My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In A Game of Thrones
Close Zoomed Image A Game of Thrones
Store:  Strategy Games
Edition:  A Game of Thrones
Series:  Game of Thrones boardgame
Theme:  Fighting
Format:  Board Games

A Game of Thrones


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
12+ 120-180 minutes 3-5

Designer(s): Christian T Petersen

Manufacturer(s): Fantasy Flight Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

King Robert Baratheon is dead, and the seven kingdoms brace for war. House Lannister, whose daughter Cersei was Robert's queen, claims the throne for her young son Joffrey. From the Dragonstone Isle, Stannis Baratheon knows that Robert was not the true father of Joffrey, and rightfully demands the throne for himself. On the Iron Isles, House Greyjoy is about to embark on a second rebellion, but this time with a much grander goal. In the north, House Stark gathers its strength to defend what is right, and in the south the wealthy House Tyrell harbors an old ambition to sit on the Iron Throne.

As armies gather and ravens fly, a clash of kings is inevitable.

Based on the best-selling novel series A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin, the A Game of Thrones board game lets players take control of one of the great Houses of Westeros and embark on an epic struggle to claim the Iron Throne. Immerse yourself in a game of clever planning, careful allocation of power, diplomacy, and the exciting flavor of A Song of Ice and Fire.

Product Information

Contents:

  • 1 gameboard
  • 75 order tokens
  • 100 power tokens
  • 15 influence tokens
  • 5 supply tokens
  • 35 house cards
  • 5 house start cards
  • 30 Westeros cards
  • 50 wooden footmen
  • 20 wooden knights
  • 30 wooden ships
  • 1 Wildling token
  • 1 turn marker
  • 3 neutral army markers
  • 1 Valyrian steel blade token
  • 1 messenger raven token
  • 1 Iron Throne token
  • rules
A Game of Thrones has the following expansions available:
A Game of Thrones: A Clash of Kings
Expansion (Restocking)
List: $39.95 $31.99 (20% savings!)
A Game of Thrones: A Storm of Swords (Restocking)
List: $39.95 $32.65 (18% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.2 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Christian Petersen's gift to the hobby. Incredible experience.
April 10, 2009

Few games will compel five educated people to play until dawn, wrapped in a fantasy world as this game will. With less than five this game is good, but with the full number you get an intense, rich gaming experience. The world of boardgaming offers few products as good as this.

This game will compel you to read the literature in honors, that I suppose is the best complement I can make to its inventor.

 
 
 
 
 
by DuDm
Very Good Game
May 17, 2004

I am from Poland where it is hard to get any board games. This game is available, thank God :] I played it twice and I really enjoyed it. Board looks great! Rules are easy. First it was strength to me that there is no dice but now I can't imagine playing it with dice. My friends and I are addicted ;) I am looking forward for expansion.

 
 
 
 
 
Great game of diplomacy, poker and bidding
October 26, 2003

I gave this game 5 stars because it deserves more than 4 stars.

First, the game components are marvelous, nice board and wooden gaming pieces. The counters and the cards are nicely drawn and of good quality.

Second, the game itself is very intense. I have played it a couple of times now and the games were very excitting. We have played it with 4 and 3 players. The only thing that I can remark is that the games gets longer and more complex with every additional player.

The game has some diplomacy in it because you'll need to form / break pacts with other players. Also the bidding aspect of the game can get very complex; what do you need, how much are you willing to offer, do I have enough reserve in case of a wildling attack?, ...

And there is also a poker-aspect during battle. Which card shall I play, what will my opponent do, will he forsee me move, ....

The best part of the game is the planning fase where every player secretly plans his orders for each unit or army on the board. So one player can't see if another player is breaking or following the pact they just have made. Also planning an attack is a very mind-hurting job. You have to check your army strenght vs the other player's, keeping track of the bonuses you or the other player might have, trying to find out what card he could play, and so on...

This game is one of the best games I own... (And I have immediatley order the books of George R.R. Martin : A song of Ice and Fire.)

 
 
 
 
 
GREAT
September 27, 2003

I just got A GAME OF THRONES after reading the books series and loved it. It is a condensed version of Twilight Imperium and Risk 2210 A.D., though it is much quicker than the orginal. The game board looks amazing, and the compontents are very good. A must have! I can't what to play again.

 
 
 
 
 
Good Game - Expansion In The Works?
December 27, 2003

Before deciding to carry any board game at our store, we usually like to test them out a bit. I'd definitely have to say this game is more than it seems. I must confess I've never read the GOT books, nor played the card game (although I hope to soon!). However, this game's main interest point to me was the depth of its strategy; it was all placed upon bids, army placement and deployment, and card strategy (plus a lot of bluffing!). With no dice, the random factor was removed (which has its pros and cons), so that you could focus on the strategy.

