My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Colossal Arena
Close Zoomed Image Colossal Arena

Colossal Arena


List Price: $24.95
Your Price: $19.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 1,999 Funagain Points!)

This item is temporarily out of stock []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available!

Quantity:

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 40-60 minutes 2-5

Designer(s): Reiner Knizia

Manufacturer(s): Fantasy Flight Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Reiner Knizia's Colossal Arena is a reprint of the classic Titan: The Arena, published by the Avalon Hill game company.

Colossal Arena features gorgeous new art and four brand-new creatures -- not included in the original version -- making Colossal Arena a new and unique game experience. In this game of gladiatorial mayhem, eight monsters battle in the arena for your amusement, while crazed spectators leap into the fray to help their favorites.

Players place bets on the fantasy creatures they think will triumph. But beware! -- each creature boasts individual skills and abilities, and players must manage the spectator cards while guiding their bets to maximum payoff. Tension is high as one creature is eliminated every round. Will your favorite prevail? Or will your champion be destroyed and your fortunes lost?

Zoom In Front Image: Colossal Arena
Close Zoomed Image aColossal Arenab
Front
Zoom In Other Image: Colossal Arena
Close Zoomed Image aColossal Arenab
Other

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Reiner Knizia

  • Manufacturer(s): Fantasy Flight Games

  • Artist(s): Dan Harding, Thierry Doizon

  • Year: 2008

  • Players: 2 - 5

  • Time: 40 - 60 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 380 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are printed in English. This is a domestic item. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English.

Contents:

  • 12 creature cards
  • 132 combat cards
  • 11 spectator cards
  • 3 referee cards
  • 25 bet tokens
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Lemming Mafia (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $35.00 $31.50 (10% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4 in 19 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Well worth the wait!
February 07, 2005

This is an absolutely terrific game. I had it recommended to me in its prior incarnation as Titan: The Arena, and bid on a few eBay auctions of the out-of-print version. I'm glad I didn't win any of them, as this recent addition to my collection was much lower in price and reportedly has more to offer.

This is about the best of the new games this season. It is easy to teach and to learn, and has quite a bit of depth. Kids who like Magic the Gathering will pick this up especially quickly.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Most played game in my collection
January 31, 2004

This is an excellent game, simple to pick up and plenty of fun for players of all skill levels. Good players are handicapped by other players invariably ganging up against them. This game is the favourite of my casual gameplaying friends.

Although it is a reasonably simple game, the rule book is confusing. You need a lawyer to interpret it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Extraordinary Card Game
February 13, 2002

Galaxy is a card game, not a science fiction game. The theme is incidental to playing the game. Basically the game boils down to an eight suited deck of cards with individual card rankings and a few other special ability cards thrown in for good measure. Strategic possibilities abound. Both defensive and offensive play are rewarded.

The placement of bases -- the betting element in the game -- is ingenious. You pick the suits you want to survive the card play and then you develop a strategy to ensure their survival. There are numerous possibilities for play on every turn. The winner is almost always in doubt to the very end.

Yes the rules take a half hour to plow through the first time. After that the play is intuitive and you seldom have to consult the rulebook. It is worth the time. After you master the basics, you have a card game that blends the best of bridge, rummy and a poker betting component. In some ways it is a classic in its own right.

It is a bit more demanding than most card games, but that only enhances the tactical options you have on virtually every play of a card. If you like card games, but want more of a challenge, this is a great buy. It plays well with two or multiple players -- a rarity for most card games.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by JoD
Complex, replayable, extremely strategic, good for 2-5
December 11, 2001

The biggest downside to Galaxy: The Dark Ages is the complexity of the rules. It will take some time to learn them, and the first game will probably be rather confused if learning the rules for the first time from the book. This complexity leads to incredibly subtle strategies and replayability.

This is also a fantastic game for the listed number of players, 2-5. The two-player game plays very differently from the five-player, but each one is wonderful.

This game is *not* light enough for most American families, I suspect. Any 'serious' gamer should just get a copy, however.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Randy
Galaxy rocks!
August 01, 2001

I'm mystified at the reviewers below who believe Titan: the Arena(T:tA) to be a far superior game to Galaxy. The only thing I can think of is that lovers of Arena are casual gamers who are not willing to invest 1-2 hours in a single gaming session. In my opinion, Galaxy fixes all that was wrong with Arena. My greatest frustration with T:tA is the end game. By the time you complete the forth row, there is little suspense left, as the winner-to-be is quite evident by this point. And to add to the frustration, there is little you can do to change the inevitible. Galaxy fixes all of that. The ability to move your tokens vertically, as well as those of other players, makes for a much more suspenseful finale. The technology cards are actually useful, as opposed to T:tA's ref cards, though I agree with previous reviewers that the Advanced Processing card is too strong. (We only allow its user to draw two cards instead of three.) Diplomacy plays a much bigger factor in Galaxy, which is a big plus in our group. (It plays well with two or three players but is definitely more fun in my opinion with four or five.)

