My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Can't Stop
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Can't Stop

List Price: $39.99
Your Price: $31.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 3,199 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []

Product Awards:  

Ages Play Time Players
9+ 30 minutes 2-4

Designer(s): Sid Sackson

Manufacturer(s): FRED Distribution

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

The classic push your luck game in its stop-sign format.

Can't Stop! is the name of the game. Once you've started this intense dice game, you just can't stop! You’ll go for the dice again and again only to risk losing it all on a single roll. Sid Sackson's classic "Can't Stop" returns!

Product Awards

Games Magazine Awards
Best Family Game Nominee, 2008
Major FUN
Award Winner, 2007
Spiel des Jahres
Nominee, 1982

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Sid Sackson

  • Manufacturer(s): FRED Distribution

  • Year: 2007

  • Players: 2 - 4

  • Time: 30 minutes

  • Ages: 9 and up

  • Est. time to learn: 5-10 minutes

  • Weight: 912 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are language-independent. Manufacturer's rules are printed in multiple languages (including English). This is a domestic item.


  • 1 game board
  • 4 dice
  • 4x11 game pieces
  • 3 playing pieces
Can't Stop has the following expansions available:
Can't Stop: Orange Pieces
extra player markers (Temporarily Out of Stock)

Can't Stop: Black Pieces
extra player markers (Temporarily Out of Stock)
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Call My Bluff
English language edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Zombie Dice
(16% savings!)
Martian Dice (Restocking)
(20% savings!)

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 3.9 in 11 reviews

Sort reviews by:

A classic game that belongs in nearly every game collection
May 31, 2012

The year 2011 saw the release of a brand new edition of the old favourite Can't Stop. It's an evergreen press-your-luck dice-rolling filler from master designer Sid Sackson, and one of the most outstanding games of its type, so if you've never played it before, do yourself a favour and check out why it's been so popular.

In Can't Stop, players roll four standard dice, which they'll divide into two pairs. This entitles them to move their markers up the corresponding tracks numbered 2 through 12 (all the possible results for a pair of D6s) on a stop-signed shaped board. If you get your marker to the top first, you can claim that column, and the first player to claim three columns wins the game. But now here's the catch: on your turn you can keep re-rolling in an effort to move your markers further - but if you roll a combination of dice that doesn't let you make a pair of dice that moves upward at least one of the three markers you're using that turn, you lose everything you've gained that turn. Ah, press-your-luck at it's best!

Can't Stop has a fun and addictive quality about it, and despite the fact that you're pushing luck, it's not pure luck because there's enough decision making to make it interesting. It's also quick enough to prevent the luck from being too frustrating. It's easy to teach and learn, and has attractive components, so it all comes together in a package that makes it the kind of game that is suitable for just about everyone. As far as press-your-luck dice games go, this is a tried and true classic from a master designer, that still has the same appeal today as it did when it was first released 30 years ago, and that matches the best of the press-your-luck dice rolling fillers of the modern era. The new edition is excellent, and I love the stop sign board and the traffic cone shaped runners! Highly recommended!

EndersGame, BGG reviewer

by A Gamer
Fun family game!
November 27, 2007

This has been a family favorite game for over 15 years. It is fun for all ages. I started playing this game when I was still considered a kid and was able to comprehend. Very easy and yet very competitive. It is a fun game whether there is 2 or more players.

Great fun for our whole family
March 27, 2004

We received the game as a gift about 20 years ago and have been looking for another one for about 15 years. We would like to make a gift of it to friends who have also enjoyed the game. We love the game. Our whole family enjoys playing it. If you know where we can get one, please let us know.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
A classic in a cute package
November 02, 2002

Sid Sackson's Can't Stop is a true classic. Simple rules, a fun blend of luck and strategy, maddeningly addictive. At it's core it is a subtle test of informed gambling: understanding how the probabilities determine the odds, and that in turn determines how much you should risk. Tactics play a huge role, too, though -- the 'smart' play changes according to the game situation.

Even without a professional publication, Can't Stop is a worthy pastime that could effectively be played with four dice and a piece of paper. This explains the abundant supply of computer-play simulations of this simple but addictive concept. But I must disagree with the previous review who thinks that the packaging is overly elaborate or expensive for Sid Sackson's classic. A no-frills publication of a grid, with accompanying dice, might appeal sufficiently to the student of probabilities, but there is extra fun in the cute elements here to draw in non-gamers. I like the little mountain-climbing motif and the attractive wooden tokens. The roll-out vinyl-ish board is delightfully retro. It all adds to the fun and broadens its appeal.

Five stars for a simple but classic game, in a cute package.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Fast and fun
July 26, 2000

There is plenty of luck, but there's also skill. Playing the correct odds will give you more victories over a large series of games. Lots of tension (and frustration). Fun, fast game.

We use a variant where with 2 players you need 5 columns and with 3 you need 4 columns (instead of 3) to win.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by J K.
Family Favorite... or Vegas Training Device?
January 21, 2007

Such a good game that incorporates multiple people, nail-biting decisions, and "baby needs a new pair of shoes" old-fashion casino dice rolling. Our family has played this as a rite of passage to test personality traits (too conservative? too liberal?), pass the time, and to just have some sweating-it-out fun, and would recommend highly.

