My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Rage

Rage

English language edition


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Product Awards:  
Major FUN
Award Winner, 2008

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 45 minutes 2-8

Manufacturer(s): Fundex, Amigo

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

RAGE is a trick taking game that starts with ten cards in your hand. Then, round by round, the number of cards (and options) reduce until, at last, you have only ONE card! Players predict the number of tricks they plan to take each round and score points for their accurate bidding. Sound easy? All of those outRAGEous action cards will keep you guessing!

Zoom In Cover Image: Rage
Close Zoomed Image aRageb
Cover

Product Awards

Major FUN
Award Winner, 2008

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Fundex, Amigo

  • Year: 2007

  • Players: 2 - 8

  • Time: 45 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 160 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #21

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #114

  • Language Requirements: Game components are language-independent.

Contents:

  • 110 cards:
    • 6 suits of 16 number cards
    • 14 action cards
  • instructions
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Wizard (Temporarily Out of Stock)
$7.99

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.4 in 76 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by Bryan Munson
It's all the Rage
February 01, 2011

My family has played this game until the deck is almost worn out, and at the price that's well worth it. Rage is a trick-taking, bidding game reminiscent of Spades or perhaps even the board game Canyon. The game is played in ten rounds with a decreasing number of cards dealt each round. The fewer the cards, the harder it is to determine if you will get the tricks you propose to take, and in this game you have to take the exact number you bid or the point deduction is deadly. Scoring can be a bit tricky at first but as long as one person is used to it, they can become the designated score keeper. This is a game we bring out for people who don't normally play board games, and it has never failed to work. Since it accommodates a large number of players, it is also a good one when you have more than four or five who want to play. I LOVE this game and am ready for a fresh deck to replace the old ones!

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Fun for a family or group
January 10, 2009

Bought this as a christmas gift along with a couple(4) more of other family and card games from this site and this one is the overall favorite. It took two rounds before all players understood the meaning of the rage cards and how to play it correctly but when they did, it made the game that much more exciting and strategic. My wife, son, parents, brother and sister all played this game and we all enjoyed it because it's a game where when you've met your quota of wins your trying to NOT win anymore where other players might want to win. You have to play it to understand.

The game is 1/2 strategy, 1/2 luck (the Rage cards and guessing the # of wins) but 100% FUN for all.

 
 
 
 
 
A load of fun!
September 20, 2008

Alright, I'm another one who bought this game, read the rules and said this is just Oh Hell! (That's what the rule books call it) with a few cards thrown in. It gathered dust until I kept seeing it on the Top Sellers list of this web site over and over. So I played it and it was a blast. It's the perfect family game and a good game to play when you want to leave your brains at first base and go running for home. Yes, there is some strategy to this game, but luck sticks it's head in and makes you scream. I have some relatives who are serious Contract Bridge players and although I love the game, when you play with them you feel like you are taking a final exam. I asked them to play a round of Rage! and it's the first time I've seen them let loose in my life. (My uncle even loosened his necktie!). For the money you can't lose.

 
 
 
 
 
Trick-taking, so much fun
January 16, 2008

did I mention this is a fun, fun game? If you like Spades/Rook I recommend you try this game, you wont be disappointed (i originally purchased and neglected this game upon reading the rules, but once I played it 2 years later this game always comes up as a subject of the evening).

 
 
 
 
 
by Bekah
Family Favorite
October 10, 2007

This game is also our family's favorite! We have been playing it long before I was born and wore out all of our decks! Now, every time someone is in Germany they bring back new decks for the whole family.

I recently discovered the Fundex Games version and am planning on playing it for the first time today! This is definitely the best card game I have ever played (and I am an avid card player). I have never taught RAGE to anyone that didn't love it! Happy card playing!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
No Other Game can compare
August 19, 2007

The key is in the scoring. This is an old-standard for our family. We have introduced many people (regular gamers and non-gamers alike) to this game. Invariably the response is, "Let's play that again!!" Fast, Fun, Challenging and a host of fun.

Our personal modification (for those who like a real challenge) is to change the scoring to be plus 5 for making your bid and minus 10 for missing it.

 
 
 
 
 
Best game ever
June 14, 2007

Everyone I've introduced this game to has bought it within a week! This is a great game for non-gamers. I have created card-game monsters with RAGE! I rated it a 5 because i have yet to find a game as addictive as this one.

 
 
 
 
 
by Norm Walker
Great Game
February 06, 2007

Rage is one of my families all time favorite games. I know it came out as early as 1983, but I think we have only been playing it since 1990 or there about.

Those that think the game is too chaotic it is simple to fix just take out the special cards. This simplifies the game and allows for strategies to play out in a more even manner. If there is to be any drinking involved and we are hoping for a fun time we will often leave the special cards in. If we are looking to reestablish old inter family rivalries then we take the extra cards out so that we can maximize our strategy.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Not For Whiners
December 06, 2005
Most of those who don't like this game, can be divided into two categories. (1) People who don't have the ability to make mid- game adjustments, and (2) Those who think the cards aren't "cool-looking." So if either of those trump your ability to enjoy a game, don't bother, this game isn't for you. This game still requires skill, it's just a different kind of skill. You have to constantly be aware of the probability of what you are doing, when to play what card. In that way, it's more like Texas Hold-em. You play the percentages. That's why people like it so much, because it's constantly changing. Plus you get to screw with your opponents. By the way, I win 65% of the time, if you were wondering.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Rage Rocks!
October 21, 2005

This game is awesome!

Most card games have too much of a luck element for my enjoyment. I prefer games with more skill involved. I have read several reviews that talk about the "Rage" cards messing up a perfectly good strategy, but that is the point of this game; thinking on your feet to compensate for unexpected plays by your opponents. If you want no element of chance, play chess. If you want a slightly random element that causes you to think on your feet, you'll love rage! You cannot always recover in every situation, but the best players win more often. Given 10 rounds of play, there is usually an opportunity for payback as well. And team rage adds a whole new strategy as you try to meet your combined bid while feeding bonuses to your partner and minuses to your opponents. A typical game takes half an hour, so when we sit down to play we usually play 3 or 4 games.

