My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
NEW!
REWARD
program
 
 
NEW!
MEMBER
program
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Pick Picknic
 
 
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Pick Picknic

English language edition of Hick Hack in Gackelwack


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 15-20 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Stefan Dorra

Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Zoch

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

'A corn, please!' is the cry heard from many fowl mouths at the cold buffets in the many poultry yards. Game hens, pheasants, ducks, geese, and turkeys seem to be always hungry -- never getting enough to eat. In Pick Picknic, a real feast awaits them! The fox is also always hungry and ready to eat, but from a somewhat different menu...

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Stefan Dorra

  • Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Zoch

  • Artist(s): Doris Matthaus

  • Year: 2003

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 15 - 20 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 316 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item. Manufacturer's rules are printed in multiple languages (including English).

Contents:

  • 60 cards
  • 6 game boards
  • 1 die
  • 78 wooden corn cubes
  • rules

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.2 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Wonderfully fun family game that is cheep *cheep* *cheep*
January 06, 2004

A.k.a., the duck poop game, and well deserving of the title, in the best possible way. Pheasants, geese, ducksin all, 6 different types of birds are having picnics today, and there will be corn aplenty! But where birds hang out, foxes are sure to follow. Players try and play foxes to catch birds, or birds to grab corn, or duck poop to frustrate the foxes! Intrigued? Why wouldnt you be? =)

6 colored cardboard mats are set out in the center of the table, each depicting a different type of bird frolicking or lazing about at their own picnic. Each player is dealt a hand of 5 cards. Each card depicts either a bird numbered 3-6, a fox numbered 4-6, or a duck poop card with a 2 on it. These cards can be in any one of the 6 colors corresponding to the same colored picnic; e.g. red bird corresponds to red picnic.

At the beginning of every round, one random piece of corn is dropped on each picnic. Corn is one of 3 colors, value 1, 2, or 3 points each, giving different picnics different values, and therefore varying degrees of temptation for the birds! Each player secretly selects a card from his or her own hand, then all players simultaneously reveal. And heres how it plays out:

If a bird is the only card at that picnic, it gets all the corn at that spot thats the easy part. If several birds show up, but no fox, then they must either decide how to split up the corn, or if they cant agree, they roll a die and add it to the birds value, with the highest sum taking all the corn at that picnic. But not the duck poop card! That guy is a chicken! (Some pun intended.) If a bird poop card and any other card (fox or bird) are at the same picnic, the fast fowl grabs one piece of green corn and runs away, leaving the other birds to sort things out amongst themselves. If there is no piece of green corn, he runs away with nothing.

But the wily fox, hes a different story all together! If a fox shows up at a picnic, and there are no birds there, it gets nothing (foxes aint about to eat no corn!) If a fox and any number of birds show up at a picnic, the fox eats all of them and gets points equal to the numbers on the bird cards (those are some valuable birds!) but the devoured birds get nothing with the corn carrying over to the next round. If more than one fox show up with birds, foxes wont share with other foxes and most roll and add the total of the die to the number on their card, highest number takes all bird points. But if theres a duck poop card there, the winning fox must take that card worth 2 points!

Since corn may not be claimed because either no one went to that picnic the previous round, or a fox ate all the birds there the previous round, some picnics start to become very valuable from round to round attracting birds, but of course, provides extra motivation for players to play foxes too! A neat balance between wanting to get lots of corn and trying to balance risk versus reward makes this family game an absolute blast. Since players can only chose from their hand, options are a bit limited resulting in some unpredictable picnics! This game can be talk very easily, even to younger children and has been a hit with everyone I have played it with so far (though Ive not yet tried my game group!) I dont think games span ages much better than this, as nearly any age should get some enjoyment out of it, and the short duration and small box make it an ideal family game, and make it easy to carry with you. Simple, lucky, fun. And highly recommended.

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent Party Game, Fast, simple yet unpredictable
September 29, 2002

If you are looking for a light, fast, easy-to-learn party game for casual gamers, this game is a great one.

It is compact in size with eye-pleasing cards and colorful fields. The rules are simple to learn and it is very exciting if played fast. Greed in most of the cases will cost your birds while bold plays sometimes reward you with big surprises.

I find it fun to play with 3-6 players, with 3 players (each placing 2 cards a round) especially exciting. Each game is about 15 min. And we always want to play one game after another. Even playing 8 games consecutively won't bore the players.

