My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Risk 2210 A.D.
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  War Games, Editor's Pick War Games
Edition:  Risk 2210 A.D.
Series:  Risk
Theme:  Science Fiction
Genre:  War & Combat
Format:  Board Games

Risk 2210 A.D.

small box edition

List Price: $45.00
Your Price: $37.50
(17% savings!)
(Worth 3,750 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []

Ages Players
10+ 2-5

Designer(s): Craig Van Ness, Rob Daviau

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Avalon Hill

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

Who will be the new world leader? The world is at war. As the leader of one of the warring factions, you control the destiny of your people. On and above earth you must marshal your forces, send forth your troops, hire the right commanders and crush your enemies. Build alliances if you dare, but also be wary of those who you call friend. Spend your energy wisely. Enlist the right commanders with the right commands and you can gain the power you need to conquer the world and beyond.

Contains all of the same game components as the larger Risk 2210 A.D. package, including all pieces needed to play the classic game of Risk.

Product Information

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.4 in 52 reviews

Sort reviews by:

by Henry
An Excellent Game!
January 18, 2004

Risk: 2210 AD is a great game for all levels of players. It has nicely detailed figures with 5 commanders. The command cards can twist battles (stealth MODs is a good one that places extra MODs on a defending territory) or givesyou the winning edge. My mom usually hates war games, but she loves to play this great game. Other games I like are:


-Lost Cities



There are some typos in the rulebook, but it is easy to put them right. I also love that there are blank command cards, which allows you to make your own, (there are two of every type but space)but be sure to do that in pencil, onless you want to keep it that way forever or ifyou want to use white-out.

Great Game
June 10, 2003

Until I found this version of RISK I had given up on the game. The original version has merit but tends to go very long with experienced players. This version is great for all levels of experience. Game length is perfect with the set stopping point. We have played 3 games in 7 hours. Game play is very interesting with the addition of commanders and command cards. The game comes with a couple of blank command cards for each commander. We use one per command deck and two for the diplomat deck to nullify any card played with a cost of 2 for any commander except the diplomat cost 0. Overall great game!

Far superior to the old Risk
June 05, 2003

I have played this game a total of 6 times with my gaming group. Everytime we complete a game there is not a single player that doesn't want to play again. We have taken to trying to schedule more game days to play this one more often.

The time limit reduces the tedium of the original and the infusion of Commanders and Commmand Cards help to add a level of complexity and veriablity to the game. The new layout of the board helps to correct some of the lack of accessibility of certain continents had in the original. All in all the new version is a fun, engrossing, yet simple world-conquest game. If you are in the market for a new game, I highly recommend Risk 2210.

by Kevin
Better than the original
May 13, 2003

This game is far better than the original. It has the same luck-based combat system, but with the addition of water and lunar territories, commanders, command cards, and space stations, it is a totally different game. How will you use your energy? Buy new commanders or space stations? Buy command cards? Be sure to save some energy because the good cards need energy to be used. The eight-sided dice rolls, command cards, and allocation of resources adds a wonderful element of strategy to this game that was formerly all luck. The time limit is a plus, as classic risk games can take hours to complete, but 2210 usually only takes 1 or 2 hours to finish. Buy it. You won't regret it.

Risk Meets Modern Gaming
April 08, 2003

This is, without a doubt, the best and most complex version of Risk to date. The rules are simple but the game is deep with a variety of strategies available. Taking some concepts from the 'German style' games while retaining the theme/combat system from the original game results in an excellent, fun time. Note: the game is not short even though it is limited to 5 turns.

The classic game on steroids
March 08, 2003

Being married with two kids I don't have the time to play long, drawn-out strategy games that take a weekend to play. Fortunately, Risk 2210 is fast-paced and exciting and can be wrapped up in about three hours. What's even better is that my wife and my buddies wives enjoy the game, too.

The other reviewers on this page have given an accurate description of the game (although I don't agree with all of the strategies expressed. If you are going to conquer the moon, make sure you have enough energy to go last on your conquering turn and go first on the next turn. Trust me on this one.) the one point I would like to emphasize is that this game can turn around anytime. Just when you think victory is assured, the wife will slam you with a diplomacy card or a land death trap card and now you're fighting for survival. This is simply one of the most fun games I have ever played and it plays like a heavyweight boxing match. The final turn is always just plain crazy with all players playing that 'special card' and going for the knock-out blow.

Great twist on classic Risk
March 03, 2003

Me and my friends love wargames, and you can't beat the simplicity yet strategy of Risk. Risk 2210 a great twist on the regular risk. It makes it more realistic and exciting with the addition of commanders and command cards. The water and lunar territories also add great fun to the game. If you like risk but think that you want it with a little more spice, get this game!

by Tom J
To Nuke or not to Nuke, that is the question.
February 16, 2003

Risk 2210 has taken the old Risk and made it just plain better. The game is still basically the same except for the addition of commanders, energy tokens, space stations, new territories, nuked territories, command cards, and a time limit.

To start the game off, a few of the territories get nuked and are devastated lands that cant be taken over or even traveled through. This alters the game board drastically so every game is different making the replay value vastly superior to the old Risk. Then each player starts out with a Land commander, a Diplomat, one space station, their starting troops, and some energy tokens. Players take turns placing their men and then the bidding round starts. Each player bids with their energy tokens to determine who gets to go in what order. Then game play is basically the same as the old version of Risk except when commanders or space stations are involved. When they are involved an eight sided dice comes into play for the commanders, and space stations make all defense dice eight sided as well.

Another great feature are the command cards, which can be purchased with the energy tokens to spice up the game a bit more. The command cards allow more troops to pop up, kill off certain commanders, nuke territories, etc. And then there are the now territories, such as the moon and the water colonies. The water colonies basically add new avenues to get to the countries that had limited access in the old version.

I could go on and on about all the great things added to this game, but I will say this; if you cant decide whether to buy the old Risk or this new version, BUY THIS ONE. The new game comes with all the rules to play the old game version as well as Castle Risk and a few others. Plus with the time limit it keeps all of the players in the game until the end, unless they make some really lousy choices.