If you have never played this game you owe yourself the favor!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Not over until the last card is played!
March 03, 2005

I have never had so much fun! We used to get together and play hearts, every Tuesday night, but our group became too large. Rage was the answer.

We even started a league. The scoring was one point for playing, 1 for topping 100 points, 10 for winning, 5 for second and -5 for last. We played from 10 cards down to one and then back up again. We made bidding counters (the yellow peg is the season leader) and the playing vernacular have become part of our daily conversation. We always played with 2 decks so one was being shuffled as the other was dealt.

The best is a 6 man game. This allows 5 to gang up on one, trysts to be made from hand to hand and throughout a longer season rivalries to flourish. In this game you can almost always take someone down if you want to and the leader is always the target.

You have to play the rule that the bids can never equal the amount of tricks. Someone has to lose!

For those that say the "special cards" are a hinderance, they must be the ones that play checkers and never played backgammon. If you need the comfort of things always being the same, you mind as well play tic tac toe. I'd like to think it is a little bit like life. You make your plan and then something happens to mess it up. You adjust and something happens again. Sometimes in your favor, sometimes not. This is certainly a game where in each hand, it is not over until the last card is played.

We have just made a pact to start the league again and I can't wait!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Even through your Rage you will love this game.
January 25, 2005

This game has to be the best trick-taking game ever. It takes some of the greatest aspects of other games and throws them all together in a crazy mix that everyone loves. The mixture of a bidding game (where you have to be exactly right) and the chaos cards make it so the best-laid plans may be in vain.

The Rage comes from the fact that sometimes you lose a trick when you play the highest card (15), and other times you will win a trick with the lowest (0). Because everything changes when trump can be changed mid- round. This causes everyone to adjust their strategy during the round, and first place can quickly become last. This happened to my friend when we played for the first time, and I thought he would be upset and hate the game. Instead he asked if we could play again.

My favorite part of the game is the diminishing hands. Since you have fewer cards in hand each round, the rounds get faster and faster. So, about the time you think the game is taking too long, it's almost over. Then it ends so fast that you think, "Hey that didn't take too long, let's play again".

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rage
January 03, 2005

This game is the best ever. Our family enjoyed it for years but when several of the cards became lost we couldn't play any more. When we started playing our kids ranged from 5 years to 17 years and they all had a blast. Even though it has been many years since we played they all remember how much fun they all had. We will be so happy to be able to play it again.

Even for those who are very competitive it is a blast. The fact that everything can change on an instant is what makes the game challenging. It is not predictable. The idea is to be able to bid correctly even though everything changes. That takes real talent and strategy. It is the only game I know where even those who loose don't usually mind and enjoy themselves enormously especially when they see the best laid plans of the others go awry.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great trick-taking game!
April 22, 2004

Quite a few games inspire anger in those playing - often directed at others involved. Now occasionally this means a game wont be played often, if ever (i.e. Diplomacy), because the fits of rage and irritation can last far beyond the actual game play. When I first heard about Rage! (Amigo, 2000 - no designer accredited, other versions go back as far as 1985), I was initially interested because it was one of the top selling items as Funagain Games, a large online game retailer. But the title of the game sounded as if people would get upset playing the game, so I purchased it with some trepidation.

This opinion was, well, quite unfounded. I have seen some irritation of people playing Rage - but either at the game mechanics (they arent too fond of them), or temporarily screwage by another player. But the annoyance doesnt last very long. The game is an extremely fun trick-taking game, with the added ability of being able to support up to eight players. When I have a large group of people willing to play a fun, light game, this is one of my top choices. Theres probably more randomness than other card games, but this one certainly invokes the fun factor than any other trick-taking card game I own.

A large deck of 115 cards is shuffled for use in game play. The deck is made up of 16 cards, numbered 0 to 15, in six different colors: red, yellow, purple, green, blue, and orange. In addition, the deck includes sixteen action cards of five different types. A score sheet is prepared (can be copied from the instructions), and the first of ten rounds is begun. In the first round, ten cards are dealt to each player, with nine cards the second round, and so on - until the tenth round, in which only a single card is dealt to each player. The remainder of the cards is set in the middle of the table, and the top card is turned over, until a colored card is revealed. The color revealed is the trump color for this round.

At the beginning of each round, after the trump color is revealed, players examine their hands and, starting with the first player, declare how many tricks they will win this round - this number being recorded on the score sheet. The player to the left of the dealer goes first, and plays the first card of the first trick (there being ten tricks in the first round, nine in the second, etc.) Each player, in clockwise order, must play a card of the color led, if they have one in their hand. Otherwise, they may play any card in their hand, including action cards. The player who played the highest card in the color led wins the trick, UNLESS trump colored cards are on the table, in which case the highest of them wins. All the cards played are placed in a stack in front of the player who won them, who keeps such stacks separately, in order to show how many tricks they won. The winner of the trick plays the lead card of the next trick, and so on - until all cards have been played. If the first person in a trick plays an action card, then the second player (or possibly third, etc.) determines the lead color for that trick.

What distinguishes Rage from generic card games are the special cards, which do the following: (number in parenthesis is how many are included in the deck.)

- Joker (2) - is a wild card, and can be whatever the player declares it to be. The second Joker is considered a higher value than the first.

- X (4) - This card Without Trump cancels the trump color for the current trick. After the trick is over, a new card is drawn, possibly changing the color of trump.

- ! (4) - This card, Change Trump cancels the trump color, changing it immediately, drawing the top card for possibly a new color.

- +5 (3) - Whoever wins this trick gains five points.

- -5 (3) - Whoever wins this trick loses five points.

After a round is over, each player scores points according to a few factors. If they were correct in their proclamation on how many tricks they would win, they gain 10 points. Otherwise, they lose five points. Either way, they gain one point for each trick they took and gaining (or losing) bonus points for each bonus card they took in one of their tricks. The scores are tallied on the sheet, and play proceeds to the next round, with the dealer passing to the right. After the tenth round, the player with the highest total score is the winner!

