My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Acquire
Close Zoomed Image Acquire

Acquire


List Price: $30.00
Your Price: $23.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 2,399 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Product Awards:  

Ages Players
12+ 3-6

Designer(s): Sid Sackson

Manufacturer(s): Avalon Hill, Hasbro

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

As a powerful real estate tycoon, there are only seven hotel chains in the world worthy of your attention. Using nothing but your wealth and wits, you must vie against other business magnates to manipulate construction and capitalize on mergers -- buying, trading, and selling stocks in order to get the greatest return on your investments.

Acquire challenges you to pit your resources and resolve against other players in this high-finance game of speculation and strategy!

Zoom In Front Image: Acquire
Close Zoomed Image aAcquireb
Front

Product Awards

Deutscher Spiele Preis
5th place, 1993
Spiel des Jahres
Nominee, 1979

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Sid Sackson

  • Manufacturer(s): Avalon Hill, Hasbro

  • Year: 2008

  • Players: 3 - 6

  • Ages: 12 and up

  • Weight: 1,038 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #213

  • Customer Favorites Rank: #4

  • Language Requirements: This is a domestic item.

Contents:

  • 10x20-inch game board
  • 108 Hotel Tiles
  • 7 Chain Tiles
  • 175 Stock Certificates
  • 24-page Rulebook
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Big Boss
original edition of Alcazar Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Union Pacific
English language edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.

Stephensons Rocket
English language edition Funagain Games does not stock this edition of this title, usually because it's out of print.
Union Pacific
original German edition
$85.00

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.7 in 88 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by CarolinaFan
Multi-Board Game
July 04, 2011

My family plays Acquire almost every Saturday night. We have four of the 1970's era games and combine two, three or all four boards depending on how much time we want to spend. We colored the margins of the stock cards to provide up to 28 different chains instead of the standard seven. For example we have "Red Tower", "Blue Tower", "Green Tower" and "White Tower". With two boards placed one on top of another, tile "1I" on the top board forms a hotel chain with tile "1A' on the lower board. And with the extra real estate, we extended the information cards so that bonus figures continue to grow for chains of sizes "41-50", "51-60", "61-70" etc. We recently had a Red Continental grow to size 141 on a four board game so that the Majority Bonus was $22,000. Play On!

 
 
 
 
 
A family classic
January 29, 2011

I grew up playing this game and hunted down a copy when I moved out on my own. I am so happy to see this back in print. I recently taught my 7 year old how to play and he loved it. He is still working to understand the strategies behind buying or not buying particular hotel stock but otherwise he jumped right into the rules of the game with no questions.

 
 
 
 
 
by GaryTW47
Acquire from 3M (1970 version)
December 05, 2010

I bought the 3M version of Acquire while stationed at Lakehurst Naval Air Station in New Jersey for Christmas of 1970. I still have this 40 year old game on my game shelf. The bookcase type box has some minor and justifiable wear but in great condition as are all the components inside. I hadn't played the game in about 2 decades or so but recently I talked my 22 year old son and his girlfriend into playing a game with me one evening. The two are great fans of video games and, at first, thought an old board game twice their age would be quite boring to play. After about 15 or 20 minutes of play they started to really catch on and felt comfortable playing the game to finish. My son heartily admitted that he was quite surprised at the level of fun and enjoyment this classic game provided. My female cousin, Diann, my age, came to visit shortly after my son's first experience playing Acquire. You could have knocked me over with a feather when one night he asked Di if she'd like to play Acquire. We did...and also played it a few more times during her brief stay. This dusted off old game has become a huge hit....and after 40 years of its purchase. Di loved the game and had been asking if it were still available so she could buy her own. She doesn't know it yet but my recent order of Acquire arrived yesterday and only needs to be Christmas gift wrapped by me and mailed on to her in Phoenix in a few days. It's not the 3M version but, after reading the reviews here, still the same in concept if not in components. I know she'll enjoy many hours of continued play as we do here with the revival of my old copy. I did download and print out the new Acquire Information Card for Di since it should prove much easier to read in the larger print for those of us in our 60s. It was rather fun being vindicated of telling the old stories of board games I played in my youth to my son who fought back yawns of disinterest since, at first, he thought a game wasn't a game unless it could be plugged in and/or played on our big screen tv.

