My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Risk: The Lord of the Rings
Close Zoomed Image Risk: The Lord of the Rings

Risk: The Lord of the Rings


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
9+ 2-4

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Parker Brothers

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

Many, many years ago the One Ring was forged by the Dark Lord Sauron to control all of Middle-earth. Naturally, its awesome strength is much desired by those who wish for power. For a long time its whereabouts remained secret, but recently its power has been sensed again in the land of its creation. The forces of evil are mounting a ferocious hunt to find the One ring, while those of a gentler nature are keen to keep it from their reach.

This special edition of Risk allows you to decide the fate of the people of Middle-earth. you will play either a Good or an Evil force trying to gain control of the land. Unite your forces in battle to ensure that Middle-earth falls into the right hands.

You may also choose to use the Risk The Lord of the Rings gameboard to play standard Risk, by leaving out the special elements.

Note: This game features the first two parts of The Lord of the Rings trilogy, so it does not include Gondor or Mordor.

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Parker Brothers

  • Year: 2002

  • Players: 2 - 4

  • Ages: 9 and up

  • Weight: 1,215 grams

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #147

Contents:

  • 20" x 20" Gameboard
  • 1 Gold tone pewter Ring
  • 4 Armies
  • 42 Territory cards
  • 2 Wild cards
  • 40 Adventure cards
  • 3 Red dice
  • 2 Black dice
  • 1 Instruction booklet

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.5 in 13 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by John
Best board game ever!
March 10, 2004

I love the game, so many ways to play it. Lord of the Rings Risk has strategies, alternate rules, battle, 2-6 players...its got it all. New to this game which sets it apart from old Risk, is that it has Leaders, Strongholds, and Sites of Power. This adds many more elements of strategy. Risk fans will love it even more than the original. Lord of the Rings Risk RULES!!!! Cool site for it >>> Http://lordoftheringsrisk.com

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent game and lots of fun!
January 10, 2004

Risk: Lord of the Rings Edition turned out to be an excellent game. I was expecting just another cruddy boardgame sequel like all the monopolies, but this new risk really impressed me! With a completely different map, one must develop new strategies of war and conquest and, of course, take plenty of risks! I implore you to buy this game, it is as good as, if not better than, the original risk boardgame.

 
 
 
 
 
My First Real Strategy Game
August 17, 2003

Risk: The Lord of the Rings is the first real strategy game I've played since I got back into gaming, and I love it. I've only played it once so far, but that was enough to make me go out and purchase my own. Although we played it for nearly five hours, the time flew by, and I can't wait to try it again. I'd never played any edition of Risk before this, but now I'd like to try the others. This game will definitely get a lot of play from me and my group, and I highly recommend it to everyone.

 
 
 
 
 
Fun for the entire family!
January 26, 2003

The commercial was absolutely right. Nothing brings a family together like a family game night. Nothing makes family games night more enjoyable than a game the whole family loves. This is a must have for families that enjoy the Lord of the Rings. Trust me, your family will love it.

 
 
 
 
 
Lord of the Rings Risk
January 25, 2003

A very fun game if you play 2vs2 and dont play with the ring. alot more strategy than in normal risk and the heroes and fortresses( whatever u call them) really spices the game very enjoyable. can take up to 8 hours per game though!!! I stronglyrecommend this game i f u like risk and the lord of ther rings, personally, i think its much better than the original risk.

 
 
 
 
 
Close to Perfect use of LotR theme
January 18, 2003

My 8-year old son is the current supreme LotR geek of the family, so this was one of his Christmas presents. Unfortunately, it's our 6-year old daughter who kicks our rears (mostly by attacking with psychotic fervor).

