My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
NEW!
REWARD
program
 
 
NEW!
MEMBER
program
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
 
Category 5
 
 
 
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Category 5

English language edition of 6 nimmt!


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: The Walking Dead: Card Game


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 30 minutes 2-10

Designer(s): Wolfgang Kramer

Manufacturer(s): Pando Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

There's an onslaught of hurricanes headed your way! Play your cards with logic, play your cards with strategy, or play your cards with blind luck. But don't get swept away: evacuate before the big one hits. Avert disaster and you won't pick up unwanted cards or points. Score the fewest points and win the game.

Category 5 is a rethemed reissue of the highly-regarded and hard-to-find 6 Nimmt! card game.

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Wolfgang Kramer

  • Manufacturer(s): Pando Games

  • Year: 2004

  • Players: 2 - 10

  • Time: 30 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Est. time to learn: 5-10 minutes

  • Weight: 206 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #129

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 5 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Even more fun with more people
June 19, 2006

We had been playing this game for a few months, with just 2 players. But this last week, we got together with family and played with 4, 5, and even more (I think 8) players. It is so much better with more people. That is where this game really shines. We didn't even play anything else, but just kept playing this one. There is strategy, but it is quite a challenge to find out what it is. The best thing is that we could just play and just have fun. Wonderful game. Even better than we had realized at first.

 
 
 
 
 
Very fun game to play
March 10, 2006

we have liked other card games, such as phase 10, and wizard, but this new one has jumped right into our list of favorites.

it is a simple game to learn, and has more strategy than we thought at first. you have to start to think ahead and not get caught. it is different than other games, and kind of a new way to think.

it is also fun to have the hurricane info on the cards, something to look at if you get bored, which you probably won't do.

lots of fun, and a good one to add to your game pile! Have fun!

 
 
 
 
 
Unique gameplay is a lot of fun
February 03, 2006
Category 5 is a game I picked up with my Christmas gift certificates strictly because of the positive reviews here on Funagain. It's always been my philosophy to expect the worst so that you can be pleasantly suprised, so I tried to disregard the good reviews and not expect too much from this game.

Well, I don't think it would have mattered. I love the way Category 5 plays. It's simple, but challenging at the same time. By that I mean that the rules are simple to grasp, but the strategy can take some time to develop. Once you realize what you are doing this game flows quite nicely.

I am very excited for when I can try Category 5 with more players, as I know the strategy will become even more challenging. I don't have any other card games that play quite like this and that uniqueness adds a lot to the quality of the game.

I have read some reviews here that talk about how neat the hurricane theme is. Frankly, that just disappears to me when I'm playing. The theme feels superficial and unnecessary. But if you are interested in reading hurricane names, past and present, perhaps that's an additional selling feature for you.

I would highly recommend Category 5 to anyone who is thinking about it. The price is reasonable, and the quality of the game is top notch. I think I will enjoy this game for years to come.

 
 
 
 
 
Great for Family and Friend Get Togethers
November 23, 2005

We were just starting to get ready for our holiday event tomorrow and were wondering what we were going to do to keep the various relatives kids entertained after our holiday dinner, when the first thing that popped into our minds was Category 5.

This is an ideal game for playing with a large group as it is quick and easy to teach everyone and you can start truly playing right away (important for kids with short attention spans).

The game is fast paced enough to keep everyone into the game, plus discussing the different hurricanes provides for a lively conversation (at least in our family).

We have enjoyed the games with young and old, those who play just for the fun and those who are strong strategists and everyone that we have played with has truly enjoyed themselves, thus making this an excellent all around versatile game for everyone to enjoy!

I would classify it as one of those must have games for your collection!

 
 
 
 
 
Fun, interactive, great with drinks
June 29, 2005

As others have said, this is a game with easy-to-teach rules that is quick and fun to play, and accommodates large groups. It's one of a class of simple mechanic games that even after many plays, you aren't really sure if there truly is a strategy involved (Raj, High Society, and Loco are similar for me).

It seems like the first couple times you play the game, you have no idea what you really should be strategizing, and it all seems random. Then during the next several games you play, you start to think there is a strategy, and you start to feel like if you just figure it out, you'll win all the time.

Then over the next several games, you'll be convinced that there is in fact no strategy at all, and you may as well play randomly, because none of your strategizing saves you from an occasional 20+ point round.

Finally, after a lot more plays, you get to the point where you aren't sure if there's a strategy that works or not, but you don't worry about it as much. You do know that you've had a lot of fun playing.

No matter what, people really get into the game because of the simple mechanics, the "whew" of sliding in the 5th card when you thought you were 6th in a row, and the "Aaargh" of being the 6th card when you were *sure* you played a safe card.

It's a great social game, and the game subtlety changes with the number of players. A four player game is just as challenging, but different, than a 10 player game.

Get it!

 
 
 
 
 
Cat 5 will rock you like a hurricane
February 13, 2005

Must admit, when I played 6 Nimmt a few years ago, I was underwhelmed. I just didn't want to like it, and whenever it hit the table, I bailed. When Cat 5 was released, I knew it was the redux of 6N, but recently I have been entertaining large groups of people, so I've been on the lookout for games that are easy to teach and that can handle several people.