Some comments on the game...

1.) Components: The cards are of extremely high quality, and fit (just barely) in the box - which is one that I like - having a lid, rather than one that opens at the top. The box and card backs are attractive, and while they dont have a lot to do with the game - does any theme in a card game? The card fronts are very distinguishable, both with numbers and colors - except that a colorblind person will not be able to play the game, as several of the colors are extremely similar.

2.) Rules: The rules for the Amigo version are only in German, but the English rules are easily downloadable off the net. The game is very easy to teach - immensely so to those who are already big fans of trick-taking games.

3.) Rook: When I was in college, Rook was the rage, and everywhere you went, you could find people playing it. My brother-in-law was himself a huge fan of it, and we spent some arguments over whether the game was skill based or luck based - I stated that a logical person could do well, regardless of experience. To prove my point, I entered the Rook tournament, and managed to get in the same bracket as him. When we and our partners met, I won - one of my most satisfactory wins ever. I was then taken out by my girlfriend (now wife) who wouldnt even play on my team, because she agreed with her brother. Her trophy for winning the whole tournament is now proudly sitting on our game shelf. I say all this to say that Rage is extremely similar to Rook - with the two extra colors, lack of bidding, and special cards being the main differences. That is not to say that those three things dont change the game - they do! But most Rook fans Ive taught the game to enjoy it, although its not as pure as Rook. Ive also read that this game is a variant of the game Oh Hell, although I dont know enough about that game to compare.

4.) Variants: There are a great many variants available for the game, with a few of them even included in the rules. My favorite one is where in the last round, players stick the card they draw to their head - seeing everyone elses card but their own. This can turn the last hand into a total crapshoot, but makes it so much fun. Secret trick bidding, getting two points if you win ALL the bids - all these variants make the game more interesting, when used sparingly.

5.) Chaos: The game is certainly not more chaotic. Even with all eight players drawing ten cards in the first round, there are still 35 cards that arent used. This makes card counting impossible, and players have no idea whats in the deck. The two jokers also add a degree of unpredictability, but the main source of chaos is from the two different cards that change trump. Both of them have an extreme effect on the game, and can really destroy someones battle plan. Some people really dislike these cards, as it makes it harder to plan (this is where the Rage comes in, I guess) - but I think that they add a lot of fun to the game.

6.) Fun Factor: As I mentioned in the previous point, the special cards add a lot of chaos to the game. This may turn some off from the game, as it doesnt really make the game that much more strategic. From a pure strategy, good game play point of view, Rage doesnt rate up there that highly. So what makes it so fun? Well, it can handle up to eight players for one - and how many games do that successfully? The laughter that accompanies a change in trump, someone being forced to play a card when they dont want to - seeing someone play a Joker to win a trick, only to see two others throw down -5 cards - all of this makes the game a rollicking good time.

But its not a gamers game. Of course, some - like myself, prefer a fun game to a mechanically sound one. Dont get me wrong, Ill enjoy a Die Macher game with the rest of them - but there is a time and a place for fun and levity, and Rage fits the bill quite nicely. With its 45 minute time slot and its ability to work in large crowds Rage often is played in my house and game clubs. I found that its a great introduction to get people who normally only played games such as Uno to realize that there are other great games out there. If you have a chance to get Rage - do so, its a good deal for how inexpensive it is. There are better card games, but not too many games that are more fun.

Tom Vasel

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ruth
An Excellent Family Game For All Ages
February 14, 2004

We were introduced to this game by friends about 13 years ago and have played it ever since but have desperately been seeking new cards as ours are ready to fall apart and no-one in Australia stocks them. Three generations of family play this game and when our grandchildren are old enough they too will be introduced to the game.

Ruth :)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
made by experts used by connoisseurs
January 19, 2004

this is by far the best card game ever you can make friends and enemys all in the space of an hour and still all be laughing at the finish and best of all want more ours has been played by so many from all parts of the world and they in turn want their own deck but sad to say we cant find any in england.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Awesome
December 21, 2003

This game rocks. You should try putting together two decks and playing cancellation Rage!

Every good game has a perfect blend of luck and skill. Rage combines both and you'll never have the same results. The game changes radically with number of players, their personality and skill.

Not to be played with those weak of heart as friends and/or family will dash your hopes of achieving success with a 'change rage' just because!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
To rage or Not to Rage
September 16, 2003

I have played RAGE when if first came out through UNO. I can assure all of you that are looking for a good card game to play this is one to try, the reason being is that you can have strategy but it rarely if ever can continue with your basic strategy that you started with.

You must be flexible to play this game well. Thus said those of you that like to plod on and never really alter your course through a game because of new factors... Decide not to rage, however for those of you that like flexibility in a game and like to change to new circumstances on a card to card basis, you should definitely consider, to RAGE.

I have played this game countless times at this point and the possibility's of change magnify the startegy of this game.

The inherent capability of this game to cahnge while remaining the same, and the simplicity in which this game functions provides hours of fun wihtout any serious lack of becoming hum drum.

Also for those of you that need card games that go a little shorter, to play during lucnh break, or whatever. Try skipping all the even card hands. The game goes very fast and keeps the fun of the last one card trick! A worthy short game addition that I continue to enjoy today!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The best fun we've had in our 2 years of game nights!
August 21, 2003

This game is so much fun! It's unpredictable, outRAGEously funny, frustrating, and for those of us who lose to the more strategic and mentally gifted folks on a regular basis, this is wonderful! It is impossible for anyone to count cards or manage to keep track with the quick changes involved! Zap 'em with a minus 5, change the trump, no trump at all, wild card, etc. etc. It's great! No way can anyone call this game boring! Even bidding is fun! Take a guess and maybe you'll make it, or maybe you'll be outRAGED!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Kelly
Best Card Game ever made
July 24, 2003

I have had a deck of RAGE cards since 1983. I wore it out and was lucky to get another deck. It is worn out also. My family loves to play it. My 5 year old loves to play it. It is the best card game that everyone can enjoy.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Sarah
Love the Game
July 13, 2003

