My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Family Games
Edition:  Clue / Cluedo
Series:  Clue
Theme:  Mystery
Genre:  Logic & Deduction
Format:  Board Games


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Clue

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 60 minutes 3-6

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Parker Brothers

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

Was it Colonel Mustard in the Conservatory with the Revolver? Classic game of Whodunit? Where? With What? A favorite for over 50 years!

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Parker Brothers

  • Year: 2002

  • Players: 3 - 6

  • Time: 60 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 875 grams


  • game board
  • 6 suspect tokens
  • 6 weapon tokens
  • deck of suspect, weapon, and room cards
  • confidential case file
  • detective notebook pad
  • 2 dice
  • instructions

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.1 in 9 reviews

Sort reviews by:

To Die For
July 24, 2003

I love to read and write mysteries, and I love to play games, so it only stands to reason that I would love to play Clue. I was nine years old when I had my first encounter with the guests of Boddy Mansion and solved my first murder; an old edition of Clue was the first board game I ever owned. Seventeen years later, and after having been introduced to the more complex world of strategy games by Avalon Hill & others, Clue is still my all-time favorite game (I even have the movie version on video), with Professor Plum being my character of choice.

While the game is intended for 2 to 6 players, I recently played with 11 people. We had five 2-person teams, and the person playing Col. Mustard flew solo. This actually made the game more complex, as each person on each team took turns showing cards, moving, etc., and we sometimes forgot which cards had already been shown, and so forth, making the process of elimination much harder. Team play makes Clue an excellent party game, and I'm glad I discovered this new twist to an old favorite. Try it at your next party. As Mr. Boddy will tell you, it's to die for.

Some Gamers Don't Have a Clue!
March 12, 2001

While I await the next English translation of the next German masterpiece, I can't help falling back on an old time game that has given me hours of enjoyment. This game can have incredible depth, the chance for bluffing as well as a mixture of luck thrown in. Played with a group of vetrans, each game becomes a tense contest. I can't believe that some modern gamers have never played it. Dust off your set this weekend and savor this classic again.

A game you need to play
June 06, 2008

This classic detective game is a must play board game. You might thing it's a nice little easy game, but there's more than that! You will soon find out that you need some strategy. To help you out, you might want to get some tips on how to take good clue detective notes and get an edge on your opponent.

Have fun!

The original, still fun to this day.
February 24, 2005

What can I say, I'm a sucker for a classic. I was lucky enough to get the fancy 50th anniversary tin of this game, but whatever edition you play it's still a blast. Deduction is the name of the game, and it is still as much fun as it always was.

The thing that makes this game work is the fact that it is always different. Sometimes it's all about luck (someone just happens to walk into the right room first). Other times it takes lots of careful questioning to triumph.

The only problem I have ever had with this game is that it is not a social game. If you are with a group that wants to chat, do yourself a favor and avoid Clue. The secretive nature of the game doesn't lead to very much conversation.

I have also experienced situations where people watch where you mark down evidence you have seen. They watch to see if you check off the room, weapon, or suspect. Although this is a crafty plot, it's cheating in my book. My advice, avoid playing with people you don't trust and if you have no choice, be very sly about marking down your information.

Clue really isn't really meant to be played every day, but it's still just as much fun now as the first time I ever played.

An oldie, but still fun
May 03, 2003

Clue is one of those games that I've played throughout my life. I was first exposed to it as a kid, along with other common American games like Monopoly and Risk.

Unlike both of the above, Clue is less skewed toward luck. Undoubtedly, having high rolls is always useful, but as the initial reviewer stated being able to make logical leaps is much more useful than just getting 6's repeatedly.

It's difficult to find a group of adults to play this one with these days, but the game still has enough zing to be interesting to me; though I much prefer the longer (and now rare) 'Master Clue' edition that adds rooms, weapons, and suspects and makes the game go a bit longer, which is necessary when you have 4 players who're all playing the game on a high level.

If you insist on having one standard fare American game in your collection this is the one I recommend, still fun after all these years and not as skewed by the dice as most.

Enjoyable detective romp
June 27, 2001

Clue (called Cluedo here in New Zealand) has taken the game mechanism of 'process of elimination' and turned it into a classic. Not only is the game fairly quick to play, no one ever really knows which player is in the lead until they have made their final accusation.

