My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In National Geographic Expedition
Close Zoomed Image National Geographic Expedition

National Geographic Expedition


Your Price: $48.00
(Worth 4,800 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 60 minutes 2-6

Designer(s): Wolfgang Kramer

Manufacturer(s): Ravensburger Germany

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

On the trail of the great explorers of the earth, go on a journey around the world. Marvel at strange cultures and exotic animals. Travel to unusual places and meet miracles of nature. Participate in three expeditions and help manipulate their movements, in order to achieve your goals as fast as possible. A game from the multiply-distinguished author, Wolfgang Kramer -- with the fascinating pictures of National Geographic.

Zoom In Photo 1 Image: National Geographic Expedition
Close Zoomed Image aNational Geographic Expeditionb
Photo 1

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Wolfgang Kramer

  • Manufacturer(s): Ravensburger Germany

  • Year: 2005

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 60 minutes

  • Ages: 10 and up

  • Weight: 1,306 grams

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #146

  • Language Requirements: Game components are printed in English. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English.

Contents:

  • 1 game board
  • 80 expedition cards
  • 135 arrows
  • 40 tickets to travel
  • 24 tokens
  • 1 set of rules
You might be interested in these related products as well:
The 39 Clues: Top Secret Board Game
Unlock the Secret Chamber (Restocking)
List: $30.00 $26.99 (10% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.5 in 10 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Big Game Hunters Won't Be Disappointed
November 19, 2003

Just as you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, neither should you judge a game by its. The box art says - 'Kids', but the game within holds an appeal for all ages.

Essentially this is a route playing game, but it is far removed from an abstract puzzle, even though the mapboard has a curious sense of geography.

The idea is to 'discover' various members of the animal kingdom, and thwart your opponents in doing the same.

Starting off, you'll think this animal spotting business is a bit of a doddle, but pretty soon each 'trekker' will have their own idea on which route the expedition will take so you may find yourself planting some obstructions in their path.

Addiitional motivation to find our furry and feathered friends is added when you have to call out the name of the animal you've discovered. After all, there are not many games that allow you the facility to bawl out: 'I'VE JUST DISCOVERED A HAIRY NOSED WOMBAT'. Are there?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Go! Go! Go!
July 04, 2001

'Oh! I got this place!'

'I won't go to Africa any more!'

That's what we said during the game.

This game is one of my favourite games. During the play, I need to decide which trip I need to build. Usually, most of the players have one or more cards relating to Australia, so people won't go there until late.

The game is fun for several players for about 1-2 hours. Try this game, and you will find lots of fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
One of the German classics
June 23, 2001

This game receives high praise from nearly everybody, and I often thought it would be great if I could somehow try it. But how? Well, one day I went to a garage sale in Ruch, Oregon, and there, in a tattered box, I saw Wildlife Adventure by Wolfgang Kramer for $1!

This game is wonderfully simple: place an arrow on your turn, try to lead the expeditions towards the animals you have listed on the cards in your hand. This is a great family game, but it isn't merely a family game. I play this with my game group, and they love it too. It really is incredibly well done, and though the graphics are definitely blase, the game more than makes up for it. Another nice thing is that the game can be played by 2-6 players. Six might have a bit of downtime, but with a few games under your belt, you'll probably have your next move planned by the time it's your turn (something that also happens in Aladdin's Dragons).

I am quite willing to play this game, and with repeated playing the game still holds up, probably because it has such a clean design without too many picky mechanisms that would make it too novel. (And I have a lot of German games to compare this with!) I find mechanically and thematically this game doesn't really remind me of any other game, so there is no feeling of too much overlap in my game closet (eg: Vinci/Risk or [page scan/se=0908/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Entdecker/Streetcar). On top of everything else, it's got a great theme: find all the endangered species on the planet!

This game is a great deal of fun to play, and I think it will have an excellent shelf life.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Wendy
Board game lover who took Mr. Moon's advice!
November 01, 2000

Wildlife Adventure was the first serious boardgame I bought through the Internet and I did so based on Alan's mention of it in his Desert Island games list at the Game Cabinet web site. I'm really glad I did, because this game is everything he mentions right down to the stomach tension! I don't play a lot of games that are dice-dependent for moves, and Wildlife Adventure was the first game to whet my appetite for a different game mechanism. The board is extremely attractive and of course, the components are Ravensburger.

