My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Electronic Catch Phrase
 

Electronic Catch Phrase

Second Edition


Your Price: $24.99
(Worth 2,499 Funagain Points!)

This item is out of stock indefinitely []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available! We do not expect it within the 30-day period for .

Quantity:

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Product Awards:  

Ages Players
16+ 4 or more

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

In this fast-paced game, do whatever it takes to get your team to guess the word or phrase. Give them clues -- talk, use your hands, jump around. Once they guess, pass it quick. You don't want to be caught with the game at the buzz.

Once you and your friends pick up Catch Phrase, you won't want to put it down.

It's hot! It's hysterical!

Product Awards

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Hasbro

  • Year: 2000

  • Players: 4 or more

  • Ages: 16 and up

  • Weight: 397 grams

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #126

  • In order to play Electronic Catch Phrase, you will have to provide 3 AAA batteries

Contents:

  • electronic game
  • instructions

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.5 in 15 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by Brad N.
Best Party Game I've Played
January 24, 2007

I've probably played more party games than any other kind and Catch Phrase is always a hit with any group. I've played Catch Phrase with co-workers, immediate family, in-laws, neighbors and strangers. Everybody likes this game. Why? Because it is so simple and yet makes for a lot of excitement.

All you do is get somebody to say a word or phrase without saying the word or phrase or using "rhymes with" as a clue. It's like hot potato where the counter is beeping faster and faster as it nears the end... then BUZZZZZ!!! If you team is NOT caught with the machine when it buzzes then you win.

I've played the old version with paper discs and the new version which is a fully contained electronic device. They both work great, but I do look the electronic device since you don't have to deal with the paper discs. The first version of the electronic device was a bit slow to bring up the next word, but the next version works great. If you want a simple game for a party, this is the one you want!

 
 
 
 
 
by Betty
Fun Intense Game
December 26, 2006

This is a blockbuster game, it starts out slow but as the disk keeps beeping faster (to the time out), and faster the player starts to get frazzled, the volumn of speech escalates, everyone screaming and ... BUZZZZZ the other team gets the point. It has several categories, but we found that the "everything" was the most fun. You can gesture, talk, make movements, etc. whatever will get the answer from your team mates except for using any part of the actual word or phrase. Terrific fun.

 
 
 
 
 
Great game for all!
November 15, 2005
Catch Phrase is a wonderful party game! I have brought it to many parties that had a variety of people there. Everyone really likes the game because it is simple and a lot of fun. It's not hard for kids to play and even non-gamers got into it. If you're looking for a game to bring out during parties or family gatherings this is it!
 
 
 
 
 
by Jen
If I could give it 10 stars, I would
February 22, 2004

A group of six of us sat up till 3am and played over the weekend,we would love another version if possible. Its an awesome party game..I strongly suggest it. The funniest part of the game is trying to get your partners to guess what you are thinking and that isnt always easy.

 
 
 
 
 
succeeded in getting game-haters to say 'this is really fun'
January 12, 2004

Two husbands at our family Christmas gathering at my house had to be pleaded with and begged to participate, then had a blast and wanted to play again the next night when we got it out. These guys are die-hard game-haters.

It was great fun and our 20-yr old son who declined to play eventually joined in after seeing what fun we were having.

then his girl friend showed up after work and she joined in having just as much fun and didn't even know the other out-of-town family members. It's a game at which noone feels stupid and every one can join. We even had our 8 yr old niece playing and she did VERY well (we did allow her to skip some words that she didn't know). We were startled at her abilities, but if you consider that words and gestures are permitted with very few limits it makes the game adaptable to many levels. I can't say enough good things about it. I have never seen a game like this which appeals to a doctor, a lawyer, a laborer, a teacher, a housewife, a secretary, and children of various interests and levels. And everyone had a blast. Two of the teens were comfortable playing with new boyfriends (none of the embarassed stuff) WOW It's number one game on my list for its fun and versatility --and the number of people who can play comfortably. Also note you can add people at any time during the game without messing up scores or other players.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Absolutely Insane!
September 20, 2003

This game found its way into my university dorm one night, and has probably been played by over 50 people in the 9 days its been here. Every night we're not out there is a massive catch phrase game going on somewhere in the residence. Usually beginning during the later hours of the night, and ending the early hours of morning this game has people dying of laughter and missed morning classes. An absolute must for anyone who likes to have fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
10 Star Party Game
February 15, 2003

Give clues to help your teammates guess the hidden phrase. A combination of Password, Charades, and Pass the Bomb. But it's better than all of them. The whole is better than it's great parts. The idea seems simple, but it works so well. The ticking of the clock, gives an urgency to giving clues and guessing the right answer.

I love it when I get my mates to guess a phrase they've never even heard of.

I own two copies. One for home. One at work.

I play with kids, adults, people in Mensa, and the liguistically challenged.

Games are filled with laughter, panic and fun. I've never had a bad game. This is probably the only game I've played 50 times or more.

I never tire of this game.

Everyone loves it.

Bring it to a family gathering, school, or a gaming convention. It will wear all these hats well.