This is not a game for those looking for a casual beer and pretzels evening, more for the [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Axis & Allies crowd, actually. It's one of the few card games out there that holds my attention for more than an hour. There are only about three Reiner Knizia games that I'm a big fan of; Galaxy is definitely one of them.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This is how Eurogames SHOULD be designed
April 17, 2001

Let me start by stating that I have been playing wargames since 1975, and that I still am predominantly a wargamer. In the past couple of years I have been exposed to Eurogames, starting oddly enough with Schotten-Totten and Grand National Derby. Both these games, and almost every other Euro I have played, were simple and played quickly, but left me feeling like I had wasted my time. Simplicity is one thing, but these games struck me as so simple that they were dumb. Thus it was with reluctance that I played Galaxy and Battle Line at WBC 2000. While I know GMT to be a quality publisher, I had reservations that these progeny of Scotten-Totten and Grand National Derby would be as dumb as their parents.

What a surprise! Galaxy is a vastly better game than Grand National Derby. The addition of myriad new elements such as movable bets and special card powers turned the game into a compelling exercise in strategy and subtle diplomacy. My Galaxy games always developed semi-long term alliances that eventually had to break up, since there can be only one winner. The strategy now is a lot more diverse and a lot more subtle. The special card powers mesh together to create unfolding plots spanning whole rounds.

All in all, quite a canoe. German game designers, study this game and Battle Line, and learn from them how to design games that are both playable and challenging.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Galaxy Beats the Titan in my opinion!
April 17, 2001

No, it's not Titan: The Arena. Good! The game system is the same, but the production is better, the directions are clearer and more comprehensive and it has more options and random elements which increase the excitement. This is an excellent game in its own right and I like the entire [page scan/se=0876/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]GMT European Series.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun and cutthroat entry into family gaming by GMT.
October 16, 2000

I recently attended GMT's Game Weekend and managed to play Galaxy 4 times (won once) and really enjoyed the experience. I haven't played any of the previous incarnations so I cannot comment on them. I do agree that the game is more complicated than your standard German game. However, I found that the length of the rulesbook was actually misleading. Once I had played it twice, I and one other player were able to teach some new people how to play in 10-15 minutes. Sure, the rules are long, but the play is really intuitive and the choices in your play are varied. I like the option of playing a secret base (both of my attempts failed), and the Governor's powers for each world can help direct your play style radically. So, I enthusiastically recommend this game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Lloyd MC
Much Better Than Titan : The Arena
February 27, 2007

In Titan: the Arena, players are bidding in a meaningless fight amongst creatures.

Galaxy: the Dark Ages have a much better theme, players are building bases on 8 different worlds(planets). Every turn, the world with the weakest defending force will be destroyed, so do players' bases.

Some players says Galaxy: the Dark Ages is much random. It' true, because your cards or the card you played have a chance to be eliminated, stolen or forced to place into reserve, also your bases(bidding chips) may be attacked and devalued by your opponents.

If you want to play safe or with beer, Galaxy: the Dark Ages is too heavy, risky and cut-throat for you. If you want a deep and strategical game, it should be Galaxy: the Dark Ages!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by KPB
Not perfect, but neither was Titan: The Arena
April 22, 2002

Just a few quick lines about Galaxy: The Dark Ages. I agree with some of what the previous reviewers have said. 'Simple' is a term overused in everything, including game instructions. Lost Cities is a simple game, Othello is a simple game, Galaxy: TDA is not a simple game, but is certainly not Advanced Squad Leader, either. Having said that, once everyone has grasped the basic rules and the special abilities, I think Galaxy: TDA becomes a great game on a strategic and tactical level. Players who see their early wagers eliminated will work to thwart the plans of their foes. All in all, one of my favorite games when some friends want to start a game at 9PM and not end up spending the night.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
An excellent entery into German Gaming
April 21, 2001

Look at the other reviews. There seem to be two camps. One believes Galaxy is better than Titan: the Arena, and the other believes it is not. I guess if you're a T:tA fan you must ask yourself if the added strategic possibilities Galaxy offers warrants the added complexity and length.