Each player holds a small piece of paper with each of the suspects' names and the descriptions of the murder weapons and rooms of the manor. By 'suspecting' the use of certain weapons by certain suspects, the player can steadily cross off the names that he knows are no longer suspicious, at the same time keeping his findings secret from the other players. What many players don't know, however, is they themselves might end up being the murderer!

Clue is very much a family game, but our gaming group brings it out from time to time when we have guests. It's still fun after all these years, and well worth a go if you like the idea of being a sleuth.

Clue - Still The Best Detective Game Around
June 27, 2000

More than 50 years ago, Parker Brothers obtained the license to produce CLUEDO, a game then produced in England. They changed the name to CLUE and the rest is history.

Since then, many other 'detective' games have appeared (Whodunit, 221B Baker Street to name two) and yet CLUE still remains, to me, the champion detective game. It resides in GAMES Magazine's HALL OF FAME and rightfully so. It's not every board game that has spawned a major motion picture, a television series, and a popular musical!

Each game starts off with a 'murder' and the object of the game is to be the first one to figure out WHO did it, with WHAT weapon, and WHERE. You do this by making 'suggestions' as you travel, by dice rolls, around the board. Your opponents, when they can, will disprove these suggestions, which you will note on your Detective Notes. Eventually, as more and more information is obtained, someone, hopefully YOU, will determine the correct suspect, weapon, and location.

Luck IS a factor in CLUE... how much so I'll leave up to others to decide. However, there is also plenty of room for logical deductions. Much of the information you obtain will be through your suggestions, but there is much more to the game than just placing an X in the appropriate column of your Detective Notes.

For example, in a game of four players, Player 1 makes the suggestion: 'Miss Scarlet with the Rope in the Lounge.'

This is disproved by Player 2. You hold the Lounge card so you know that Player 2 must have either the Miss Scarlet or the Rope. (Or perhaps both of them.)

A few minutes later, Player 3 suggests it was: 'Mrs. White with the Rope in the Library.'

You, at position 4, cannot disprove this suggestion but Player 1 can. You know from an earlier suggestion that Player 2 has Mrs. White, so Player 1 must have either the Rope and/or the Library card.

Now it's your turn and you find yourself in the Library and you make the suggestion: 'Colonel Mustard (and you hold this yourself) with the Rope in the Library.'

Player 1 disproves this by showing you the Rope card. So if Player 1 has this card then obviously Player 2 cannot so Player 2 MUST have Miss Scarlet!

Other situations are even more complicated. Often times one solid clue will suddenly give you a ton of information. For example, if you deduce that Player 2 must have Miss Scarlet then Player 3 MUST have... which means that and Player 1 MUST have... etc.

I'm willing to bet that many, many players have enjoyed Clue over the past 50 years and still don't realize how much information they are losing simply by not taking their deductions one step further. Sit down and play with an expert and after he wins a few games in record time you would think he either had ESP or was flat-out cheating!

Obviously, those who enjoy and regularly solve logic puzzles will have an edge. Although CLUE is considered a family game, I think any adult who utilizes these types of logical deductions and conclusions over the kids will have a big advantage. (Then again, I've known some bright youngsters who may actually give their bright parents a run for their money!)

The biggest drawback I can think of to CLUE is the game is unplayable with just two players. It requires AT LEAST three and I think is best with four or five. And finding four other opponents who enjoy the game is not as easy as it sounds.

I'm a big fan of Master Mind and CLUE is certainly similar. However, with Master Mind, I don't have several other players competing directly against me, attempting to solve the code/puzzle before I do, and doing everything in their power to thwart ME from solving it! And that's what makes CLUE so much fun. It deserves a place on everyone's gameshelf. Four stars.

Not a huge fan of oldies familygames
August 02, 2003

Although I'm not a huge fan of these oldies familygames, too much has happened over the last 15 years, this is one of the better.

Typiacally, thes games are not inspiering for adults, but Clue actually has the strong point of at least intriguing the adults as well.

From time to time it's nice to play a game where you actually have to LISTEN to what the other players are talking about. This is the main source of information thus the core of the game.

A fine detective family game.
November 26, 2000

There may be better detective games out there today, but Clue is the old classic, and still a fine game. For many of us, Clue was our introduction to deductive analysis and reasoning, and while it may be 3-star for adult gamers, it's perhaps a 4- or 4.5-star as a children's and family game.

Other Resources for Clue:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.