cards. The whole system of running cards can make you a little aggrivated, but I am not sure that is not intended, you need to be able to make fun of your fellow players, this game requires a lot of social interaction, and that is mentioned in the rules, but no printed words can let you know how important that really is to the gameplay and enjoyment of this game.

STRATEGY VS LUCK:

This falls in a grey area that I as a gamer fit into, its all about guile, and cunning, and wheeling and dealing, but not really about cardplay per se. This game is as much about true social interaction as it is about gaming. The luck of the draw only changes how you beg, plead, and threat, however that is the skill in this game. The winner is determined by luck, all you can really do is hedge your bet, this game is all about hedging your bets.

So I have to say, on the surface this game is all luck (something true gamers hate). However if you are an outgoing person, you learn the true skill is in the chatter. However, if the cards run bad for everyone, it can seem to drag on forever. A very luck based game, that can find a stratgic foothold in a group of salesman types, or friends that really like to attack each other and talk trash.

HOUSE RULES OR PERSONAL CHANGES:

Well I have done a 'fix' or two to this game. First I made a mini-game board in publisher that just lays out the top and bottom run cards and has an arrow showing the direction the cards move in, with 'The Bunny Circle' at the top, just to make basic placement easier to grasp. Its seems the hardest concept for newbies to get a hold of is the concept of the top and bottom run cards, so this helps A LOT.

Next, starting everyone with one bunny of one of the normal types (not the speciality or red bunnies) is a good idea, it can take care of the early 'Why can't I play these cards!?!!' problems some games have, however they die so fast, it really isn't that much help.

Finally, get the expansions, I know the red (available now) has already made the game a little smoother to play, it seems with more money, more carrots and more 'choose a carrot' cards, the game flows a little better (just a little though.)

OTHER THOUGHTS:

My gamer group (many playtest games) hates this game, and will never play it again, most of my friends love to play it, and get together just to play it. Take that for what its worth. If you don't like to talk when you play, care deeply about who wins, or don't really have a sence of humor about games, don't even look this over. Otherwise I think its worth the money.

 
 
 
 
 
Silly, and not for everyone, but a lot of fun!
October 19, 2005

There are some games that have invited debate on the internet, but none so much as Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot (Playroom Entertainment, 2002 - Jeffrey Neil Bellinger). There is quite a vocal denouncement against the game by several on the internet, with several others speaking of their enjoyment of the game. So I was very interested in playing the game to find out what I thought of it - but also because the name of the game intrigued me.

After playing the game several times, I can see why some don't like it. There's a healthy dose of luck, and the game is essentially one big lottery, with players trying to improve their chances in it. But both of these things didn't bother me, the theme and gameplay were so enjoyable that I found the game to be quite fun. Now mind you, I know that the game has to be played with a certain group of people - a bunch of teenagers, or a group of adults bent on having a good time, but not a group of people looking to play a serious strategy game. Killer Bunnies is a silly, fun game - that when played quickly and in the spirit of the game, will produce an enjoyable experience. It's not for everybody, but it is for me.

Two small decks of cards, one cabbage and one water, are shuffled and placed face down on the table, next to a pile of large carrot cards, numbered #1 through #12. A smaller, matching set of carrot cards is placed aside and won't be used until the end of the game. A card representing Kaballa's Market is placed face up on the table, and then a large deck of cards is shuffled, with each player receiving seven cards, and the remainder placed in a draw pile on the table. Players immediately place any Kaballa Dolla cards they receive face up on the table in front of them, drawing duplicates, and discarding any cards that say "Play Immediately", drawing replacements for them also. Each player then should place two of their cards face down - one in a "Top Run" spot, and one in a "Bottom Run" spot. Six twelve sided dice, in six colors, are placed within reach of all players. One player is chosen to go first, and then the game begins.

On a turn, a player has a choice of playing a card from their hand, or their "Top Run" card. Cards are split into three main categories: Run cards, which can only be played from the "Top Run" position; Special cards, which can be played from the hand or the "Top Run" position; and Very Special cards, which can be played from the hand and on an opponent's turn. The Run cards, which are the heart of the game, have various functions.

- Bunny cards: Bunny cards are one of five types (gleeful, lumbering, congenial, sinister, or timid) and colors (orange, purple, yellow, green, or blue). Many cards require a player to have a Bunny in play, or they cannot be used. When players play bunnies, they place them in front of themselves, as part of a large "bunny circle", since adjacency often matters in the game. If a player gets three bunnies of the same type or color, they can play two cards a turn, rather than one. There is also a "Free Agent" Bunny, which is a wild card of sorts.