This game has no long term strategies or abstract rules. Most of the time you play your cards by instant decisions, not after deep thoughts. But you can still master the game by briefly memorizing the cards played in each color, and keeping your foxes for later part of the game.

I have no complaint for this party game and it is a MUST-HAVE if you like playing quick card games with friends. Lots of fun guaranteed.

 
 
 
 
 
Fun light game
July 09, 2005
Played "Pick Picknic" English version once. Fun, short and light weight. Good "filler" or family game. I have only played a couple times - I'm not sure about long-term replay value.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rick T
Will you be sly as a fox or get outfoxed? Great Family Fun
September 05, 2004

Hick Hack in Gacklewack)(now Pick Picnic in the English Version)is a great family game. What kid wouldn't like sticking someone with the goose poop and causing them to lose 2 points?

Fast action combined with a bit of strategy and a bit of luck. If your goose gets greedy, you might score big, but you may get left with nothing, or even worse, getting gobbled up by a sly fox. But if you're too sly, and overplay your foxes, you may end up with nothing, or even getting stuck with the dreaded goose poop.

This is the first game our family packs when we travel. It's compact, easy to play, and fun. Whether we're spending the night in a hotel room or we're relaxining after a day at the beach. A few rounds of Hick Hack is a great family diversion.

 
 
 
 
 
by Todd 12
funny card game
May 23, 2004

We have a flock of ducks so this game is particularly fun in our house. The game has a little bit of strategy but my four year old brother still enjoys the game. We modify the game by playing with half the hay. That makes for quick game play. I love the artwork, too.

 
 
 
 
 
A good game useable in many situations!
May 08, 2004

Sometimes a games name or silly theme draws me in like a fly to flypaper. Other times, I look at the name and assume that the game is silly and stupid. Time has proven me wrong time and time again, so I tried to have a better outlook when first playing Pick Picknic (Rio Grande Games or Gigamic, 2001 Stefan Dorra). The game sounded, and indeed looked like a game exclusively for children. A friend prevailed upon me to try out his copy of the game, however, and I agreed to play it (I cant really avoid playing a new game - its like an addiction).

I was immediately impressed and wanted to play again. I took the game to my youth game club, and they loved it. After several playings with them and other groups of people, I have determined that kids and teenagers are the optimal playing group for this game; but that it works well with all groups. Because of the cubes and their movement in the game, its a bit more fiddly than Nobody but Us Chickens, a very similar game. Yet I still highly recommend it, and it makes an excellent filler, especially for young people.

Six poultry yards (large cardboard squares) are placed in the middle of the table in six different colors (red, blue, green, black, yellow, and purple) each representing a different type of poultry. A pile of blue, green, and yellow cubes (corn) are mixed up and placed in the small game box. Five cards from a deck are dealt to each player, and the first of thirteen rounds begins. At the beginning of each round, one cube is randomly placed on each poultry yard. Each player then plays a card from their hand face down on the table simultaneously. At the same time, all players reveal their cards, and the results are determined. Each color is consulted...

- If nobody played a card of that color, the cube stays on it, and nothing happens.

- If only one player played a bird card (duck, pheasant, chicken, etc.) of a color, they get all the cubes in that poultry yard.

- If only one player played a fox card of a color, they get nothing (because foxes eat only birds, not corn).

- If more than one player plays a bird card of the same color, each player rolls a die, and adds it to the number on the card (from 3-6). The player with the highest number wins all the cubes in the pen; the others get nothing.

- If one or more players play bird cards, and one player plays a fox card (all of the same color), the player with the fox cards collects all the bird cards, placing them face up in a pile in front of him. All the cubes stay in the poultry pen.

- If one or more players play bird cards, and one or more players play fox cards (all of the same color), then the foxes fight over the birds. Each fox player rolls a die and adds it to the number on their fox card, with the winner getting all the bird cards, and the cubes staying where they are.

- If a player plays a fleet fowl card of a certain color, they take one green cube from that yard, and leave before the other birds fight over it. If a fox is played at the same spot as a fleet fowl, they eat the bird like any other bird.

Once each pen has been settled, the next round begins with all players discarding the cards they played (except for birds captured by foxes), and drawing a new card each. Another cube is added to each pen - unless there are no more cubes in the box, in which case the games ends. At game end, players add up their scores - scoring one point for each green cube, two points for each blue cube, and three points for each yellow cube. Eaten birds are worth points equal to the number on the card, while fleet fowl cards are worth 2 points each. The player with the most points is the winner!

Some comments on the game...