 
 
 
 
 
Been playing it for more than 30 years
December 06, 2009

This is our favorite family game. We have worn out several copies and never tire of it. Easy to learn. Several different strategies can be used and they change during the game. We have been keeping records of scores over the years. Most cash, highest score for two, three and four player games, best first game, etc. My 10-year old son had the record for highest first game for about 20 years, but alas, a teen-ager has bested him. You will not tire of this game!

 
 
 
 
 
Welcome Back, Hope you never leave again!
November 13, 2008

When a favorite game goes out of print it somewhat tarnishes your play of the game. When you introduce it to others and they ask, "Where can I get a copy of this?", you pause and hate to tell them it's not on the market. I don't need to heap praise on this game. It's in the Games Magazine Hall of Fame, it was one of Sid Sackson's greatest Gems. This is in every sense of the word a classic. I will be buying copies for new gamers to the hobby. Hopefully, Avalon Hill/Hasbro will keep this edition in print and do something that they do to their mediocre products, promote it and increase it's availability. You can't go into any story without tripping over games of Monopoly, Sorry and Parcheesi. Why do you have to go to some Gothic little hobby shop to find an edition of this game?

 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Acquire - Almost Perfect
August 09, 2008

Why Acquire is perfect:
Simple rules. Simple to learn. Yet always intriguing. No two games are ever alike. Though it is simple to learn, it does take awhile to learn to be an effective strategic player. It is a great game with three or four players. It can also be played with five or six players.

What keeps it from being perfect:
The really cannot be played effectively by two players. Two player rule variations exist, but the game is just not the same as with three or more players.

 
 
 
 
 
Most addictive game ever...
April 03, 2008

We have a group of about 36 people who play games every night or every other night. There are three games that stand out above ALL of the rest. ACQUIRE is the single favorite of most of the gamers in our group. I am a youth pastor and have even used this game in one of my sermons as an illustration. There is no limit to the fun and use of this game. I would recommend ACQUIRE to anyone serious about gaming, or just looking to have a good game night. It will have you on the edge of your seat!

 
 
 
 
 
by Solon
Lloyd's Rules of Acquire
January 08, 2008

I have played Acquire for almost 30 years, but when I first played the game I did not like how it can constrict certain players. I went through that first game with no money and no involvement in the game. It didn't seem to fun to me.

I altered some rules to help keep all players involved, even when they don't have money, and restricted the ability for players to acquire stock through "chance" opportunities.

These adjustments have allowed our family and friends to cherish this game for years. I was urged by my sister a few years ago to make these rule changes available for everyone. So I did as "Lloyd's Rules of Acquire."

Hasbro has decided to moth ball the game and doesn't even list it on it's website. They feel there is no demand for financial wealth games in todays market.

Enjoy this game as it is and will always be one of the best games ever.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
One of the best ever
July 11, 2007

Acquire has been in my family for over forty years, and it never grows old. The youngest players in our family started playing at age 5 (playing on a team with an adult) and could hold their own playing by themselves by 7 or 8.

Acquire is an ideal mix of strategy and luck (about 80/20) and the rules are simple enough to fit on the box lid. It definitely fits into the category of "a few minutes to learn, a lifetime to master."

Acquire became a house favorite in college, and we would have marathon sessions into the wee hours. One of the best features of the game is that it has a finite ending point, and even the longest games only last 90 minutes, although it can easily be played in under an hour. We even tracked results and kept records for biggest wins.

The game plays well for three and is ideal with four, but works fine for up to six and as few as two.

I cannot recommend Acquire enough!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Steven F
Addictive
October 23, 2006

A friend of mine turned me onto this game under the name of "Power Players", a Mac version of Acquire. That was ten years ago. I have since turned my entire family and several friends onto the game. It's gotten so bad (or good, really) that we have a tournament at my parents house once a month, on Sundays, after church, (in the rain, with the radio on,.......)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Wall Street wannabes unite
January 03, 2006
Perhaps the greatest game ever played. My family is finally getting out of Chutes and Ladders, Monopoly and Mousetrap. When I started reading reviews in the search for the next generation of games for us to play together, Acquire stuck out as a must have.