Best new features (unless in old/2210 versions - been so long since I played them):

a. Leader (I agree with earlier review - figurines would be better) and stronghold effects on fights

b. Time limit - although we often forget to move ring after each player's move - This keeps players from total elimination (i.e., saves family feelings), and is timed to end the game pretty closely to the point where one or two players really take over (i.e., allowing final turns to dramatically change balance and point tallying to be surprising in many cases)

c. Adventure cards - nice add-on LotR effects and surprises to fights - although we usually forget to keep each player's played cards separate for counting in victory points

d. Great use of map - nice territory paths and segmentation - very well balanced considering the need to begin with a fixed layout

Couple of places for innovation (house rules:

a. More aggressive use of card sets - usually each player has time for forming just one set during a game (so the combination set has greatest effect) - perhaps allow additional cards each turn for additional territories taken(also see below good-evil rule suggestion)

b. Adventure cards hard to get if leader must be in the fight - either pass out more initially or allow one for every special site taken, even without a leader

c. In a 4-way, good and evil aren't really a significant distinction. Perhaps encourage more good-vs-evil interplay by giving territory cards only when a territory conquest is good vs evil (or vice versa).

d. We add a softener to mitigate hurt feelings by allowing an owner of a territory to retreat any time after the first attack, thereby saving armies which would otherwise die in an overwhelming attack (allowed only to adjacent territories, of course).

e. We allow unlimited army movements at the end of the turn. It defeats some of the strategic planning (and makes one of the adventure cards irrelevant), but it allows enough defensive redeployment to keep younger players from getting into an accidental jam.

Overall, we really like it. For the license, it was very well balanced and well-done, in a situation where tackiness and shoddiness were feared and expected.

 
 
 
 
 
I played 5 hours for THIS?!?
January 10, 2003

The tag line about sums it up. I play with a group of hard-core gamers and we play everything from German-style to beer and pretzel to war simulation. Risk has always been on our list, and this game started out great and went on being great until the very last turn when Player 3 (or Player 4 in qa 4-player game, for that matter!) stomped around, sopped up all the 1-army territories and crushed the other two guys. How would this not happen every game? VERY disappointing ending after a great beginning and middle... :(

 
 
 
 
 
Great Game!
December 29, 2002

I've played 3 or 4 two player games with my wife, a 3 player game and a 4 player game. It's a blast! If you like risk or board games in general and you are a fan of The Lord Of The Rings you will enjoy this tremendously.

I do have two minor complaints....The rulebook never specifies what happens when a player is totally removed from the game (not that this has happened in any of our games). In classic risk the victor gets the vanquished player's territory cards, so I assume that in LotR Risk you gain the player's territory and adventure cards. But it'd be nice to know for sure.

The other complaint, only 4 players! It seems obvious that they are planning to release a Return of the King add-on though. The current board only goes as far south as Rohan and just barely shows the northern most part of the mountains of Mordor. One of the sea attack routes even runs off the South end of the map in the middle of the sea. The theoretical add-on could even be a stand alone 2 player game, and when combined with the original game it'd make a total of six armies and add Gondor, Mordor, Harad and Umbar as regions.

Great game, get it now and pray for an add on!

 
 
 
 
 
Nicely themed variation on the classic
December 29, 2002

It's well-produced, and pretty well-designed. The board is beautiful, with a nice sepia/parchment tint to the region colours. The map has more corners than the traditional Risk map, but there are many rivers and mountain ranges forming strategically important bottlenecks all over the place. Since Good and Evil have to start in their respective corners, each game is likely to follow a similar pattern. The cards mitigate this, however, with a variety of ways to turn the tide of battle and keep everyone on their toes. Strongholds and Leaders have a noticeable but not excessive effect on battles. The built-in time limit prompts an odd change in strategy as the Ring nears the edge of the board - all players becoming highly aggressive and trying to capture as much as possible in what could be their last turn.

There is blatantly an add-on board planned for the Gondor/Mordor/Harad area, which will hopefully allow for more than 4 players and some truly epic gaming sessions.

If you're dubious about the new rules, rest assured it's easy to keep those you like and dispense with the rest. I plan to experiment to find out what combination of house rules suits me best :)

 
 
 
 
 
It's still Risk but has a great LOTRs feeling!
December 08, 2002

I've played this game now with 2 players and 3 players, multiple gaming sessions. The two player game is much more enjoyable than the standard risk version. One of the three player sessions was great and a lot of fun due to one player really getting into the Middle Earth mind set and wanting to hold Arnor at all cost, not caring much about anything else. If he'd loose a territory it was pretty much a given that the next turn would see him exact retribution regardless of the consequences.

The rules are simple and straight forward. The time (turn) limit, due to moving the fellowship of the ring, makes for a fast and furious game. This race against time makes players take more risks in order to grab the most territory and points during their turn. It's also enjoyable to see players try and delay the ring's advance, by playing specific cards, buying a little more time in hopes of catching whomever is the current point leader.

