My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Carcassonne: Inns & Cathedrals
 

Carcassonne: Inns & Cathedrals

English language edition of Carcassonne: Wirtshäuser und Kathedralen


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Carcassonne: Inns & Cathedrals


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 30-45 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Klaus-Jurgen Wrede

Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Hans im Gluck

Please Login to use shopping lists.

To play this game, you must have:
Carcassonne
English language edition with River tiles Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: Wheel of Fortune
English language edition of Carcassonne: Das Schicksalsrad (Currently Restocking)
$29.95
$23.99
(20% savings!)

Carcassonne
English language edition, no River tiles Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: 10 Year Special Edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Carcassonne: Dice (Currently Restocking)
$17.50
$13.99
(20% savings!)
Carcassonne: Phantom Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Carcassonne
Z-Man Games edition, includes The River expansion (Currently Restocking)
$34.99

Product Description

The first large expansion for Carcassonne, Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals adds several new interesting options to gameplay, while retaining the basic game's ease and enjoyment. More pawns in a new color are added, allowing up to six players to play; and a "large" pawn of each color is included, which if strategically placed will allow a player to dominate a city or road. Inns are included which double the points of a road, and Cathedrals increase the value of cities; but both will cause a player to score no points if the city or road is not completed by game's end. A new array of tiles is also included, with various combinations to allow players to better complete the map. Inns and Cathedrals will change the way players play the game, giving them more tiles and more fun!

Note: Inns & Cathedrals was formerly known as Carcassonne: The Expansion -- the two products are identical.

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Klaus-Jurgen Wrede

  • Manufacturer(s): Rio Grande Games, Hans im Gluck

  • Artist(s): Doris Matthaus

  • Year: 2002

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 30 - 45 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 308 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #9

  • Language Requirements: This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item. Game components are language-independent. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English.

Contents:

  • 18 new land tiles
  • 6 point tiles
  • 8 gray followers
  • 6 large followers

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.6 in 19 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Great Expansion to a Great Game
January 19, 2006
This expansion is very well worth the money in my opinion. I actually bought the original game with some expansions included (some sort of deluxe package deal). So in order for me to gauge the value of this expansion, I had to look back and picture the game without the expansion :)

One of the cool things about most of the Carcassonne expansions is that you can simply throw the pieces into the mix and NOT follow the new rules if you want. For example, in this expansion you can simply have more players, make the scoring easier (with the addition of the point tiles), have more meeples to place (just use the big guy to keep score) and have a longer game (with the addition of more land tiles.) In fact, when I introduce people to Carcassonne we just play with the original rules and I don't have to pick out all the expansion pieces.

Having said that, the new rules do add a lot to the game. It can get a little cut throat, since screwing up an opponent's city hurts them a lot more if it has a cathedral in it. The large meeples also add a new dimension of decision-making and strategy without complecating the mechanics of the game.

I have multiple expansions, and actually just ordered another off of this site (I should get it tomorrow - Yay!), but I would say this is the best one. If you are ready to freshen things up with Carcassonne, this is the way to go. As I said, even IF you don't care for the new rules (which I doubt would happen) then at least you have a bigger game!

Since I can't think of a single complaint about this expansion, I give it a good, solid 5 star rating.

In other words... if you are considering it, buy it now. You won't be sorry! :)

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent and necessary expansion set
July 15, 2004

This expansion is a must. With Inns & Cathedrals roads can become just as valuable as cities if not more, therefore adding more strategy to the game. It's also fun to get a cathedral, but it's challenging to finish the city before the end of the game. This expansion definitely adds to the fun and strategy of Carcasonne. I don't like playing without this expansion, which I do when I'm teaching friends how to play the first time.

 
 
 
 
 
by Mike
worth it
October 06, 2003

This addition carves new strategies out for the ambitious and ruthless. Also the ability to add one extra player is an unexpected added bonus of this expansion set. The only reservation I have is that certain pieces from this set tend to elicit the same move (in terms of meeple placement). Otherwise, I'm thoroughly enjoying the new variety found in these yet unfamiliar tiles.

 
 
 
 
 
Backs now match.
September 11, 2003

Although the blurb says this reprinting is identical to 'The Expansion' it differs in an important way. The backs of the tiles now match the base set. They are also slightly thicker than the first edition - appearing almost identical to the thickness of Traders.

BTW: Although the title change occurs on the outside of the box - no change was made to the title for the enclosed rules.

