My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Carcassonne: King & Scout
 
 
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Family Games
Series:  Carcassonne
Theme:  Castles & Knights / Medieval, Prehistoric
Genre:  Connection
Format:  Expansions

Carcassonne: King & Scout

English language edition of Carcassonne: König & Späher


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Carcassonne: Count, King & Robber


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Please Login to use shopping lists.

To play this game, you must have:
Carcassonne
English language edition with River tiles Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: Hunters and Gatherers
English language edition of Carcassonne: Die Jäger und Sammler Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Carcassonne: Wheel of Fortune
English language edition of Carcassonne: Das Schicksalsrad (Currently Restocking)
$29.95
$23.99
(20% savings!)
Carcassonne
English language edition, no River tiles Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Carcassonne: 10 Year Special Edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne: Dice (Currently Restocking)
$17.50
$13.99
(20% savings!)

Carcassonne: Phantom Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Carcassonne
Z-Man Games edition, includes The River expansion (Currently Restocking)
$34.99

Product Description

Carcassonne: King and Scout is two expansions in one for both the original Carcassonne and Carcassonne: Hunters and Gatherers. With seven tiles for the original game, this expansion allows players to gain both the King and the Robber Baron - the former giving points to the player with the largest city, and the latter to the player with the most roads. The remaining five tiles are new, unique combinations that fit well with the original game. The five tiles included for the Hunters and Gatherers version are randomly dealt out at the beginning, allowing each player a special tile that can be played once a game. This small expansion is a terrific stocking stuffer!

Product Information

Contents:

  • 7 Carcassonne tiles
  • 5 Hunters & Gatherers tiles
  • rules

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.9 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Tying up the loose ends, adding complexity
July 07, 2004

For $4, you get a lot for your value.

King: The addition of the King and Robber make Carcassone maps more complete and satisfying without upsetting the point system. Instead of long roads and large cities sitting unfinished, all players will compete to finish projects. This way everyone benefits, but of course, someone will benefit more. Like Traders and Builders, there is a reward for finishing other projects. This continues this same logic.

You also get some extra pieces. The 'bridge' piece which allows two seperate cities to cross over each other is wonderful for ending (or starting) fueds on shared cities. The other pieces fit some necessary combinations not in other sets.

Scout: Hunters & Gatherers is solid stand-alone but this expansions adds variety. Your new pieces will give you special abilities, some seemingly more powerful than others, but it all depends on how you play them. You'll get a renewed zest for the game by adding these pieces. Just these five pieces add a world of complexity, making each game different.

 
 
 
 
 
Adds new balance to a great game
December 22, 2003

Carcassonne, with its two expansions, was already my favorite game, so I approached the new expansion with some trepidation. My first look was not optimistic--5 new tiles which didn't add anything new to the game, only added a few extra turns. What surprised me was the use of the Robber which, by rewarding the player with the longest road, added new balance to the game by increasing the value of the road, and forcing players to choose between ending a road and taking the points and getting your man back, and extending the road (which increases the likelihood of a defensive attack), hoping to end up with the bonus. What was most surprising was how many completed roads there are, when you look at all those 2-piece roads that got completed incidentally when players were doing something else. The first time I played, the Robber was worth 18 points--nearly the same value as two of the trade goods! I do agree somewhat with the other reviewer who complained that the King might be too strong since the player who completes the biggest city is probably going to win anyway. But I think that's only really true if the city is a large triple score. One option would be just to play with the Robber, and not the King if it looked like that was consistently happening.

All in all a great addition to an already great game.

 
 
 
 
 
Another great expansion to a great game!
December 02, 2003

I bought this modest expansion for the original Carcassone game so I can only speak for the seven tiles used for that title.

They are great! It adds some tiles that have been missing for a while and add some nice twists like the piece that bridges between two castles. Both the King and Robber Barron tiles make it fun to compete for who can finish the longest road or build the grandest castle. Highly recommended.

 
 
 
 
 
Unnecessary but fun expansion
January 15, 2004

This is a tiny little box containing not ne but two separate expansions. The first is for the original Carcassonne game and can be played with or without its several expansions. It includes a few new land tiles for inclusion as well as the new King and Robber tiles. These are awarded to the players who have completed the largest castle and the longest road, respectively. Should the balance of power shift before game's end, the tiles go to the current leader in each of the two categories. At game's end, the holders of these tiles get one extra point for, again respectively, the total of completed castles and roads.