I grew up playing this game with my family. My Grandmother's deck is so old you can't tell the difference between the red and orange cards. Now that I have a family of my own, I've wanted the game, but couldn't find it anyway. But now that I do have it, we are already wearing this deck out!!!!!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Scott
Best card game of all time!
July 04, 2003

Me and my family wore out 5 decks of Rage in the 80's until we couldn't find it. We haven't played Rage since then, but are looking foreward to getting a new deck! On weekends we will typically play card games, plural. When we had Rage, that was all we played because it was so fun. The game is simple enough to play, but more difficult to master. That is what makes it so replayable.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Have played it so much we wore out the deck.
May 06, 2003

My family (5 kids) and my brother and sisters (9)has been playing this game every Sunday for years and were in a panick when the deck started wearing out. It was no longer produced and we had to combine two decks to keep playing. I was so suprized when I searched on the internet and found this website selling a German version. We can't wait to get the new deck!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
fantastic card game
March 22, 2003

We really enjoy this game we play it with friends every sat. night. We have had the us version for many years. The cards are that worn that they are getting brittle. We have looked all over for this game for months. Finally we tried on the internet and all we could find is the German version. So I purchased 5 decks of them all are friends wanted a deck for themselves.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Cheri
We Love Rage!
February 26, 2003

We have had great fun playing Rage with our family and friends! Everyone can play and it gets the kids involved with the adults! We highly recommended this game!!! My daughter plays this game with her husband's family and they have worn out one Rage game already and will be purchasing another.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Don't be turned away!
February 05, 2003

This is one of the best card games I've ever played. I was reading the reviews, one of the negatives said , 'have a stinky hand bid zero,how hard is that.' Yeah sure, you never know,Delt one card,you have a stinky red 1, trump is green, ah no way I'm taking this trick I you bid zero,then someone plays a change trump, guess what, red! and boom your the only one with red, you take the trick! ARGH it's not that simple to bid your hand. Although my Dad is so good at getting his bid of zero even delt with ten cards, how he does it? Luck, cuz it never works for me. My favorite is holding a 'change rage' at the last trick of the game so you know your probably messing someone up!

My whole family loves this game. We've had it since it first came out and was happy to find it republished. Even the family members who won't play many games like to play this one.

More fun games: #1 Eletronic 'Catchphrase', Frank's Zoo, Guillotine, The Great Dalmuti, Instinct, Fill or bust

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The best card game ever
January 18, 2003

This is the best and most fun card game I have ever played!!! Every Friday night was spent playing Rage with 6 - 7 friends who also loved it. We couldn't wait for Friday. Rage is one of those games that can be frustrating but still loads of fun, I especially hate it/love it when you have one card left that matches the trump card and then some clown changes the rage on you.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rage is ALL the Rage
January 14, 2003

If you haven't enjopyed Rage it's because you're not playing it properly - it really is the coolest card game for a bunch of friends to play together and chat around... the ultimate is probably 5-7 people - less is too little and more is too crowded but grab some coffee and snacks and play a couple of games and once you get into it it really can be quite addictive...

Once you get over the necessary annoyance of explaining the rules to new people they are generally hooked and you can play until the birds begin to chirp - many times we (at a place called Highbury in Cape Town South Africa) played right through to the early hours of the morning...

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Randy
Two great games in one
January 09, 2003

Amen to all the previous rave reviews and did you know that if you remove all the special cards you've got yourself a deck to play another fantastic German game, Sticheln (that's 'pin prick' in English). Rules can be found at gamecabinet.com. It does require four to five bloodthirsty, backstabbing players.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rage is the greatest game in the world!
January 06, 2003

A lot like crazy 8's, Rage is a wonderful guy's get together kind of game, over a few beers and some laughs. It's a lot less intimidating for families to learn than, say, pinochle, and it's a lot more competative than Uno. It requires one to keep track of points, like with either of the aforementioned games, but it is a laugh a minute, and it's great for people who don't like endless games of Uno played by family.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jim
A Great Game ... By Far A Must Own!
November 17, 2002

IT's BACK ... I FOUND IT !!! This is by far one of my favorite games out there. I got it about 18 years ago and still own the original and it is getting very worn out. We still play it a lot and is by far the top of the list to play on family nights. This will be bought again just to have a spear deck around. If you like trick taking games with a good twist then this is for you. Thanks for this new release. I collect card games with about 25 now on hand and this is still at the top of the list. I know the game frontwards and backwards and will always bring it out for ones to play. I have even designed some games of my own around the same idea as RAGE and a few others with my own twist mixed in. Thanks again for bringing it out again and will look for others like it. <><

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Undescribable ...but I'll try
November 01, 2002

I played this game when it first came out w/friends and we went through 4 or 5 decks within a couple years. We played continually. I haven't been able to find it again until now. I was willing to pay the price just to have the card game again; it is well worth it.....

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A Refulgent Game!
July 07, 2002

My husband and I absolutly LOVE this game! We have introduced it to many friends and family. Several have now purchased it as well. RAGE is a great gift. It isn't one of those games that involve sure luck, it is very unpredictable. It may take a while to get the hang of the scoring, but once you get it, you'll be on a roll! With the scoring you can be in last place and within a few hands, you may be winning!

We vote for tricks a different way. Everyone looks at their cards and thinks about how many tricks they are going to take. Then everyone puts their fist in the middle to show they are ready to vote. Then '1,2,3, show.' With our fingers we show how many tricks we are going to take. We also take turns with dealing so the same person isn't always starting. It is just our own little twist on the game!