Simply put, this game does not disappoint. My 12 year old son takes pride in the fact that he can keep up with mom and dad. We've played this game at least once a day since we opened it Christmas morning.

This game offers strategy and forethought like no other I've ever played. No dice, no predetermined path to follow, no silly 'move back 3 spaces' cards...just your brain and some money. Scoffers will complain about the luck of the inital tile draw, but with some savvy buying and solid strategy even bad luck can be countered.

A must have for any gamer and his or her family! Takes a game or two to learn, but you'll be mastering it for years to come.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
MY FAVORITE!
December 21, 2005
Our family has played this game now for about 5 years. It is always a fun one to pull out and play, and a nice balance with other games since it is different.

My father in law likes this game, and will hardly ever play games with us. This one he will.

It is a very good balance of skill, luck, and just a bit of persuasion, although subtle. I think it is a great game for game players of all levels. Even kids can play, and we help them with some decisions.

The end always hold some surprise, and therefore creates good anticipation. Fun looking, and simple to set up and play. All around great game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Never get tired of it!
December 10, 2005
I've owned all three versions of this game, and was SO happy when the third edition came out, reprising the original. Now everyone in the extended family has a copy. Despite suffering the luck of (the tile) draw, it's all strategy from there. A mainstay in my book.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Over many years, a favorite
December 07, 2005
We have actually had 3 different editions of this game, including the really old 3M bookshelf game.

It is such a fun game to play, and newbies love it within one or two plays. We have ended up buying it for presents for family in other states.

It is a great thinking game, but it is also easy enough to play not to seriously, if someone is not as hardcore. The end is always fun to find out what really happens. A must have for any one who says they like games. It is also original enough to add to any collection, and not be just like other games.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fantastic
November 18, 2005

This game is one that I doubt will ever leave my top three. Aquire is very simple to learn. Takes a few tries to really understand the strategy though. The one thing that amazes me the most about this game is the element of chance of the stock market is so real everytime you play. Shares can drasticly go up with the more that people invest into a certain stock, or you can sit there flat broke.

A very good social game. My favorite way to play is with three or four people and a pizza.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Greatest Game!
April 06, 2005

We love to play Acquire. It never gets old. My friends and I used to play 2-3 nights a week, but now I moved and am in search of new people to play games. I took the game, and now my old friends are looking for a new one to buy.

Each game is different, and you never know how things will turn out until the end. That is the fun of it. The rules are easy, and you don't have to concentrate hard if you don't want to win. It can be played "intensely" or "casually" and be fun either way.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
Our favorite game
March 22, 2005

Acquire has been our favorite game for years, and never gets old. Our friends and famly who have played it with us, have now purchased it, or still beg us to play with them. it is the right balance of luck and strategy, that makes it fun.

The really old 3M version is good, and so is the newest version with plastic tiles. The one in between, with cardboard pieces, is poor, as they slide all over, and don't look nice.

Get the new version with all plastic.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Original version; What a game should be!
August 30, 2004

I've owned the origional version of this game for years...nothing to put on the cover of a magazine like the new version...no bells or whistles, just awesome late into the evening kind of fun....don't get caught napping or your competitors will merge your future and fortune into a new chain and leave you without the capital to acquire the possible next big chain of motels. Endless possibilities, shrewd deception whom to partner with and when to cut ties and go out on your own...5 star fun based on your eagerness to take risks, make the most of your opportunities, the luck of the draw and perhaps like me just having fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The new format is much better than the old one
August 24, 2004

When I first started playing Acquire they sold it with small cardboard tiles. Now they sell Acquire with durable three dimensional plastic tiles. This has been a very nice improvement to the game. I am thinking of buying Acquire a second time just so I can be sure that it will last and last because I have a tendency to wear games out before they wear me out.

This is an all around great game and an essential part of any gamers' collection.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Scala
If you cant rate it 5, you are missing something!
August 05, 2004

I've been playing for more than 20 years. During college days, we would play 5-6 hours straight and then start again the next day!

Looking through all the reviews, it shocks me to find couple of '3' and horribly, one '1' rating! I only have this to say ---- If you cant rate it '5', you are definitely missing something!