- Choose a carrot: The player may take one of the remaining large carrot cards (or two, depending on the card.) This card is critical to winning, and a player may only play it if they have a bunny in play.

- Weapons: There are various weapon cards, ranging from the Guillotine (level 7), to the Roaches (level 5). A player must have a bunny to use these cards and attacks another bunny on the table by forcing the owning player to roll a black twelve-sided die. If the player does not roll higher than the numerical level of the weapon, their bunny dies. Either way, the weapon is discarded. Some weapons, such as the Nuclear Warhead (level 12), affect the bunny and adjacent bunnies in the bunny circle.

- Feed the Bunny: These cards, which need a bunny to play, are played on any opposing bunny. The owner of that bunny must discard cabbage and water cards that equal or exceed the amount on the "Feed the Bunny" card by the end of their next turn, or they must kill the bunny indicated.

- Area 51: This card abducts a bunny, which is removed from play and set aside until another bunny is abducted by an Area 51 card.

- Kaballa's Market: Some cards close, open, or change the prices of Kaballa's Market.

- Misc.: Other run cards allow bunnies to be auctioned off, have players gamble for carrots, have the bunnies play Russian roulette, etc.

Whenever a player plays a run card, they move the "Bottom Run" card to the "Top Run" position, and place a new card in the "Bottom Run" position. Players, whether they play a special card or a run card, draw a new card. Kaballa dollars that are drawn are placed in front of the player, with another card drawn as replacement. Play Immediately! cards must be played immediately, which cause a bunny to die (of that player, unless they have none - then they can play the card on another player).

During a player's turn, they may buy items from Kaballa's market, if they have any Kaballa dollas. For three dollas, a player may buy the top cabbage card (which equals one to ten cabbage) or the top water card (which equals one to ten water). For ten dollas, a player may buy a carrot card. Players may only buy cards if the market is open, and prices may change throughout the game. No change is given by the market.

Some special cards require dice to be rolled, and the player rolls the amount of dice pictured on the card. Other special cards allow players to feed their bunnies, redirect weapons, and do other special effects.

Gameplay occurs until the last of the twelve carrots is taken or bought from the market. At this point, the small deck of carrot cards is shuffled and one of them is randomly drawn. The player who has the matching large carrot card is the winner!

Some comments on the game...

1.) Components: The game comes with the Blue Starter Deck, and includes the Yellow Expansion Deck "for free". This means that the cards have different colored backings but doesn't effect gameplay at all - except that the yellow cards are a minuscule larger than the blue cards. The cards themselves - even the small ones, are of very high quality, they can take a lot of wear, and are laminated and easy to handle. A couple of reference cards are included to help players remember what the symbols on the cards mean (for example, a pink button on the cards means that a bunny is needed to play that card). The dice are very high quality and easy to read, and the whole game fits easily into a plastic insert in a medium sized sturdy box.

2.) Artwork: I would be remiss if I didn't mention the tremendous artwork in the game. Jonathan Young has done a great job conveying the humor of the game into pictures. Although the game conceivably has a lot of gore and dying bunnies, this is translated into a wacky type humor, and I can't imagine many people being offended by the cards. Each type of bunny is drawn differently, the carrots are hilarious caricatures, and the bright colored nature of the game really puts across the lightheartedness of the gameplay. It's a garish display of color and crisply drawn humorous pictures. This really helps the theme.

3.) Rules: The rulebook, which can be downloaded online, is very easy to understand and comes with many pictures and examples. The game has almost a CCG (collectible card game) feel to it, as there are a lot of cards. But most cards are very self-explanatory, and the ones who aren't are mentioned in the rules. I found that some players have a bit of a problem adjusting to the "Top Run", "Bottom Run" mechanic, but after a couple of rounds they understand it fairly well. I found the game easy to teach, as long as I differentiated between the special, very special, and run cards.

4.) Run Mechanic: I like how players must play run cards in front of themselves before the cards can actually be played. This makes players think a little about their actions before taking them. Obviously players want to get bunnies out on the table as fast as they can, but what next? Should they play the much needed "Choose a Carrot" card, or should they attempt to wipe out opposing bunnies? Should they waste a card by putting it one of the "Run" positions, or try to hold onto it as long as they can. It's fun to watch a player turn up a "Choose a carrot" card, which they can't use because everyone else has killed their bunnies.

