My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Shadows Over Camelot
Close Zoomed Image Shadows Over Camelot

Shadows Over Camelot


List Price: $60.00
Your Price: $47.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 4,799 Funagain Points!)

This item is temporarily out of stock []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available!

Quantity:

Product Awards:  

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 60-80 minutes 3-7

Designer(s): Serge Laget, Bruno Cathala

Manufacturer(s): Days of Wonder

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Shadows over Camelot is a unique collaborative game featuring a malevolent twist! As the incarnation of the Knights of the Round Table, you join forces against the game itself in an attempt to protect Camelot.

Your victory hinges on the successful completion of legendary Quests, such as the search for Excalibur, the Holy Grail, or Lancelot's Armor; the tournament against the Black Knight; and numerous wars against the Saxons and Picts.

But beware... all is not as it seems among these noble Knights. One of your number might yet turn out to be a traitor-in-waiting, biding his time while sowing havoc and destruction from the Shadows!

Zoom In Illustration Image: Shadows Over Camelot
Close Zoomed Image aShadows Over Camelotb
Illustration

Product Awards

Games Magazine Awards
Advanced Strategy Game Nominee, 2006
International Gamers Awards
Best Strategy Game Nominee, 2005
Deutscher Spiele Preis
7th place, 2005

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Serge Laget, Bruno Cathala

  • Manufacturer(s): Days of Wonder

  • Artist(s): Julien Delval

  • Year: 2005

  • Players: 3 - 7

  • Time: 60 - 80 minutes

  • Ages: 10 and up

  • Est. time to learn: 30+ minutes

  • Weight: 1,898 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #203

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #148

  • Language Requirements: Game components are printed in English. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English. This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item.

Contents:

  • 1 master gameboard
  • 3 double-sided quest boards
  • 16 swords of the Round Table
  • 168 cards:
    • 84 white cards
    • 8 loyalty cards
    • 76 black cards
  • 7 coats-of-arms
  • 7 standard dice
  • 1 8-sided die
  • 1 rules booklet (including Days of Wonder access number)
  • 1 book of quests
  • 30 miniatures:
    • 12 siege engines
    • 3 relics
    • 4 Saxon warriors
    • 4 Pict warriors
    • 7 knights
Shadows Over Camelot has the following expansions available:
You might be interested in these related products as well:


Ascension: Year One Collector's Edition (Preorder)
List: $99.99 $79.99 (20% savings!)
Saboteur
English language edition (Restocking)
List: $14.99 $11.99 (20% savings!)

Lord of the Rings
English language edition (Currently Restocking)
List: $49.95 $39.99 (20% savings!)
Lord of the Rings
silver line edition
List: $34.95 $27.99 (20% savings!)

Ascension: Chronicle Of The Godslayer
List: $39.95 $31.99 (20% savings!)
Healing Blade (Currently Restocking)
List: $34.95 $27.99 (20% savings!)

Ascension: Box & Sleeve Combo (Restocking)
$16.49
Saboteur 2
List: $14.99 $11.99 (20% savings!)

Ascension: Return of the Fallen
expansion
List: $29.95 $23.99 (20% savings!)
Bloodsuckers (Preorder)
List: $39.95 $31.99 (20% savings!)

Dead Panic
List: $39.95 $31.99 (20% savings!)
Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game
List: $49.95 $39.99 (20% savings!)

Castle Panic
List: $35.00 $27.99 (20% savings!)
Defenders of the Realm (Restocking)
List: $84.99 $67.99 (20% savings!)

Bloodsuckers
Card Game (Preorder)
List: $39.99 $31.99 (20% savings!)
Shadows Over Camelot: The Card Game
List: $24.99 $19.99 (20% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.5 in 13 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
One of the Best Experiences in the Hobby of Boardgaming.
December 26, 2008

I resisted this game for a long time. I purchased a much hyped cooperative game several years ago and was extremely disappointed. I like the fun of competing anyway, so I wasn't sure that any such game would interest me.

This game is a blast. The aspect of a traitor in your midst, gives an uneasy feeling. That is, if there is a traitor... Going on quests, sacrificing for the good of Camelot and your fellow knights. Do I leave Camelot and try to complete the quest to fight the Saxons, when if one more Saxon shows up I'll get the brunt of it.

Should I lose a life point rather than risk drawing a despair card that will deprive us of the Holy Grail and put three black swords on the round table. Somebody better get rid of those siege engines.