I find some of the negative comments below puzzling. One in particular caught my attention. You can only discard one 'dead' card a turn. This means it is difficult to rid your hand completely of these cards. What the reviewer failed to mention is discarding a dead card constitutes your card play for the turn. I think of this as strategic discarding. In the late game you have much more control of when you play a 'live' card. Hoarding a few 'dead' ones allows you the flexibility to play a waiting game. Face it, late game most of the cards you have are tho ones you didn't want to play earlier. Let someone else put his neck in the noose.

Overall, many of the complaints I have heard about Galaxy fall into the same category. They seem valid until one digs beneath the surface. This game is awash with strategy, and IMO the added depth warrants the extra 30-40 minutes the game takes to play.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Sci Fi Lite
December 10, 2000

It is a testament to the durability of the basic game system that this game has seen the light of day as a horse racing game (Grand National Derby), a battle between fantasy creatures (Titan: the Arena), and now as an intergalactic war. It would be fair to say that the theme in each case has been grafted on, but with Galaxy it seems to have come closest to matching theme and mechanics.

Galaxy is at heart a card game with a betting element. Each round consists of cards being played in each of eight suits. When each suit has a card in front of it, the suit showing the lowest number is eliminated. After five rounds, the game ends, with only three suits still represented. Players make bets throughout the game as to which suits they feel will survive, with earlier bids being worth more. This is Galaxy in a nutshell.

What makes the game interesting is that each suit has its own special power, usable by the player who has bet the most on it. Each numbered card also has a power, which can cause dramatic changes in the game. Unlike earlier versions of the game, bets are now more dynamic, and their value can rise and fall due to changing game conditions.

While the instructions are rather lengthy for what is essentially a card game, they are mostly clear, and far superior to the rules of parent game, Titan: the Arena. Galaxy plays well with any number from 2 to 5, and the game does not take any longer to play with more players, which is always a nice feature.

While Galaxy is not a classic science-fiction game like Dune or Cosmic Encounter, it is still meaty fare and well worth adding to your game collection.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Knizia wanders into GMT-land
September 06, 2000

This would be the third game based on the Grand National Derby engine (Titan: the Arena being the second), and anybody who thought that Titan represented an unnecessary corruption of the basic elegance of Grand National Derby will run screaming from the room in horror when confronted by Galaxy. Now you have some kind of special power associated with every individual *card* as well as every race, producing two (or more, in the case of combats!) potential special action per card play. 'Bets' (now bases) are no longer stagnant, but can move around (increasing or decreasing in value) due to card play. Cards, which represent ships, can be attacked and discarded once played. This now involves rolling dice. There is a veritable horde of special cases and little rules (well, maybe not a horde, but quite a few compared to Titan or Grand National Derby).

All this means it is surprisingly fun to play. There is all kinds of stuff going on all the time. With all the card special powers, you have a bit more scope to play strategically. While Grand National Derby and Titan were mainly about trashing other players, Galaxy is a bit (but just a bit) more constructive. Because of all the actions with each card play, Galaxy makes for a much livlier game.

However, only GMT (whose 'simple' games such as Brandywine, Saratoga, and Rise of the Luftwaffe still have 12+ pages of rules) would consider this game 'simple'. If Titan: the Arena was a classic German game loaded with Avalon Hill-isms, Galaxy is definitely a German game done by a hard-core wargame company.

I'm not saying the game isn't a lot of fun to play, because it is, and I like it a lot. I like all the new options. It's a great variation on Titan: the Arena, which I think is a great game (surprisngly, I didn't care that much for Grand National Derby, which I found unexciting). I do recommend Galaxy, especially for gamers who were originally fans of Avalon Hill games, now sucked into the German game phenomena. Even if you're not sure, it's a pretty good gamble for the price (the production values are outstanding, and in my opinion it's excellent value). But there is a definite risk that fans of earlier installations in the series will consider it a bit over the top given that the underlying design honestly doesn't have *that* much control. It's also probable that fans of the relatively streamlined German games will find it a bit klunky. Hard to believe this started out as such a simple game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
great game, shame about the rulebook
January 27, 2000

This, despite the obvious tie-ins to Avalon Hill's Titan, doesn't have much beyond the purely cosmetic to do with it, instead being developed from a horse racing card game Reiner Knizia had previously designed (Grand National Derby).