A tip that may come in handy is to always vote low on the tricks you are going to take, you never know what is going to happen with the trump, or how others may play their cards!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
@&$^*#!!! Is what I have been known to say when playing Rage
April 02, 2002

The title 'Rage' was an understatement, I can tell you that. Whatever the correct word is, I saw it in myself my parents, my brother, and my grandparents. It provides a great deal of laughing, holding in verbal outbreaks, and overall great fun (especially when one player gets hit with 3 '-5's' in the same trick). Besides, the game's shear unpredictability can make anyone look like a genius, but no matter what, nothing you do can get you called stupid. How can you argue with that?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Family Favorite!
March 02, 2002

Our family of 6 has been playing Rage since the 80's ...we played it so much our cards became like cloth and were impossible to shuffle anymore. We looked and looked for a new Rage game and couldn't find one anywhere ...until a few years ago when our son found one online and we were back in business! In the interim, we discovered a new game, Wizard, that helped fill the gap ...now we're hooked on both games!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Terry S
great card game hours of fun
February 03, 2002

We've been playing rage for years our whole family loves it our 1st deck is getting wore out but my brother in law found decks in the early nineties and bought 1 for us as a spare. We used our old deck most of the time. Our 2nd deck is still like new in box. Now we've found more decks we will keep new original deck. We play rage at most family get togethers and everone likes playing it. we have mille bornes, uno, uno 99, phase 10 also good, and luck plus. rage is our favorite and if you play it i think it would be 1 of your favorite to.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rich
Good game but cards can also be used to play other games
December 22, 2001

Rage is a good trick-taking card game that can be a little chaotic at times with the addition of Action Cards and/or a Trump card played ruining your hand. Traditional card players may find the play a bit unconvential and be turned off. I find the 'luck' factor to be fun and, at the same time, challanging. There are several different strategies, and if you get past the illusion that you are never in control, you will discover them.

I give this game 5 stars because it is an excellent value. If you analyze many card games, they are games based on a regular deck of 52 cards with a theme pasted on. Rage has 6 suits numbered 0-15 and special action cards. If you read rules carefully, you can easily construct other card games out of this deck. Two prime examples are Lost Cities and [page scan/se=0482/sf=category/fi=stockin.asc/ml=20]Wizard.

For Lost Cities, you would pick 5 suits and use the numbers 2-10,and 12-14. You would use the 2-10 cards like normal and the 12-14 cards as investment cards.

For Wizard, you would pick 4 suits and use the numbers 1-13. You would use the 4 'No Trump' cards as the 'Fool Cards' and the 4 'Change Trump' cards as the 'Wizard' cards.

I'm sure you can think of other card games that you can play using the Rage deck. I own many board and card games and I am perfectly willing to spend my hard earned money on good games, but I don't feel it's necessary to spend money on a 'theme'. I apologize to the game designers, but if they don't like it, then they should take more care in the design of their games to make the theme a more integral part of the game, and provide cards that cannot be easily duplicated by another card game. In any case, many of these card games are simply take-offs of older, more popular games anyway.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great Family Game
December 10, 2001

Our original deck was so dog-earred we only got it out for special occasions and no food or drink was allowed around it. It has been our family's favorite game since we got it back in 1984. Even the little kids (8 years and up) can understand and have fun playing. We're glad it's back!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Boy, am I glad this game is back!
December 07, 2001

We bought our first set of Rage cards in the mid-1980's. We wore it out, and then managed to get another deck through the father of a friend. We wore that one out, too! In the meantime, many of our friends and family have searched high and low all over the country for their own Rage cards only to discover that they were not to be found.

When a friend told me that Funagain Games was selling Rage, I immediately bought three more decks. (One for me and my husband, and one each for our daughters who will undoubtedly want their own decks some day when they go off to college. They CANNOT have mine!) Other friends and family have bought between 20 and 30 decks between them. This doesn't tell you much about the game, but it should tell you that we REALLY LOVE IT and we still love it after 15 years of owning it and playing regularly. And many of our friends and family love it. What more could anyone want in a game?

Take my advice, buy two decks while you are at it. I have seen them disappear before!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jerry R
Totally addicted for years!
November 12, 2001

When this game was first given to me, I couldn't understand the rules. After a while, I threw it out. Then someone explained the rules to me, and I bought another deck. When that one was worn out, I bought another one. Then another, and then another, and then... they couldn't be purchased anymore. Then a friend located them in Edmonton--5 decks left, so we phoned down and scooped them up. Now my last deck is nearing the end of its life. I'm still addicted. We play it often, and with anyone we can convince to give it a try. They all love it! This game goes down as one of the all time favourites.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Den
WOW! A treasure uncovered!
November 08, 2001

We played it back in the day. The deck was worn heavily. Someone (still an unsolved mystery) borrowed it and it was never seen again. We searched high and low--game stores, flea markets, ebay, the web. It was a quest gone dormant until I, just on a whim, searched again years later. It is I who shall return like Percival, a knight of the round table, with the coveted prize.

I can't believe it's back! Thank you!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rage Rocks!
October 26, 2001

I've been playing the original Rage for years and it is the best. A few years ago at this student's digs we often played throughout the night til the birds started to chirp. I can't believe it was discontinued (three times it changed hands, I think), because once you play it, you love it--no question!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Tony T
This is a 10 star game!
September 19, 2001

This is hands down (no pun intended) the best card game I have ever had the pleasure of playing. I don't recommend it for fewer than four people, though. It takes a few hands to figure out the logistics and scoring, but this game is FUN! My friends and I play this game at least every other weekend. We get together to play board games and, undoubtedly, we wind up playing Rage. You need to try it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Most unpredicitable fun game ever!
September 02, 2001

We have an original version, and it is wearing thin. We have been looking all over for it. Our family has spent hours and hours playing this game and it is different every time. You never know what is going to happen. Just when you think you have won, you lose. We love it. It rates more than 5 stars.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Pam
Awesome Game!
July 22, 2001

This game will give you hours of fun! An awesome game of strategy and wit. You can play this game over and over again without getting bored. Each game is different. Each round is different. I bought this card game back in 1989, and my deck is very worn. Cannot find it anywhere, but now I can buy the German version here on-line. WOW! If you like pinochle, try this game for a twist.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Dave
Excellent Game - but avoid the wild card variations
July 11, 2001

As a reply to the angry reviews:

You can play Rage in various variations, using all, some, or none of the wildcards. So if you are unhappy with the unpredicatability of the wild-card system, just remove the offending cards from the deck.