Days of Wonder seems to be consistent in putting some of the best games on the market.

 
 
 
 
 
Shadows Over Camelot: A Quick Review
May 23, 2006

Shadows Over Camelot

Shadows Over Camelot is one of the best thematic games on the market; this is the perfect board game for role players. It is an unusual co-operative game, where players work together, not competitively, by Bruno Cathala (Queen's Necklace, Mission: Red Planet and many more) and Serge Laget (Mare Nostrum, Castle and many more). Produced by Days of Wonder (Ticket to Ride, Fist of Dragonstones, Pirate's Cove and the much anticipated Cleopatra and the Society of Architects, among other titles), this game is absolutely gorgeous, and the artwork and high quality components do much to inspire the game to become the pleasure it is to play. Full credit must be given to the artist, Julien Delval (Shadows Over Camelot, Citadels, Fist of Dragonstones and many more), whose talents are truly on display in this game.

Shadows Over Camelot is a very different sort of game, it requires the players to work together against the game, and at this it works brilliantly. Added to the fun and tension is the additional possibility that one of the knights (the players) may actually be a traitor, secretly working to bring Camelot to destruction and ruin. This additional tension makes the game a riotous experience, and great fun, any simple mistake, any action that even looks slightly dodgy will get the other players looking at you with the question in their eyes ‘are you a traitor?’

Shadows Over Camelot is a brilliant game for people who enjoy the human aspect to board gaming; with rules about the ways in which Knights can communicate, the game also inspires a fair share of role-playing, and can be extremely tense. In order to enjoy the game properly players need to make an attempt to play the game the way it is designed to be played, this includes communicating according to the rules of collaboration as laid out in the rule book and playing within the spirit of the game.

Shadows Over Camelot does much to invoke the style and theme of Arthurian legend, the players are knights faced with the challenge of many quests, many of them extremely dangerous. These quests, if won by the knights, do much to restore faith in the legendary round table, if failed they cause yet more faith to be lost. The good and bad faith (as I like to see it) is represented by white and black swords, which are placed about the round table during the game, and form the scoring mechanism at the end of the game. If the knights have managed to get more white than black swords (and haven’t all died, or allowed Camelot to fall), then they win the day, if black swords number as many or more than the white, then the legend of glorious Camelot is cast down and faith in the brave knights is forever broken.

Shadows Over Camelot is one of the most enjoyable and interesting games I have played, it is not a tactical gem in the style of ‘Go’ or ‘Tigris and Euphrates’ (although good tactics must play a part), it is a game to be enjoyed, savoured, and experienced. If you believe that games should be played so that a group of friends can sit down and have a great time, then Shadows Over Camelot is for you. This is one of the best games I own, and certainly one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences my game collection can provide.

 
 
 
 
 
Co-op game at it's finest.
January 30, 2006
The rare gems that I give 5 stars, o', how I bow to thee.

Anyways, Shadows over Camelot, believe it or not, it's not as dorky as it might sound (okie, still pretty dorky). If you've played the game and understand the rules, you can explain it to someone in about 10 minutes. I know 10 minutes is still a pretty steep amount of time, especially if you have friends like mine.

The game is undoubtedly one of the best co-op games I've ever played, and I've played a few in my time let me tell'ya. The game is extremely rich in components, the little siege engines to the knights themselves. The board is layed out in a great way that is managable as long as you have a table that is about 2 and a half foot by 2 and a half foot.

The game requires that players play in a type of secrecy about their cards and actions, other-wise it's extremely easy for the knights to win. The only downside I see to this game is that after perhaps 30-40 games it can be predictable, but hey, I've played it perhaps 20 times now, and it's still fun.

- L.T.

 
 
 
 
 
The way a cooperative game should be
October 01, 2005

The concept of a fully cooperative game was quite compelling to me. It was so compelling that when the cooperative "Lord of the Rings" game came out, I bought it and its two expansions before ever playing the core game.

We then played the core game and every single playing fell flat for us. It felt mechanical, contrived and lacked any real immersion with the theme.

Then came Shadows Over Camelot. It doesn't hurt that I'm also a big fan of anything "King Arthur" but found other Arthur-related games lacking. Not so with SOC.

SOC is rife with theme. You feel like you're really involved in some Arthurian experience and the cooperative aspects are fantastic. Table talk, though limited in what specifics can be discussed, will be rampant throughout. Debates will form as to the best course of action. The tension is also well designed here and rises with each round of play.