 
 
 
 
 
Good Game - Great Game
August 14, 2003

After the first time of playing the original Carcassonne (with the River Expansion) at some friends of ours, we were hooked. A couple of weeks after playing it, I went out and bought the original, and the 2 expansions (Traders & Builders and Inns & Cathedrals). Both sets are excellent. Add both expansions together to get a superb game! The only downside to the expansions are the difference in colours on the backs of the tiles (very slightly). The Traders & Builders edition makes up for this though, as it has a cloth bag included in the game, to place all the tiles in.

 
 
 
 
 
Great expansion, adds some nice twists
November 18, 2002

This is a great expansion to an already fun game, and now a 6th person can play too. I especially like the challenges of the 3 point Cathedrals and the extra road strategies that the expansion offers. If you like Carcassonne, you would do well to get this expansion. Also the extra scoring pieces make it much easier to keep track of high scoring games.

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent AND worth the money
September 07, 2002

We played the Carcassonne Expansion for the first time recently and really loved it. The additional tiles really add to the game play and the simple rules additions make the game more balanced and fun. This is one of my all time favorite games and the Expansion has made it even better. I consider this a must have for anyone who enjoys Carcassonne.

 
 
 
 
 
by Mike
Terrific expansion to a terrific game
September 05, 2002

When we played our first game of Carcassone with the expansion, all of our abilities to predict the probabilities of drawing a useful city piece were nullified. I am sure that with time we would all learn the numbers of each new tile... but that does not detract from the innovation that this addition brings to the table. I am exceptionally happy about this wonderful expansion to a game that was already our family's favorite...

 
 
 
 
 
by Rich
Well designed expansion
June 10, 2002

The Carcassonne Expansion is one of the best game expansions I have purchased. Although it's cost is high relavtive to the cost of the original game, I still find the expansion to be a good value because of the many elements that it brings to the game.

Unlike so many expansions, the Carcassonne Expansion was not just thrown together in an attempt to capitalize on the success of Carcassonne. It is well thought out. It attempts to fix some of the minor errors or inequities in the original game.

One of the most welcome changes is the addition of the scoring markers. These markers allow players to track how many times they loop around the scoring board. One side is a 50 point marker, the other side is a 100 point marker. This fixes one of the major complaints of the original game. A 50 point scoring board was just insufficient.

Many players commented that they felt that the Farmers had too large an impact on the game. To fix this perceived inequity, two additional tile types were added. The first is the Inn by the Road. These tiles increase the value of completing a road that has an Inn by it. The thief was always considered the weakest play and often only played when you had the opportunity to place and remove it in the same turn when completing a road. The added value to a road segment containing an Inn encourages players to place theives and try to build and complete roads.

The second new tile are the Cathedral Tiles. These tiles increase the value of a completed City. Although you have to complete the road or the city to get points because no points are awarded in the final scoring for uncompleted roads with Inns or Cities with Cathedrals, the amount of points if completed, especially for cities containing a Cathedral can be quite high.

The next new addition is the introduction of a larger Meeple worth two points. The strategic placing of this larger Meeple can steal a City or a Farm.

Meeples for a 6th player are also provided and additional tiles are also provided. Many of the tiles were designed to close off farms and provide city shapes that are different from the original game.

To sum it all up, the Carscassonne Expansion does a fantastic job of fixing problems and inequities in the original game, adding new strategic elements to cut down a little bit on the luck factor, and allows and additional player to play. All this is done without damaging the fun and mechanics of the original game.

If you love Carcassonne, then you definitely should pick up this expansion.

 
 
 
 
 
by Henry
Even non-gamers will play
April 16, 2002

The whole Carcassonne series is excellent. My girlfriend will even play. In fact she has even asked to play. Excuse me while I pick up my jaw from the floor. Carcassonne: Die Ertweiterung adds a greater amount of strategy to the original game. The first reviewer stated that cathedrals triple the value of the city. The cathedrals actually make the city tiles worth three points each and each pennants become worth three points as well. This game is an excellent addition to the series, well worth getting.

 
 
 
 
 
Even more fun added to an already fun game.
March 26, 2002

This expansion to Carcassonne adds a bit more fun and strategy to the game. Adding a sixth player is a nice touch since in my group we often find ourselves with six players for this five player game. The addition of the scoring tiles is nota big deal in my opinion, but I know there were many that complained because the scoring track only went to 50. With the introduction of 18 new game tiles the scores will increase. I played one game were one player ended with 173 points.