Taking a Venerable Classic and Reviving It - 101
January 22, 2003

I've had my eye on this game for a couple years, mostly because I have fond adolescent memories of Risk, and I dig the Sci-Fi theme. Recently, I've been looking for a wargame that doesn't take a full day to play, and I came back to Risk 2210 A.D. To say I'm not disappointed is an understatement.

First off, the 'five year' limit is a godsend to this game and the primary reason I finally took the plunge. This is an obvious attempt to put a time limit on the game session, and at a flat two hours, it worked.

The new rule for bidding on your turn order is a fun twist. On top of adding a layer of intrigue to the game, it also adds another level of strategy. To be honest, I'm a proponent of going first or at least staying at the same turn order. This allows you to better protect your territories. The main strategy for me is the ability to wear down my opponents Energy (game money) supply.

The Command Cards add a whole new level of strategy to the game. I recommend a player buy as many of these as he/she can. You can never get too many goodies. The Nuclear Command Cards are insane. I recommend those mostly for the desperate.

The new Ocean and Lunar territories help to accelarate the pace of the game. They start out unoccupied. The savvy player will grab onto these (one or the other, really - don't spread yourself too thin) early. They give you more armies early on, sans initial conflict.

The Commanders and Space Stations are a nice touch, adding opportunites to attack and defend at better levels. Most of these (not the Diplomat) give you the opportunity to roll one or more eight-sided dice instead of sixes.

All in all, bringing Risk into the 23rd century was exactly what was needed to make this a 21st century keeper. Highly recommended!

Good strategy, fun game if you like Axis and Allies
October 13, 2002

I have not played the original risk, but I am a heavy player of Axis and Allies -- and I liked this game quite a bit. This game adds a bit of randomness and surprise that many strategy games don't offer -- and that is more realistic. A very solid game, worth the buy, and repeat plays. One drawback, only one type of unit and a few commanders. But this does not detract from the game.

A good game that you can get you family to play.
September 30, 2002

To be honest, I never played Risk as much as other people probably did. I got into Axis and Allies in college and never really wanted to play Risk much.

The reason I like this game is that the wastelands at the beginning make every game different but still keep all players at an even advantage from the start. I also like the bidding for turn order. It adds a poker style of play where you can trick an opponent into burning a lot of money. The other great addition is the limited number of turns. This stops the game from turning into a weeklong event. (and someone from messing with the board or knocking it over while it's set up for the week)

The last reason I like this game is because it's named Risk. It actually helps get non-gamer family and friends to play. They would rather play an updated version of Risk or Monopoly than some game about Puerto Rico that they never heard of. Most games don't have soltaire rules.

Top Notch
August 31, 2002

It has been almost 35 years ago since I played the classic RISK for the first time. The childhood went by and marriage came. But maybe I'm one of the lucky few because my wife also liked boardgames (and wagames). There was only that one little thing concerning RISK, she found it hard to get hooked by it (too much luck based it was) and our copy of the first RISK disappeared on our gaming shelves. A few months ago however, we read some reviews on your fantastic site about the NEW RISK (2210 AD), and it was my wife herself who decided to give it another try. Maybe she would like it better in its new form. And boy, were we lucky. It is indeed a complete other game. The commanders, the command cards, the new gaming board (moon and water) and the new shorter playing time (thanks to the 5 year turn order) make it another game. We BOTH liked it so much that we introduced it also to our best gaming friends on our weekly 'gaming evening'. And they also liked it very much. I only can recommend it to every game buff out there. Give it a fair try, you won't be disappointed at all! Even those who didn't like the old RISK very much, my own wife is the very proof!!!

In one word: 'Great'
August 30, 2002

I already played the original RISK more then 30 years ago. We played it quite a lot in fact. It landed on my gaming shelf when I married because my wife, who is an avid gamer herself (lucky me!), didn't really like it. It was based too much on luck. A few months ago we bought the new version - RISK 2210 AD - just to give it a try. Well, we really were amazed (especially my wife)! It's a game we like very much and we already introduced it to our friends, another couple that is also fond of boardgames. It was an instant success. For myself, I must say that I like this version better than the original one. The command cards let you plan your actions, it doesn't take as much time as the old Risk did (thanks to the 5 year turns), and there's always that element of surprise (when you think you've got the victory within hand's reach, an opponent can claim it in the very last turn). I can only recommend it, it's value for money!!

Great Fun For Up To Five!
June 17, 2002

What can I say? This game was great. It has the clasic Risk game with a new twist. The command card were an awsome idea and the game could not be more fun! If you like a long and enjoyable game, Risk 2210 A.D. is a good choise. This gae can last hours if you want it to but with only 2 players it can be fairly short. The new 5 turn rule puts a little more excitment into the game too.

If you like war games, you will love this!

by Jason
Risk dumped on its head....
March 25, 2002

What can I say that hasn't been said? Risk is, of course, one of the best entry level war games out there. Until now.

Risk 2210 turns Risk on it's head. It adds to the game immensely, taking a simple strategy game and raising the thought bar. Think Australia is the best bet still? Not when it can be invaded from THREE sides, thanks to the water colonies. Think Asia is impossible to defend? Lay down some devastation markers, and all of a sudden its an appealing (and feasible) objective.

Strategies now vary widely. You can go to the moon. You can concentrate on water colonies. You can attempt to hold land colonies. You decide which commanders to field and which cards to buy. Need to go first? How much is it worth to you? Decisions that need to be made now that you bid for your turn order. Is going first really worth not being able to buy a commander or activate that nuclear card? Decisions that can not be made easily....

All in all, if you're a fan of Risk, you won't be disappointed. If you're a fan of intriguing war games, you won't be disappointed. If you're a fan of launching tactical nukes, invading by land and by sea, assaulting the moon, and desperately trying to destroy all who oppose you, you won't be disappointed.