Play is simple and quick, as is setup and pack away, and requires a good mix of skill, luck and forward planning. There are only two obvious problems with the game, first is that availability is subject to chance since it went down with AH, and we don't know yet whether Hasbro will reprint it. The second problem is the rules, which manage to make a simple game very awkward to understand, though fortunately a search of dejanews looking at rec.games.board will answer most questions.

Like other Knizia designs I've seen, and as is suggested by the game's heritage, the theme is only loosely tied to the play. Whether this is a problem depends on your outlook: if you want something that 'simulates' fantastic battles between monsters you'd probably be disappointed, but if you want an elegant, simple game that plays quickly, a keeper.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Not up to Titan: The Arena's production quality
September 17, 2005

I looked forward to this with much hope as Titan: The Arena is an excellent game worthy of staying in print. However, Fantasy Flight really dropped the ball on this with respect to the poor quality of the components.

First, while the original game included one of the best examples of how NOT to write intuitive rules, this version doesn't do much better. They are better written but omit several key things that would make this more difficult for newer players to pick it up.

The rules also come on some of the thinnest paper available. After only a single play, our copy was already showing major wear.

The cards themselves are not coated, or very poorly so if they are. They feel very fragile and clearly will not stand up well over repeated playings.

However, much worse than the quality of the stock of the cards is the absolute disaster regarding the new look of the cards. Take a look at a screenshot of the original game. While it may look dated, the cards all were clearly unique and clearly stood apart so that one character and his card were instantly discernable from any other character.

That is not the case here. The cards are extremely similar in look and in average lighting tend to all blend together. New players will be overwhelmed with confusion trying to differentiate between the cards. This also explains why, suddenly, players on other forums are asking for input on what to do when creatures die. In the original, it wasn't a big deal. Here it leads to players playing cards to the wrong creatures necessitating removal of all cards of the dead creature.

Even worse is the state of the Spectator cards. This is probably the most confusing element for new players. In the original version Spectator cards were also completely different in appearance from the creature and combat cards. Here the main difference is that instead of white trim around the creature's name, it has yellow trim.

In our group several players (including one seasoned player) kept discarding valid spectator cards believing they were optional creature cards not represented in the current game.

The only improvement I find is in the tokens which were of the lowest possible level in the original and nearly impossible not to improve upon here.

For seasoned players, this version adds some nice new options and makes the game available at a reasonable price again, but not at the level it deserves. For new players, best of luck. Your climb to comfort with this game will be much harder due to these poor choices than what it could have and should have been.

I would give this an even lower rating but the game itself is easily a 4 so that helps offset the poor quality here.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Titan: The Arena with too much chrome
January 29, 2001

Galaxy: The Dark Ages is the much anticipated sequel to Titan: The Arena, that immensely popular game designed by Reiner Knizia and released by Avalon Hill. Sadly, the game is no longer available and is much sought after on various

internet forums.

Before Avalon Hill was devoured by Hasbro, they were in the process of developing a sequel to the T:TA, to be known as Galaxy: The Arena. Fortunately, GMT managed to gain the rights to this title and enlisted the aid of the game's developer, Don Greenwood, as well as Reiner Knizia himself, to see the game to completion.

After a long wait, the game has finally been released. The components and quality of the rulebook does not disappoint. T:TA

has been nearly universally bashed for the incredibly poor rule book, which required a PhD or mind-bending perseverance

to comprehend. Fortunately, GMT has done a far superior job with the rulebook. Sure, there are some ambiguities, but no

where near the omissions, contradictions and confusing explanations offered in the original T:TA rules.

G: DA plays VERY similarly to it's predecessor. In fact, it is essentially the same game with a few 'bells and whistles' thrown in.

The main differences in this new version are the addition of special powers for the lower valued cards (1 - 4) which can be

invoked when played, and the ability to combat opposing cards if you meet certain conditions when you play a card. Other than

that, the two games are essentially identical.

For those unfamiliar with T:TA, I'll give a brief explanation. In Galaxy, there are eight worlds up for control. Players struggle

for control of these worlds by playing various spaceships (cards) onto these worlds. Cards come in values of 1 - 10, one set

for each world, as well as some 'rogue' ally ships (wild cards) which can be played upon any world. I do like the addition of

these 'ally' cards, as it does add some much-needed flexibility and options to the game system.

