My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In PeaceBowl
Close Zoomed Image PeaceBowl
Store:  Family Games
Theme:  Sports, Fighting
Format:  Board Games

PeaceBowl


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
6+ 2-4

Designer(s): Angelo Porazzi

Manufacturer(s): Angelo Porazzi Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

PeaceBowl is a fast paced tactical game for 2-4 players ages 6 and up. Each player leads a team composed of 3-5 warriors.

Everything is allowed: Play HIT! cards to take down opponents, play PASS! cards to launch the ball at your receivers all over the gamefield, play RAGE! cards to break out of a fray.

As long as it remains in a boardgame, a good fight can be really amusing. Enjoy hitting and being hit, and have fun! Peace, Love,... Fight!

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Angelo Porazzi

  • Manufacturer(s): Angelo Porazzi Games

  • Artist(s): Angelo Porazzi

  • Year: 2003

  • Players: 2 - 4

  • Ages: 6 and up

  • Weight: 545 grams

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #45

  • Language Requirements: Game components are printed in multiple languages, including English. Manufacturer's rules are printed in multiple languages (including English).

Contents:

  • 1 game board
  • 402 warrior chits
  • 6 devastated zone chits
  • 21 wooden markers
  • 36 action cards

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.7 in 11 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by LanceCal
What a blast to play!
October 30, 2006

My rating is based on several plays using the Basic Game rules and playing with my 7-, 12- and 13-year-old sons (Oct. 2006) who like it a lot. What do we like? It's easy to learn but carries with it sufficient strategy; it plays fast, like American football; it's fun scoring points like American football but includes a mayhem factor that appeals to guys; and there seems to be a high replay value. Also, designer Angelo Porazzi is a terrific illustrator, and the names and illustrations on the cards are funny and fun to say out loud as you play them. Finally, the more players--up to four--the faster and crazier (and funner) the action gets. This game's a real winner.

 
 
 
 
 
A very Brilliant and Involving Game!!
June 24, 2004

PeaceBowl is a very fun game and it's also very quick to learn!!

It was a nice and unexpected surprise for me and my friend in Mantova at the 'Ludicamente' Convention, to find Angelo and his team and get involved in the 'PeaceBowl National Championship'...it was really very amusing!! ...expecially when I found myself among the four finalists...I couldn't believe it!! At last, after a very intense match I came fourth!! You could say that it mustn't have been so great coming fourth when the players are four...but I can assure you that I've enjoyed myself really very very much and I'm looking forward to entering the next 'Championship', seeing that I've heard that Angelo organizes one of them at every exhibition and convention!!

I've found great expecially two elements of the game: the possibility of playing with wooden markers since, in this way, warriors become much more visible, and that of mixing the warriors at disposal as you wish in order to create YOUR OWN team!!! Possible combinations are really innumerable and you can really invent your team!!!

It's not without reason if, according with the Boardgames Chart June 2004, PeaceaBowl is in Italy by now the second most appreciated game just after Puerto Rico!!!!!

 
 
 
 
 
Fast and Furious!
May 12, 2004

Dynamic, enjoiable, involving and fast. Expecially played in 4.

Critics: components could be better, paper quality, players and role definitions (maybe miniatures?). If you think that it's a self distributed and developed product thesa are minors.

Plus: Author is experienced in gaming industry, playing wargames, beeing at conventions and playing footbool. And is very friendly. It couldn't be less than a five star game!

Plus: Angelone nazionale... ! :-)

 
 
 
 
 
Crazy Frenzy Amusement: this is PEACEBOWL
March 02, 2004

This game is indeed a small masterpiece a compound of phrenetic action, crazy amusement and tattic/strategic reasoning.

Light system but amusing decidedly. Fast and blunderer, of that glad and irriverent confusion that it makes you to play also only for what could happen. But attention, is rules that impose chosen reasoned even if often it is played in the turmoil in order to increase bolgia in the field....

The system of the cards speed increases but also to the tactical variants. There are additional rules like the pressure that increase the amusement esponentialy and the confusion transformed in an arm to double cut but decidedly guessed.

Grafic is very very very very good.

Games therefore of it exist little.

In the rules there are littles doubts, but come directly wind off or from clarifications on the web site [www.warangel.it] or from the author if contacted (he is most disposable).