1.) Components: Pick Picknic comes in a very small box - and when I say small, its only in comparison to how many components are in it. The box, very sturdy and with cartooned illustrations on it, is about four times the size of a box of playing cards. The cubes, in all three colors, are nice and easy to handle, but my biggest gripe about the components is that there are no extra cubes, making the loss of one cube (not a difficult task) rather crucial. However, I guess you could always transfer cubes from any of my other twenty games that have cubes. The cards are small; but because of their white borders, they can take a lot of wear and tear. The reason I state this is because the cards are handled a great deal in this game, so the wear and tear will occur. All the artwork on the cards, the box, and the pens is very cute and makes the theme likeable. The square pens are a terrific addition to the game, because they arent necessary, but certainly help ease the game play. When they are laid out, one realizes that a full-blown board could have been used in their place; but this allows a much more compact box.

2.) Rules: The rulebook is eight pages long, which seems awfully long for a game with rules this short and simple, but there are many color illustrations; and it would appear that the author of the rules directed them to children. This is especially nice, as I dont like when rulebooks leave ambiguous rules, and this rulebook goes out of the way to prevent any misunderstandings at all. I mean, the rules are so clear that I dont think anyone would ever have any questions! The game is really easy to teach, after only one or two rounds, almost everybody understands it.

3.) Nobody But us Chickens: The comparisons to this game are going to be obvious, even though Pick Picknic came first. Both of them are about foxes raiding a chicken pen, but Pick Picknic has a great deal more luck. Of course, it also has a great many more choices, and because of that, I like both games about equally. Pick Picknics components, especially the cubes, make it a much more visually attractive game, but its also slightly more complicated, and not quite as pure.

4.) Bluffing: The game is perhaps less about strategy than it is about bluffing. When one pen has a whole pile of cubes, which player will go for it, and with what - a bird or a fox? Sometimes hilarious situations occur, where several players play a fox for a lucrative pen, and then nobody plays a chicken, so everybodys wasted their foxes. This, of course, makes everybody laugh (usually), and then everybody resolves to play differently next time, which of course could change also.

5.) Time and Players: The game can accommodate up to six players (although some rules do change slightly for two or three players.) What I find quite enjoyable is that the game doesnt slow down with more players; it flows at a very fast pace. The box says that games take about thirty minutes, but Ive found that once everybody understands whats going on, that games take between fifteen and twenty minutes. This makes Pick Picknic a perfect candidate for the filler category.

6.) Fun Factor: And the one thing that solidifies this games filler status is that its a blast to play. Sure, there are no deep strategies, and you wont find people writing long articles about Pick Picknic strategy on the internet. Yet at the same time, the game is a blast to play; and its not a total luckiest. In fact, I dont believe a player could ever lose, if they were a perfect bluffer and reader of bluffs. Poker players would probably enjoy this game quite a bit!

This game is inexpensive, fun, and plays in a short time. That categorizes it as a must-buy for me. After my initial playing, I immediately wanted to play it again; and almost bought it on the spot. Very few fillers have entertained me as much as this one - both in theme and mechanics. The game has worked wonders with the youth; they clamored to play it again and enjoyed it tremendously. However, I played the game with full compliments of die-hard gamers, and they also enjoyed the game. It mixes well and fits almost every situation. If I had a list of definitive games every gamer should have, this would be on the list. Its not one of my favorite games, but it is a very good game. It fits so many situations well, that it would be one of the last games I would get rid of in my collection.

Tom Vasel

 
 
 
 
 
by Kevin O
An enjoyable game for non-gamers
December 28, 2003

I had to rate this 4 stars, not as much for the game play, but because this game is enjoyable enough to play with non-gamers. As someone who tries to get non-gamers to play games, it's dificult to find games that will 'break the ice' with a non-gamer. Hick Hack is one of those games that has the charm to get non-gamers to not only play, but play repeatedly. With the short play time, accomodating their request is easy...

 
 
 
 
 
Fast Fun with Fowl and Foxes
July 29, 2002

This game is quick and dirty. Try to use your bird card to get the grain in a particular location. If two bird try for the same grain, then they either settle the distribution of the grain, or Hick Hack for it my rolling a die and the winner takes all.... Watch out, if another play plays their Fox card in the same location other players put a bird, then the Fox takes the bird card (for points) and nobody gets the grain.

A fun out-guess the other players that are trying to out-guess you while still trying to get points... Not a heavy thinking game, but is great to play fast. Good game for this genre.

Other Resources for Pick Picknic:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.