The concept of a traitor is, as has been well covered here, an excellent one that takes SOC from being a very good game to a great one, in my view.

So much of the game will hinge on the possibility of a traitor, so much so that it comes as a surprise when one isn't in the game. Conversely it's often a surprise when one IS in the game! That's a pretty good trick.

The only minor complaints I have with the game are as follows:

1. The game can go long especially with slower or newer players. Generally this isn't a problem thankfully.

2. The loyalty/traitor cards are pretty flimsy. Given their extreme importance, I would have liked to have seen something far more durable to handle its task.

3. The images of the cards on the various play surfaces are perfectly mirrored images of the cards which serve to confuse players. Those images should have been subdued or restricted to black-and-white representations.

None of those problems adds up to knocking this game off the 5 that I've rated it. It's a fun time for most gamers and great family fun.

 
 
 
 
 
An awesome, suspenseful time!
July 24, 2005
Others have gone into great detail concerning gameplay, so I will not. I just want to say that seven of us played this game on "game night" and we had an awesome, suspenseful time! I was hesitant at first, because I have never played a cooperative game before, and it looked VERY complicated. But it was easy to learn, and awesomely fun to play. All of us that played are between 25-40, and I think this game would be fun for anyone ages 15-100. Do not hesitate to buy! My friend had this game, and I asked him how I could buy it because I loved it so much.
 
 
 
 
 
The Traitor makes the whole game fun!
June 09, 2005

It seems that every Days of Wonder big box game is an event – with a lot of press, fanfare, and general excitement. This general adulation is no mistake, as it seems that Days of Wonder has the magic touch, with each new game becoming a smash hit. Shadows over Camelot is no exception with a lot of hype before its release. Very few cooperative games are released – at least by large companies, and the idea itself is very intriguing.

While Shadows over Camelot has not cracked my top ten games, it has come precariously close. I’ve played the game multiple times and expect the game to get at least twenty-five plays this year (which for me, with my large collection, is saying something.) It’s tremendously fun, and the “traitor” mechanic adds a huge element of suspense and “fun factor” to the game. I’m sure you have a lot of questions regarding the game, so fire away!

1. What’s this I hear about this being a cooperative game? Shadows over Camelot (SoC) is a cooperative game, in which all the players win, or they all lose. No one is competing against the other players (with the exception of the traitor), so players who have a keen competitive sense may be initially turned off. But I have noticed some people who had an initial negative reaction to the “cooperative” idea suddenly get really involved as the game went on.

2. How does it compare to Lord of the Rings? Comparisons with Reiner Knizia’s Lord of the Rings cooperative game are natural, as it is the most famous cooperative game out there. I’m a big fan of Lord of the Rings, especially with the Friends and Foes expansion attached, but Shadows over Camelot blows it away. When playing Lord of the Rings, I felt like the game was playing us and that we were fighting as a group to stop it. While this made for a satisfactory experience for me, it does limit the replayability of the game. Shadows over Camelot feels different every time. The players actually control the negative events in SoC, which really changes the focus of the game. In LotR, players must simply pull a tile and follow the directions. In SoC, players can decide whether their player loses one life point, whether they will add a catapult onto the board (twelve catapults cause a loss for the players), or whether they will draw and play a card that causes some sort of negative (potentially devastating) effect to the players. These decisions, while they might seem minor, cause a lot of tension to occur in the game.

3. What about the traitor? The traitor is THE most critical part of the game. Without the traitor, SoC would work fairly well, but with it added, the game becomes an exercise in suspicion. The absolutely cool thing about the game is that no one is sure if there even IS a traitor in the game! Each player is secretly dealt one of eight loyalty cards at the beginning of the game. One of these eight cards has the word “traitor” on it, denoting that player as treacherous scum. Because the game has a max limit of seven players, that means that the possibility of a traitor is higher with more players involved – but never assured. I’ve played games that had no traitor, yet everyone was constantly publicly analyzing the other players’ moves and constantly accusing one another. What a player does may SEEM innocent, but are they secretly plotting other player’s demise?