A game that for its peculiarities can to being often played and without limitations. Most original in its mixed action and frenzy that every player picks.

Advised for 4 players.

Truly a game to have.

 
 
 
 
 
A Fun Fantasy Sports Game
February 23, 2004

The reviewers before me have been so thorough describing the rules and components that I am not going to repeat that information. My family likes sports games, and there are not that many out there. This one is fun, and we enjoy the fantasy theme. We always play the advanced rules. And I took just a couple of minutes to color the wooden tiles with markers and mount the counters on them. It was quick, easy, and we like playing with the wooden counters much better. If you are a little more artistic than I am, you can paint the counters:)

 
 
 
 
 
Reviewing the author
February 21, 2004

It's certainly a pleasure to see some italian authors finding a way straight to the success... it's what it's currently happening to Angelo Porazzi, from Milano, with his WarAngel and PeaceBowl games reviewed on this site.

The first time I met Angelo I was directing LuccaGames, the main game event in Italy: he came there with his games, and made everyone there play (and possibly buy) it. He has the kind of persuasive force of a sledgehammer, moved by a sincere and strong passion.

Now, what you can see is the game: a genuine, heartstriking fun game, where people struggle for victory. As in old games.

Angelo believes in his games, and as an indipendent author and producer, brings them everywhere. His passion and competence took his games to the main game prizes in Italy, and to the distribution of Hasbro in a school line.

There is a wonderful thing in this passion: it's guarantee that you will not remain without an expansion, that the pubblication will not be deleted, that the game rules will not be changing according to a new fashion.

What else? Enjoy it, or Angelo will arrive there and take you to another match!

 
 
 
 
 
Fun for everyone
February 09, 2004

PEACEBOWL the Arena of Peace is the latest game by Angelo Porazzi, author of masterpieces like Warangel 2000 and Warangel Graal. This is quite a different game, however, since it's a simple sport simulation, but a particular one, with fantasy characters! The game is a sort of football match between 2 to 4 teams of 3-5 warriors each, fighting in the PeaceBowl (the Arena of Peace), in order to release their primal istincts so that wars in the outside world could be stopped.

The game is fully enjoyable by everyone, since the rulebook is divided in basic and advanced rules. During the game, players can perform several actions with their warriors, using the cards they have in hand to catch the ball, to run toward the opponent's goal zone, to pass the ball to other friendly warriors, or even to knock down opponents.

In the basic game, each player has three warriors and five cards that must be kept face up on the table, while in the Advanced Game players have five warriors and the cards may be kept secret (face down). Furthermore, in the Advanced Game, players have more cards to choose from, since the deck also include Special cards in this case; these cards enable special and surprising new actions, like cancelling another card, and further increase interactions during the game. Each player ends his turn as soon as he has no more cards to play, or because he chooses so.

The game proceeds clockwise and the first thing a player has to do in his turn is refilling his hand of cards up to a maximum of five. The game ends as soon as a player scores 7 points, but not each goal is worth the same: scoring a goal on the opposite goal zone is worth 3 points, while side goal zones are only worth 1 point each.

In the basic game, all warriors are the same and may perform any kind of action, while in the advanced game everything becomes more strategic: in this case, one warrior is the Master and represents the player himself, having special powers and characteristics. Masters have increased movement, can be attacked only by other Masters and are unaffected by certain special cards like Hypnosis. In the advanced game, the Master becomes a very important warrior that players must protect and use to score points quickly as they see a chance.

The best thing I can say about this game is that everyone giving it a chance will love it. Both occasional and experienced gamers will enjoy its simple and linear mechanics, appreciating the great graphics (very good the big picture on the box cover) as well as the hilarious theme. Moreover, PeaceBowl has one important characteristic common to Warangel, the huge variety of races that players can use to build custom teams, with the strange abilities of the same New Earth setting. Finally, it's also a quite a cheap game and this is good too.

Don't think of this game as a true american football simulation (like BloodBowl). In fact, it's really a surrealistic game and, after all, PeaceBowl is a true fantasy mess, as you can see from the box picture! This is part of the fun of playing it. However, the rulebook also reports some indications about future updates and optional rules in order to reach a more accurate simulation for more demanding players.