This game will probably continue to fetch high dollars on auctions as it is truly a classic and a lot of fun to play. Pick up a copy if you can find one... if you don't like it, there will always be someone who will want it, as this game is NOT artificially over-hyped, but is 'more game' and becomes a lot deeper than one or two plays would indicate.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A Ravensburger Classic
October 31, 2000

WILDLIFE ADVENTURE was my favorite game for many years. It was one of the first Designer Games I played during the early days of the European game invasion. It is classic Ravensburger and classic Wolfgang Kramer. It is still in my top ten favorites today.

At first, it may seem like a game of pure luck. This is totally deceiving. As you play, you will begin to see how the routes are cleverly laid out and how some animals are easier to reach than others. You will be able to envision how the routes are most likely to develop. You will begin to understand the value of the red spaces and the dark blue spaces and the green spaces. You will learn to gauge the odds of particular moves. Should you move through a space containing an animal you don't have or should you go in another direction? You will learn when to give up on an animal and turn the card in for another one. You will agonize about when to spend your travel vouchers to take an extra turn or change the direction of a route. In the end, you'll understand that this game is almost the perfect combination of luck and strategy.

One of the ways I judge a game is by the level of good tension it creates. Whenever I play WILDLIFE ADVENTURE, I have a knot in my stomach. I'm sitting there with a plan for my next turn, hoping my opponents don't mess it up, or even better, hoping they help me. It's a wonderful feeling. It's my definition of the joy of gaming.

This one is fun for everyone, gamers and non-gamers alike. It's a shame it is out of print and sadly copies of the English version are hard to find. But copies of the German version are available, and all you'll need is a copy of the English rules and translations of the cards.

Don't take my word for it, or anyone else's for that matter. Give this one a try yourself.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by David
Where do you want to go today?
April 12, 2000

This is another simple but challenging German game. This one is absolutely wonderful. Three expeditions, controlled by all the players, take you around the world. You have to get the expeditions to the sites corresponding to the cards in your hand. During your turn you try to direct one of the expeditions where you need it to go--and of course during the other players turns they are going to send the expeditions elsewhere. This is a great blocking game that is simple enough for preteens but will keep the hardened gamer thinking. This was my first Wolfgang Kramer game and it made me a fan. Tikal, Magalon and El Caballero have not disappointed me either but this I feel is his best. Can't wait to try Viva Pamplona next.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Big Kids & Little Kids will love this!
October 03, 1999

A kids' game of learning about endangered animals becomes a game of block and parry to adult players. Players take expeditions throughout the continents to find their endangered species, but can block and change the routes of the other expeditions to block them and thwart their expeditions! It's easy to learn, fun to play, and everyone who has played it has loved it! Game lovers love it - game haters love it! Little ones and big people will have fun for hours!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun for Families but Challenging for Gamers
July 20, 1998
For anyone who missed out on Wildlife Adventure or Abenteuer Tierwelt, this is the update. The new game has been modified only slightly--two to six players travel around the globe visiting archeological sites rather than seeking rare wildlife. Expedition builds slowly, as players map prospective global routes. The pace quickens as players race toward the completion of their respective expeditions, dashing across the map, visiting all their required sites, gathering points. Along the way, players can guess at opponents goals, throwing obstacles or changing routes in a combined offensive and defensive push. Like another classic, Hase und Igel, this is a game that is fun for families but challenging enough for gamers to play again and again.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Greg
Fun family game
July 25, 2000

Works best with 2 or 3. With 4 there is too little control. Fun kids game, just don't play too cutthroat with them.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Better than Candy Land
October 25, 2000

Of the 'adult' games from Europe, this may well be the very worst. The concept is to extend three paths around the world until you can make one of them reach a site of which you hold the corresponding card. Or, if you can't do that, make it connect to a site where the card is sitting face-up on the game board.

Now, if there were a couple of copies of each card, so that both you and an opponent may be attempting to be the first to make the expedition reach a particular site, then there would be some conflict and strategy. But, in this game, everything is sitting before you and all you do is connect the dots.

I've tried this game several times, always with at least one player who says it's one of the best games of all time. Yet, I have never seen its virtue. It's just a dull exercise in choosing which space to move to so that you can get rid of a card.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for National Geographic Expedition:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.