The only thing I wish was there was an expansion pack or something, because I find the army size limitations and the map size somewhat on the small side. If there was a secondary board or something that would be excellent.

I also dislike the movement of armies across boats; you can move from boat to boat to land in one move? This was how the game was shown and explained to me. It seems kind of odd; this would mean that armies teleport from land to land via a connected waterway. Interesting, but I'd probably use a house rule to stop that.

The cards and the randomized events on each turn also make for a very interesting game. While there are certain number of 'turns' before the game ends, we've found that you can play without this rule anyway because the game usually finishes before that point; and sometimes you just want to really 'conquer' to the world to that effect.

A very interesting strategic/bluffing war game. Try it out if you have the time.

 
 
 
 
 
Not your typical 'tie-in' fare!
September 28, 2003

We have all fallen victim to it. There's a show, movie, or book that we love. Some enterprising designer develops a game based on that theme. We plop down the price of a small eastern-european car in order to have the game for our very own. We rip open the shrink wrap and quickly discover an 18'x18' piece of cardboard with cheap plastic pieces, photographs glued onto even cheaper cut outs, a handful of dice, and rules that would bore a 5 year old. Hours of fun moving cut-outs based on dice rolls. Whee! Most of us learned our lessons as pre-teens and gave up years ago.

For those few who continue to hold out hope that the resurgence in quality gaming can in fact be married to quality literary or screen themes, we finally have justification. 'A Game of Thrones' provides a quality experience for both the gamer and fantasy reader in your group.

Since a review of the book belongs on amazon, not here, suffice to say that anyone who enjoys the deep political plotting and murky alliances of the novels will find plenty in this game to admire. For gamers who enjoy Diplomacy, this game will also have a familiar feel.

Like Diplomacy, players will rarely find themselves in a position to do everything they need to accomplish. Alliances and backstabbing are critical elements. However, since it plays in about 1/3 the time, and has more options for tactics than just 'move,' 'hold,' and 'support,' though, many who can rarely find the time or energy for Diplomacy will be pleased. Also, the ability to recover from what in Diplomacy would be crushing defeats will attract those who dislike the intense cut-throat nature of Diplomacy.

The addition of bidding also brings a fresh feel to the tactical mechanics. This game is as much about resource management as it is about pushing armies around the board.

In all, the rules are well written and simple, with very engaging mechanics. The board is beautiful, the chips nicely designed, and the wooden pieces are always appreciated. The only design complaint I have is with the large cardboard pieces that indicate various advantages for players. Wooden tokens would have been a little classier. In all, though, this is a very minor point to bring up about an otherwise exciting addition to the wargame genre.

 
 
 
 
 
This is to Diplomacy what Dr. Pepper is to Poker
October 08, 2003

Dr. Pepper is Poker with 10's, 2's and 4's wild. That's what this reminds me of. The game seems to work like Diplomacy but with tons of bells and whistles added.

Combat results are not simply 'most armies plus support wins,' but each side gets to play a card before resolution and there are tie breakers which can be bid on occasionally. Orders are not simultaneous--turn order is bid for occasionally. Army size vs. 'supply points' is checked only occasionally (so though you may be able to take over lots of areas and get lots of armies, but until the right card comes up you are stuck with your old limits). You have an arbitrary limit on how many armies can move or defend or support (can be modified a little as the result of occasional bidding), etc.

There are 3 small decks of cards from which you flip up 3 events per turn (which cards come up determine the 'occasionallies' mentioned above). If the event cards have the misfortune of clustering on one kind of event the game can become very distorted.

Taking your turn is much easier than Diplomacy in that you don't write anything, you simply place a chit on each region. For example, if it's a 'Move' chit you don't have to say in advance where you're moving--you simply announce it as you resolve that chit. And you only have 2 or 3 move chits, so everyone can't move anyway.

Unlike Diplomacy, this game can be finished in one sitting. While Diplomacy is cleaner and more elegant, I haven't played a game to completion since about 20 years ago. This game also plays with fewer players and the diplomatic aspect can be minimized if you like. I'd like to see a game half way between A Game of Thrones and Diplomacy.

 
 
 
 
 
by Wundt
Good game if you love Risk or Diplomacy
October 07, 2003

I haven't read the books and so have no sense of the background in this game. The game has good mechanics and the use of event cards makes each game very different. If you enjoy Risk/Displomacy, you may like this as a variation on those themes.

When I played it there was much debate about the relative strengths of each of the 'houses', with a general feeling that there are some serious balance issues in the game. Also, I feel this game has a slippery slope quality, if you lose one or two important battles you might as well give up because fighting your way back is next to impossible.

Other Resources for A Game of Thrones:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.