5.) Carrots: Okay, let's get to the heart of the matter - the reason most people complain about the game. You can get eleven of the twelve carrots, and at the end of the game still lose, because the carrot drawn was the only one you didn't collect. But you know what, I don't really care about this. The game is lighthearted enough that I find enough enjoyment in optimizing my chances at the end of the game. A player's goal is to get as many carrots as possible so as to maximize their chance of having the winning carrot. Does that mean a player who is losing the entire game still has a chance to win - yes! And with teenagers and people who don't mind playing light games, this is a good thing. It annoys some people, because they can't lay down carefully thought out plans and have a grandiose strategy. The game is all about beating up other people's bunnies and having a good time.

6.) Fun Factor: Killer Bunnies is one game that totally succeeds simply on basis of its fun factor. It's a "take that" type of game with some strategic play, but the entire game is based on the wacky, far-out humor of the theme. Taking the game seriously is the wrong idea, it's meant to be fun, and attacking another player's bunny with boiling tar, or eating a large prune Danish to stay alive, or having your bunny get caught in the hedge when it's being trimmed is funny! Humor rules in the game, and that's why I enjoy it so much.

7.) Expansions: There are several expansions for the game already in print, and more are on their way. Each expansion adds more features and another colored deck to the game. I haven't played any of them yet, but I'm eager to see what features they add. Players who can't get enough of Killer Bunnies will certainly be pleased to know that the fun will last a while.

Look, I know that the game must be taken with a grain of salt when playing. For goodness sakes, you're playing a game about Killer Bunnies! Say the name a couple times, and it's just plain funny! And that's why the game has succeeded in my game groups, because people have a fun time playing it. The situations that occur in the game are utterly ridiculous, and afterwards, more talk about the black hole that killed a bunny is mentioned than talk about the player who won. If you're looking for a game that is simply a lot of fun, with a sprinkling of strategy in it, then Killer Bunnies is the game for you. Don't come into the game too seriously, and you'll leave with good memories.

Tom Vasel
"Real men play board games"

 
 
 
 
 
Looking forward to more - if I can talk others into playing
April 01, 2004

My wife and I recently splurged and picked up eight games - four for each of us that we'd never heard of before. We had a closet full of 40+ games before this, and I've always been a huge fan of dark comedy and strategy/conspiracy games (Illuminati is my all-time favorite), so Killer Bunnies immediately caught my eye.

We broke out the game with some gaming friends and the four of us trudged through the rules. They're confusing, and that's phrasing it mildly. We missed the fact that you couldn't attack without owning at least one live bunny, so the game was utter annihilation to any bunny that surfaced.

Reread the rules and picked up on that all-important rule. Tried a second time.

The Market closed quickly and I picked up Cyber Bunny. It wasn't close. Any time a bunny surfaced for anyone else, Cyber blew him up. Played a Quadruple Clover and Containment Suit on him too. I was unstoppable, until someone played the auction card. By that point, I had nine carrots. Immediately after someone else bought the Cyber Bunny, they drew a Play Immediately card and he went kaput.

As much as I enjoyed the irony, I can't see how Cyber Bunny doesn't imbalance the game.

Sure, there's a lot of luck. Without people who are willing to wheel and deal (and convince others to second guess), I don't imagine it's very fun. Luckily, I have friends in sales.

It's a fun, goofy game. It has more luck than most games, but I like the random ending aspect - if you get screwed most of the game and have only one carrot at the end, you can still win (as happened with us).

I like the added rule to discard two cards from your hand and draw two new if you have no bunnies down. I also think the Closed Market cards should be pulled. But most importantly, Cyber Bunny has got to go. Or some added house rule that after he attacks X times, he overheats and blows up (taking some bunnies on either side of him in the process).

You need to be creative and flexible to enjoy the game, and moreso to talk people into playing again.

 
 
 
 
 
Likeable Lagamorphic Larceny
January 01, 2003

Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot is an okay game. As time goes on and the expansions come out, it gets better than the blue and yellow decks would have you beleive.

It's an okay game because the rules are badly written, the cards have too much text, the conditions of winning are entirely luck based, and a few other negative things. However it is also an okay game because everyone who plays the first round plays the last round(no one gets eliminated); for all the rules and text there is a great strategic element that encourages players to use bribery, extortion and demonstrations of physical prowess; and it's a work in progress.

