My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Give Me the Brain!

Give Me the Brain!

color edition


Your Price: $25.00
(Worth 2,500 Funagain Points!)

This item is temporarily out of stock []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available!

Quantity:

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 30 minutes 3-8

Designer(s): James Ernest

Manufacturer(s): Cheapass Games, James Ernest Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Welcome to Friedey's, the fast food restaurant of the damned. You and your zombie co-workers have a lot of work to do, and there's only one brain to pass around.

But don't let that bother you too much.

Working here doesn't usually require it.

This special color edition contains more than 40 new cards and lots of new artwork -- a stunning upgrade for this award-winning game.

Zoom In Cover Image: Give Me the Brain!
Close Zoomed Image aGive Me the Brain!b
Cover
Zoom In Photo 1 Image: Give Me the Brain!
Close Zoomed Image aGive Me the Brain!b
Photo 1

Product Information

Contents:

  • 112 cards
  • rule book

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.3 in 15 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Great fun
May 16, 2006

We played a bunch of games of this once it arrived. It's a shame that you need three players to play, but we got our non-gamer friend to play and she really liked it.

The element of being close to winning, trying to create a string of cards makes the game exciting. A good mix of strategy and chance.

 
 
 
 
 
I Have to Make a Cheezabunga
March 31, 2003

We are a group of eight year old girls, and we like this game very much -- it is easy to learn, and easy to play. It is fast moving, and so we can play several games, and more of us get a chance to win. The card art and text are silly and fun. Passing the brain around is a great idea, and winning when you've played all your cards also works well. We also enjoy the 3 Stooges card game, and play the Settlers of Catan card game when we have the time.

 
 
 
 
 
Look, a monkey!
November 30, 2002

Just one of many ways to lose your brain in this fast, fun, and exceptionally silly game. But don't worry, someone will drop it soon, and you'll have posession of the brain again. Simply thinking about this game gives me a chuckle. It's perfect as an icebreaker game, or to close the evening out - esp when you don't have time to start a long game. The brain [actually a 6 sided die that you supply] gets passed around more than a glass pipe at a Phish show. It usually plays pretty quick, say under 20 minutes. While the jokes can get weak with extended play, it never gets stale at my house. We play it whenever someone asks for it or when new people come over for games. That's just about right.

The zombie artwork and captions will keep everyone in stiches.'What's that on the sneeze guard?' A zombie making change by cutting up a dollar bill. 'That's NOT mayonnaise... but whatever it is, you don't want any.'

 
 
 
 
 
Add this game to your cart. Now. Do it.
March 15, 2002

I turned my regular lunch group into a bunch of gamers with this one game. We've tried others, but we always come back to GMTB. It's a gas; moves quickly, no one's ever really out, and the cards are fun. We now play it probably eight times a week; two lunches, maybe four games per lunch.

Next will probably be to try it as a game for money on poker night when we don't get a quorum. Each hand, losers put a dime per non-brain card, quarter per brain card into the pot. Winner of the next game takes the pot. Something like that.

 
 
 
 
 
Zombies, brains and fast food is the perfect recipe
February 23, 2002

A fan favorite at gaming nights, Give Me the Brain is one of the most ridiculously fun card games I've played. We usually play this around 1:00 or 2:00 am as a closing game. By that time I only have two brain cells to rub together anyway. People start talking like zombies to 'get in character' but also because, heck, it's 2:00 in the morning! Phrases like 'me want brain' invoke the reply 'no, ME want BRAIN!' as the little blue Nerf brain gets passes around with the Look, There's a Monkey card.

I went to the Body Parts store in the Mall of America and found the perfect game prop. It's a miniature plastic brain that fits in your hand and when you squeeze it, bright red blood pumps through translucent veins. Unfortunately, one of the gamers 'got into character' too much and started chewing on the brain. This resulted in a punctured artery and red goo spewing everywhere. To make matters worse, I went back to the store to get a replacement and apparently they discontinued the brain miniature because it was too repulsive. I've been scouring Halloween stores for a year trying to find another one but to no avail. We now use a little blue Nerf brain but it's just not the same. If anyone knows where you can buy a miniature brain that actually pumps blood please let me know.