The biggest advantage of this game over similar games that use a standard card deck is the number of people that can play at the same time. The multi-player interaction is the main driving force behind the game. It is best played with 6-9 people.

Enjoy!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
I LOVE THIS GAME!
May 27, 2001

Once I started playing Rage, I was hooked! The game is so entertaing. And another plus is that you can play with 10 people. Anytime I get bored, I just call over someone to play Rage with me. I would suggest this game to everyone. :) Although it takes a little while to learn, this game is great to play anytime.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Even wilder with partners
April 22, 2001

We've played this one with all our friends for years. It's still our favorite card game. I'm glad we bought a spare deck when they discontinued it. We're now the only ones left in our circle with a deck, but at least we have one. For an even more challenging time, try playing with a partner or two. You're collectively trying to make your bid. We always play partners or teams when we have more than 4 players. Watch out! Nothing like having your partner eat that mad Rage card you played. :-o I highly recommend this card game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Kim
Rage On!
February 09, 2001

My friends and I loved playing the classic edition of Rage because so many players can play at the same time. The problem was that only one person had a set of cards. Now we can all play Rage all the time! It is a fun group game that inspires the competitive spirit in us all.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
We love it
January 29, 2001

We've enjoyed this game for years. My folks still have a copy of the original. We're so glad to see it back in print, I've ordered copies for the whole extended family.

It's lot's of fun. Some skill, some luck, and quite unpredictable.

Everyone we've played it with asks "where can I get this?!"

A note: There is a small discrepancy between the rules of the German edition and the English edition concerning the number of special cards. No problem though.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Best card game for a group EVER!
January 05, 2001

My family has been playing this game for at least 15 years. We have worn out decks from both the US and Canada. We play other games, including a similar one called Trumpet, but always go back to Rage. It's addicting, frustrating, and just plain fun. Perfect for 5 or more people, and even better when you are ruthless!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rage is the best card game ever made
December 30, 2000

We have played Rage for years. But since they IGI quit making the game, we slowed down on playing because we didn't want to wear out our cards. I am so glad you are bringing them back, thanks. I would strongly recommend Rage to anyone. Once they try Rage they will know what I mean. It's fun, and a challenge to everyone playing. We can and have spent hours playing Rage, so bring on the new cards--I can use them!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by C Brown
Most exciting game there is!
December 27, 2000

Whenever we introduce this game to someone new, they want it! Too bad the original manufacturer discontinued it. Our deck was well worn when I found a new deck in a resale shop. Bingo! It's mine! Boy, am I glad I found this site to order new decks... even if they are in a different language. Now how many do I want?

Unexpected turn-outs every time you play!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Outstanding Game
December 23, 2000

I've been looking for this game for months but not wanting to pay the high prices on eBay. Someone e-mailed me this site and I got the game. The Amigo edition is exactly the same game as the IGI (makers of Uno) edition except instructions are in German--but an English translation is provided. Thanks Funagain.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ken Mc
All the Rage!
December 13, 2000

This has been the most enjoyable game I've played in a long time. The rules are simple (if you are familiar with Oh Hell or Spades, you know most of the rules already), the play is fast and furious, and the special cards can ruin even your best laid plans.

For what it is, Rage is one of the best trick taking games around. I really enjoy it!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Lots of fun; emotions fly and revenge is paid!
July 05, 2000

This is an amazing game! You never know what is going to happen. The highest cards don't always win, thanks to the Change Rage and Out Rage cards. Everyone gets mad, but there are lots of laughs! So have fun, and get in a RAGE!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Trump changes, tempers flare and the fun level rises
June 11, 2000

RAGE is an outrageous, fun game. The cards are dealt, the trump is set, so you bid how many tricks you can win. Then during game play, someone throws down a 'change rage' card and suddenly another colour is trump. People start jumping up and down. 'I only wanted to win 1 trick; now I'm going to win 5. ARGH!'

Lots of fun. Back in high school, we'd play every lunch hour and there'd even be a waiting line to join in the game.

My friends and I play from 10 cards to 1 card, then a round of 1s (so everyone gets to experience dealing 1 card) and then back up to 10.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Whitz E
Love The Game
April 21, 2008

Now I can not call this the best game ever because I still love Rook so much more, but in high school there were 3 games we played. Rook, Phase 10, and Uno. Rage reminds me of all of these games and that is what makes it so fun. It's high school all over again.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Dan Siemens
Small variation
April 08, 2008

I've loved Rage for the last 25 years or so. When the game went out of print for a while during my college years, my friends and I played so much that we wore out the deck! Eventually I resorted to making my own deck with colored Sharpie markers and a couple decks of blank magician's cards. Nowadays, I'm very pleased to be able to get a nice new deck.

Just one thing, though. The rules talk about starting with 10 cards and playing down to just 1. I've always felt that was rather anticlimactic, since the scores can't really change very dramatically when there's only 1 trick to bid on... So if you're only going to play 10 tricks, I'd suggest starting with 1 and finishing with 10. Of course, when we play, we go from 10 to 1, and then back up to 10 again.

We've also enjoyed a variation where, when you make your bid, instead of just scoring the 10 point bonus plus 1 point per trick, you take the 10 point bonus and then add the SQUARE of the number of tricks you bid. So bidding zero correctly would be 10 points, bidding 1 would be 11 points, bidding 2 would yield 14 points, bidding 3 would be 19 points, etc. Scoring this way adds some real incentive to bid high, but there's still the tension created by needing to be RIGHT.

 
 
 
 
 
Screw your neighbor!
January 03, 2006
I've played variations of this game with a standard deck of cards...Screw Your Neighbor, Up the River - Down the River, Hi to Low; but the various cards added to the deck in Rage make for a few nice suprises.

Each 'hand' begins with players bidding on the number of tricks they can win based on the cards they've been dealt and the trump card for that hand. Without getting too complicated the real fun/challenge in the game comes in trying to match your bid while making sure your opponent doesn't match theirs.