The adventure cards come in three flavors and we love the 'play immediately' cards. Some may hate this because of the randomness but we really enjoy the twists and turns that come about by drawing these cards. An example of one of these types of cards states something like 'draw the top 3 territory cards and remove half the units in those territories rounded down.' I had a sizeable army stationed in a territory hit by this and was decimated, loosing 6 of my 13 units. The mission cards (1 type of adventure card) are my favorite, giving an additional strategic layer to the game. Complete a mission and you are rewarded with new units which can greatly help reinforce your position or assist in that assault you've been planning. A mission card may also sway you into deciding to attack a territory that you may not have been considering, just to receive the reward.

The production values are very high. There are 4 different colored armies. Two sets of good and two sets of evil, nicely detailed and durable. They represent a single unit, three units, or five units (can you say Rock Troll?). The two sets of cards, territory and adventure, are exquisitely done. They depict scenes from the movie in high quality pictures or original art from the game board. I was impressed by the detailed and beautifully artistic map board. There are mountains and rivers that make logical terrain boundaries or obstacles. Also, there are bridges to allow river crossings. This means that some territories are not accessible to adjacent territories. Some territories have strongholds that give the defender a bonus against attackers.

Each player has a leader that gives a +1 bonus to a die roll. Only leaders can perform missions and collect rewards. You must pay close attention in planning attacks. I have been careless in positioned my leader in a territory to launch an attack the next turn only to find out when my turn comes around again that I can't attack due to a river barring my path.

Only a couple of draw backs that are really very minor and should be seen as suggestions for improvements. First, it is only a 4 player game by design and I am tempted to predict an expansion is planned in the future. Second, it would have been nice if the army sets contained more units since the game is limited to only 4 players. Third, needs more adventure cards with more unique and varried missions/rewards. Fourth, a nice touch would have been to include a unique figurine or miniature model for the leader piece for each army set instead of a generic shield. Fifth, and last of all ... WHERE'S MY BLACK DICE!!!!

 
 
 
 
 
Risk in Middle Earth
October 22, 2002

The game is a slightly scaled down version of Risk 2210. There are missions, adventure cards and event cards to spice up the game. The components are first rate. (Even the bits tray is done well - it appears that Hasbro has learned something from the German producers.) If you enjoy Risk then you should have both this and 2210. Of the 3 American versions of Risk, this seems to work well even with just 2 players, however, as with any Risk game, the more players, the greater the noise and the more fun to be had.

 
 
 
 
 
LOTR Risk is better but not all that
July 17, 2006

Risk is an ok game. I played the original style and fell in love with battle and war games. I own a copy of the LOTR edition, and i have to say that it is better, so it's the one i'm rating.

There are a lot of extra rules in LOTR edition that make gameplay more fun. it also can shorten the game and the winning is decided on a point system, which is good, because this game can wear out a long time before one person takes the board.

The major drawback to risk is the battle system. if you go by the rules in the book, then the whole game is just back and forth until someone messes up and gets themselves defeated. its a good idea to use a different battle system and find one that works for risk.

The only time i ever play it is when i get tired of all my other games. it sets up a lot faster than anything else i have and takes a couple of hours to play.

If your not used to any kind of battling board game, the get your feet wet with Risk, then check out something better.

 
 
 
 
 
A nice little variation
December 31, 2002

My wife purchased this for Christmas appealing both to my love of strategy/war games, and the Lord Of The Rings. I was delighted by the designs of the armies for both the forces of good and the forces of evil. The rendering of the map of middle earth was masterful, however the division of territories and spaces gives some spaces the short end of the stick. Putting armies into Moria and attacking, and defending there are a pain. The rules are somewhat convulted in parts, but a call to Hasbro customer service cleared up any confusion I had. Note: you do not have to deal out event cards at the start of the game, and the dice are black and white, not red, and white. I've played with both conventional risk rules, and the LOTR variation on it, and because of the board set-up it works better with the variation. This is a wonderful diversion if your bored with conventional risk. The time element of the game makes for a shorter game, and the LOTR themes are fun, and give a little extra twist in acuiring extra armies, and holding on to the territories you have.

Other Resources for Risk: The Lord of the Rings:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.