Thanks and happy gaming :)

 
 
 
 
 
Crazy Brain
October 29, 2001

This game is very fun. Even my friends who are not usually game players love it. There are always laughs when we play this game.

The game rules are easy to understand, and people can learn to play in five minutes.

For added fun, I play with a small, squeezable brain!

 
 
 
 
 
by David
Zombies tend to be clumsy
March 30, 2000

Combine Cheater and Uno, then add a bunch of zombies that have to perform tasks and you have a fun humorous game that plays quickly. As a zombie at a fast food restaurant, you have to be on your toes and perform a multitude of tasks to satisfy your boss and the patrons. Some of these tasks are a little bit more difficult then others and require a brain. Trouble is, there is only one brain between the bunch of you. A lot of this game involves trying to get the brain from the other players and it gets passed around a lot. I would give this game a 4.5 plus an extra .5 for the low cost. Thank you Cheapass and may you find that third hand.

 
 
 
 
 
Give me this game
August 12, 1999

An astoundingly good card game. The central idea of a die's serving as 'the brain' plays out wonderfully. The humorous zombie/fast-food motif is just icing on the cake. Perhaps what is most remarkable is that the two strongest cards (the extra hand, the flare of intelligence) unbalance the game little. Given the constant travels of the brain, it can be difficult (and even counterproductive) to plan for victory; on the flip side, a player is rarely out of the game. Deceivingly simple, GMTB is a triumph of game invention.

 
 
 
 
 
Great, silly game!
January 21, 1999

Being a big fan of Cheapass Games, I've bought many of their games and forced them on my friends. Most of them were met with little excitement, or we played it a couple times & then not at all. However, 'Give Me the Brain' is a hands-down favorite. Its concept of damned fast-food workers struggling to work with only one brain is hilarious. The gameplay is smooth & simple. The cards themselves are truly silly and fun to read. Every once in a while, a game will truly unbalance itself when one person has all the right cards, but since games are so short (10 minutes or less), you can easily play again to make everyone feel better. Overall, it's by far the best thing that Cheapass Games has released to date.

 
 
 
 
 
I like this game, but the novelty can wear off.
July 01, 2003

Well this is another game in the Friedys series, where you take the role of a burger slinging zombie, which really is an all-star-A-#1 idea. I have to say this is not my favorite in the series, I like 'Lord of the Fries' more, but this is still a solid game.

PLAYING PARTS/CARDS:

In the aviator/bicycle range, they do start to show wear relatively fast, but any deck with white borders will, much better than all cheapass game cardstock. Requires a die, which at this price point it really should include, but we all have dice, so its not that big of a deal.

EASE OF PLAY:

This is not a hard game to learn, its just choppy, which seems to be a Cheapass trademark. You have two main types of cards. Bid cards, and job cards. You also have the die, which represents 'the brain' all the zombie burger slingers share. The brain starts 'on the floor' in the center of the table, and everyone uses the bid cards to get the brain. The brain can help you do the harder jobs. Some jobs require it, some dont, you can tell by looking at the card. After you have followed the directions on a job card that requires the brain you need to do a skill roll. If you don't make the skill roll, the brain hits the floor, and bidding begins again. If you make the skill roll, you continue, or play moves on, and you get to keep the brain, making everyone else do jobs that dont require the brain.

Each turn you can do 2 hands worth of jobs, since you only have 2 hands. Some of your turns get you 'objects' one thing I find is often you forget you have the objects, and accidently break the rules, so thats something to watch out for. You can also choose to take a loafing turn, and draw a card. The first person to get rid of their hand of cards wins.

STRATEGY VS LUCK:

Its a card game, it requires some luck. This game is not missing a strategy component, but as I say with all card games, its still going to have a lot of luck involved. However getting ready for what to do with the brain when you get it, how you will prepare when you lose it, and when you need to get it back can be a lot of help.

HOUSE RULES OR PERSONAL CHANGES:

No real changes, its pretty well thought out, you just need to check the website for some of the really odd situations you can get into when dealing with the last cards, and several players meeting the winning conditions at the same time.

OTHER THOUGHTS:

Not a bad game, not my favorite in the series, but I dident have the heart to knock it down to 3 stars since is really is fun, and the art and flavor text are really laugh out loud funny. Not a bad buy at all.