Getting an additional meeple of any kind would be nice since I always run out, but this new Large Meeple is worth two regular meeples which makes things a bit more interesting.

The 18 new tiles are nice since they are tiles that haven't existed before. Two are cathedral tiles which are full city tiles that tripple the value of the city if it is completed. If a city containing a cathedral is not completed the city does not score at the end of the game. Five new tiles have Inns on the road which doubles the value of roads if finished. Just like unfinished cities with Citadels in them, unfinished roads with inns on them score no points. These inns are nice since roads were the weakest scoring mechanism in the game.

All in all the expansion is quite enjoyable. It will make the game a few minutes longer and it can add a bit more tension for the competative types since things can be unbalanced quickly with the large meeple or the addition of a cathedral to a city, which will force players to play defensively.

This expansion is worth getting!

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent Expansion
May 02, 2008

Inns & Cathedrals is an excellent first step into the universe of Carcassonne expansions. The great thing about it is that you not only get some new gameplay elements (inns, which double the value of roads; cathedrals, which add value to cities), you also get new components to add a sixth player.

Unlike other reviewers, I don't find the game to be much more cutthroat with the addition of the cathedrals. Players could always be mean to each other by surrounding opponents' features with difficult-to-match combinations. At least with the cathedral you have a chance to score even more points.

Though it may not seem like much for your money, the 18 tiles in this set really do spice up the game.

 
 
 
 
 
by John M.
Must Have Expansion For Carcassonne!!!!
November 02, 2008

Ok so in one of the many other reviews I've written today I told you that you're probably going to get sick of my reviews up here, or maybe they're helpful to you, either way I hope these are coming in handy to you. So this is the first expansion in a line of many, most are official, some out there are unofficial, I've not played any but they exist. This set gives you some new landscape tiles, a new meeple (the double meeple as we call him) and meeples for a 6th player, as if 5 weren't enough???? Anyway great new tiles, the new double meeple helps you outnumber your opponents in features they might try to steal from you, and all in all is a well balanced expansion. This and the Traders And Builders are the only 2 expansion whose rules are always "on" in my house, other expansions and their various rules are turned on or off depending on our moods. Like I said in another review for products in this series, there are too many rules, expansions and extra meeples to play with ALL of at once unless you intend to play this game for 3 or 4 hours. I give this one 2 stars for the double meeple, 2 stars for the new tiles, and 0 for the 6th player ability, 4 stars to this, it's worth it, might even be worth it to buy 2, if for nothing else the landscape tiles.

Remember, you can't deploy your DOUBLE meeple if you're not playing the game!!!!

 
 
 
 
 
If you get only one expansion - this is the one to get.
February 12, 2005

Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals was originally titled the unimaginative Carcassonne: the Expansion. That seems a bit laughable now, as there seems to be no end of new Carcassonne expansions. If I could get just one expansion for Carcassonne, this one would probably be it. It adds a lot of useful options and rules...

1.) Sixth Player: Gray meeples are added so that a sixth player can play - something I enjoy. I often have groups of six players, and Carcassonne is a game I often can bring out. Some people complain that the sixth player slows the game down, but to them I say “bah!” There’s not a noticeable difference, and competition for cities, farms, and roads gets that much more intense.

2.) Giant Meeples: A large meeple of each color is included, which each player can place, just like a normal meeple. The only difference is that a large meeple counts as two small meeples when determining who controls cities, etc. This makes the large meeple a very useful figure. Some folk, like myself, use him defensively, putting him in a large city to defend it from others. Other players use him to take over lucrative features that other players are controlling. The “Geeple” (Giant meeple) is a very useful addition.

3.) Point Tiles: This is a small addition, but a useful one that probably should have been included in the basic game. Once a player point marker passes the “50” space on the scoreboard and laps around, the player receives one of the point tiles, placing it with the “50” side face up. If they pass the start yet again, the tile is flipped to the “100” side. This helps all players see at a glance the point total of each player. I really enjoyed these - and notice how they come standard in all new Carcassonne-type games.