This is the greatest game of all time! Contrary to some comments, you are always in the game (those who find themselves out of the game due to luck of the tile must be strategy-challenged souls who would then hate this game).

In fact, it is the very absence of vital tiles that really makes this challenging. The greater joy of victory is to win while being blessed with little/none of the vital tiles!

So to all those of you who still havent given Acquire a shot --- poor things, you have already been deprived of so much joy for so long!

Enjoy :)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Katie
Greatest Game Ever
August 04, 2004

When my boyfriend first pulled out the acquire game, I thought, OH NO! This is going to be the most boring game in the world! Ever since that night though, we haven't gone a single day without playing atleast one game. It's like a friendly competition for us, and it's great because it's all based on strategy and luck. If you're looking for a game to bring you closer to your loved one, this might be it because it worked wonders for us.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Makes my top 5 list
May 25, 2004

I have spent hours of fun playing aquire since 1976 with friends and family. No game is the same and enough thought mixed with chance to make the game fun for everyone.

This game makes my top 5 list of games to own and play. I am a computer junkie and yet this board game still comes out to the table to be played. It is also one of games we take along on vacation.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun game
March 12, 2004

My husband and I have owned this game for 27 years we have over 50 score sheets dating back to 1978. There is strategy involved but also luck. Everyone we have introduced to this game enjoys it and wants to play again. It will always be our favorite board game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jim
Fantastic
March 08, 2004

I own all 3 versions of this game. I bought the original 3M bookshelf game when i was a teenager and have played it ever since. My daughter is a fanatic on it, she comments that it is never the same game twice. I have even written a macro in Excel to do the final calculations. A great game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
February 18, 2004

I've only played twice with 3 other people and I love it. A friend from my church brought it to a game night and taught us how to play. We all loved it. Jennifer and I both got one this week off ebay. She got the new one and I got the old version that I played on. I love playing it and hope to teach a bunch of people how to play. Email me some good statagies at [email protected] I got 2nd and 1st the first and 2nd times I played.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A regular favorite in our game playing
November 16, 2003

My family and I love this game so much that we all own copies and it is played appx once a month! The game offers flexibility such that it plays different as the number of players changes and the flow of the game changes. The diversity is what keeps us coming back. You never know if your proven strategy will play out in each individual game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This is a fun game.
November 07, 2003

I like this game a lot. It is one of those games that is different everytime you play because it uses tiles. There is quite a bit of strategy involved so if you are looking to use your brain this game will do that. Also if you have little kids this game is excellent because it doesn't have little peice that they can try to eat.

My husband and I enjoy playing this game as well at Wallestein, Carcassone, San Marco and 1830.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
So Much Fun in Such A Small Space
June 23, 2003

Aquire is a classic game that I have been playing for about 20 years now. Sometimes I sort of forget about it, but then out it comes, and the games are always a lot of fun. My family all enjoy it as well, and there seems to be enough to interest everyone, including any new editions. Highly recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
What a wonderful journey into corporate America
June 04, 2003

I love the strategy involved in Acquire. Getting in on the ground floor is essential. I play the 1975 version at work with co-workers for hours. High adventure in the world of high finance pretty much says it all. It is one of the better games on the market today. I reccomend acquiring one today!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Nat
A giant among games
February 18, 2003

How different would America's view on board games be if this was the game that people knew instead of Monopoly? Personally, I think that many more people would view gaming as an adult activity, rather than a childish one. Acquire has its share of luck, and a player can also be stuck doing nothing if they've used all of their money, but it also features a lot of decisions that need to be weighed every turn, and a given strategy needs to be pursued if you want to succeed in the game.

A definite classic, and a definite winner!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Get it, play it, love it!
January 20, 2003

I have been playing this game off and on for over 10 years. My friends and I recently started playing Acquire again and now I think we are addicted.

I thought we would be getting bored with the game but it hasn't happened yet and I'm heading over to their house tonight to play again.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Long Time Acquire Fanatic
December 15, 2002

I've been playing Acquire for over 25 years. Can't seem to find enough time to play now with small kids around, but I plan to introduce them to it soon.

As for the game, I can only say that from what I've learned about strategy, economics, and practical life lessons, there is none better. It's much more fun than the mindless drab of shoot-em up games (which are ok from time to time).