Whist became Bridge, Risk became Risk 2201 A.D. Great Game!
March 21, 2002

As the onslaught of conflict games from German companies turned my old Risk set into a fond, but little played memory Hasbro arrived. Just as the classic game of Whist was tweaked and changed, Risk has now been given a host of options and games turns to shorten the game and at some new strategies.

This is just what the doctor ordered to keep this classic alive. I don't think this will replace the old game like bridge replaced whist,

The funny thing is, I've been playing the old game more now that the new game has arrived.

Now, if they could only release an Advanced Monopoly, I'd be going straight to jail and passing go again.

Wow best game ever
March 09, 2002

I thought it looked of poor quality and very confusing like axis and allies. also i loved no i was obsessed with the the original risk played hundreads lost none. but this game this 2210 ad is amazing it has so much more statedgy more two chance it also has currency or money you buy special commanders which allow u 2 roll 8-sided dice you can buy forts take prisoners land on the moon and own water territories in short 2 thumbs way way up. thank for listening to my review i am twelve frrom a little town near toronto canada

by Rocco
Awesome Game!
February 05, 2002

We have been playing this game for a few months now and it is one of our top 3 games. The addition of the commanders, moon and ocean bases makes this game great. It adds a lot more strategy than the original Risk. Unfortunately we will probably never play the original Risk again because Risk 2210 is so good. This game is highly recommended. It is worth the money and you won't be dissappointed.

by Matt
Great Strategy game
January 03, 2002

This is one of the best Strategy games I have ever played. It is really fun When you have alot of people over. If you liked the original Risk this one is even better. You get Bigger armies and more ways to attack.I recomend you get it today, It is worth the money.

The Best Board Game!
January 02, 2002

I really enjoy the original RISK and at first I thought that this would be a sorry attempt at a sequel to a wonderful game. Even after my first game I was still devoted to the original game. But now after just three games I think this is the best board game I have ever played! There are so many different ways to win, and this game doesn't take as long to learn as Axis and Allies. This game is so much fun, and I can even use this board to play the original game!

Go out and get it
December 29, 2001

I played this for the first time last night. Initially, I would say it is better that any of the [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Axis & Allies/Shogun series, and I like those games a lot. We played a 5 player game and I would say most of the players were in contention to win until the end. There is very good balance, at least in the 5 player scenario--can't say enough good about it. Well worth playing.

Great Game
December 27, 2001

Right now, it is the best board game I have ever played. It's my first war boardgame. I played about 9 times and have won every one so far. :) I haven't played the original Risk, so I can't say if it's better or not. One thing I can say is if you have never played a war boardgame and you like any kind of strategy games, buy this one.

I found that the nuclear command cards are not too powerful, and the 5 turn limit messes the game up (I like long games). However, by removing the 5 turn limit and playing until an undisputed surrender or taking the whole world, that problem is solved.

I love the other command cards, though! You leave a weak force in one territory, which makes the other player attack you there, and then, bam, you pull out three command cards which make a huge force appear out of the blue, hahaha. :)

How to win at an awesome game!
December 14, 2001

I've played this totally awesome game 5 times now, and the best course of action I can advise is this: Take South America in turn one if possible, then expand through all the water except that between Africa and Australia. If you can hold it all, except for maybe the North Atlantic cities, then you can win. Also, use the moon to your best advantage.

Overall, a truly wonderful game.

Risk with all new detail
November 10, 2001

I am 13, and I have played Risk 2210 A.D. with my neighbors. This game is great. Now don't think, "Oh, he is 13, who cares." My neighbors and their dads and uncles go to Origins each year. They bring home the greatest games. If you liked the original Risk, you will love this. It adds on commanders, new cards, and moon, space station, and water territories.

I have also played other games with my neighbors, and I like a little luck thrown into my games--not completely strategy, they aren't as much fun (because the smarter person wins). :) Anyways, some other games I have played and liked are [page scan/se=0870/sf=category/fi=stockin.asc/ml=20]Lord of the Rings, Settlers of Catan, and Risk. If you like good games that you can play with your friends and have fun, these are the kind. They're a little tense at times when people are rolling to see who wins, but that is what makes them fun.

Good luck. Hope I have helped you.

by Marta
The new house favorite
October 29, 2001

Water Death Trap?! I feel the addition of command cards has greatly improved play. The 8-sided dice are great in theory, but I seem to always roll ones. Are they weighted? The army/MOD denominations are more useful: 1, 3, and 5 as opposed to 1, 5, and 10. The Devastated areas change the face of every game, hence no strategy can be used twice. We used to play Risk every weekend, but now I think it will be gathering cobwebs in the game closet. I highly recommend this game.

October 03, 2001

Risk 2210 rocks! Risk 2210 is a much better version of the classic Risk. THe best part of Risk 2210 is the command cards. After my first game, everybody bought nuke cards like mad. We soon discovered that it is not fun to nuke yourself by accident during armageddon. The randomness nicely makes the most powerful weapons (scatter bomb land/water/moon, invasion earth, the mother, nicky boy, rockets (to some extent), devastated areas, etc.) random or expensive (armageddon, land death trap, cease fire, the mother, etc.). This makes it harder to stockpile and then wipe someone's grin off their face.

The addition of water colonies really adds the 'rowboat rules' that people have used in variations of normal Risk. The moon adds a new twist with its 'accessible and valuable, yet hard to hold' quality. The radioactive zones make their host continents much more desirable and add a new twist to the game.

This game provides something in between the classic Risk and games like [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Axis & Allies (a favorite of mine). All in all, it is an awesome game and I commend the game makers for their skill, creativity, and wisdom.

RISK for a new generation, great game in its own right.
September 12, 2001

There are classic games which I hate to see people mess around with. Acquire, Monopoly, Diplomacy, and Risk are good examples.