With so many ways of earning points in this game, this does not seem unbalanced to me. It just gives the players a couple more things to consider when expanding. All in all, a worthy little expansion.

The second set of tiles is for the Huters and Gatherers edition, and includes some special role tiles which are handed out randomly to the players before the start of the game. Thes include some fairly powerful abilities as well as a couple one-shot abilities that are placed as alnd tiles. This expansion does not seem as well considered as the King expansion, but could be used for handicapping players by giving a more powerful role tile to a new player. Not as good or elegant as the other included expansion, but still not bad at all, and one can't beat the price!

 
 
 
 
 
Can't beat the price or any addition to these great games!
December 19, 2003

First, the Hunters and Gatherers expansion:

You get 5 new tiles: the Shaman, the Scout, Hunter on the Bridge, Dug-out, and Agriculture. Each of these tiles is dealt out randomly, one to each player, at the begining of the game. They can be used at any time during the game, instead of drawing a tile as normal.

The Shamen may be the most powerful tile. It is placed face up in front of the player and allows them to, once a turn, remove one of their tribe members from an unfinished forest, meadow, or river. Great for getting out of the unfinishable locations or an overpowered meadow. This game gives you limited resources and, so this is a big advantage.

The Scout is also arguably the most powerful tile. It allows the player to refuse the first tile they draw, opting to draw a different tile and shuffle the first one into the stack. This is useable with the bonus tiles, as well. A huge advantage.

The Hunter on the Bridge allows the players to hunter the meadows on both sides of the bridged river. This also counts as an extra man for the player placing this tile.

The Dug-out counts as a fisherman for the player placing this tile. Once the river/lake system is complete, that player scores points equal to the largest (most fish) lake in the system. The tile also counts as a fisherman at the end of the game. Essentially, this is an extra man and a double scoring opprotunity if you close your lake system.

The Agriculture tile is placed in an open meadow and counts as a man. Instead of hunting the meadow, the player counts all of the tiles in the meadow as farmland, scoring one point for each at the end of the game. Hunters can join in later and hunt this meadow, as well, with no affect on this scoring.

Now the Caraccasone expansion:

You get 5 new tiles that get mixed into the general supply. These add a little spice, similar to previous expansions.

The big additions are the King and the Robber Baron tiles. These stay on the table in front of the player with the largest city and the largest road. As a bigger city or a longer road is finished, the ownership of these tiles may change. The player who has completed the largest city or road at the end of the game gets a scoring bonus. The King gives you 1 point for each completed city on the board. The Robber Baron gives you 1 point for each completed road.

The only reason I don't give this 5 stars is that the additions can make for lop-sided games (if you complete the largest city, you alrady have a lot of points) and that the rules aren't perfectly clear. It isn't hard to figure out, but it took playing once to 'get it'. You also need both games (Carcassone and Hunters and Gatherers) to get the full use out of these tiles. We own both and all of the Carcassone expansions, so we love them.

 
 
 
 
 
King = Good, Scout = Bleah
February 16, 2005

Carcassonne: King and Scout is one of the only expansions I’ve gotten that is for two different games: the original Carcassonne and Carcassonne: Hunters and Gatherers. The expansion is simply twelve tiles that come in a very small box - five for H&G, and seven for the original game.

The “Scout” part of the expansion - all five tiles - are taken and shuffled face down, with each player drawing one of them. (Two tiles each in a two-player game.) Each tile has a special ability:

- Farmer’s Hut - This tile is placed in a meadow and scores one point for each tile that makes up that meadow for the player. (The player must place a hut on the tile). This one is okay, but I haven’t seen it do much good during the game.

- Dugout Canoe - This tile gives the player control over the river system in which it is placed. The player scores points for the larger lake in every river connected to that system. I found this tile fairly weak, and only worthwhile if a player decides to build their river system up, which can be hard in a multi-player game.

- Hunter on a Footbridge: This tile basically allows a player to place a hunter that straddles two meadows, allowing them to score both. This tile I found fairly weak - it’s not nearly as good as the others, unless the player gets an optimal placement with it, which is rare.

- Scout: This is the best tile of the five. It allows the player who has played it to redraw tiles for the rest of the game, but they must take the redraw. I see no reason why a player who has this doesn’t play it the first chance they get. The ability to redraw tiles is HUGE, and far outweighs the measly points the other tiles give out.