If you like having a good time, buy it. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED> Promise.

 
 
 
 
 
Electronic Version Even Better!
December 12, 2002

I cannot say enough good things about Catch Phrase. I've played the original with 30 people and we had a blast. Today I picked up the electronic version and although steep in price ($60 Cdn.), it is worth every penny.

What do you get with electronic Catch Phrase? Eleven categories (Geography, Sports/Games, Transportation...) including a thoughtful one called 'Family' which filters out child inappropriate words. A very nice touch. Gone are the seperate scoreboard and buzzer because everything is contained within the single hand-held device that also speaks out team scores.

Sporting an inventory of 10,000 words, Catch Phrase will keep my family and friends in hysterics for many years. Go out and get one for yourself!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Best Game You'll Ever Play
August 25, 2002

Catch Phrase will have you laughing, shouting, and jumping out of your seat. Me and my friends played this game pretty much non-stop for 3 days and we very upest when we ran out of words. A must buy for parties. I never have had as much fun playing a game as the weekend I had playing Catch Phrase. We still talk about all the stupid tings that people said while playing.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Todd
Great party game, easy to learn and play
December 14, 2001

The first time we ever played this game, we started playing at 11:00 pm, and didn't stop until after 4:00 am. Now we bring this game out all of the time. It never gets boring. The action is constant as you just never know when the timer is going to buzz. Easily an all-time great party game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great family/friends game!
April 17, 2000

This game is clean, fun for family and friends and educational, all in one. Not time limited and great for group interaction!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Hilarious party/family game, electronic version not so much
December 21, 2008

I am currently looking to buy this game because our box is so tattered from use. The original version with discs has some limitations but is definitely the better gaming experience for all out fun. If competition is your goal, then definitely get the electronic version. The original game has a small plastic disc that contains word wheels. The beauty of the game is that you slap the side of the disc to get the next word (it is a bit sloppy and sometimes words are missed but again this is the version that is more for fun and parties). Then, after you get your team members to guess the word you slide the disc across the table to the other team. It is a race against time. We love it because 8-80 years old we can all sit around the table, break up into teams and play. Invariably the little ones get help with the clues and the oldest players find it difficult to read the tiny words so often they play just by chiming in which is also great fun. We have played this game at every family holiday for the past 6 or so years. By the end of the night we have usually stopped keeping score but are still pushing through the words. We also own the electronic version...the words seem a little harder... I could be wrong on that. The electronic version has a rubber cushion on the disc so it doesnt slide (that ruins the family version cause young and old alike like to sail that disc down the long dining room table). On the plus side, the electronic version doesnt skip words, keeps score and doesnt allow you to cheat with the pawns, the timer is always correct and you dont have to stop the action to change to a new disc. Its a great competitive game...but they have sucked the fun out of it..... Buy the original....happy gaming. L

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Wil W.
Great Fun - But Limited
October 22, 2007

As long as you've not played the game more than a few times, it should be great fun!

The instructions were a bit limited and not too clear in some aspects. For example, the rules don't tell you that you should sit in a circle - alternating team members.

Also, the rules did not state if it was, or was not, okay to press the next button if the word was too hard. We made a house rule that you can not press the next button until you passed it to the next player.

Lastly - after playing for about three hours with friends late into the night, the words started to repeat IN THE SAME ORDER! With a device this size there's no reason it shouldn't be loaded with many THOUSANDS of words. I do understand that perhaps too many words might cause a delay, but you could simply mitigate this with a subset of words generated each time it's turned on or the scores are reset to 0. This would allow thousands of words to be housed in the device, but keep the play list moving quickly since it's only working with a subset of 50 or so in each category. Simply display, "Setting up a new game..." for 5 seconds while the fresh list of words is generated.

Over all, I've played the game with two different types of people and it was a hit each time. My only thoughts for improvements are in the rules and the limited bank of words.

 
 
 
 
 
Fun until the batteries died...
December 13, 2005
This game probably deserves 4 stars. It was actually a lot of fun in the group that we were playing with. The only problem was that the batteries dies right in the middle of the game, so we lost the score. Then after 10 minutes of searching, we weren't able to find any more batteries in the house. It was VERY annoying and led to a little much banter from the different teams that my head started to throb. It was nothing a little more beer couldn't solve, but the experience was painful enough to reduce the rating of my review.

With that said, think of this game as worth 4 stars as long as you have batteries in the house and worth 2 stars or less if you don't!

 
 
 
 
 
by Omar
Better Party Games Out There
June 09, 2004

Tried this recently on a holiday family gathering. It only went over so-so. It's basically a stripped down version of Taboo which is far less challenging, and the hot potato part of it makes the game less about skill and more about luck. That's not always a bad thing with a party game, but for so many non-gamers to complain about the mechanics being not fair, I had to gulp.

Also, we played with 10 people, so it was hard to tell who was on whose team for some, and there was too much shouting and we couldn't hear the right answers.

We later tried it with only 6 and it was much better, but still, didn't carry the fun a party game normally does.

Other Resources for Electronic Catch Phrase:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.