My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Plague & Pestilence

Plague & Pestilence


Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], usually because it's out of print.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Play Time Players
15-45 minutes 2-6

Manufacturer(s): Chessex

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Wage war on your enemies. Lead a holy Crusade. But above all else, prepare for the coming of the Plague.

Zoom In Cover Image: Plague & Pestilence
Close Zoomed Image aPlague & Pestilenceb
Cover

Product Information

  • Manufacturer(s): Chessex

  • Players: 2 - 6

  • Time: 15 - 45 minutes

  • Weight: 300 grams (estimated)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.8 in 17 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Awesome Game
September 02, 2008

I have been playing for years and this game is the best. It is really easy to learn. It takes some strategy, but also depends on the luck of the cards.

 
 
 
 
 
Whoa --- It's a no brainer
August 04, 2003

This is one of the most fun, easy to learn card games i've ever played. We always have fun inflicting the black plague on our 'enemies'

A terrific 'beer and pretzels' game. I've literally taught this game to someone in five minutes and they loved it.

I'd put it in the same category as Nulclear War, just easier.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Chad
Fun game!
September 06, 2002

This is a great game for non-gamers or gamers who can appreciate games that don't require much strategy. (I'm the latter)

The game can go from anywhere from 15 minutes to an hour, depending on when the Death Ship card comes about.

It's a great come of screwing your opponents, while, at the same time, trying not to make your opponents too mad at you!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great game of smiting your fellow players!
November 12, 2000

Each player starts with a town of prosperous people (50 PP). The turns are simple. ROLL THE DICE and determine if you have a growth of 0 to 20 people (average is 10 PP). This roll is modified if you have improvements like City Walls (reduces war & raid losses), Aquaducts (no Fires or Droughts), and Sewers (no Floods). Next, DRAW CARDS to bring your hand up to six. PLAY OR DISCARD A CARD. The cards come in two flavors: Rat cards and Sun cards with Medieval woodcut-like pictures on them. Rat cards destroy opponents' improvements and/or people (Viking Raid, Mongols, Fire, War, Crusade, Flood, etc). War cards cause two other players to fight. Sun cards provide improvements, more people, cards to cancel War & Crusade, and warfare advantages. The best cards are Pied Piper (steal 15 pp) and mass migration (steal 5 pp from all). When the Death (THE PLAGUE!) ship card shows up, the dice roll will subtract your people every turn. The last town with people left wins.

This is a simple, short game with lots of player interaction. Other great games like it are Family Business, Mag-Blast, and Nuclear Escalation.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great fast-paced game for a large group
March 30, 2000

This is the best game I have come across for a group of four or more players. The rules suggest 2-6, but the game play is less fun for a group smaller than four. Can accomodate larger groups of players if dice roll guide cards are shared. Quick to learn and easy to teach, rules can be explained in 2 minutes to a new player and most of the cards are pretty self-explanatory. Card art is nice, black & white done in the style of medieval woodcuts.

The object of the game is to be the city (player) with the last surviving population during the plague. Game consists of Prosperity and Plague phases. During Prosperity, dice are rolled to gain population each turn. Once the Plague Ship is played, Plague phase begins and dice are rolled to lose population each turn. Cards are used to add population to your city or to kill your opponents' population. Strategy comes into play when you are deciding which opponent to attack or whether you should boost your own population.

The only negative side to the gameplay is that players drop out one by one: no fun if your city's population dies first and you have to wait for the next game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Nice game
December 08, 2005
I really enjoy this game. The object is to add as many people to your own village while impeding the growth of your opponents. Once the death ship card is played (& it must be played immediately) the population of your town declines rather than grows. The winner has the largest town population at the end of the game.

I have seen several comparisons to Nuclear War -- with reviews suggesting that Plague & Pestilence is a rip-off. Not having played Nuclear War, I found it interesting that P & P came out before Nuclear War (according to the info I've gleaned from Funagain.com's own website.)

I wish this game would be re-issued. I'd buy an additional copy in a heartbeat.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Awesome in Airports
March 19, 2002

While I was a crewmember of a national tour with a circus, I had plenty of bored hours in airports that became endlessly amusing with this game. Easy to get, hard to explain, fits nicely in travel-ons, nothing metal to stop you at security. Make up some house rules with the deathship card and turn it into a drinking game. I got thrown out of a bar because I wouldn't stop playing ( because of a no card games and liquor law). Dumb fun by killing your friends village.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Lighthearted and fun to play
October 21, 2001

While it is true that there is not as much skill involved in this game as with other card games, Plague & Pestilence really is a great party game. If you want a change of pace from the collectable card games or role playing games, this is a good one. You won't feel emotionally tied up in it--lots of fun when hanging out with your friends. Nothing says lovin' like a good, old-fashioned Plague.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ron Jr
Bring out your dead!
July 05, 2001

When a friend first introduced me to Plague & Pestilence, I found it amusing. When we played several games one night at a New Year's Eve party, it was a total blast... even with three people working in concert to get rid of me first.