Yes, the classic, U.S. version of the game is long and can develop into an early-morning, dice-rolling marathon. I LOVE IT! This version asks for decisions to be made in a limited about of time. Actions, which in the old game were deferred for more cards and resources, happen in a more immediate manner. So my group has played 2210 A.D. during the morning, and saved the original Risk game for night. Some people think the game of Risk is a matter of life or death. Of course, it's much more important than that!

Old favorite extended to become new classic.
September 04, 2001

Excellent, expanded game takes Risk to new level. Addition of the Commander units, water and lunar territories, and huge variety of commander cards gives incredible variety to Risk 2210 AD, while adhering to the fundamentals of classic Risk. Like Risk? You'll be both surprised and amazed at how Risk 2210 AD plays. Great fun!

A must buy!
August 21, 2001

I've been into gaming for about 8 years now, a young gamer. I've played all the board games out there, [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Axis & Allies, Risk, Diplomacy, etc. Regular Risk was starting to getting boring, and then it came along... Gen Con 2001 at Milwaukee. I saw a HUGE version of a new game, Risk 2210! It was beautiful. I rented the game from the convention, played it once, and was hooked! I've been looking for a game like this for a while. And if you don't like the 5 turn limit, you can still play it with the classic Risk rules. If you used to play or love Risk, you'll probably never go back. I know I won't.

Risk With Greater Depth!
August 20, 2001

I have played the old Risk and been bored out of my skull because it takes so long. I like the five turn limit because of the blitz feel it gives the game, and the addition of the Command cards is definitely a plus. It's fun taking over the world.

A totally enjoyable revamp of the classic
August 14, 2001

I bought this one with a little bit of skepticism, but was almost immediately won over by the interesting additions to the classic Risk game. The introduction of 'energy units' for the purchase of commanders, order cards, and for bidding on turn order adds new dimension to the game without slowing the gameplay.

The command cards allow opportunities of revenge and redemption and give players on the ropes a few sneaky surprises to throw at their enemies (provided that the appropriate commander can be kept alive through the war).

Nuclear strike markers indicate territories blasted by radiation and impassable by troops. This creates a slightly different strategic map each time the game is played. (It's too bad that they didn't include another nuke marker with a high-value command card to activate it--it could suggest some nice scorched earth plays.)

The introduction of the 5-turn time limit keeps the pace pretty brisk and keeps the game from playing out to the bitter (and usually long foreseen) end. The last turn is a great moment of last-ditch strikes and desperate manuevering.

If you were ever amused by the original Risk, you'll thoroughly enjoy this radioactive mutation of the classic.

Pleasantly pleased!
August 14, 2001

I was very pleasantly pleased with the new game, since I have played the original Risk almost since its inception. There are a few vague points, but these are minor. All in all, it is an award winning game and very enjoyable--though for some reason I kind of miss those marathons of play in the original Risk! I taught my children how to play Risk when they were 5, so now that they are older, they have a good understanding of the game, and with this new version of Risk 2210, they are learning new strategies to go with the old. Kudos to the designers, good job!

by Hans
This Game Rocks
August 12, 2001

Don't listen to the gamer from Scotland. I myself have won thricely by taking the moon. I also like the way the game changes every time you play with the random placement of 4 'Radiated Zones' that can not be used during the game. It is a great game that always ends up being pretty close in the end. This is largely due to the cards you can play and the no-holds-barred way you play all your nuclear cards at the end. I have enjoyed every game.

by Brett
Classic Risk With A Huge Twist
August 07, 2001

This game is awesome! If you like classic Risk, you are going to love Risk 2210 A.D. The game is only 5 turns long, and is very unpredictable due to different cards. They threw in the moon and sea colonies. You also get Land, Naval, Diplomat, Nuclear, and Lunar Commanders which help you attack and defend with 8 sided dice. On the 5th turn, all 4 players had a chance to win the game. It is a must have! By the way, I picked up 5 promo cards from the GenCon Game Fair in Milwaukee. These do not come with the game, and they are very powerful but cost 4 energy to buy.

excellent! updates Risk well with moon and water territories
August 06, 2001

The 5 commanders update the Risk game well and so do the moon and water territories. Also, the names are good for the territories: 'exiled states of america', 'amazon desert', and so on. It's more fun than the original version. Don't invade the moon, it's a trap to keep your best commanders etc. off Earth.

Fun, but vicious.
February 02, 2004

Ive never liked Risk. I think it mostly has to do with the fact that I never played it as a child and didnt touch it until after I had played other light war games such as Samurai Swords and the other Gamemaster Series games. Once I played Risk after playing these other gems, it seemed to random. There were some minor strategies, to be sure, but the same things happened game after game, and with lucky die rolls, one person could win regardless of strategies. Also, an alliance against a player could destroy him, no matter how good his strategy. And finally, I never before had seen arguments that powerful until playing Risk. So I stopped playing it, and tried to avoid the game (with the exception of Castle Risk, which I enjoyed on occasion.)

When I saw Risk 2210 A.D. (Avalon Hill, 2001 Rob Davieu), even though I had this natural aversion to Risk, I was still interested. For one, it was science fiction, and that automatically makes a game sound interesting for me. Also, all the games put out by the new Avalon Hill have great bits, and this game was no exception. So I picked it up, and weve played it many times since. The problem with the game is that while its really fun and enjoyable, the fierce arguments and sheer rage that appears during game play deters me from playing it more often. I like it a lot, but I have seen the most mild person lose it when playing this game (myself included).

Im going to forgo explaining the basic rules of Risk (as it seems most people in the world have played it) and just talk about the differences between Risk and Risk 2210.

- The map is different, although very similar. The territories are redefined into different ones, trying to give a feel of the future (The Exiled States of America, The Brazil Desert, etc.). They are still grouped up in the same continents as the first game. Added to this mix are thirteen Water territories divided into five groups, and fourteen Lunar territories divided into three groups, and on a separate, small round board. At the beginning of the game, four land territory cards are turned over, and nuclear devastation markers are placed on the corresponding spaces. These spaces cannot be entered into or through for the game, and essentially do not exist. This promises a different mapboard every game.