So, what about a computer and/or internet version? Would you players be intersted in that?

The last one I got my hands on worked only in DOS. I've actually designed one and partially built in an expert system to have the computer play 'smart'. Any interest?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Variation
December 08, 2002

One variation that we've enjoyed is putting two boards together. One above the other. We have tried three and four boards, but two seems to be the best. It entirely changes the strategy and game play. The end game is much more exciting as the small chains truly come into play while everyone tries to take control of the mega chains. It usually takes about three hours to play. We also have found that five tiles helps speed up the game forcing mergers.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Looking for a Tourney on the West Coast!
November 27, 2002

I was introduced to the game by my buddy Larry, almost 20 years ago and we have grown a big family of player since! We have a list of over 30 people in the Sacramento, CA area that play. We have a local Tournament every New Years Day! I play at least 3 nights a week (it's almost an addiction). I've played in Hotel Lobbies, at numerous Resturants, in Airports, on Planes, and even driving from FL to CA one time! My friends tell me the reason I'm not married yet, is the game!

Doug Miller

Lincoln, CA

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Priceless...
November 20, 2002

What can be said that hasn't already? Luck? Yep. Fun? You bet.

I admit, I have been in the position described below in which you are 'locked out' if you are not one of the first to be involved in a merger. However, this only happens in our group about 1 in 10 games or so. Yet mainly for this reason I do recommend the three player version.

Even considering what is truly a minor complaint, it remains a true classic; I have yet to find someone who didn't at least like the game. Most people love it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jake
Elegance is more than one tile deep.
August 11, 2002

Make no mistake about it: this is a business game that is all about investing. Shrewd, quick and highly absorbing, Acquire can turn the most illiterate stock reader into a fist-pumping investor. By the first merger, it is obvious that this world of stocks is a race to the top and it is a race that non-gamers will want to run.

I have reasoned that this game has almost removed the luck element from it, which is surprising for a family game. If you were only allowed to hold 1 or 2 tiles, the luck factor would be drastically higher and play more like Carcassonne (which is also a very good game), but due to the 6 tiles you are required to have, you are never (99% of the time) forced into a bad move you will always have enough choices to satisfy you.

Acquire is seamless in its presentation. The setup (laying out your initial tile to decide who goes first) flows into the game and the larger tile areas representing bigger companies is picture perfect. The growth of companies translating into an increase in stock value and larger equity is the most elegant system I have ever seen in cash flow games.

Things to note: 1) 25 bills of each denomination were included, but I had to photocopy extra $1000 bills you will need them; 2) I recommend using the paper and pencil method for adding up cash at games end much faster; 3) Always count your tiles before packing up the game lose one tile and the whole game is shot; 4) Most importantly, I use the El Grande pay out system where there are four rankings for mergers: 100% of the bonus for first place, 75% for second, 50% for third and 25% for fourth. If theres a two-way tie for second, both slide to third place each. The additional pay outs prevent the player who won the merger from being the only one left with cash and able to monopolize all the other companies. This pay out scheme keeps everyone in the game and leads to a much tighter finish.

This is the only game I have seen that plays better with more than four people. I advocate that four is the perfect number for a board game, but Acquire, not only allows, but also encourages room for five or six. It is surprising to see how youve made your money grow compared to the start and how difficult it is to make more money than your competitors.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jay
Not only fun, but also 'economy'
July 24, 2002

Don't be afraid of this 'economical' game.. it's very easy, fun, and really educational for all generation.

Just let your whole family play this game again and again.. They will love it for very interesting and thrilling game, and they will start to think 'unconsciously' everything economically beyond your expectation!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Dave
Just Get It....
May 12, 2002

Okay folks, I don't know that there is anything left to be said about this game. So I'll get right to the point....

Just get this game. Even if your friend already has a copy. Just get it. No game collection is complete without it. Not having Acquire is like not having a chess board.