4.) Cathedrals: Probably the most influential tiles added - these two all-city tiles have a picture of a cathedral on them. If a cathedral is in a city, the controlling player gains three points per tile. The flipside is that if the city is not finished, the controlling player gains no points. Cathedrals are very effective against other players; a player can add a cathedral to another player’s city, hoping that they won’t finish it (quite possible) and score no points. On the other hand, if you score a large city with a cathedral in it, the resulting points can be quite lucrative. I really like these tiles, but will admit that they give the player who draws them a good bit of power.

5.) Inn on the Lake: Six tiles have a small inn and lake picture on them that border an adjacent road. These inns score the controlling player of that road two points per tile, but also cause the player to score no points if the road is unfinished. These are useful tiles, but don’t affect the game as much - mostly because roads don’t play as big of a role as cities.

6.) Other tiles: Besides the Inns and Cathedrals, there are several other “normal” tiles included with the expansion. They have different combinations of cities, etc. (one neat one has four separated city segments), that serve to help break of farms, and add more variety to the game. These tiles are great; and even if a player decides to ignore the other options in the game (and I don’t think that’s necessary), they are worth adding to the original mix of tiles.

7.) Newcomers: I generally ignore some features of the set when playing with newcomers, such as the Geeples, and the inns and Cathedrals. Rather than remove the tiles, however, I just use them - just ignoring the pictures of inns and cathedrals. This helps ease people into the game (don’t like to give too many scoring options at once), and then I mention them for the second game.

I really enjoyed this expansion; it added a few necessary things (point tiles, sixth player), some extremely interesting things (inns, cathedrals, new tiles) and the Geeples (which are fun, but weren’t entirely necessary). They do have their uses at the bottom of the inevitable meeple pyramids that people build, though.) If a player doesn’t like Carcassonne, this expansion will probably do nothing to change their mind; the changes are good but don’t affect game play that much. If a player enjoys Carcassonne, then this expansion is a must-get.

Tom Vasel
“Real men play board games.”

 
 
 
 
 
by Glenn
Ease into the rules
September 10, 2003

I love games. But it's difficult to get a friend or family member to play a game that has too many rules or too much strategy. So, I recommend that the first time you play the game, don't play with the Inns, Cathedrals, Builders, and Trader rules.

Go ahead and play with the tiles, because it's too much trouble to fish them out. But don't score them with the expansion rules. After the new players get a feel for the basic game, they'll be hooked and then you can add the extra dimension of the expansions.

Also, to shorten the game, take out a few handfuls of tiles before you start. This will keep it lite for the new players.

 
 
 
 
 
by Al
Gives the opportunity to be evil, ha ha ha
June 12, 2003

Carcassonne itself is a great game, but it lacked something, the opportunity to mess with your opponent. I found that in the original Carcassonne, one tended to concentrate on building upon your own resources. The addition of the cathedral and inn adds to this concept. But, now I can add a cathedral to my opponents huge city close to completion and bam, no points. HA HA HA (sinister laugh).

 
 
 
 
 
by Henry
Great expansion however
April 25, 2003

The expansion balances out the game creating an actual struggle for the roads that in the past did not happen due to the undervalued point system for the roads. The game play side is perfect. The options the double value markers create result a more intense struggle for assets. Fantastic, well done, congratulations. Who authorized the production of the tiles with a slightly different color back side so that if you look at the tiles you know from which set they came. Ohh Nooo, perfection destroyed!!! If the back side of the tiles were the same as the base set this expansion would get a 5 star rating. A blind draw or only being able to draw a tile from the top of a stack will correct this problem but you should not have to compensate for this with special rules. If you have the base game get the expansion highly recommended.

 
 
 
 
 
by Ig
Great expansion with one little flaw...
April 14, 2002

New tiles are lighter (both sides) than English edition base tile set. This is a problem because it's easy to distinguish them when drawing from the pile. Tiles must be shuffled and then stacked, so player has no choice but to pick the topmost tile, or, player must draw without being able to see the pile.

Perhaps this will be fixed with the English expansion.

In any case, it's great buy!

 
 
 
 
 
Good, but not enough added to the game.
June 19, 2006

The original game is so good, that these add ons will sometimes not be too exciting. The cathedral, double or wiping out points, just takes too much away from the other progress in the city. It is kind of fun, but sort of messes up the good part of the original. I prefer the River expansions, which only add to the normal progress of the game. The King and Scout also add to the progress, since the longest road and largest city can keep being reasigned to another location. It is fun to have the expansions, as you can choose what you want to include, but overall, I think this one is kind of weak.

Other Resources for Carcassonne: Inns & Cathedrals:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.