- Money (also known as energy chips) is distributed each turn according to territories, continents, and groups controlled. This money is used to buy commanders, command cards, moon bases, and bid for turn order.

- As in Risk, there is only one main type of combat unit, except that in this game they look like little mechs. (called MODs). Bigger MODs stand for 3 or 5 of smaller MODs, just like standard Risk. There are also commander units; the Diplomat Commander (allows nasty Diplomat Command Cards to be played), the Land Commander (uses an 8 sided die in land battles, and allows Land Command Cards to be played), the Naval Commander (who allows invasion into water territories otherwise a player cannot enter or leave these territories rolls and 8 sided die in water battles, and allows Water Command Cards to be played), the Nuclear Commander (who always rolls an 8 sided die and allows the wild but massively powerful Nuclear Command Cards to be played), and the Space Commander (who rolls an 8 sided die on the Moon, allows invasions to and on the moon otherwise the Moon cannot be attacked to or from, and allows Space Command Cards to be played.) Each commander costs three energy tokens and can be bought at the beginning of each players turn. All Commanders always defend with an 8-sided die.

- Turn order is different. There are only five turns in the game. Each turn, players secretly bid an amount of money for turn order. Whoever bids the highest can choose which turn order maker they will take (from 1 to 5), etc. Ties are broken by the roll of a die.

- Command Cards can really change the face of the game. Each player can buy them before they start their turn for one energy token each. They can only buy them if they have the matching commander in play. The cards do different things with the Diplomats cards being the most useful, and the Nuclear cards being the most powerful yet the most random. Cards can be played at different points in the game, which is determined by the text on the card. Some Cards cost energy tokens to play.

- When setup occurs (which is just like normal Risk), no units are placed in the water or on the Moon, and players only receive their Land Commander, Diplomat, and one moon base. The moon base allows 8-sided dice to be rolled for ALL units in the defending territory and allows invasions to the moon.

- The Moon can only be invaded from a land territory with a moon base (new ones can be bought for 5 energy tokens). There are three territories on the moon in which invasions from earth can land, but then the landing armies can move freely on the moon (as long as that player has his Space Commander in play.) Attacks from the Moon can only be made when using certain Command cards.

- Reinforcements are determined by a chart, rather than the cards. Each player receives one unit per turn for each moon base they control, a certain amount of MODs according to how many territories they control, and bonus MODs if they control all the territories in a continent or group.

- After the fifth turn is over, each player calculates their final score. This is done in the same way as determining how many reinforcements they got, except that some cards can be played to add to a players score. The player with the final score is the winner.

Some comments about the game

1.) Fifth Turn: Before components, before rules, this is the most striking feature of the game, and certainly causes the most squabbles, both in the game and on the internet. Most people are concerned, and I am in agreement, that the player who goes last on the fifth turn is the winner, because they can attack everywhere with no fear of reprisals. Now, I do think the 5 turn limit is a good idea, because it keeps the game short(er) and prevents elimination of players (sometimes). But the last player having such an advantage always bugged us. Finally, I read a variant on the internet, tried it out, and will refuse to play the game without the variant. Basically, the variant stated that each player scores their points after their turn in the fifth round. This helped even the game out, and eliminated complaining (yeah right! but at least it went down a little.)

2.) Components: The components of this game are on par for all the Hasbro Avalon Hill games. In other words, they are of supreme excellence. The plastic pieces, of which there are piles, are marvelous, and being a big fan of mechs, I really enjoy how they look on the board. Speaking of the board, it is a marvelous work of art, and the round Moon board looks really nice next to it. On the flip side, these boards, along with all the piles of cards (eight of them!) and the pieces insist that a large table is needed just so that everything fits! The cards are of good quality, and several blank cards are included, so that one can make up their own command cards. The money chips are nice, although I wish they had included a 10 denomination. Everything fits well into the box, where instead of a plastic insert, they decided to have cardboard cutouts that fit into the box to form a tray. As these cardboard cutouts are wonderfully illustrated, it makes the box look neat, but a plastic insert would have been much more convenient and useful. The box, which is the same size as all Hasbro games, is sturdy, colorful, and yet smaller than the company could have done (think Game master boxes).

3.) Rules: The rulebook is twelve pages long, but the game is fairly simple to pick up especially if players have already played Risk. One thing I found missing, though, was a section that listed the changes from original Risk. This would have cut down on one having to read all the rules before starting, as the changes are sometimes only mentioned once and not really highlighted. At the end of the rules there is a section that includes the rules for the original Risk, although I doubt anyone ever uses them or has used them with this edition. Still, its a nice touch.

4.) Command Cards: Several complaints about the game, from my group and others, is how the command cards are powerful (sometimes quite a bit so) and adversely affect the game, putting randomness in it. Frankly, I dont see how anyone can take that view. Risk is already the king of randomness, so having random cards seems to fit in the theme right well. Not only that, they allow a player who is getting his butt handed to him a fighting chance to survive. Some of the cards are extremely powerful, but most can be countered by other cards and if you still think a card is too powerful, you can make up a card that cancels it from the blank cards or remove it from the game.

5.) Arguments: I have seen quiet, demure, easy-going people blow up at others after playing this game, during rules discussions, and several games have almost resulted in total war between the players. I myself have gotten more irked while playing this game than any other (except maybe Diplomacy). After seeing a quiet guy unload on somebody else for attacking them, playing a card, using a rule to their advantage, etc., I usually resolved never to play the game again. Yet, after a few months, we remember how much fun the game is, and bring it out again. Another argument ensues, yet we still have fun. Its a vicious cycle.

6.) Theme: Obviously the theme fits, as its a war game; but I really like how previous wars have decimated certain parts of the earth, blocking them off. Sometimes it chokes up a crucial ocean connecting spot, changing everyones strategy, and I really like that. Also, the attacks on and from the Moon are great fun, and having nuclear cards able to hurt the player playing them makes for a great theme.

