My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
Clue DVD Game
 
Store:  Family Games
Series:  Clue
Theme:  Mystery
Genre:  Logic & Deduction
Format:  Board Games, DVD / VCR Games

Clue DVD Game


Your Price: $37.50
(Worth 3,750 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Players
10+ 3-5

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

Step out of your living room and into the mystery! Scotland Yard needs your help to crack 10 challenging interactive crimes, like The Monte Carlo Affair. Find out who, what, where and when the crimes took place. Investigate all your favorite suspects, plus 4 more, and more crime scenes! Collect virtual evidence as you go, and use the DVD to make secret accusations. There's even a bonus game for more mystery-solving excitement!

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Hasbro

  • Year: 2006

  • Players: 3 - 5

  • Ages: 10 and up

  • Weight: 1,058 grams

  • In order to play Clue DVD Game, you will have to provide a TV and DVD player

Contents:

  • 1 gameboard
  • 1 DVD
  • 10 suspect pawns
  • 4 plastic padlocks
  • 42 cards
  • 1 rule book / inspector's notebook
  • 1 red reader
  • 1 clue pad
  • 1 case file envelope

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 2.8 in 18 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
GREAT Family Game - Clue DVD - A HIT
August 16, 2009

Our family loves this game. With plenty of excitement, and a medium that works for teen, we have had hours of fun family time!

I solidly recommend this game.

 
 
 
 
 
by Elizibeth
It's fine!
March 18, 2009

All of the people who have problems with the game just don't know how to use it. You just need to keep track of whose turn is is, and move to your next location on your own. You also make suggestions on your own. You only use the DVD for going through secret passages, reading notes, seeing the butler, looking at an item card, and accusing. we had a blast.

 
 
 
 
 
by jesus
Excellent game!
February 12, 2007

This game is the best board game i have ever played. we got it in christmas and is more fun even than the xbox, all my family loves it, we only left 3 cases to play so i hope parker brothers make a new dvd with new cases! we will be looking forward for it, ah and please read the instructions before play and put a review here!

 
 
 
 
 
by Lindsey West
Amazing
January 01, 2007

I have always loved the original Clue game but this is even more amazing. My friends and I played it for hours. It is great how you can pick a different case each time. We also loved how the DVD tells you exactly how to set it up. This is one of the only fun board games where you actually have to use your brain instead of just uselessly sitting there. It trains you to notice things more and to be observant.

The age limit set is for 10 and up which I think is very appropriate. Any younger than 10 year olds might not be able to pick up on the clues as easily as others.

 
 
 
 
 
by victor
clue dvd game is GREAT!
January 06, 2008

I'm not normally a board game fan, but I must say this game is an exception. The fact that it is dvd interactive does help, but even compared to "scene it" which is also dvd inreactive, this game is way more fun and does not only rely on memory like scene it does. You have to use your own logic too. The only problem is that there are only 10 interactive cases and the solutions don't change. Maybe they will release a bonus dvd one day?! Anyway overall this is a well thought out game and beats the classic clue game hands down!

Note: some other reviewers complained about "loops". This phenomena did happen to me too at first but then i tried a different dvd player and all was good since.

 
 
 
 
 
by Emily
So much fun!!
January 24, 2007

I really don't understand what these other reviewers are talking about, with the looping and the difficult directions - me and three friends just played this game the other night and had a really fun time.

None of us had ever played it before, yet we were able to understand pretty much what we were doing after only a few turns. There were no problems with looping (were people getting the same clues over and over or something?) and... it was just a really fun game.

I don't know how people could mess up a game like this, the DVD tells you what to do, and then you just walk your little pieces around the board, accuse other characters, walk secret passages, hear clues from the inspector, etc. It's not that hard. I only gave it 4 1/2 because one time the inspector's note told us to look at #27 in the booklet, which is the sample clue. BUT THAT WAS THE ONLY PROBLEM!!! Otherwise, wonderful game. Play it with friends if you have nice friends. If you don't then, I'm sorry :(.

 
 
 
 
 
by Morgan
Great game: For those who like less conventional
December 16, 2006

Okay, I had heard mixed reviews on this game, and a friend of ours had a copy and loved it. So, we borrowed it and gave it a try. Now, to those of you who love the monotonous play of checking off suspects and items that normal clue gives you, you probably won't like this game. It does require you to be somewhat observant, unlike the family who submitted the review before mine. But, if you like having to really sniff through interesting and dynamic clues, this is a very good alternative to the Parker Brothers classic because it allows you to think about situations and scenarios set up by the DVD.

So, all in all, I personally enjoyed it because the game depends a lot more on things said by characters on the DVD while integrating this with the classic card clue style, which not only makes it more interesting to play, but gives the Clue world a whole new dimension and life.

The only reason I didn't give the game 5 stars is because the game only deals with robbery of items from the Mansion, which takes a little bit of the fun out of it for me.

 
 
 
 
 
by Chris
Good game, but instructions need a little work
January 07, 2007

We enjoyed the game and have not yet had an "infinite loop" problem... though it does take us ~1-2 hours to finish a case. The instructions could definitely have been a little more clear. Also, the game could have been a little more challenging for the adults, but for younger kids it is probably just right.