The general concept of rolling combinations of numbers between 2 and 12, and having to stick with the 3 chosen that turn, leads to a good trade-off of "do I stop, or....well, just one more" gut checking that has lent itself to broader life lessons for which we thank Can't Stop's makers enough. They are unlikely to be thanked, however, by those whose addictive personalities (fed by the fever of reachin' up higher each number line) end up transitioning to Craps or other salary-risking table games (note: zero statistics here to back this up and simply meant to underscore the "go for it" nature of the game, lol). Perhaps a better way to sum it up is casino-like thrill without the risk of losing your shorts.

All-age play, typically fast turns (exceptions exist on occasion - you know who you are), and best of all a funky orange, bumpy stop sign that compels you to play feed a 4 star rating. Simplicity, the occasional lengthy turn by the nervous, and a limit on strategy based primarily on dice rolls keeps it out of the 5 star ether. I will note that, like many great abstract games (Pente anyone?) or piece/dice games, one can emulate Can't Stop using simple equipment, paper/pencil, or the like (assuming dice, and lack of trademark infringement), lending it true portability aside from toting the pizza-sized box to and fro and extending its play.

Must stop writing so I Can't Stop playing... go grab a set.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Sarah
Quicker than original, but just as fun.
March 22, 2003

I think that Can't Stop the Turtles is as entertaining as the original Sid Sackson version, Can't Stop. The game definitely goes by much faster, with the wild dice, and less number rolls to capture a 'column.' This is an excellent size for traveling and can easily fit in purses or backpacks.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Roll up a mountain
November 28, 2002

Dice game have a love it or hate it quality to them. If short, I tend to like them, and Can't Stop is no exception. The best dice game may be Bluff/Call My Bluff, but Can't Stop is a decent game too. Players are climbing mountains with their markers using a unique dice system. Players roll 4 dice and pair them up how ever they want to get two sums. If they chose to sum the number (3+4) = 7 and (2+9) = 11 they can move one space up mountain 7, and one space up mountain 11. That simple. Players can have markers on every mountain, but can only choose 3 mountains to move up in a turn. Player keep track off how far they move this turn and if they CHOOSE to stop they get to keep those positions. If they come to a point where they roll in such a way as to not be able to move up one of the three mountains they chose during their turn, they lose all their progress for that turn. I tend to try and risk it all on the lower, shorter mountains, and consequently win big, or lose big. :)

Fun, short, and until recently, too expensive. With Can't Stop the Turtles out, it is now affordable. It is a travel version, and it the scoring changed a bit, but that can easily be switched back to the orginal scoring. Fun game to play from time to time.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Classic? Yes. Expensive? Very...
July 10, 2001

Franjos is one of the smaller game companies in Germany, and so the print runs of their games tend to be small. The downside of this is that the production costs tend to be high, and that cost is passed on to the consumer.

Can't Stop is a classic game of pushing your luck. It is not a complicated game by any means, and the old American version consisted of a plastic board, a few dice, a few markers, and that was about it. I don't know how the German version could be much more elaborate in its components, other than some much-needed artwork. The point is, though, that the game does not require much, component-wise. It could almost as easily be played on a sheet of paper with some colored pencils.

In deference to Mr. Sackson, Franjos, and Funagain, I won't reveal details of the game so you can rush out and make your own kit-bashed version, but I will say that as much as I like the game, I would not pay nearly that much for it.

Recommended, but at a lower price.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Pleasant uncomplicated game
June 29, 2000

See the staff comments of the for a lengthier review. This is a simple game which asks you to balance the chance of gaining more with the risk of losing everything you have attained on the current turn. That tension makes the play interesting, although it will not hold serious gamers for long. This is a good game for mixed groups of gamers and novices.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
First Player Wins on Third Turn
September 21, 2002

Can't Stop the Turtles is a remake of the Sid Sackson game Can't Stop. Let me make it clear that I am not reviewing Can't Stop.

Can't Stop the Turtles is a dice game, suitable for 2 or more players interested in a quick game with some probability, and some element of deciding how far to push your luck. Such a game would be a nice thing to have in your bag.

There is a piece of paper which comes with Can't Stop the Turtles which claims to be the rules. It describes some of the actions which take place in the game, such as rolling all four dice and separating them into pairs. The sums of these pairs determine which races you can advance in. If one of these pairs matches one you've already rolled on this turn, 'that's great!' Do I have to enter a race if I can, but don't want to? I don't know, but 'that's great!'.

It is hard to imagine that anyone playtested this game with the rules as written. The game ends before any `strategy' you may have decided on has time to bear fruit. The decision-making is made nearly automatic by the incredibly short races, loopholes in the so-called rules, and a wild-card on one of the dice. It's like playing Pass the Pigs to 20 points, with a mulligan. (The original rules to Can't Stop can be pieced together from the Internet, and make for an enjoyable game, which elicits varying, evolving strategies, and more subtlety than Pass the Pigs.)

Strangely, the rules also include a 'fast version', but I already own a copy of Rock-Paper-Scissors.

I would have given this game 2 stars if the painted-on spots on the dice it came with were still even readable after six weeks of play. (Yes, I have been using them a lot, but to play a different game, called Can't Stop.)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Can't Stop:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.