Young kids might have a tough time grasping the strategy of the game, but for teens on up the game is a blast!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rage - A Friendly Game
July 04, 2005
We have played Rage for years and wore out our deck. We found it reprinted and ordered two more decks. This has been great fun when having friends over for a night of laughs and a time to get together. Great game for the family too!
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Chaotic Fun!
December 30, 2000

Rage is an unpredictable game. This is what makes it so much fun, but why it can also be frustrating for some people. It can be impossible to plan any strategy because of the number of cards in the deck, the cards which change trump, and the cards which cancel trump. It IS a fun game, though if you are looking for more strategy in placing your bids within the same system, try Wizard by U.S. Games. I'll be playing both because sometimes all of us just need a little chaos.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
It's not called Rage for nothin'!
November 19, 2000

I originally purchased this game because in our gaming group, one person always wanted to play Oh Hell but most of the rest of us didn't. The scores tended to stagnate and overall the game had lost its appeal for most of us.

Rage has breathed new life back into 'Oh Hell' for us. Quickly becoming a favorite, it's never quite clear just who is going to win each time we play.

The addition of the +/-5 cards, the 'No Trump' and 'New Trump' cards have helped to make the gameplay more unpredictable and overall more enjoyable for everyone. Scores no longer stagnate, they fluctuate!

The playablity in small and large groups is quite good, with your gameplay tactic needing to shift a bit according to the size group you're playing in.

Overall, I would highly recommend this game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A variation of "Oh Hell!"
September 28, 2000

Rage is Oh Hell! with a couple of additional suits and some special cards. There are some other minor differences depending on what variation of 'Oh Hell!' you play.

It's the special cards that give Rage its flavor. They may change or even remove the trump suit, or they can give the person who takes the trick +/- 5 points. This makes the game less predictable than 'Oh Hell!', but no less fun.

The additions make it a lighter game than the original, but may breathe some new life into an old game for you.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Greg Jones
Best family fun & bang for your buck game
April 22, 2010

Not to be confused with its predecessor "Wild Rage", the card game "Rage" truly brings out the best in fast paced card games. I've never had so much fun with co- workers that I had never really got along with.

As a matter of fact I just found an old mom and pop corner store in my West Virginia town that still sells this American party staple. Though "Rage" is largely responsible for the separation of my parents I can't deny the benefits that have come from the exciting gameplay.(!) Yes, I have forgotten to pick up my son from his little league games because i was too enthralled with "Rage" but in the long run I think he too will appreciate America's true past time. As an air-traffic controller, co-workers have suggested that I refrain from playing until my breaks but sometimes the urge is just too strong to resist. "Rage" is the best family fun, bang for your buck, lose your appendix/virginity in Mexico game I've ever played.

 
 
 
 
 
Wizard is a better
August 24, 2007

"Wizard" adds eight special cards to a standard deck to make "Oh Hell" more interesting. The fact that you have 60 cards means that the deck is evenly divisible by 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 people. The addition of suitless Wizards (the first of which played always wins) and suitless Jesters (which always lose) introduces just enough "chaos" to promote new subtle strategies that a sophisticated player will quickly learn to use to his or her advantage. The Ace of trump is no longer a guaranteed win and the 2 of non-trump not a guaranteed loss, but they can still be played that way if you time them right.

I popped for the deluxe version with bidding wheels (which are very cool by themselves) and like to play with the bid revealed at the end. This makes for a very interesting game, but it is very easy to change the bidding rules to be open, closed, forced, etc.

I've played "Oh Hell" without the "Wizard" special cards and missed them.

 
 
 
 
 
Rage Against the Game
May 03, 2005
I thought I would like this game because of all the good reviews I have heard about it. In truth, it is just your typical trick taking game with a few added random elements. There is no reason to buy an entirely new game for this exerience if you already own a deck of cards. Save your money for a more unique card game like "For Sale".
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Lite fun & chaos ... Serious gamers -- beware!
July 27, 2003

Rage is a fine card game in the sense that the rules are simple, and there is plenty of variety in actual play. Bidding is a real challenge, and there are some tough decisions to be made regarding card play, particularly in the later hands where the number of cards decreases.

With that being said, however, I can't agree with others here that this is the 'best card game of all time.'

What keeps Rage from being a truly superior game for serious gamers is the chaos created by the special action cards, in particular, the card that nullifies trump, and the card the changes trump.

Of course, these special cards are necessary to keep the game from merely being Rook with 6 suits. But they can destroy a whole hand on a single play. For example, in a 5 card hand, I had three yellows (5, 2, 1), a blue (6), and a red (3). (Suits run from 1 - 15 in denomination). Trump was purple. I bid 'zero', figuring that it should be a snap to avoid taking any tricks. On the first trick, a '!' (Change trump) was played, and the new trump was --- you guessed it --- yellow! I ended up taking 3 tricks, and getting burned for exceeding my bid (-5 points) and picking up a '-5' point special action card as well, while picking up +3 points for the tricks themselves. What looked like a sure 10 point hand (10 pts for making bid exactly), turned into a -7. It was impossible for me for have foreseen that would end up with trump cards

This isn't to say the game doesn't have value. Our group plays it, and we have a few laughs over it. Families -- as attested in earlier posts -- have a lot of fun with it as well. But if you prefer games which offer players some semblance of control, then Rage isn't what you want.

I just don't see where Rage rises above the typical trick-taking card game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
I'm sorry, but I'm going to have to vote against the masses.
December 26, 2001

I really wanted to like Rage. I usually only buy games that other people have rated highly. As you can see down the list, many people seem to love this game. But my distaste for this game is not due to heightened expectations. If that were the case, then I wouldn't like Carcassonne, Aladdin's Dragons, Acquire, Settlers of Catan, [page scan/se=0630/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Through the Desert, etc.

Even after I hand lettered every card in the deck because the blue and green cards and the red and orange cards were difficult to differentiate by the couple of people in our gaming group who have slight color blindness, I was looking forward to playing Rage. But the game just isn't really all that fun. I've played this game many times (really, I wanted to like it because it's one of the few games you can play with more than 6 people), and it just doesn't grab me like it seems to do most everyone else.