 
 
 
 
 
I can hear the ocean!
March 02, 2003

This one is quite fun. The card art is absolutely adorable (if it can be said that cartoons of rotting zombies cavorting with food-service equipment can be termed as adorable) and the gameplay is reasonably clear and fast-paced.

A few niggling little issues with the rules and the slight weight of luck vs. strategy keep this one from being a 5-star outing - but for a fun, fast-paced group card game, this one is a winner.

 
 
 
 
 
Careful with that Cerebellum!
February 17, 2001

You're a zombie, and someone saw fit to resurrect you from the dead for no better purpose than to prepare and serve fast food at a local greasy spoon. Makes you almost wish you were dead again.

While it is a fun game to play, Give Me the Brain! provides more fun for me personally in visualizing the situation described. For instance, there is a card called 'Look, a monkey,' which lets you steal the brain from whoever has it. I imagine one zombie walking up to another. He points off into the distance and says, 'Look, a monkey.' His friend turns to look in a direction that roughly resembles the direction he was pointing. The first zombie then reaches forcibly into his skull, pulls out his brain with a squelching sound, and plops it into his own head. The first zombie, now without the smarts to know any better, just keeps staring open-mouthed.

This is actually one of four [page scan/se=0820/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=10]games based in Friedey's (A mythical fast food restaurant with an entirely undead staff), and in my opinion, the best. The art is nicely done, the captions are hilarious, and the gameplay is top-notch.

 
 
 
 
 
Good Filler Game
February 24, 2005

You have to know what you're getting when you buy this game. If you're expecting this to be a mainstay of your game night, you'll probably be disappointed and give it a low rating.

Since one reviewer has already left a terrific summary of the cards and gameplay, I will forgo that to give you my opinion of it. As with the Cheapass zombie series (see Lord of the Fries), this is a funny game, especially at first. As you are all zombies in a fast food restaurant, when it is your turn you are required to do a "job." Since you have two hands, you can do a two-handed job or two single-handed jobs. Some jobs require the brain to do them. Since you're zombies, you might just find a third hand lying around that you can keep so you can do more jobs during your turn. That card is comical, as is the "you can't win" card. This plays as an object in front of you, and you can pass it to another player at the opportune time.

As a previous reviewer noted, this is a typical Cheapass game in that it is also "choppy." Cheapass has a nack for creating games without traditional turn play. In this game (as in Kill Dr. Lucky), your turn might be skipped, and skipped often. I played one game in which I started off the game and got about three turns in a row, then didn't see another turn until the end of the game (the game ends, by the way, when one player runs out of all their cards--a pretty simple game). I personally like this approach of capricious turns, as long as the game plays fast, which Cheapass games do. The drawback, of course, is that when you introduce the game to newcomers, like I did once, if they get skipped a lot they will hate it.

In the end, it is a quick, 5-15 minute game that requires little strategy but is still fun, entertaining, and interactive. It is good as a filler game between those 45-80 minute sessions of Carcassone, Puerto Rico, Bang, or whatever your old reliable might be.

 
 
 
 
 
I dunno? Yeah, it's fun. I guess. Ya tink so?
August 22, 1999

Cheapass Games comes through again with another fun filled, off the wall game for everyone. A simple mechanic of trying to get rid of all of the cards in your hand revolves around a fast food establishment run by zombies that must share one brain among them! (A very accurate simulation, indeed!)

The general course of play is that each player can usually play two cards from their hand with the restriction that some cards require the player to have possession of the brain. The kick is that there is only one brain to be shared by all the players who are constantly taking it away from you!

With a six-sided die used to represent the brain, and wacky quips on the cards themselves, GMTB provides loads of quick fun while giving players a chance to speak in their best doofus voice during play. Even though the novelty does wear off after a few playthroughs with the same group, for the price, its a great treat for the usual nongamers.

 
 
 
 
 
Please don't buy this game
April 08, 2003

For me and my group this is the worst game we have, if you compare this game with Grand Dalmuti, Rage, Twich, Mammamia, Brawl, Frank Zoo Any of this game is better...

I thing the worse is that you have to read all the cards, and there is no strategy in this game, and there no fun when you are playing

Other Resources for Give Me the Brain!:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.