 
 
 
 
 
by JR and DAN
Clue DVD game
December 28, 2006

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent, Very entertaining. Clues are given and easy to follow, I did have a few problems with the rules at first because there is no rules on taking a secret passage and is what we thought we had to do to run the game. However shortly after starting the first game it became easier to follow. Clues within "clues" made more sense during the second game. Dose take along time to play however that is the best part of the game. Makes spending money on a game with only 10 cases a little easier knowing that it will entertain for over an hour. Great Fun! Good Job Parkers Brothers. Now Bring out more preset Cases so the fun can last longer!!!

 
 
 
 
 
by Texas
Problems with DVD
January 21, 2008

Our family was disappointed with the Clue DVD game we purchased at Christmas. Upon further research I noticed that other consumers were having the same problems with the DVD looping and not working correctly. I went to the Hasbro website and sent an email to the customer service department concerning our problems and whether we should take this back to the store. Their response took about 2 weeks, but I did receive an email back that they are mailing us a replacement DVD at no charge. Hope this information helps someone else.

 
 
 
 
 
by Amy
Disappointed
January 28, 2007

I have waited to purchase this game since Christmas. It was sold out everywhere. I finally found it this week, I played it with four adults. YAWN..... we kept looking at the same cards over and over and kept having to go through secret passages that really didn't help either. The butler and the inspector never even showed up, not ONCE!! I am highly disappointed, I loved the old fashion board game, I guess I will be going back to that. I wish I would have researched this game before I spent money on something so useless.

 
 
 
 
 
by K Dobbins
Upset
February 03, 2007

It was easy to get the game set up because all you do is listen to the instructions on the DVD. But after that, the only choice that the DVD gave us was to take the Secret Passage. It never gave us the option to move to an adjacent location on any of the cases. (and we tried several of them). It seemed many other have experienced this problem of being "stuck." I think many of the games sold had defective DVDs.

 
 
 
 
 
by Shellee White
I am disappointed in Parker Brothers
November 23, 2006

My family tried to play this with 3 adults and 1 teenager and not only was it hard to play and follow.....it left my daughter in tears of frustration. The instruction book and DVD are not clear and you are never sure who's turn it really is. But wait cause it got worse. It constantly looped so after trying to play this game for 3 hours (one player left after the first hour taunting me for wasting my money on such a crummy game) that we cheated and looked into the envelope so we could enter the answers on the accusation screen....and you'll never believe it but it told us how smart we were and proceeded to show us all the clues we used that we never even saw. All in all I was left angry and frustrated and have emailed a huge complaint to Hasbro since Target won't take it back because we opened it......

Thank you Parker Brothers for ruining our family game night....

 
 
 
 
 
Forget the DVD... stick with the classic
April 30, 2008

A few weeks ago, I sat down with a group of friends to play the this DVD version of Clue. I was extremely disappointed, as were most of the other people who played the game.

I didn't have the "looping" glitches that other reviewers have written about, but even without them, the game simply isn't FUN. Instead of rolling the dice, you choose one of several options on the TV screen and the same silly animation occurs every time, supposedly taking you through the passages of the mansion. As you sit there watching the animation, you think to yourself, "Why couldn't I just roll a die and move my character on the board? I could be done with my turn already!!!" The DVD element really slows the game down. It took us over three hours to play the game.

The only redeeming factor this game has is that there are different "case files" that you can choose from. But then again, if you hated the gameplay experience as much as I did the first time, you probably won't ever try it again.

Don't get me wrong: I love a good game of Clue every once in a while. But sometimes technology isn't an improvement. Just stick with the classic version.

 
 
 
 
 
by Crystal Whisenant
I was not impressed with Clue.
December 25, 2007

The game kept getting stuck in the secret passageway. This was the only option the game ever gave me and my family to do. The butler and inspector never showed up and the game kept stopping here over and over. The game never moved passed player one. This game was a worthless waste of an hour. We are definitely taking it back to get another game.

 
 
 
 
 
The Clue DVD Game Needs Work!
December 29, 2006

I agree totally with the family that had problems with the game. They laid out exactly what my family went through trying to get the game to work. The DVD and rule book are worthless. You get stuck in loops doing the same thing and never know whose turn it really is. I bought my game at Target and am taking it back. This is a lot of money to pay for something that was a huge waste of time...

 
 
 
 
 
by Janet
Disappointed to say the least
December 26, 2006

We got this Clue game as a Christmas present. We tried to use this unfriendly game for over an hour and got stuck each time. If frustration is what you are looking for by purchasing this game for your family then I would suggested you purchase it however, we never got additional clues and have brought it back to where it was purchased to exchange it for friendlier game one that actually lets you have FUN and Family game night.

 
 
 
 
 
by unhappy
Clue DVD unsatisfactory
December 20, 2006

My family, though not the one insulted by the previous snid reviewer, is very observant. But if you're stuck in the loop for several hours, there isn't much to observe. The butler never shows up. Nothing happens. It just loops and loops and loops. The instruction manual does NOT address this issue. Extremely frustrating. Hasbro will be hearing from many people, especially since this item is sold out!

Other Resources for Clue DVD Game:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.