Depending on when the Plague Ship shows up, this can be a quick game or a long one. As long as I get to play at least one 'Pied Piper' during the plague rounds, I'm fine.

It's a good value for the money, a good game for the right group, and worth every laugh, groan, and cuss word I've ever heard at the gaming table. If you are the kind who enjoys light-hearted fare, this is a wonderful little gem to add to your collection.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The four horseman... all in one game
May 21, 2001

I really liked this game. Sure, death by disease is the main theme of the game. But you also get to visit death on your fellow gamers through war, famine and flood (to mention a few). A game based on the Black Death is certainly not for everyone. But with the proper attitude, this game is great fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Excellent overall feeling, but lacking in complexity
October 23, 2000

Plague and Pestilence is an excellent, easy to learn card game for 3 to 6 people. It is fast moving, lends itself well to humour, and makes for wonderful vindictive relations with friends.

'Kevin, you've had a flood. -10 population'

'A flood huh, well then you're going to go to war with Steve!'

'I don't want to fight, the pope decrees I don't have to'

'Well then... how 'bout some invading monguls? hahahahahaha!'

This is an excellent game, and it does allow for some strategy (mostly lie low and act unthreatening until others kill each other off), but overall, it is particularly simple. Fun as heck though.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Relaxing at first, tense by the end
October 10, 2000

The black and white cards actually enhance the medieval feeling of this card game. During the first half of the game, you causally build up your village population and almost get bored by the simple feeling of the game. However, when the Death Ship comes and you start losing people EVERY turn, the tension level rises. Whose population will outlast the plague, wars, and floods is anyone's guess. But carefully playing your 'attack' cards on others helps to make it a very close game. In fact, most times we played, it got down to the wire for every player. Recommended for a quick 'in-between' game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Chris G
okay, but somewhat repetitive
August 20, 2002

The first few times I played this game, it was a lot of fun. It's mean-spirited, silly and grim at the same time. However, after playing it a bunch of times, it gets kind of repetitive because the cards are always the same and the game always follows the same basic pattern. It's also not so much a game of skill as it is of luck, and I tend to prefer games that don't just depend on the draw of the cards.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun Game that's Over Quickly
December 13, 2000

Plague and Pestilience is a lot like Nuclear War. The big difference besides its theme is that everyone has a common enemy: The Plague.

At the beginning of the game, you are trying to raise your population by either stealing your opponents' or by playing cards that allow you to take them from the bank. Each turns allows you to roll a die that will add to your population as well.

However, once the Death Ship is taken, the die roll is reversed and you lose population each turn. At this point you are just trying to hang on to as many population points as possible.

The game is definitely tongue-in-cheek as you might gain population from starting a trade route in the middle of a plague. We laughed several times playing this game and it seemed as if everyone was enjoying themselves.

Definitely a light filler, but a pleasant one.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Nuclear War meets Groo and Family Business...
October 11, 2000

This game, at its heart, is Nuclear War redone in a much more streamlined version. It is also much more fair, and moves quicker. It borrows a bit from Groo, which involved building up your town and attacking your opponent, and Family Business where you pick on other players.

All in all, a decent little game of stick it to your neighbor. I definitely would play this game over Nuclear War. Not a strategy game in the least, however.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Unoriginal, not as much fun as one might expect
December 12, 2000

This is a copy of the game Nuclear War. As a result, it loses marks immediately. It does have amusing artwork and plays quickly, but overall one cannot really play the game since it is mostly dice rolling. Last one standing wins, although probably not to some deep strategy. If the game was unique, it would be a 3. Since it is more a rip-off than an homage, it is a 2.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Horrible game, avoid like the, umm... well you know.
October 10, 2000

This is a tedious, boring game, with the end result being determined by good or bad dice rolls. While the theme looks promising, and the art is good, the actual game play is so mechanical that the strategy is on the level of old maid.

Draw a card, roll the dice, look up the result on a table, add result to your score. Repeat until plague ship is drawn, then: draw a card, roll the dice, look up result on table, subtract result from score. Last person to reach zero wins. The cards are also played to change your score, but since the variety and interaction of the cards are so minimal the optimal play is obvious.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Plague & Pestilence:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.