My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Wits & Wagers
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.
Store:  Party Games
Edition:  Wits & Wagers
Series:  Wits & Wagers
Genre:  Betting, Trivia
Other:  2006 Board Game Geek Gift Guide

Wits & Wagers

First Edition, Second Printing

Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title [], but it may be available in another edition. Try: Wits & Wagers

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Product Awards:  

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 25 minutes 3-21

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Are you tired of not knowing all the minutia that others do in trivia games? Then Wits and Wagers is for you – a party game in which you don’t have to know the answers, but simply bet on those who do! In each of the seven rounds a question is read, and players write down their numeric answer. These answers are arranged on an odds table, and then players bet chips on the guess that they think is closest to the actual answer. Those who bid successfully get more chips, and the winner is the one with the most chips at the end of the game. Wits and Wagers is a game that induces hilarity even in large groups and makes an excellent game for parties and events.

There are only 2 differences between this and the first print run:

  • This print run has a felt mat instead of a rubber mat.
  • The pen caps in this print run stay on the end now.

Product Awards

Games Magazine Awards
Best Party Game, 2007
Mensa Best Mind Game Award
Best Mind Game, 2006

Product Information


  • 1 felt betting mat
  • 1 sand timer
  • 7 dry erase pens
  • 7 laminated answer cards
  • 14 betting cubes
  • 120 poker chips
  • 1 rules booklet
  • 100 trivia cards

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.8 in 9 reviews

Sort reviews by:

by Lexilu
Excellent Party Game!
August 12, 2008

I was just recently introduced to this game by friends. I immediately went out and purchased my own copy after we played! This game is fast-paced since everybody plays the whole time -- there is no "down-time" as you wait for others to take their turn. It is especially enjoyable since there's no harm in not knowing the answer--you make your best estimate, but if it's totally off-base, no worries! Since you don't lose points for having the wrong answer, there is no stress... and it even makes it a little more hilarious when you can laugh at your answers and your friends' answers that aren't even close. Everybody has a chance to do well in this game -- young or old. It generates lots of laughter and lots of discussion. I can't wait to introduce it to my game night crowd of friends -- it will be a hit!

by Dan
Great Party Game
July 07, 2008

This game is a blast for any number of players. It plays fast, requires no actual knowledge of trivia, just educated guessing and clever wagering. We are looking forward to the upcoming expansion pack.

by Jean M
Great Family Game
February 13, 2008

Wits & Wagers is a great game for a few people or for a crowd. It's also a game that the whole family can play together, from the young to the old. It's quick to learn and quick to play and a lot of fun. And the smartest one is not always the winner!

by Waterboy
This is a great party game that 14 can play.
February 07, 2008

We have a group of people that meet every month to play board games. We were able to have 12 people play as 2 person teams. Not everyone is a trivia master, so this game worked well because you don't have to know the answer to score points. Also, the length of the game can be adjusted to your personal preference. This game is very fun if you have a large group, but also plays well with just a few people.

by Gamer
Best game in years
December 10, 2007

We bought this game last year and are still playing it.

Just Give It Your Best Guess and Have Fun!
December 05, 2007

After playing this game at EuroQuest, GameDays, and other GCOM locations/events, I finally got a copy of Wits and Wagers, just in time for the Thanksgiving weekend. I convinced my wife, not even close to being a serious gamer, to play Thanksgiving night with a couple friends and my Dad. It turned into a 10-game marathon, at her request. She loves it.

The next night we had another marathon session with our neighbors (whose family was up from Tennessee), and the following night, when the family of one of my son's football teammates came over for the evening, we ended up playing again. It's a good thing I love the game, too.

As far as everyone who played during that three-day "Wits and Wagers Fest" is concerned, the best thing about the game is that you don't have to know the exact answer. Any guess even remotely close -- and sometimes ridiculously incorrect -- will do just fine.

Dominic -- the game's designer -- has suggested that a very good variant to the game is an alteration to the betting rules, allowing any amount to be bet on any of the seven questions, instead of just on the seventh (final) question.

So, just how many Lego pieces, out of one million, fail to meet the company's quality standards?

by Keith B
Party Proof Game
December 03, 2007

This is an easy game to learn. It takes about two minutes to explain. I gotten this game out anytime I have six or more people (even up to 16) over at my place - and we can all play a group game that keeps everyone involved during the entire game. No waiting for your turn. I also come up with Christmas oriented questions for Christmas parties, and it is a huge hit. Customer service for this company is second to none. Highly recommended.

Great game for the trivia impaired!
March 11, 2008

Wits & Wagers impressed my wife and me and her family when we played this for the first time.

The usual problem with trivia games is that whoever has the largest fund of inane information will win. The Trivial Pursuit games cater to various categories, i.e. sports, movies, science, etc. I'm not ashamed to admit that I could care less about sports statistics and record holders. The same is true of most of my gaming friends. That means we can count on not having any right answers in games with those questions. The great thing about Wits & Wagers is that it doesn't matter in this game. The questions cover a multitude of subjects including ones that may be of interest to only a few. But you don't have to know the right answer to win. Players do have to provide an answer but the payoff is being able to pick the right one (or the closest without going over) out of all the answers. And if your answer is outrageously far off then that just adds to the amusement. We had people whose ages ranged from their 20's to 60's. We all enjoyed the questions, some were obscure, others were in the "I think I know this one" category. Part of the fun is learning the right answer and the "fun facts" provided with many of them. The game lasts 7 turns and that seems just right. We had so much fun we played the game a second time. I expect to be playing this one a lot. Its also good that it can accommodate up to 20 people (in teams) if you have a large group.

The mat is excellent quality and the other components are very nice as well.

by Friz
Lots of fun
July 24, 2007

I've gotten the chance to play this game two years running now at the Origins Gaming Convention, and I can attest that its a lot of fun. The guys who run the company (North Star) present and run the game in what can best be described as a game show format. Teams are formed, smack is talked, lots of fun is had by all. The only reason I don't give a full 5 stars is that it seems like you would need a fairly large group to fully enjoy the experience. If you do have a large enough group (or event), this could well be one of your highlights. I also see GREAT potential for classroom use - write your own questions based on the current lesson plans, split the class into teams, and have at it.

Other Resources for Wits & Wagers:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.