7.) Fun Factor: Does the fun factor cancel the argument/strife factor? Yes, but only if the game is taken in moderation. Playing the right card at the right moment, attacking with a force and winning, defending against an overwhelming force all this is a lot of fun. But for me, its only enough fun to play three or four times a year.

8.) Risks: There are more and more variants of Risk available out there variants, LOTR Risk, Castle Risk, etc. This is, by far, the absolute best variant out there. I will never play ordinary Risk again, as this is quite a bit of fun for me. Some people might like regular Risk more, but most people Ive played with prefer this one.

9.) Expansions: There supposedly are expansions that were handed out as tournament prizes, but they are extremely rare, and I have yet to see how a normal person can get one. This is bad form, I think, as expansions should be available to all.

And thats how I would categorize the game. If you like Risk, assume that youll love this version. If you hate Risk, you still might like this game, depending on the reasons that you disliked Risk in the first place. I found it a lot of fun, though harrowing and divisive. If you have cutthroat group who love to pound on each other, tearing each other up and enjoying every minute of it, then this is the game for you. Otherwise, you might want to look elsewhere this game might be too vicious for you. The game is fun, but at what price?

Tom Vasel

by Bern
House rule heaven
December 27, 2003

I've been waiting for a game that is as well thought out as this one for quite a while. I love the custom command cards idea. We don't play the 5 turn rule, or collect territory cards like in old risk. We like long games and the command cards as well as the moon & water territories make for an awsome epic game. This one is easily three times the game classic risk was.

Better than Risk but missing something still
January 11, 2003

If you like risk, then get this game. It is a great update to the original. But I still find it lacks something to keep me coming back. But then I was never a big fan of the original risk either. Still its a nice easy game to play that avoids the complexity of a true wargame.

Commanders? Great. Command Cards? Not!
July 13, 2002

Employing Commanders and Space Stations in RISK 2210 is a great idea. It makes the game much more interesting than its predecessor. The moon and water territories are also welcomed features.

Although many will disagree, the Command Cards do not prove to be such a good idea because they are contrast to the initial spirit of the game and they destroy all the strategy in it; it essentially becomes an unenjoyable card game. I suggest playing without them; you may use the land cards instead in order to get additional reinforcements (see the rules for classic RISK in the manual) or some other variation of you own, but maintain the Commanders and Space Stations.

The game includes almost everything you need (except missions) to play the classic RISK. If you choose to play classic RISK, instead of completing a mission the manual instructs you to dominate the Globe! The number of reinforcements you get for every set of cards you trade in, increases with such a pace that the game cannot last too long (the 17th set will be traded in for 70 units that will sweep out everything across the map). Alternatively, you could use the missions from the old game.

If you choose to play with the 5year rule, bidding for turn order becomes an essential part of your strategy. A player who plays last in the 5th round gains a distinct advantage, since he can unleash hell without having to defend his position. For the other rounds, playing first in the game or managing to play twice in a row is a great advantage.

The rules in the manual are complicated and may cause a little frustration. Read the manual thoroughly after having played the game.

In conclusion, I would give classic RISK a 4.5/5 and the new RISK a 3.5/5. I give this game a 4.0/5 because you can establish house rules that will maintain the desired features and get rid of the undesired ones.

Risk 2210 A.D. Great potential, not quite there!
September 30, 2001

For those of you who love original Risk, but have come to find it far too basic, Risk 2210 adds a whole new dimension to the game. The addition of commanders, space stations, and naval and lunar colonies makes using basic Risk strategies obsolete. Also, the layout of the land is different every time you play due to 4 nuclear blast chips, which render 4 countries at random unhabitable for the entire game. For those of you who love to play basic Risk, but are looking for a little more, this game is the ticket.

But for an experienced [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Axis & Allies player like myself, it just left me wanting more from it. This game does not end with world domination, but with an end score after 5 turns. You have 5 turns to claim and conquer as much as you can, and then you count the points to determine the winner. Not only does 5 turns end the game much more quickly, but you have one opportunity per game to cash in land cards for troops, making it impossible to ever get your cards to value over 20 troops. However this was replaced by the opportunity to gain cards in all 5 elements of the game: Land, Naval, Diplomatic, Space, and Nuclear. These cards can greatly fool your opponents, but be wise in how you use them, or you could end up hurting yourself.

Overall, I give this game a B+. For those of you who enjoy a lengthy Axis and Allies battle, but want another game, I suggest the European Front. But for those who just want a little more from their basic Risk, then this is the game for you!

Risky Business!
September 28, 2001

The original Risk was one of my first purchases before I started going down the road of buying the new-age board games. It was popular but long. Since the purchases of my many new games, alas, it was shelved--never to come out again.

Then came 2210. A new era has emerged. It feels like the old Risk. It has new territories, extra pieces, and some card play which have definitely given Risk a much needed face-lift.

This game rates A-OK with me. My only gripe (as with a lot of Avalon Hill games) is the various commander cards could have had more variety in them. Why didn't they?

If you like Risk, then BUY THIS GAME. You'll love it.

Excellent Update. Watch out for 'analysis paralysis'!
September 04, 2001

Overall, I've enjoyed all the new additions to this classic game. The cards are, for the most part, well balanced and add a good deal of uncertainty to the game. The game components are excellent (all right, Hasbro, doing well so far). The new combat rules for the space stations and commanders also throw much needed depth into the typically dreary dice-fests that Risk combat normally devolves into.

Now, for the bad:

The 5-turn limit would, at the surface, seem like it would shorten playing time. In reality, this forces players to scrutinize (and quite frequently, overthink) every single action they take, which leads to a very unentertaining wait-time for everybody else.

That is the only wrinkle in an otherwise excellent update to this venerable game. If you can get all your players up to speed on the rules changes, and force the 'thinkers' to play just a little less deliberately (tell 'em to live on the edge a little--hey, it's a game!), you will have a very entertaining evening ahead of you!