First off, yeah the rules are badly written, but once you get through it (if you can) a world of possiblities opens up. I've been playing the game since July and last night we took about five minutes to clear up a point of contention in a friendly manner that enhanced our understanding and enjoyment of the game.

Along the way (since July) I've played the game with a few different groups of people, and I learned pretty earlier that in a way Killer Bunnies tries to work on two levels, casual play and gamer's delight. Tailor it to suit your needs. I've cut cards that were too intricate for casual players. Yes, this messes with the card colation, but things turn out well and everyone still has a good time.

The Conditions for winning are luck based, but sometimes the object of a game is not necessarily to win, but to have fun playing. I love this aspect of the game, because it just kinda says 'Hey, I'm just game!' People will either love this or hate it, but it's okay by me. (Also, I end up being the one to go through the mini-carrot deck and I have a lot of fun doing it! I'm a sadistic play by play announcer...and that adds a little something to the experience.)

I can't tell you how many times I've been the first one out of a game of Monopoly, and then I just have to wait around until the heavyweights finish Trumping each other to get to another game. I don't get that with Killer Bunnies. When you start playing the game, you play the game until the last carrot is taken. This is important.

I don't like games where you can get up and go for a pizza while you wait for your turn. With Killer Bunnies, you sneeze and you've missed something.

Why is that? Well, there's this one line in the rule book...and I didn't expect to be doing this, so I don't have mine in front of me...there's this line in the rule book which states (loosely quoted) 'The following practices are highly encouraged during a game of Killer Bunnies: Begging, Groveling, Bribery, Extortion, Threatening, and Demonstrations of Physical prowess.' So, if you want to shoot youe weapon at an opponent see if you can get something from them, in exchange for you shooting your weapon somewhere else? Trade favors and all sorts of things. I'm not big on lying to my friends but all is fair in the game of love and Killer Bunnies. Talk your friend out of using his whisk on you! Pay your opponent to use his Trojan Bunny on someone else...explore the art of the deal!

The last thing I have to say is: This game is a work in progress. I am fortunate to own an older version of the game. I have a few of the expansions mere mortals will have to wait for and they greatly enhance the experience. It gets easier to have and hold onto bunnies and weapons. And...yeah, some things get sillier.

If you've tried it and didn't like it I encourage you to give it another whirl. I don't expect that this will really change anybody's mind, but it may give you another to chance to realize that it's not a bad game or a great game, it's on okay game.

 
 
 
 
 
Well..
August 10, 2008

This game had the worst written rules I have ever seen. 2 rule books. The first rule book has basic rules and runs you therough the game. But it doesn't. It leaves out a lot of details that matter. Those details are in the second book. Couldn't we have just explained it all at once so I'm not in the middle of the game being told a small rule that changes a lot. It also relies on a ton of luck. I'm not just talking the ton of dice rolls either. You need bunny cards to pretty much do everything to include win the game. Then the victory is determined by a random card. All that work for a random draw of the hat? The game itself is well made. The cards are sturdy and great quality. That is the only reason this is not a 1 star. Maybe this isn't for everyone.

 
 
 
 
 
Not the worst game ever but pretty bland.
July 18, 2004

A monotonous card game that goes too slowly to monopolize on its semi humorous premise. Some of the cards are funny but most are just lame puns. The worst part of the game is the end. Any amount of skill that the players exercise is pretty much thrown out for random chance. I'm very happy I didn't pay for this and just played a friend's copy.

 
 
 
 
 
Random and somewhat monotonous...
June 13, 2004

Very little strategy involved. We've played it a bunch of times and each time, one person dominated the entire game, then the winner was based on a random card draw. The amount of strategy in the game fall below a simple game of checkers and the winner of the game isn't necessarily based on who played the best.

I play this with my kids, because they like the cute bunnies. But other than that, I wouldn't recommend it to any adults.

 
 
 
 
 
Silliness and Wackiness, but no real game here.
December 24, 2002

Sometimes the theme for a game is so wacky that it draws you in, thinking this is going to be a hoot! The very idea of bands of vengeful bunnies bent on death and destruction is way off the scale in regards to usual themes. It is SO far off the scale that it has a strangely alluring appeal. Im guessing that a movie such as Attack of the Killer Tomatoes had a similar attraction: the premise was so absurd that it drew people in and the movie became a cult classic. Perhaps Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot is hoping for just such a phenomena. Truth-be-told, thats about the games only hope as the play itself is about as bad as the Killer Tomatoes movie.