 
 
 
 
 
Light, fun, and deadly!
January 13, 2004

Peace Bowl is the newest game produced by Angelo Porazzi (creator of Warangel and Warbeast). It is set in the same universe created by those two games, but is a completely different game system. Four-way football sounded like a good theme for a game, so I was quite anxious to give this game a try.

Is Peace Bowl worth trying out? My answer is that it is a thoroughly enjoyable game that is quite a bit of fun. There are some tactical decisions, a good bit of luck, and tremendous interaction between players. And now for more details

First, a description of game play

A board representing a field is set up in the middle of the table. The field is a 13 x 13 grid made up of 169 squares. In the center of each side, there are another 9 squares connected to form an end zone for that team. A block representing the ball is placed in the center square of the field. Each player takes 3 warriors, and places them anywhere in their end zone. A deck of cards is shuffled and placed in a draw pile, with five cards dealt to each player. These cards are to be placed on the table, face-up in front of that player. The youngest player takes the first turn, with turn order following clockwise.

On a turn, a player first draws cards so that they have a total of five cards. They then have the option of playing as many of their cards as they wish. There are nine categories of cards:

1). Run! This card allows a player to move a warrior the amount of spaces indicated on the card in any direction. If a warrior ends their movement next to the ball, they may pick it up, and that warrior is considered the ball carrier.

2). Fly! Acts the same as a Run! card, but the movement may be split among two or more warriors. No warrior may move more than 6 spaces, however.

3). Fight! If a warrior is in contact with an opposing warrior, they may play this card. The target warrior is knocked over (token flipped upside down), and loses the ball (if theyre the ball carrier). If a knocked down player is attacked, they are sent back to their own end zone.

4). Rage! This card is similar to a Fight card, but affects every warrior adjacent to the attacking warrior. The disadvantage is that the attacking warrior is also placed face-down.

5). Get Up! This card lets you flip a knocked-down character face up.

6). Steal Ball! This card allows a warrior in contact with the ball carrier to take the ball from them.

7). Avoid! This card allows a warrior to avoid an Attack!, Rage!, or Steal Ball! card.

8). Pass! - This card allows the ball carrier to pass the ball to any other friendly warrior on the board.

9). Joker! - This card acts as a wild card and can be played as any card except a Fly! card.

Many cards may be played on the same warrior, but only one of each type may be played on any one warrior. If the ball carrier enters any of the three opposing end zones, they score points for their team. If it is the end zone opposite their home zone, they score three points. Otherwise, they score one point. The first team to score seven points wins the game!

The advanced game changes several rules. First of all, players do not keep their cards face-up in front of them, rather keeping them hidden in their hands. Players also have five warriors, with one warrior chosen as the master. The master may only be attacked by other masters, with the exception of the Rage cards. Warriors may now use Fight! and Steal Ball! cards to intercept passes or tackle players as they run by them.

Special cards are also inserted into the deck. These cards may be used as a Joker! or may have their text utilized (shoot other warriors, etc.). One special card is called Hypnosis! which allows you to choose an opponents warrior and play cards on it (such as passing the ball to your team, etc.) Victory conditions for the advanced game are the same as basic game.

Some comments on the game:

1). Components: With each game he produces, Mr. Porazzis games are increasing in quality. The box is light years ahead of his previous games quality, and is covered with very nice artwork (Mr. Porazzi is a fabulous artist). The cards have good artwork and are of a decent quality, but must be punched out of sheets prior to playing the game (if smooth edges are desired, you may want to cut them out.) All cards have Italian and English on them, but are very easy to read and are color coded, so that very quickly, one barely glances at the text of the card. The board is not of superior quality, basically being laminated heavy stock paper but is quite functional. On the flipside of the board is a chart, showing all the races of Warangel (90 of em). The counters in the game are of a laminated cardstock type, with about 300 included. Little wooden blocks are included, which can be painted, and counters mounted on them. This is a small amount of work, but the end product is very nice looking, and because you do it yourself, you can pick which armies you want to use. The games components are very well done, considering it comes from an independent designer.

2). Rules: The rules come on heavy laminated cardstock, but are in Italian. Fortunately, an English translation is provided. Its a fairly good translation, but parts of it are confusing. The rules are currently being rewritten by an English speaker for Mr. Porazzi, so hopefully future editions should be even easier to understand. The game is very easy to teach, and I have easily taught the advanced game without ever mentioning the basic game.