4. What’s a quick rundown of the rules? Each player is assigned one of the Knights of the Round Table (King Arthur, Tristan, Galahad, Gawain, Kay, Palamedes, or Percival), each with a different special ability. Players place a token of their knight on the round table section of the main board, place a six-sided die face up on the “4” side on their knight board (showing their health), and receive six White (good) cards, including one Merlin card. Loyalty cards are handed out, and some quest boards and other pieces are placed in starting locations. The player playing King Arthur goes first, with each player following in a clockwise order. On a turn, a player must progress evil (as mentioned above), then do a heroic action. A heroic action is a player moving their pawn from the round table to a quest, performing an action at a quest, discarding three identical cards to heal one life point, play a special white card, draw two white cards (if at the Round table), or accuse another knight.

5. So how does the game end? The game ends in three ways – if twelve catapults (siege engines) are placed on the board – everyone but the traitor loses. Also, finished quests cause either black or white swords to be placed on the round table. If seven or more black swords are on the table, the knights lose. If all the knights die, they lose. In fact, the only way for the knights to win is to fill the round table with twelve swords and have a majority of them be white.

6. What are these quests of which you speak? Each quest has different requirements, with different effects. For example, to complete the Quest for Excalibur, players must discard a white card face down, moving the sword one spot closer to the good side. Meanwhile, some of the black cards cause the sword to move in the opposite direction. If the sword reaches the good side, all players whose knights are currently at that quest gain a hit point, two white swords are added to the round table, the players split seven white cards, and one player receives an Excalibur piece – which has some special abilities. If the sword reaches the bad side, two black swords are added to the round table, each player currently at the quest loses one life point, and Excalibur is lost forever. Each quest requires different things (playing Grail cards for the Holy Grail quest, playing fight cards of various numbers for the Black Knight’s Quest, the Quest for Lancelot and the Dragon’s Quest, and playing a progression of fight cards for the Pict and Saxon Wars), and has different results. All of the quests are fairly difficult to finish (especially the Grail quest!), and players will most likely fail at least one of them. Deciding which quests to attempt is some of the strategy to the game, and players will kibitz quite a bit about this.

7. How much can players communicate? The rules state that players can be vague about the contents of their hand, but never give out exact information. This, of course, raises suspicions, because mightn’t Bob have played a “5” fight card at the Black Knight quest instead of the “1” he put down. When Joe said that he couldn’t help in the Grail quest, was he holding three Grail cards in his hand? One of the most enjoyable parts of the game is the interaction between the players. Since everyone is constantly wondering who the traitor is, every move is micro analyzed, and innocent actions can seem very suspicious.

8. How do accusations work? At the end of the game, if the traitor has not been successfully accused, he changes two of the white swords on the Round Table to black swords. Thus, it really behooves the traitor to keep his identity a secret. Once six swords are on the Round Table, or six siege engines are on the board, players may accuse another player in the game. Each player can make only one accusation per game (including the traitor). The accused person flips over their loyalty card; and if the accusation is wrong, a white sword is changed to a black sword on the Round Table. If the accusation is correct, a new white sword is added, and the traitor is “ousted”. They flip their knight’s card over to the Traitor side, and can only do the evil half of the action on their turn, plus randomly discard a white card from any player’s hand. It’s important for players to correctly accuse the traitor, but each false accusation is quite damaging! Besides, their might not even be a traitor. I really love the tension this part of the game brings.

9. How are the components of this game? Need you ask – it’s a Days of Wonder game? They are of the highest quality with piles of stuff being included in the large, square box. The quest boards are all double-sided, the knight cards are large and colorful with lots of player info on them, and the swords are thick double-sided tokens (black on one side, white on the other). The Black and White cards are of high quality – matted cards, and each player receives a die that matches the color of their knight. Speaking of which, the sculpts of the knights are incredible – with the base being in that knight’s color and the rest in a light gray. I know it would have added to the cost of the game, but these miniatures are just begging to be painted – and I stink at it. But for those who enjoy painting, the finished product looks incredible! Everything fits well inside the box with tremendous artwork covering it, as well as the boards and cards. This game has some of the best artwork of any game I’ve ever seen.

10. What about the rulebook? Here I’m not quite as pleased. There are actually two rulebooks – the normal rulebook and the “Quest Book”. Both are filled with incredible detail – more than anyone would ever want about the game. I found this useful to some degree, but there was simply too much! I can teach the game to people in about ten or fifteen minutes, explaining the game pretty much as we play. So why are the rulebooks so long? They’re beautiful, detailed, but simply could have been condensed. This is only a minor problem; but when purchasing the game, make sure that you read both rulebooks so that you don’t miss any of the rules in the large tomes.