In addition to playing cards, players can also play one of their five 'bases' (poker chips) to the worlds, thereby exerting

influence on that world. These bases can only be played on the current row which is under contention, however, and only onto

a world where a base has not yet been played that round. The earlier a base is played, the more influence it exerts. For

instance, if someone plays a base on a world in the first round, it is worth four points. If another base is played on that world in

the next round, it is only worth three points. Thus, the temptation is to get your bases down early, but by waiting till later

rounds, you will have a better idea of which worlds will survive. Bases on worlds which are eliminated are worthless.

A player who has the most influence on a world is named the Governor. That player gets to exercise that world's special power

each time he plays a card to that world. These powers are similar to those in T:TA and can be quite useful. Some of the

powers include:

Felowi - May reclaim one visible card from the Felowi column for your hand.

Myrmidon - May randomly draw half the hand of one player and place them in the victim's reserve pile.

Imperial - Gain one automatic combat opportunity when you play a fleet ship.

Divergence - May play a second ship in this turn after the first ship's power is used or forfeited.

A player may also place a 'hidden' base. This is done in lieu of playing a ship to a world by playing a card face-down and

placing a base on it. If this world survives to the end of the game, this base is worth five points. A player has the option of

revealing his secret base during the course of the game and retrieving the card back into his hand. The base is then placed at the

top rung of the appropriate world and will be worth five points at game's end.

Finally, there are several 'Technology' cards which, when played, give the player a special power which usually remains in effect

for the remainder of that round. These powers include such abilities as being able to retrieve a previously laid card, adding

modifiers to a combat roll, drawing three extra cards, etc. Of course, since there are so few of these cards, it is quite possible

one player could get lucky and be the beneficiary of several of these powers. There is one Technology card which allows a

player to immediately draw three cards into his hand, thereby vastly increasing his hand size. This power is WAY too powerful

as it gives that one player SO many more play options on his turn. As the game winds to a conclusion, this added hand capacity

is of overwhelming benefit to that player. I am not fond of this card at all.

A round consists of players playing cards to the various worlds and placing bases. Previously laid cards in the current round

can be covered by another card. Thus, the strength value of a ship played to a world can change during the course of a round

as a new card is laid atop it.

A round ends when all worlds have a card played to it. Players examine the values of the ships played to the worlds and the

world which has the lowest valued ship that round is eliminated. That entire column is removed, including any bases played to

that world. A new round then begins, with cards being played one row lower than the previous round.

This entire process continues until there are only three worlds remaining, at which time the game ends. Players then tally the

value of their bases played to the surviving worlds, as well as their secret base, if it has survived. The player with the greatest

total of influence (bases) is victorious.

Yes, this system is identical to T:TA. As mentioned, however, Galaxy adds a number of twists:

1) Ships (cards) valued at 1 - 5 have special powers. When a player plays one of these cards to a world, he may, if he desires,

invoke this power. Powers include:

Moving a base in that column up or down a row (either yours or an opponent's base), thereby increasing or decreasing its

value;

Stealing a card from an opponent, forcing a player to set aside half of his hand, etc. These set-aside cards can only be

retrieved if a player foregoes the drawing of a card at the end of his turn. Thus, he will be forced to play 'short-handed' for the

remainder of the game. This is particularly nasty

As mentioned, these special powers are only conveyed to the lower valued ship cards. This gives these low valued cards an

increased value in this game.

2) Combat. If a player plays a fleet card (valued at 6 - 10) to a world and meets certain conditions, he may attempt to combat

another ship in that row. These are the conditions, any one of which allows a combat opportunity:

a) Play a card which matches the value of another card or cards played in that round. For each card matched, the player has a

combat opportunity.

b) Play a card over a previously laid card on a world.

c) Play a card to the Imperial world IF you are the Governor of that world.

Combat is a simple matter. The player targets another ship in that same row. Each player (the world's Governor rolls for the

defending ship) rolls two dice and adds the value of the ship. If the attacker has a higher total, the defending ship is eliminated

and removed from the game. If the defender ties or rolls higher, he MAY counter-attack, in which case he becomes the attacker

and the process is repeated. If he fails in the counter-attack, no cards are removed and the combat procedure ceases. Thus, a

counter attack poses no risk whatsoever to the player executing the counter attack.

3) Players may only discard one card per turn of worlds which have been previously eliminated. I'm not quite sure I understand

the logic behind this rule, as it makes it much more difficult for a player to get rid of 'dead' cards and refill his hand. It also

results in players having a handful of 'dead' cards in their possession in the later stages of the game. Blech!