3). Warangel: The game has nothing to do with Warangel except its storyline, even though 10 complete armies that are compatible with Warangel and Warbeast are included. But this allows great diversity when choosing which armies you want to field. Currently, there are no special abilities unique to certain armies, although the designer indicated in an email that they might consider this in an upcoming expansion. But after several playings of the game, Im not sure this is necessary, the game is fun enough as it is.

4). Fun Factor: Peace Bowl is extremely fun. There is a lot of take that! and groaning and moaning in the game. There is a fair amount of luck in which cards you draw, but decisions on how warriors are moved are all up to you. Should you go for the harder touchdowns that are worth more points, or scuttle in for a cheesy touchdown thats only worth one point? I tried a strategy in which I would pass the ball back to a character in my own end zone, and send another of my characters to the opponents end zone, so I could throw a touchdown there. However, Im not sure my strategy was wise, as every single time an opposing player stomped my ball carrier and scored a touchdown. But I enjoyed it quite a bit, regardless of how badly I lost because the game has such a lighthearted appeal.

5). Players: Ive played the game both two-player and four-player (three is possible, but seems awkward) and have determined that while two-player is an okay way to play the game, its at its best when played with four. The possibilities are wider with four players, touchdowns are harder to score, and the game just seems a lot more fun.

6). Basic vs. Advanced: After playing the Advanced version of the game, Ill never play the Basic version again. The extra cards, extra players, and hidden cards definitely make it worth playing, and gives the game a bit of strategy to add to the fun. We had almost no rule questions when playing, as everything is rather basic, but we felt like we had a lot of control when playing the game. As soon as one game was finished, the players clamored to play again, and thats always a good sign for ANY game in my book.

So I highly, highly recommend this game. Unfortunately, its rather difficult to find in America (as of this writing, no retailers that I know of carry the game) and must be purchased from the owner, Mr. Porazzi, at his website, www.warangel.it . However, Mr. Porazzi is extremely helpful and sends his games quickly, so its not that difficult to obtain a copy. Whenever I need a fairly short game (about 30-45 minutes) for four players that is a lot of fun with a few tactical decisions, this is one of the first games to come to mind. The sports theme may initially turn off non-sports lovers, but after playing the game, they will come to enjoy it. Its been one of the biggest recent hits with my gaming group, and one I will gladly pull out anytime. Congratulations to the Warangel universe for producing yet another interesting, fun game!

Tom Vasel

 
 
 
 
 
by Luca
Fun & Fight
July 15, 2004

Peacebowl is a really nice game. Quick to learn and funny to play. You have many many characters to use to build your peacebowl team. My girlfried was placed in second place at italian champioship and i' m really proud ^_^. I'm very happy to know that Peacebowl will be in Essen Fair, and i hope many people will appreciate this funny game.

 
 
 
 
 
A quick and nice fighting game
June 07, 2004

Peacebowl is very quick to learn and very fast to play. Once one gets into the spirit of the game (strike hard, strike fast!) and plays it with the right guys, it is really amusing.

While graphics are OK, materials could be better... but don't forget that it is a self-produced game!

 
 
 
 
 
Very nice fantasy sport game
March 17, 2004

Peacebowl was the nice surprise of Mantovas Ludicamente fair in 2003. The first thing I must say to you is I love games with cards management: Im sure its a good way to limit the range of possibilities, speed up the game and let your brain thinks (about how to employ the cards). And Peacebowl is a neat example of this. The game flow is very interesting and makes you to pay attention even if it is not your turn: my first opponent move in that way, how should I use these cards? How does the situation evolve after the second opponent? And so on

Let me say that there is not the Royal Rumble syndrome (all the pawns in the centre of the play area smashing each other) and a clever field disposition give you a easy touchdown possibility.

I usually stay near the centre of the action, watching the other players throw away their good cards: once the ball pass near me I have a good combo made during the previous rounds.

Finally, the components are very good (the box is REALLY sturdy) and the pawns need a fast assembly (I suggest (after few plays) to paint with acrylic or waterbased colours the wooden pawns, using the team social colours).

Other Resources for PeaceBowl:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.