11. How many choices do players have on their turn? Players choose twice – what bad thing to do, and what good thing to do. Of course, this is condensing the theme down a bit, but I found it’s the easiest way to explain it. Deciding what to do can be challenging. Should I sacrifice one of my precious hit points, add a catapult to the table, or play a random, unknown Black card to the table? Adding a catapult sounds like a simple thing at first, but eventually the number of siege engines nears twelve – and suddenly they become a dire threat. They’re difficult to get rid of, and the traitor can add only a few near the end of the game to finish off the noble knights.

12. So how difficult is the game? Well, I’ve played it almost ten times now, and have only seen the good guys win once. Of course, I played with eight different groups, and the first game has a distinct learning curve. The traitor definitely makes the game harder for people, but it adds so much fun to the game that I wouldn’t dream playing without it.

13. So what’s your final verdict on the game? Buy it. SoC is like a cross between Lord of the Rings and Werewolf – with a cool theme added. It’s a tremendous game, and I’ve played it with many groups of people – all who enjoyed it tremendously. It’s been the most successful game I’ve ever introduced to my middle school kids – they begged me to allow them to skip lunch to finish it. The game transcends gender borders, with women enjoying it as much as men – and it worked with “gamers”, casual gamers, friends, and teenagers. Once the rules are explained, games last just a bit over an hour – so time is not much of an issue either. Combine that with beautiful components and a cooperative theme, and you have a winner on your hands!

Tom Vasel
“Real men play board games.”

 
 
 
 
 
Interesting, Unique and Fun
June 01, 2005

I was able to play this game twice at a local game convention this last weekend. What did I think of it? Well the short version is Wow!!!

We played with seven players, and seldom have has a game been this enjoyable. The end of the second game was one of the most intense gaming experiences I've had, including role playing games. I can't wait to get my own copy of Shadows Over Camelot.

Overview:

In Shadows Over Camelot the players cooperate to save Camelot which is under siege from without and can be corrupted with within. Each player is a knight of the Round Table and takes on quests to help save Camelot. Some quests can only be done by a single knight, others can be undertaken by groups of knights.

BUT, there may be a traitor among the knights who is secretly working to destroy Camelot.

Components:

The board shows Camelot, including the Round Table, and locations where the quests take place. There is the main board, plus three extra boards. The extra boards are for quests than when completed are turned over with either a new quest or effect the siege of Camelot. All are on cardboard and beautifully illustrated.

Next are the cards. There are two decks of cards, white and black. The white cards go into the hands of the players, and are used to complete the quests. There are two types of cards, fight and special. The fight cards have a numerical value from 1 to 5 and are used in the quests. The special cards have effects when played such are allowing players to draw more cards or increasing the knights life points.

The black cards are naturally the bad events that occur. These can be events that make the quests more difficult, add siege engines outside Camelot or take away life points.

All the cards include well done illustrations.

Each knight has a card with shows that knight, lists their special abilities and has a space for the life point die. On the back of each is the side used when that knight has been found out to be the traitor. The cards also has a summary list of the player turn and actions that can be done.

There is a six-sided die for each knight to keep track of life points, and one eight sided die. The eight sided die is only used when attempting to remove siege engines.

Last there are the playing pieces. There are the cardboard swords, white on one side and black on the other. And there are the miniatures, several siege engines which look like catapults and one for each knight. The knight are well done and each is unique. Other than the fact that they are not painted, they are very well done.

Playing the game:

The game starts with everybody in Camelot at the Round Table. Each is given a initial hand of cards. The game starts when each takes one card from their hand, lays it out face up, and the players divide these cards up between them.

Each player turn has two parts. The first handles the bad events that can happen. The player has three choices, Draw the top black card and play it, add a siege engine outside Camelot or lose a life point. As the game goes on this choice becomes more and more difficult.

The second part the knight gets to take an action. What this action is depends on where the knight is currently located. If in Camelot the knight can draw white cards, attempt to remove siege engines or more to another location.

To remove a siege engine, the knight lays down one or more white fight cards, totals their values, and attempts to roll under that total on an eight sided die, removing a siege engine if they do. If at any time there are twelve siege engines outside Camelot the games ends and the knights lose.