That's it. Those who weren't able to get their hands on a copy of T:TA should be thrilled that the game (or a reasonable

facsimile thereof) is now available once again. Those who already own T:TA may not be as thrilled. The two games are so

similar it is really difficult to justify purchasing both and keeping both on the gaming shelf. I really didn't get any greater sense of

satisfaction out of Galaxy than I get out of T:TA. In fact, the game really adds several mechanisms and features that, in the

end, really aren't necessary. Joey Konyha, one of my fellow Westbank Gamers who is a HUGE fan of T:TA, summed it up

best: ' It's Titan: The Arena with some extra stuff thrown in ... and that extra stuff isn't necessary.' After repeated

playings, I must agree with his assessment. One problem with the new version is that this 'extra stuff' does make it more difficult

for 'newbies' to understand the game and get a grip on its various strategies. T:TA was difficult enough for 'newbies' to grasp.

All of the extra features crammed into Galaxy just makes that task much tougher.

The combat system, although not without its merits and strategic possibilities, can and often does add considerable length

to the game. Several of my games have approached two hours in length, which is simply WAY too long for a game of this

magnitude. What happens is that ships (cards) are continuously attacked and eliminated, thereby requiring more cards to be

played before a round will end. So, rounds are prolonged, adding unneeded (and undesired) length to the game.

Perhaps my main objection is that all of these 'bells and whistles' which have been added does result in a significant loss of

control for the players. Let's examine some of these:

In T:TA, once a base was placed, it remained in that position for the remainder of the game or until that creature was

eliminated. Not so in G:DA. Bases can be attacked via combat, or moved up or down via the use of ship cards or via the

Spoils of Victory, which is awarded to the Governor with the highest visible ship card at the conclusion of a round.

In T:TA, cards played could not be eliminated, only covered by an opponent's play. Not so in G:DA. Cards can still be

covered, but can also be attacked and eliminated. The opportunities for attack are very frequent, so cards played are rarely

secure.

In T:TA, one's hand of cards was relatively safe from 'attacks' by opponents. Only one creature (the Cyclops) had the ability

to assault an opponent's hand and only the controller of that creature could exercise that power and ONLY when he played

a card to that creature. Further, the loss of cards was temporary. In G:DA, in addition to the Myrmidon power which is similar

(but more harmful) to that of the Cyclops in T:TA, numerous ship cards allow the invasion of a player's hands, either stealing

cards or forcing the player to set aside cards into a reserve pile. One or two such attacks on a player can truly devastate him,

severely restricting his play options as the game progresses.

With discussions with one of the game's developers, I've come to understand just why these changes were made. GMT has a

tradition as a 'war game' company. The bulk of their customers are traditional war gamers. In order to make the game more

appealing to their main customer base, it was felt that more combat and 'attack' features were needed. Perhaps this is a wise

business decision, but, in my eyes, the game just doesn't measure up to Titan: The Arena. Although I'm happy to see the

game given new life, even in this altered format, like most motion pictures, I still much prefer the original to the sequel.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
another mediocre GMT foray into Eurogaming
September 06, 2001

C'mon guys, this is a 4- or 5-star game? I'd hate to see what you consider to be a 3-star game--tic-tac-toe? It's fair, but is just a rehash with nice cards and extra chrome. I'd have preferred something new.

And for a Eurogame, it takes an awfully long time to play. We've had games that take an hour.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Ditch the theme unless you are targeting 12 year olds
July 24, 2001

I prefer the older Titan: The Arena which is out of print. GMT has reissued/redone some older Knizia games, with mixed results. It's a spiffy looking game, but I'm not convinced it's an improvement--just like I don't consider Battle Line an improvement over Schotten-Totten.

The description by Greg Schlosser is very complete, no need to add anything.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Chris
Titan: the Arena was was better
December 10, 2000

The folks we play games with have been big fans of Avalon Hill's Titan: the Arena for many, many moons. So we were eager to play Galaxy, understanding it built upon T:tA, and expanded the game system.

We were very disappointed. You see, after getting very deep into T:tA, we each had pet strategies that we wanted to bring into Galaxy. But we couldn't, because Galaxy is a much more chaotic game. The planning that lay at the heart of T:tA was impossible in Galaxy.

So we admired the gorgous artwork, and tried hard to like the design (playing several games), but we finally concluded that Dr. Knizia had overwrought a very good game system.

If you never played T:tA, or if you are especially attracted to games with a high chaos factor, give this one a try. It sure looks great. But if you expect to relive T:tA in Galaxy, be forewarned.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Colossal Arena:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.