So I bought Cat 5 to give it another shot. Good move. This game is great! Easy to teach, fast moving, simultaneous play, very little downtime between turns, and the appeal! This game has been taught to man and woman, young and old, serious gamers and newbies, rich and poor, dogs and cats, and they ALL loved it.

I think the design on the cards is very strong too, and the facts thrown on is just a bonus. Great production value, and the best money you will ever spend. Trust me....

 
 
 
 
 
A must-own game that will blow you away!
November 26, 2004

Whenever older, hard-to-find games are re- released, it is cause for excitement…and caution. It seems that many companies make poor decisions with good games, often changing the rules for the poorer. I had never heard of Pando Games till I saw Category 5, but since it is a reprint of an older favorite, 6 Nimmt!, I was cautiously optimistic. 6 Nimmt is becoming very hard to find, and I know a lot of people are looking for copies; I hoped that the Pando Games version would keep the game intact, and wouldn’t try to fix something that wasn’t broken. The verdict: GOOD NEWS! For those of you who don’t know what the heck I am talking about, I suppose I should explain what the game is. 6 Nimmt! is a game from the early 90’s by award- winning game designer Wolfgang Kramer. It is a very simple game to teach, plays in about 15 minutes, and can play 2-10 players – all of this and the game costs less than $10. And now you can get it widely in the US from Pando Games. Intrigued? Read on…

The deck of cards consists of 104 cards numbered 1-104. Each card has a different number of hurricane flags on the card, and these are BAD! (After all, you don’t really want a hurricane sweeping through your part of the country, do you?) So the object is to take as few flags as possible. Most of the cards only have 1 flag (these represent hurricanes that have not done any real devastation yet, or are scheduled for the future), other cards may have anywhere from 2 all the way up to 7 flags (representing the biggies like Hurricane Andrew, etc.) Players are dealt a hand and will play one card per round till they all run out of cards, and that ends the hand. Whoever takes the least amount of hurricane devastation wins! (I think it’s fun for every player to pick a state, and at the end, see which state takes the most damage. It’s always funny when Washington falls prey to Hurricane Andrew)

There are several variations on how to deal out, but essentially they all boil down to each player having a hand of cards and four cards being turned up in the center of the table, representing the 4 rows players will be able to play on. Now each player will secretly and simultaneously choose one card from their hand to play. Once everyone has chosen one, all players reveal their card. Starting with the lowest card, players will place their cards one at a time into the end position of a row. When it is your turn to place, you must place your card next to the card that is closest to your card in value, and lower. So if I have 35, and the end cards for each of the rows are 56, 37, 12, and 6, my 35 card must go beside the 12 card, since it is the cards that is closest in value to 35 while still being lower in value. 37 is closer in value, but is higher, so I may not play my 35 next to it. If the lowest card played is lower than any of the end cards, then that player must take one of the rows as penalty points, and place their card as the new first card in the row. Any time a player must place a card, if it is the SIXTH card in the row, they must take the previous 5 cards in that row as penalty points, and put their 6th card as the new first card in that row. Once everyone has placed their card in the appropriate spots, players play additional rounds until all the cards are gone. Player with the lowest score wins.

So in an ideal world, you will always be placing your cards in the middle of rows, never taking any penalty points. But the world isn’t ideal, and you’ll soon face problems such as: You have the 1 in your hand. That’s the lowest card in the deck, which means sooner or later you will be forced to take a row. You want to take that row when it’s only going to be –1 against you. Or: You have the 36 in your hand and the row with the 34 on the end of it has a lot of negative points and 4 cards in it. Do you try squeezing your 36 in there hoping that the person with the 35 is planning on playing a different card? Or do you put off playing the 36 for now hoping you’ll get a better chance to play it later?

The tension in this game is quite remarkable for a game so simple. At first blush it may seem rather chaotic (and with a lot of players, it is much more so), but our game group has been playing this as a closer for about 3 years, and not only are we not sick of it, but the same player tend to win over and over again, which says something about this game. Knowing when to get rid of high or low cards, or to try and squeeze in a card into the 5 spot, or to try and go “high and under” (hard to explain until you play the game) hoping to avoid the points: these are all tactics that their own right place and time. Good players will get the knack for this. But even played casually (with what we like to call the “monkey strategy”) is a blast to play. You can teach it in a minute; it plays in 15 minutes; it plays 2-10 players; and it’s cheap. The good news is Category 5 is 6 Nimmt! with different skin, but the same raucous gameplay. Except for the borderline artwork (clean but kind of ugly), Pando Games has done a bang-up job on this release, and I highly recommend Category 5 as your very next purchase of a card game. It is rare that I say this, but this is one game that should literally be in everyone’s collection. Throw out Uno and Phase 10, and pick up Category 5, and thank me later. =)

 
 
 
 
 
An easy to learn game with great replay value.
August 09, 2004

To start with the game is printed on good cardstock which is a pet peeve of mine when it comes to card games. I like the theme since I live in a hurricane prone area and can actually remember some of the hurricanes which are listed on each card. The game itself is simple to learn but definitely involves some strategic thinking as opposed to blind luck. As a gamer I personally like some of the variants suggested as they offer the chance to card-count and take the luck factor out even more. For the price you really have to get this game!

Other Resources for Category 5:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.