- Shaman: This tile is almost as good as the Scout. Instead of being played as part of the board, like the other four, it is simply placed in front of the player. This tile allows the player to take back followers from incomplete rivers and forests. This is a useful thing, especially when you have many of your followers tied up and are unable to put them where you want to.

The “King” part of the expansion is much more interesting - for the original Carcassonne. Five of the seven tiles are simply different combinations of city/road/abbey but are very nice additions. My favorite is a tile that has two cities crossing over one another; it’s a neat twist to throw down on some cities.

More importantly, however, are the “King” and the “Robber Knight” tiles. Both of them function the same way, with the “King” associated with cities and the “Robber Knight” with roads. Whenever a player plays a tile that completes the first city or road, they take the associated tile, placing it in front of them. Later on in the game, other players may take these tiles if they play a tile that completes a feature that is larger than any other (i.e. complete the longest road up to that point). At the end of the game, the player with the “King” scores one point for every completed city on the board; the player with the “Robber Knight” scores one point for every completed road on the board. A few people have criticized these as game-breaking, but I really think they add a lot to the game. If combined with the Builders and Traders set or the Count set, players now have a lot of incentive to finish other player’s cities and roads. If someone is going to score a huge city and there’s not much way to stop them, then why not do it for them, taking the “King” tile in the process?

I think that it’s neat that this expansion covers two games, but frankly I could have lived without the Hunters and Gatherers expansion. I’ve never been a big fan of Hunters and Gatherers to begin with, and these tiles are absolutely unbalanced. I don’t understand why two of them are so much more useful than the other three - and how one of them isn’t added to the board, but the other four are. Fortunately, the “King” expansion is tremendous - adding some great tiles to the mix, and some new ways for players to score. Considering the inexpensive price, I would have to say that while I think the “Scout” part of the expansion is a dud, the rest of it makes the little set worth picking up.

Tom Vasel
“Real men play board games.”

 
 
 
 
 
This expansion doesn't work -- try my house rule
January 11, 2004

I have to correct my review of this expansion. I totally misunderstood the rules. I thought the king and robber belonged to the person who 'completed' the biggest city/road, meaning the person who 'owned' the biggest city/road. The correct interpretation is that the king/robber belongs to the person who 'completes'--that is, places the last tile--on the city/road, much like getting the trade goods per the last expansion. Well, I played with the correct rules and I hated them. They reward a person, who by luck, happens to put the last piece on the city/road which may have been developed over many turns, and for this, the lucky player gets 15-20 points, way out of proportion to the play. When you realize that you struggle throughout the game to get a majority in one trade good, which is worth 10 points, you begin to see how ridiculous the new rule is. To make matters worse, if you happen to have been lucky to get the robber early in the game, you spend the rest of the game defending it. That means that not only will you be killing our opponent's roads, but your own also, since you don't want to build a road longer than the one you own on the chance (50/50 with two players 25/75 with four players) that someone else will get the robber away from you. This puts a distinctly negative cast on your options, and is altogether unpleasant. It changes the entire flow of the game rather than enhancing it, as all good exansions should do.

But all is not lost. I play a house rule which discards the king, since it is really too powerful. The robber is awarded to the player who owns the longest road. That not only rewards the players who makes the effort to construct a long road (or who steals a road by clever play), but also allows continued offensive and defensive play throughout the game. With this house rule, the game has significantly improved. It was with this understanding that I gave the expansion 5 stars. I've downgraded it to 3 stars because it's not what the authors intended. Play it both ways and see which one you prefer!

 
 
 
 
 
by John M.
Minor Expansion For 2 Great Games!
November 02, 2008

Here is another of the multitude of expansions for Carcassonne. This is actually one of the minor expansion sets, in that it merely adds new tiles for Carcassonne, however for Hunters And Gatherers, it adds some very powerful, perhaps even over-powering cards. The Carcassonne tiles aren't anything special, and if you got this before the new "identifying watermarks" that all new Carcassonne expansion tiles get, you'll never be able to find them in your base game. The 5 tiles for Hunters And Gatherers are offered as "bonus" tiles to each player at game set up, in lieu of drawing a normal tile the player can lay this down, each one has a different "super power" offering that player a bonus. It's an inexpensive thing, you won't hurt your budget to get this, but if you don't have both games, it probably isn't worth your while. 1 start for the Carcassonne tiles, and 1 star for Hunters And Gatherers tiles 2 stars altogether woo woo!!!!

Remember you can't play the TILES unless you're playing the game!!!!

Other Resources for Carcassonne: King & Scout:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.