The funny thing is that I LIKE card games. I love playing Ohne Furcht und Adel, [page scan/se=0027/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Bohnanza, Nicht Die Bohne!, Mu & Mehr, Twilight, even Hearts and Bridge. So I know it's not just because it's a card game.

And it's not just the luck factor. Granted, there are differing degrees of luck in the aforementioned card games, but Rage just seems so... random to me, that there's not much point in playing.

You throw out a guess at the beginning of each hand, as to how many tricks you're going to take, and then you can ATTEMPT to take (or not take) that many. But if you want to play that kind of game, you should play bridge, where there's depth to the strategy both in the bidding and in the gameplay.

Yes, yes, yes. There is some strategy in Rage, both in the bidding and the play. But it's really pretty thin. Got stinky cards: bid 0. Whoop.

I hate to sound like a party pooper. The truth is, I would really much rather write a glowing review. My goal, ultimately, when I write a review, is to return the favor to people who have prompted me to purchase games that ultimately have brought me enjoyment, to help someone find a game that they otherwise might not have thought to look at, and have them get the same kind of fun that I get out of a particular game.

This time, though, I feel I need to protect those people who have the same game tastes that I do.

Rage isn't awful, and I can see how it would be a good family game. If you're looking at this review as parents who want to play a game with your younger children, I would rate this game higher--maybe 3 1/2 stars. But if you're looking for a game to play with 8 people, I'd look instead for a good party game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Too much chaos.
May 20, 2001

I bought this game based entirely on high praise in customer reviews and its #1 bestseller status. Though I really prefer card games with plenty of strategy (such as Mu), I figured Rage would be a good filler for some light fun at family gatherings. I figured wrong.

Unfortunately, the chaos factor introduced by the change trump and cancel trump cards make bidding for tricks a complete shot in the dark. Can you imagine playing a modified version of Perudo (a favorite of ours for light fun) in which players can re-roll their dice while the bidding is in progress? If so, and if chaos is your thing, then join the Rage. Else pass.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Rage is an appropriate title
March 22, 2005
What starts as a fun and interesting trick taking game, soon becomes a frustrating mess. When you first start your hand, you must indicate how many tricks you intend to take (the bid). This takes some skill and planning on your part. However, once the special cards come out, your strategy is blown away and you're left with trying to deal with what's left in your hand to make your bid. In many cases you can't do it. After 2 plays this has not come out of my game closet.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
So Bad
June 29, 2004

I purchased this game because it was listed in the top 5 under the best seller category and because it was only 10 dollars. The reason this game is so bad is because of the special cards added to the game. They create chaos and one particular card is especially bad because it changes the trump for the rest of the round. At the beginning of the round players are responsible for predicting how many tricks they'll win. This is often based on the amount of trump cards a player has in his hand. Well all that goes out the window when the trump changes in the middle of the round.

If you're looking for an easy to understand intro game go with Settlers of Catan.

If you're looking for a game that supports many players go with Der Groe Dalmuti (The Great Dalmuti), Apples to Apples, or Bang!

If you're looking for a trick taking game try Wizard. Wizard is similar to Rage in that players predict the amount of tricks they'll be taking but it doesn't have chaos cards that create lots of randomness and frustration.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Mille
Don't Waste Your Money
May 22, 2002

I don't really have a problem with the gameplay of Rage itself, even with the questionable special cards and even though it's basically a dumbed down variant of many other trick-taking games. The real problem is it's absolutely not worth $10. All you get are unimpressive looking cards and instructions that aren't well-written. The graphic design is atrocious. Even standard playing cards, with the jacks, queens, and kings, have more artwork than Rage cards. The cards are also not as functional as they should be. My group had difficulty distinguishing between the red and orange cards (and no, we're not color blind). There's really no excuse for that. Save your money and just use standard playing decks lying around the house if you really want to play Rage.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Play Oh Hell instead
June 20, 2001

Unless Oh Hell is too complicated for your tastes, I recommend it over Rage. If you want a larger deck, throw two decks together. If you want more chaos, throw in the jokers. If you want even more chaos, then assign some special power to the 2's and 3's. But then you have Rage, and why would you bother?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Tom
Oh Hell for Dummies
May 02, 2001

Oh Hell is one of my favorite card games, so when I read all the great reviews about this game I had to have it. Finding out that it was on back-order because of its enormous popularity and would take a month to get to me just made me want it even more. When this gem finally arrived we tried an eight-player game. Everyone of us thought it was stupid (of course we were all comparing it to Oh Hell). The special cards take the bidding strategy that made Oh Hell a classic completely out of the game. You have absolutely no idea what to bid because trump changes so often. They took a great game of skill and subtle strategy and turned it into a game of luck. If Uno and Skip-Bo are among your favorite card games then you will probably love Rage. In all fairness, I probably wouldn't have been so harsh on this game if it were an original idea rather than a butchery of a classic. What they did would be similar to adding a set of dice to Chess and boasting that it makes it less predictable. But I seem to be in the minority. I just wish I could have read a review like this before I wasted my money.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Huh?
February 26, 2001

I saw the game topping Funagain's charts for a while, and figured it was cheap enough to be worth a shot. Even if it was unplayable, I thought, at least I'll have a nice-looking six-suited deck to play other games with.

Uno was an improvement over Crazy Eights: although it added some wacky cards to the mix, those cards gave players a few more choices and a much better way to affect their opponents. Rage is a similar reworking of Oh Hell, and I don't see it as an improvement at all. The basic premise of Oh Hell is to predict how many tricks you can take in the upcoming hand. It's already a much lighter trick-taking game than most of its cousins, and players can interact with each other pretty deeply during the bidding and playing phases. Rage adds several wacky cards to Oh Hell, but all they do is make the crucial prediction round a complete crapshoot. The interactions between players become much more drastic, much less subtle, and much less balanced--adding these kinds of interactions helped Crazy Eights, since it didn't have much interaction to begin with, but it's a big step down for Oh Hell. (Worse still, I can't even reuse the deck since many people I know say they can't tell the red from the orange.)

If you've had any positive experiences with trick taking games, try playing something else.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Rage:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.