Originally invented as a board game back in 1989, things would have been much nicer had this one remained a distant and faded memory. I guess the theme was just too bizarre to resist, though, so Playroom Games brought it back to life in a card game format. Unfortunately, they also opted to convert it to a collectible (CCG) format, with expansions planned to add further cards (and presumably chaos) to the game.

I do have to give credit for the professionalism of the components and artwork. The game has sturdy, colorful cards and six different colored 12-sided dice, all packaged in an attractive blue box with a menacing bunny on the cover. The rules, sadly, do not match the quality of the components, as they are disjointed and very difficult to follow and absorb. We actually aborted our first attempt to play the game the prior weekend due to substantial confusion with the rules.

The main deck consists of the Bunny cards, which not only include an assortment of bunnies, but a wide variety of weapons, events, currency, etc. These are thoroughly shuffled and seven cards are dealt to each player. Throughout the game, players will maintain a hand of seven cards no more, no less. From this initial selection of seven cards, players will place two cards face down in a row before them. This is called the Run and is an integral part of the game. Let me explain.

The game employs a mechanism that Ive never seen before, but may well be present in a traditional card game somewhere. As mentioned, players must place two cards face down before them, one above the other, and will always have two cards in this position. The rules call these the Top and Bottom Run cards. The remaining five cards are maintained in a players hand. Any card may be placed into this run, but not all cards may be played directly from a players hand. You see, most every card is either a Run, Special or Very Special card, with this qualification being printed along the top of each card. Instead of cycling cards through the run cycle, players may play Special and Very Special cards directly from their hands. Run cards, however, MUST be played face-down to the table and work their way up to the top before being played.

A few cards fall outside these normal types of cards, including the Play Immediately cards, which are played when drawn and usually cause harm to the unfortunate player drawing them, and Kaballa Dolla cards, which serve as a form of currency. These cards are immediately played face-up onto the table beside the player and can be used to purchase carrots and provisions from the market if it is open. Sadly, as is the case with nearly all other aspects of the game, the acquisition of Kaballa Dollas is based solely on luck and it is quite possible that one or more players will have the bank account of a Bill Gates, while others will be left begging. This is only the first time that Ill mention the absolute overriding influence of luck in this game.

A player begins his turn by either revealing the Top Run card or by playing a Special or Very Special card directly from his hand. Any action dictated by the card played is performed and it is immediately replaced with a card from the draw stack, maintaining the players hand size at the 7-card limit. Other than the two face-down run cards, all other cards played before a player do not count against his seven card hand limit. If a player chose to reveal the top Run card, then the bottom Run card is slid up and a new card is placed into the bottom Run position from the players hand.

If the card played was a bunny card, it is placed face-up in front of the player, near the center of the table. All players bunnies are arranged in this fashion since the order of the bunnies on the table can be important. Face-up bunnies and subsequent weapons or provisions they may acquire do not count against the players 7-card hand limit.

Most of the cards require a player to have at least one bunny in play in order for them to be used. Although there is a decent supply of bunny cards in the deck, it is quite possible that a player will not receive one during the initial draw of cards. In fact, it is possible to go many, many turns without drawing a bunny card. Thus, the lack of a bunny card can render a player virtually impotent. This happened to one of our players, so we finally just searched the deck and gave him a bunny card so he would be able to participate in the game.

The other side of the story is that it is also quite possible that one player will receive an abundance of bunnies. This can be very formidable as bunnies tend to perish quite quickly in this game. A player cannot win the game without at least one bunny in play, so the player who has the good fortune to have a bunny bonanza, so to speak, will have a major advantage and a far better chance to ultimately win the game. Heres another case of luck playing a HUGE and unbalancing role in the game. The first problem (lack of a bunny card) is fairly easy to fix by simply making sure each player receives at least one bunny in the initial draw of cards. However, controlling how many bunnies players subsequently receive during the course of the game is a much more difficult problem to solve.