Welcome back
August 21, 2001

What a great game. the 5-turn limit ends the multi-day, leave-the-board-set-up-in-the-basement disaster that was original Risk's problem. I do not like the way East Africa no longer connects to Middle East. The Americas now have value with undersea colonies, unlike original Risk where all the action was in Europe. I recommend buying this game

Risk for a New Generation
August 19, 2001

A lot of the younger gamers out there (like me) didn't grow up on Risk like many others did. In fact, I managed to avoid playing Risk until I was 18, when I finally succumbed to playing it, mostly out of curiosity. Unforuntately, while expecting Risk to live up to the hype it has accumulated for decades, I found it had three main flaws, all of which let me down: 1) no set limit on playing time 2) it's a dicefest 3) a very dry, dated theme.

Enter Risk 2210 A.D. What we have here is Avalon Hill's much-awaited revamp of the classic, and it succeeds in every way, at least as far as updating the old Risk. Of all the changes, the most welcome for me is the update of the theme. Gone is the stale, dry theme of 18th Century colonial expansionism. Set two centuries in the future, the world of Risk 2210 A.D. is a world where mechanized robotic troops roam the planet, doing battle for the human commanders that sit back and dictate their movement. It is a world where the political landscape of the planet has changed dramatically: Greenland is now the Exiled States of America, a section of what was once Russia is now esoterically called 'Enclave of the Bear', and Lesotho, doomed for decades as being a tiny country lying completely within the borders of South Africa, has apparently militarized itself and expanded to take over nearly half of its continent. Truly a mad, mad world.

In this new, futuristic world, battle is conducted by mechanized robotic warriors, though they still need humans to guide them (hence the addition of the Human Commanders in the game). Warfare can be conducted not only on ground, but underwater, as the addition of undersea territories makes every land in the game much more interconnected than it was in the past (in particular, Australia is no longer the stronghold it once was). And, the addition of the moon is rather inspired, changing the scope of the game dramatically (the strategic purpose of conquering the moon, though, is still questionable).

By purchasing different commanders, you can then buy and use their respective command cards (Naval Command Cards, Space Command Cards, etc.). The new cards are well-conceived and generally useful, though sometimes a bit random in execution (the Space Cards for Earth Invasions are disappointingly random).

Finally, the addition of a 5-turn limit works much better than many may believe. You have 5 turns to take as much territory and dish out as much damage as you can. That's it. But, don't dispair, old Risk purists; that's plenty of time to carry out your scheme for world domination. In a recent game of Risk 2210, a player managed to assume complete control of 5 continents and the moon, in only 5 turns. One word on strategy, however: this new game is not kind to players that like to play slowly and build up defenses and armies. With the new turn limit, the best strategy is blitzkrieg. Start invading and don't stop invading.

So, ultimately, Risk 2210 is a much-needed (and welcomed) improvement over Risk. At the very least, it managed to fix two out of three of my main problems with the old version (it's still a dicefest, but I don't mind this as much anymore). With an updated, futuristic theme, new territories and options of warfare, and a tight 5-turn game limit to keep things quick and suspenseful, you can't go wrong with this one. See you on the battlefields!

Fresh Look At A Time-Honored Classic
August 07, 2001

After a five-game shakedown, I feel adequately informed to say what I think about Risk 2210. I have been a [page scan/se=0033/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Risk fan for years, and my biggest fear regarding 2210 is that the additions and changes would feel tacked on'. Fortunately, it turns out that the designers did an excellent job of integrating their improvements and modifications to make the game the futuristic thriller it now is.

Instead of being interminable like the original Risk could sometimes be, the game runs a course of 5 years, in which each player gets a turn, and then a winner is determined from the results. In addition to armies, you also get energy units each turn. The units you get are based, like armies, on the number of territories and continents you occupy. This energy serves as currency, with which you buy Commanders, Command Cards, and perhaps most importantly, your turn order bid. In my gaming experience, first was nearly always best, though managing to take the last turn of one year in conjunction with the first turn of the following year could have devastating results for the other players. In actual play, by Year 3, it could seem pretty obvious which way the wind was blowing, though anything could happen thanks to the Commander Cards.

Commander Cards come in five categories, one for each type of commander available to each player. You must have the particular commander (Land, Naval, Nuke, Space or Diplomat) in play to draw cards from that deck, and to later use them. There is an energy cost for drawing cards, and sometimes a cost for deploying them. With these cards you can do things like nuke your enemies' armies, have diplomatic force reductions, or have 'stealth armies' suddenly materialize in a territory coming under attack.

These commander abilities have taken the place of turning in sets of cards for additional armies. I think this helps make for a more balanced game, yet still allows for plentiful opportunities of strategic and tactical maneuvering. The Commanders are also playing pieces, so they have a tactical aspect as well as the strategic aspect provided by the cards. Different commanders provide attack and defense bonuses under different circumstances. The updated map board includes territories submerged beneath the sea, and even provides a Moon map divided into 16 territories. To take the sea territories, you must have a Naval Commander in play; to launch an assault onto the Moon, you need the Space Commander. The additional territories change everything you might remember about original Risk tactics, because they make it nearly impossible to wall yourself off in Australia or South America without vigilantly defending every front. While you might know how to play Risk, you get to learn it all over again in 2210.

The playing pieces are well made and enhance the games updated theme. Your one-, three-, and five-army markers all look like little mechs. The artwork is well done on all the cardboard parts. Also, all the components can be used to play the original Risk game, including a stripped down version of the original games rules in the manual. Land territory cards (which have a modified use in the updated version) are properly marked, and there are two wildcards included.

If I had to ding the game on anything, Id have to say that the manual was slightly vague on a few points of play here and there. For instance, one must surmise the tactical skills of the commanders by looking in two different places in the rules, rather than having them spelled out clearly in one location. Also, the manual never really does define what those extra blank cards are intended for, though it promises to early on. But even the manual is entertaining to read; the introduction states that whining, pleading, and bargaining between players are not only permitted, but encouraged. Whats not to like about a game like that?

An enjoyable game overall.

