My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
NEW!
REWARD
program
 
 
NEW!
MEMBER
program
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Perudo
 
 
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Perudo

tin


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Perudo


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
8+ 2-6

Manufacturer(s): Reveal Entertainment

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Perudo, South American Liars Dice, is an exciting game of guesswork, bluff and luck. No board, no setting up, no complicated rules. So wherever you may be from the Andes to the Rockies, with a handful of dice and a little cup you're ready to take on all comers.

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Reveal Entertainment

  • Year: 2002

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 715 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #95

Contents:

  • 6 cups
  • 1 lid
  • 30 dice
  • 1 cloth pouch
  • 1 rule book

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.7 in 12 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by Kelly Taliaferro
FABULOUS
December 10, 2006

Our family began playing Perudo about 10 yrs ago. Since then we have introduced many family and friends to it. Now my husband's family plays as do all of his high school buddies (and we are now WAY beyond high school age!) Great game for any age. Every Thanksgiving and Christmas when the family gets together Perudo is brought out. May the best liar win!

 
 
 
 
 
A great game, by any name!
July 25, 2006

Perudo is known by many names: Dudo, Liar's Dice, Cauchos, and so on. This game has been around for many, many years and weathered the storm admirably - truely a classic.

As many reviews have already said, you don't necessarily need to buy this game in order to play it. But, if you are starting from scratch and want some nice dice cups and the dice to fill them, you will likely spend as much on components as you would on this edition of the game.

The components are good quality. The dice cups are a sturdy, rubbery plastic. The dice and cups match colors, adding a little extra fun and brightness to the game. The cups stack together tightly, with a lid to fit on the top cup, storing all the dice securely together. The game comes in a nice tin, and also includes a colorful travel bag (which does shrink the necessary space for packing the game).

If you connect with friends that already play the game you will want to make sure everyone is using the same rules. With any game that has been around this long, rule variants are inevitable. I recently played a game, for instance, where half the players used one form of bidding (where as soon as someone bid on 5's, you could only bid on 5's or 6's, and go up from there), and the other half used another form (where a bid of seven 4's would beat a bid of six 6's - this is the bidding style I first learned and thus prefer).

This game is definitely a keeper, in whatever form you choose to play it.

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent Larger Group Game
July 16, 2006

Perudo is a great game with four or more players. It is easy to learn, and a relatively quick play, but also has some layers of strategy. This set comes with six sets of dice/cups, but you can easily expand it to more players with additional dice. We found it nice to have the different color dice, which makes it obvious which players have how many dice left. Note that this game is the same as the new "Pirate's Dice", from the Pirates of the Caribbean movie, but you get six sets of different colored dice, rather than four sets, and it is less expensive, thus it a good value. It also has a convenient soft carrying case. You certainly can buy your own dice, but we have found it for the convenience and the matching sets, it is well worth buying this. We have taken it many places, from vacations abroad to camping, lunch time at work, and it is always a big hit, bringing out the competitive spirit in people. Highly recommended.

 
 
 
 
 
Perudo and Santaba the best games out!
March 05, 2004

Perudo and Santaba are just the best games! Both require skill at estimation, bluffing, and protocol. Board games always tend to rework the same old formula but Perudo & Santaba are completely different and incredibly addictive. I haven't enjoyed playing a game so much since I discovered chess at the age of 12. Its easy to pick up with simple rules that give a boundless game that keeps on changing everytime you think you've got it mastered. I originally found it playing Perudo and Santaba online for free, got completely hooked and then found the real thing here so I can play offline too. My advice, buy this game and never be bored in an airport again! In fact, you'll be secretly pleased when your plane's delayed...

 
 
 
 
 
by Lucas
Dudo
June 03, 2003

I have been playing this game since I was a kid (grew up in Peru). I met people from all South America that knew this game, and the common name for it was 'Dudo' (I doubt). Rules vary a bit from country to country, but the rules I found in Perudo were pretty much the rules I used to play.

All you need to play the game is just 6 cups with 5 dice each, so no need to buy this game. But I have to admit that the design is quite cool, and the idea of the different colours is good, although we used to buy different coloured dice before anyway.

The game itself is stunning. Mathematicians will use most of the time calculating possibilities, but probably forgetting other factors, that also influence ones announcement.

If you have no idea how to play the game, buy this box, you will not regret it.

If you know how to play this game, get some cups with 5 dice each, and start playing...

 
 
 
 
 
Best Game in the World!
May 01, 2003

My husband's family is from Chile. In Chile they play Cachos. Cachos is the ORIGINAL form of this game (they say it is not from Peru, the Peruvians discovered it in Chile)

The Chilean version is played with felt lined leather cups - often quite ornate and beautiful, or simple design with no felt which is also quite beautiful and the more you play, the more worn the cups become, which not only offers a fantastic patina but a well worn set of Cachos is a testament to how much fun you've had playing with family and friends.

You do not need to own the game to play this game. You need only to provide five dice per player and cup which cannot be seen through. We have played this game with over 20 players and had an amazing rousing time!!!

We play almost daily in our household. It is a lot of fun, steeped in tradition, and a pleasure to teach to new people. They get hooked easily!

We are very competitive but there are never any hard feelings. Cachos is fun!

 
 
 
 
 
Fantastic take anywhere game!
April 17, 2003

Perudo... This game is just about the best game to take out on the road, camping or at home. The bluff aspect is fantastic... psyching out other players, bidding on nothing .... This game is possibly more fun than most of the board games i have bought in a long time.

 
 
 
 
 
My Husband stays up all night!
March 18, 2003

My husband and brother in law can play until 5 in the morning. Perudo will always come with us ... its' been to Mount Rushmore and camping and anywhere we go with friends and family! My 13 year old nephew loves to play too! I would recommend this game to ANYONE!

 
 
 
 
 
by Styn
super!
November 06, 2001

It plays as beautifully as it looks. With a large group, this game is very much fun. Be careful with your neighbours, the game itself and the fun it gives make a lot of noise. It's a pity it is no longer for sale, a lot of my friends want to have it too.

 
 
 
 
 
FUN!
October 17, 2001

I love this game! I recieved it as a gift and it has quickly become a favorite. Simply put your dice in your cup, shake and flip the cup down on the table, but be sure that no one sees your dice. Take a guess--based on your dice--how many dice of each number there may be under all cups combined. There's a lot of guessing, doubting, suspense--and go ahead and bluff, just don't get caught! Confusing to explain, easy to learn, fun to play.

 
 
 
 
 
Great bluffing game
May 03, 2005
This game is pretty much the same as Liar's Dice but I like this version better because the components are so beautiful! I played it recently at my friend Steve's house and I almost decided to go out and buy it. The only thing is that I normally play it with dice that I already have in my game closet so I have a hard time justifying buying the game. This is the only aspect that keeps this game from getting 5 stars.
 
 
 
 
 
Not as good as the hype makes you think
January 14, 2007

I've noticed this game for a long time because it is the highest ranked party game and it has been ranked in the top 10 for a long time. I finally got a chance to play it and the game is not that good.

There was a lot of waiting between turns without much to do. And a few people were trying to calculate odds on their turn and simply go with some mathematical formula to help decide their turn. All in all, this game was a huge let down for me.

If you've been considering this game just like me, make sure to play it before you buy it.

Other Resources for Perudo:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.