All the other locations are at one of the quests. These quests are, if I remember correctly, The Grail Quest, fighting Picts, fighting Saxons, The Black Knight, finding Excalibur, and finding Lancelot's armor. Each of these quests has a specific method of being done. Some involve playing fight cards either in ascending order, or as pairs, or as a full house. The Grail Quest is unique in that it involves playing Grail cards.

Not only do the right cards need to be played to win a quest, but specific black cards can be played on each quest. In addition to the knights completing the quest it is possible that due to the black cards for the quest to be lost.

Each quest whether won or lost has its own results. Winning quests typically involve gaining a life point and gaining one or more white swords. Losing a quest typically involves losing a life point and gaining one or more black swords. The swords are placed on the Round Table and when all twelve are there, the game ends. If there are more white swords than black at that point then the game is won. This is not an easy task.

What about the traitor? At the beginning of the game a loyalty card is dealt to each player and it is kept hidden from each other. There are eight loyalty cards, one of which is the traitor card. As there is at most seven players there is always a possibility that no one is the traitor.

During the game the traitor plays just like any other knight. But the traitor's goal is to cause the game to be lost. There is an incentive to keeping the others from guessing he is not the traitor. If a successful guess is made, then one sword on the round table to turned from black to white. In addition if at the end of the end the traitor is still not know, two swords are turned from white to black, possibly causing the game to be lost.

It is the possibility of there being a traitor that adds tension to the game. In the second game that I played this because quite intense. We realized that when the Grail Quest was finished, which we knew would be done shortly, there would be enough swords on the Round Table to end the game. But since we had not identified the traitor, the flipping of two of them from white to black would cause six white swords and six black swords, which means we would loose. The discussion about who was the likely traitor when on for a while. In the end we guessed wrong and lost the game. But we had a great time getting there.

Summary:

A well produced game with very good components. While a little more involved to learn that say Ticket to Ride, it is picked up quickly and plays quickly. A game can last from one to two hours depending on the number of players. This is one of the most interesting, unique and fun games that I've ever played. I think that Days of Wonder have another hit on their hands.

 
 
 
 
 
Non gamers true love
October 10, 2008

Let me preface this review by saying I am a gamer, I play pc games mainly but do enjoy good in depth table top games and I have played Magic the Gathering since first edition. The problem I have is finding people to get into a table top game with, that actually will finish a game and enjoy it. Last night I purchased Shadows over Camelot and began setting it up. I had two gamers come over and they were overly excited to play. Also in the same room was my girlfriend (never played anything beyond monopoly) and my other friend who hates the idea of games. I finally talked both into playing and before you know it they were into more as much as us gamers!! After completion of our first game it was late and I was tired, but everyone insisted on a second play through (we did get out butts handed to us the first time).

The first game was rough, Nobody new exactly what to do and even though we purposly excluded the traitor we were still wandering around aimlessly trying to finish quests. Even though we didn't stand a chance it taught us this games format, playstyle etc... but most importantly it showed us just how fun this game really is.

The game is played by choosing knights from the round table and trying to complete Authurian Lore Quests. These quests range from the Dark Knight battle in which one brave knight must face off against the legendary advisary all by themselves to a legendary battle against a dragon that may take your entire army of knights to defeat.

The depth of strategy and the options available are numerous and after playing twice and losing in two separate fashions replayablity is at an all time high!! We cant wait to play again tonight.

And as for my non gaming girlfriend, she was playing black cards in her sleep last night and ask me this morning when we can play next!

I have to give this game 4.5 out of 5 and its nearly a perfect 5 but nothing deserves that. Bottom line GO BUY THIS GAME, I will pick up the expansion tonight and expect to play twice as long this session!

 
 
 
 
 
Impressive, and Not as Tough as it Appears
December 01, 2006

Shadows Over Camelot sat in my game closet for months before I could ever convince anyone to play it. When the box is unpacked, it is so chock full of pieces boards, cards, and multiple rule books it seems like one of those games that you have to devote hours to learning the first time. But all those components made me want to play it so badly. It just never seemed that friends that came over were in the mood to be knights of the round table for an evening. Our first playing of the game proved the theory that it was too complex wrong -- it is simply so full of items because there are so many possibilities as the game progresses. Now convincing people to play at being knights is still a bit of a stretch.

Other reviews can tell you how the game is played, but I was most impressed with how interactive it is. My first trip to Camelot was taken with my 11-year-old son and one of his friends. It proved to be a perfect game for young and old as it is quite generous in the ways a turn can be accomplished. With so many quests a knight can take, there is always an exciting task happening even when it isn't your turn. Quite often the interactive nature of the gameplay involves you even when it isn't your turn. Ultimately all players are working together. The added game mechanic of the character traits that allow each person some unique ability is wonderful as well.