OK but not the best
September 03, 2004

it is interesting for si-fi but i am not one of them, but this game is really good. just some minor problems, like the board, but the pieces are really good, this is a good game to buy, but the price is a little too high. it is a good risk and one of the best. so make sure your into si-fi stuff before you buy it.

by Tom
A Totally New Risk
May 11, 2003

I was a big fan of the original Risk and I also really enjoyed Castle Risk, which some of you may remember. Risk had a simplicity to it which made it engrossing. It was one of the rare games that we didnt mind playing for an entire day - the perfect rainy day game. I bought Risk 2210 AD with these fond memories in mind and I must say I was not overly impressed. It was kind of like playing a cool looking new 3-D version of Pac Man on the XBox which just doesnt seem to have the magic of the original Atari game.

All the reminiscing aside, as a war game, Risk 2210 AD is not a bad game. I could think of many other war games that are better than this one but have also played several that were worse. All and all, I think they did a decent job with the game but in doing this major overhaul they took it out of the category of family board game and into the category of war game. Risk, as a family board game, ranked among the elite, but Risk venturing into the arena of great war games is like a college star being initiated into the pros. Only time will tell if a solid game is left standing after the hype wears off, but I foresee this rookie being a flash in the pan.

by JDW
My wife and I disagree on this one...
September 02, 2002

This is really a combination of two reviews from my wife and I.

My wife is an avid fan of the original Risk and we still play it every now and then. Because she enjoyed the original so much, I thought she would like this one. Boy was I wrong! The first time we played it she got so frustrated by the retooling of the rules, and the new components (commanders, command cards, nuclear blast chits) that in the middle of the game, she threw down her cards, knocked over the board, and vowed to never play again!

It took several months for me to convince her to give it another chance, this time with 4 people (us and another couple) playing instead of just 2. She gave it another try, but we got the same result, doubled. Both of the women playing this game became so frustrated that wanted to quit after 2 rounds. When I convinced the women to keep playing, they decided it would make the game more interesting if they tried to ruin it for us guys. They ganged up on us and ran us off the board by the end of the fourth round. When it was just the two women left for the last round, they declared a truce and ended the game with very jaded smirks on their faces.

So, from my perspective, this game deserves 5 stars for superior game play, superior components, and just an all around kick ass update to the original game.

From my wife's perspective this game is blasphemy. A total massacre of the original game that should never have crawled out of the bunker it came from.

My advice is that if your gaming group has any women, you might not want to get this game. My wife refuses to even consider playing the game and I've wasted $35 on it. Don't make the same mistake I did.

This game is lacking a lot of strategy
June 07, 2007

Old risk fans beware. This game has too many territories, only lasts 5 turns (called years). As for commanders and their cards... Lets say too powerful and can change the game so much that well it comes down to the luck of the draw. I would have like to see more turns. Less cards. Commanders are very powerful maybe too powerful. buy it if you will but don't say I didn't warn you. With a few tweaks maybe it is possible to have a better strategic game.

November 10, 2006

This game has the option that every risk game has and that is you can play using classic risk rules. To me this game was disappointing, I've been a wargamer for decades and I expected a lot more than what was offered. You have "leaders" that can influence the battle and grant you card use and advantages but they're not nearly as exciting as you'd like to imagine. The only other real noticeable difference was the random areas of the map that are reduced to wasteland and are unusable.

In all this game seems like the protoype of Risk Godstorm which is a much better game that has been flushed out better and a better value and game for those looking for a fun risk game.

Risk with window dressing
September 24, 2002

even with all the hoopla this game is still Risk.

After playing many of the more group friendly german games I've lost my taste for this type of light stratagy game. If you are a hard-core fan of risk you will probably enjoy this version but if you are looking for something revolutionary...this isn't it

by Brian
A Risk to Buy
July 18, 2008

Risk 2210 is a popular variant of Risk that combines the traditional game with several twists. Included are more territories, commander units, command cards and a turn-limit.

So what do we really have?

Well, you do have the Risk backbone. However, you also have commanders, command cards, space stations and energy in this game.

Commanders are special units that are paid with the game's currency, or energy and they provide special bonuses such as attacking and defending with 8-sided dice. Some allow you to go on water or to the moon.

When you have a commander, you can then buy their appropriate command card. These cards do various things such as spawn new units when you are defending, give you victory points or even destroy enemy commanders.

So where can you go in this game? In addition to the familiar continents and their territories, you also have several water colonies and the moon to explore. Also, four land territories are nuked in the beginning of the game, which prevents anyone from crossing those areas. This provides some replay value.

Also in the game is the 5-turn limit. Now many of the new readers and players will consider this short. I found Risk with 4 players to take anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour to take one turn. Players will bid who goes first on a turn with energy.

So what does it do? Well, it ends the game for once and hopefully minimizes player elimination.

I was drawn to this game when I first started the hobby. Risk was familiar and this one was in the future with nukes! The pieces looked great and there was a lot more to do in this one.

However, now that I play it, it's a game you have to find the gamers for. One thing is that the game takes very long. Four hours is a quite long time to commit to the game. Also, Risk 2210 is just that, Risk. This means you have a lot of the same problems. Battles are deemed by dice rolls. Ganging up on a player is also another way it can be unfair.

The way that the game ends is artificial. There's no victory points to strive for or a certain goal to achieve. Just maximize territories. It just feels weird to leave a game with your opponent's armies still on the board.

Cards are very powerful as well. Some feel the Armageddon card is too powerful, as it allows players to play nuclear cards for free.

However without the 5-turn rule, the game becomes a nearly-never-ending see-saw game. One player has an advantage? The other players gang up on him. Are you behind? Then you'll far further behind the longer the game wears on because your economy will never reach the levels of your partners.

Risk 2210 suffers from high luck, long duration, long downtime and slow combat. I would recommend a game like Nexus Ops over this with unique combat units, victory points and a more modifiable board.

Other Resources for Risk 2210 A.D.:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.