As mentioned, in addition to the assortment of bunny cards, there are a wide variety of other cards in the deck. Some cards (particularly the clover cards) allow players to defend their bunnies against potential attacks, but most of these arent foolproof and can be overcome. Others are more aggressive in nature identified by a pink bar along the left edge of the card and usually involve inflicting some type of harm on an opponents bunny. Weapons can add to mayhem. Carnage is rampant, so dont get used to the bunny or bunnies you currently have in front of you. They likely wont survive very long.

When another bunny or bunnies are attacked, players usually have to a die to determine if they survive or perish. A bar along the right side of the card indicates which colored die should be rolled. Try as I might, however, I couldnt deduce what difference this made as all of the dice are 12-sided and the colors made absolutely no difference in the game. Perhaps in future expansions the colors will have an impact, but they dont seem to matter one iota in this starter set. In any case, the number required to be rolled in order to survive is usually quite high, so the odds of the bunny living to munch more carrots are not favorable. Some cards are so lethal that the vast majority of bunnies in play perhaps even ALL of them can be wiped out in an instant. This is very, very frustrating and maddening -- as it can drastically alter the game.

During a players turn, he has the option to utilize his Kaballa Dollas to purchase cabbage, water and/or carrots from the market. The cabbage and water can be important, as there are numerous Feed the Bunny cards in the deck. These are played onto a players bunny and he is required to feed that bunny the specified provisions by the end of his turn or the bunny starves. The amount of food and drink required by these cards is staggeringly high, so unless a player has stocked up on supplies, the bunny is headed for the great carrot patch in the sky. And, of course, stocking up on supplies means that the player would have had to get lucky in the drawing of healthy quantities of Kaballa Dolla cards. Theres that word again luck.

Oh even if a player was lucky and had accumulated a sizeable bank of Kaballa Dollas, these would be virtually worthless if the market was closed. Two cards in the deck force the market to close, meaning players may no longer purchase cabbage, water or carrots. This occurred early in our game and the precious few cards that allow for the reopening of the market never surfaced. More frustration.

Other cards allow players to grab carrots from the market. Carrots are essential as ultimately the player who possesses the one magic carrot will emerge victorious. Sadly, grabbing carrots is simply a matter of luck. You either possess the cards which allow you to do this or were fortunate and managed to draw a considerable amount of Kaballa Dolla cards, which can be used to purchase these carrots. There are only twelve numbered carrots available and when the last one is acquired, the game ends. The player with the most carrots wins, right? Wrong. The victor is determined by an even more maddening method. There is a matching deck of carrots which has been hidden away at the start of the game. The bottom carrot of that deck is now inspected and the player who possesses the matching carrot wins. This is SO absurd and silly I thought it was a joke when I first read the rules. Sadly, it was no joke. So, a player can manage to collect the vast majority of carrots during the game (which, by the way, would have been acquired solely on the basis of luck) and still lose the game if he happens to NOT possess the one magic carrot. Luck run amuck. To use an old adage, we could have determined the same results by simply tossing dice to determine the winner. That would have been easier and just as much fun.

The end game is made even more chaotic and infuriating since a player cannot win if he does not have any bunnies in play. Since death is rampant in this game, it appears quite likely that several players will be in this unenviable situation. In fact, in our game, only two players had bunnies surviving when the final carrot was acquired. I clearly had the most carrots AND the most Kaballa Dollas, but my two bunnies, along with three of my opponents, had all perished that turn due to the playing of the Miniature Black Hole card. According to the rules, all carrots of a player who has no surviving bunnies passes to the player with the most Kaballa Dollas. Since four players had no live bunnies, all of these carrots went to Michael Aucoin, who had only managed to collect one carrot during the course of the game. Sure enough, one of these passed carrots was the magic carrot, so Michael won by default. Very, very unsatisfying.

A saving grace for the game if there is one is that it plays quickly. It took longer to explain the rules than it did to play the game. With six players, our game lasted just a few rounds, playing to completion in less than 30 minutes. Carrots were scooped so fast that the game was over rapidly. That actually is a good thing, since it was clear no one was enjoying the game one bit.

Killer Bunnies and the Magic Carrot is clearly a game of style over substance. The game clearly intends to rest on the shoulders of the wacky theme as the game play itself is sorely lacking. Sadly, cuteness and wackiness can only stretch so far, and thats about the only thing this game has to offer. Lest someone jump up and shout, Its a beer & pretzels game and should be played in that spirit, let me state flatly that I agree. However, no matter what game I play, I want there to be some substance to the game and not have the entire game determined by blind luck. When Im in the mood to play a beer & pretzels game, there are SO many better games to choose from that will deliver not only silliness, but have some substance to it as well.