Although many people are attracted to the traitor element, where one player works against the others to cause the knights to be unsuccessful, we have found the rule that says you must play a negative event every turn causes you enough trouble just trying to combat the ever darkening shadows over Camelot. Since I have only played it with my son and his friends, we haven't had the nerve to add in the traitor element yet, but I find the game still plays well without it, and you will fail as much as you succeed since the game is so well designed.

(One a side note: One of the things that made the game easier to jump into for us was a promotional DVD that explained and demonstrated gameplay. The DVD came with the PC version of Ticket to Ride and promoted many of Days of Wonder's other games. It may have been the smartest marketing tool I have ever seen since I pop it in when friends come over to play any Days of Wonder games since it saves me the trouble of explaining rules and possibly missing some details in the explanation.)

 
 
 
 
 
The best of the co-operative games!
June 06, 2006

This is arguably the best 'co-operative' game design in the hobby today. It's rich in theme, and the components are first class, the rules are easy to comprehend, and the playing time is just about right.

The possiblility of a traitor amongst the Knights of the Roundtable makes it even more challenging (I've won once as the traitor, and enjoyed it), and the co-operative nature of the game makes it easy to teach new players.

If you're into co-operative games like I am (But many serious gamers are not), you might rate this game 5-stars. But I'm going to give this game a 4-star rating for its comparative value to other games in the hobby. Either way, SHADOWS OVER CAMELOT is an excellent game, and I highly recommend it.

 
 
 
 
 
Great concept, great art, mediocre execution
October 19, 2005

I love the concept of the game and the beautiful art. The problem is that the game does not offer the most interesting choices for how complicated the mechanics are. The first game is a give away game where people continually ask questions about the rules and how to play and what is allowed and blah blah blah...

Trust me, another game will come along at some point that takes this idea of a possible traitor (great for emotional effect), and combines it with more interesting mechanics. In truth, the actual game would get a 3 but I enjoy playing it more simply because it is so beautiful.

 
 
 
 
 
I'd play several times before you buy it
October 04, 2005

After seeing the glowing reviews on this site, I felt compelled to counter. I don't want to berate a game that seems so popular (I'd actually rate it a "2"), but I disagree with several points:

1) I don't think the theme matches all that well. It is OK, but I don't feel like I'm questing by simply laying down a card on my turn. My role-playing friend, the one who bought the game, is very disappointed because he doesn't feel it either.

2) The idea of a traitor is a good one, and it is fun for awhile trying to decide who it is or to be the traitor. But after you are discovered, being the traitor is a monotonous excercise.

3) I don't think the choices are interesting at all. Early on, add catapults; later, you've got to lose life points. It is almost always obvious.

In short, Days of Wonder puts out a beautiful product, and with some tinkering it could be a decent game. Some think it is now, but my advice is to play before you buy.

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
A great family game
June 29, 2005

Long before the release, Days of Wonder shown us gorgeous artworks, figures, and even painted set of knights figures to lure us. Yes, it really works.

And then, a promo figures give away by magazine.

After that, a gorgeous Board-Terrain scenes pictures with castles, boat, Saxons, siege engines.

And then, a Arthur's Quiz to give boxes to fans and players.

All these gave us a very good impression for the whole thing.

But what is really behind the scene? Actually, it is a very simple game. A group of players try to accomplish the tasks and gain points (white swords). Sometimes people will compare this to the LOTR game, which is also a group of people work together to accomplish thing.

Well, in this Camelot case, all the quests are separate. Players might find themselves doing things by their own.

Imagine without the artworks and figures, the quest can simply replaced by a single bar with a cursor marker to indicate if you win or lose. No more colorful packaging, no more figures, and it will become a very simple game idea.

Well, DOW done a great job and gave us the Shadows over Camelot. I like it. Yes, indeed.

I played it 4 times and we lost all of them. But actually I really don't care to win or loss. Because I really enjoy the process in playing the game. We talk a lot, communicate and argue very much. It's fun. I played it with my wife and daughter (5 yrs old). She was King Arthur lead us to the quest.

A great family game. But absolutely not for serious gamers.

Other Resources for Shadows Over Camelot:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.