 
 
 
 
 
A dumb game
May 28, 2005

My wife and I were very unimpressed by Killer Bunnies. We bought it on the recommendation of the woman at a game store, but when we actually tried to play it, we were disappointed. The rules are very vague and after playing (no matter what ends up happening during the game), the winner is chosen at random.

These bunnies should be killed.

 
 
 
 
 
by Bob
Makes Fluxx seem like Chess
April 12, 2004

OK - kids might enjoy the cute, repetative and quite random nature of this game but there is little that makes this game enjoyable. The mechanic of having to choose which cards you play, two turns ahead of time by 'running' them in front of you is quite inventive and is the only aspect of the game that requires thought.

The distribution of cards in the deck are poorly balanced. The combination of card drawing, dice rolling and the volitile nature of some of the weapon cards makes this game all but a crap shoot.

Good for pre-teens perhaps but if you want a clever fast paced family game, get Bohnanza or Bang!

 
 
 
 
 
by Ian Tan
Just not getting it!
June 11, 2003

Bought myself a box. Very excited about but later...

(yeah yeah all the sad stories... we played and half the time wondering if we played it right at all!).

Sure wish i could watch all of you play and then perhaps (eureka!) get it.

(and yes! i have checked the homepage for instructions too)

 
 
 
 
 
by Tom
On Top of My 'Will Never Play Again' List
December 30, 2002

First of all, I want to say that I really enjoyed Greg J. Schloessers review below. He pretty much said everything that I was thinking while playing this game. Actually, playing is a strong word. Wishing it would end seems more appropriate.

This game was a Christmas gift which I would have never bought myself but figured since I had it we may as well give it a try. I went through parts of the rules several times because they seemed so ridiculously retarded that I couldnt believe it (especially the victory conditions). Before we started I warned everyone that I had a very bad feeling about this game but still hoped that it might turn out to be fun. Wishful thinking!

As stated below, you need bunnies in order to do ANYTHING in the game. If you are not dealt any bunnies then you are screwed. Out of 4 of us, 3 of us were not dealt a bunny and one of us was dealt 4 bunnies. Take a wild guess at who won. Sadly, my brother Dan went the entire game without getting a bunny card. His gaming experience consisted of cursing every turn when he didnt draw a bunny card. To say he didnt enjoy the game would be a gross understatement. We actually had to calm him down because he wanted to throw his cards in the fireplace.

After about 3 or 4 turns I finally received a bunny card which was destroyed almost immediately by my sister-in-law who had a slew of weapons just waiting to use on people. More bunnies were in my future though and I managed to save a little face in the bunny circle (aka circle of death) by launching a few attacks of my own.

The only saving grace of the game was that it ended quickly. At the end I had managed to acquire 3 carrots, my sister-in-law had 8, my sister had 1, and Dan had acquired several cups of eggnog. The random lottery like drawing for the magic carrot went to my sister-in-law as statistics would suggest and the game was over.

Now let me summarize what I didnt like about this game:

  1. I dont like card games in which every card has instructions on how to use it. This always leads to arguments on how and when the card can be played.
  2. The enormous luck factor took one of us completely out of the game from the word go. What fun is that?
  3. There are basically 12 lottery tickets (carrots) and the winning ticket is drawn at the end. All of the crap with the bunnies and weapons are mere diversions to this fact.
  4. The rules are poorly written leaving questions still unanswered. A few examples of game play would have been nice.
  5. Why have 10 pages of rules for a game of luck?

I could go on and on with reasons for not buying this game but the most important one is this: Its not fun! Two previous reviewers disagree with me though. Maybe they are seeing something that Im not. Id be willing to bet that they are big fans of Attack of the Killer Tomatoes too.

 
 
 
 
 
If only I could give it ZERO stars....
December 30, 2002

I'm not going to rehash everything that's already been said. The two reviews below do an excellent job of pointing out the games many many many flaws.

We played with 6 people, 4 of us serious gamers, 2 not, and not a single one of us had a positive thing to say about the game.

The only positive I can give the game is that the components were very good. I expected to find cheap crappy cards, and they seemed very well produced. It's too bad that I won't find out how long they'll last, since I'll never open that box again....

Other Resources for Killer Bunnies and the Quest for the Magic Carrot:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.