'nuff said.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The very best board game ever
April 18, 2002

I have 3 brothers and we started playing the game about 15 years ago. found it to be very addicting. Fot those dont like to play when they are out of money we devised a way to play partners it works like a charm. the best way to play partners is with 4 players. Wow what a game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great for bringing new adult players to boardgames
March 25, 2002

I've loved 'Acquire' since childhood. (One of the reasons I trusted the Games 100 when I ran across 'Games Magazine' for the first time was that 'Acquire' was in the Games Hall of Fame.) This game exemplifies what I consider to be the test of game design -- two pages of rules but fantastic replayability. 'Acquire' is a great game to use to bring new young and adult gamers into the hobby. It is fun, simple, relatively short, engaging, and competitive without (often) being mean. The new edition is attractive and I like the little skyscrapers, but I do miss the old names (especially Worldwide, for some reason). When I play, I keep asking for 'three Festival' and confusing all the new players. . .

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Everyone loves Acquire
January 16, 2002

This is a very nice game. I have introduced it to many people and never had someone NOT like the game. Many of these people don't play (or really like) games. Most people want to play it again after finishing. It is also quite short, usually played in under an hour.

It has a nice blend of luck and strategy.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The game that ended many a college career
January 12, 2002

I began playing Acquire 30 years ago and many of my friends became so addicted to it they no longer dated girls on the weekends and played so hard their grades went into the toilet, ending their college career. Beware of an addiction that makes all other interests pale in importance, except maybe food. Food and Acquire-the ultimate pleasure. Now it is time to buy one for my son who is in college, but will he be able to handle it?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Lives Up to Its Reputation!
September 08, 2001

Okay, I read all the raves and decided to try it. Hey, the raves were right, this is a great game!

I'm a true Monopoly fanatic from childhood (sometime in the middle of the last century). Acquire seems to take Monopoly's luck-to-skill ratio and reverse it. There is still a good chance element in drawing the tiles, but I think the game is really more about strategy and planning. With 6 tiles in front of you, you can make several alternate plans to deal with possible draws. This reduces the importance of the draw, but keeps enough of it to make it fun. I like games that throw in a little luck to handicap the highly skilled player.

Acquire's rules are fairly simple, but the decisions get pretty complex. Should I buy more stock in the big company to maintain my majority position? Or should I start a new corporation next door and spend less of my money there, hoping for the takeover? Or, maybe, I'll try to displace my opponent's majority in that middle-sized company. And then, what about merger decisions? This can be really convoluted--I like it!

I've just started playing Acquire, but I'll give it 5 stars, because it sure looks like the big winner!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A Must Own
September 05, 2001

I am a huge fan of [page scan/se=0170/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Manhattan, and I was looking for a similiar game. After looking at Funagain Favorites, I purchased Acquire. This is Manhattan with spice--buying stocks, trying to figure out which company to buy into is amazing. There is a reason this game has been around as long as it has: it's wonderful. If I had any complaints, it would be the luck of the draw element. I don't know how to improve it, so the game stays at a 5. A Classic.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Better than Monopoly (without being mean spirited like Mono)
August 26, 2001

This game is amazing. I would recommend it to anyone. It's as fun to play with two people as it is with six--well maybe not as fun, but close. Each game is different as the tile placement is random (depending on random selection). A ten-year-old or a seventy-year-old would both enjoy and comprehend this game, since it is as simple as it is challenging.

The tiles are well laid out and visually pleasing. However, I found that when you stand them up (to keep them secret from other players--kind of like how you stand them up in Scrable), they easily fall over. Also, since the game can not be played without all the pieces (and there are a lot), if you have small children that lose pieces I suggest making this an adult-only game, as one missing piece would ruin the game (although I'm sure you could get a replacement from the manufacturer somehow).

Other than that, the game is as good as--if not better than--Monopoly. Plus, since you are playing against yourself to make money (and not at the demise of the other players), the game takes on a kindhearted spirit (unlike Monopoly, where to win you have to destroy the opponent).

Great game, kind spirited, and challenging.

Finally, since I couldn't find this game anywhere in Ontario, I thank Funagain Games for selling it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Bring Your 'A' Game, because this is an 'A' game
August 09, 2001

I started playing this game when I was a kid, and a couple of years ago a group of my friends started playing. We now play every Friday night and even have a 'Crown' for which we keep a record of victories. This is a 'must' game for those who like the intrigue of strategy and manipulation. I recommend this game highly. Go out and 'acquire' one. You won't regret it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This is really a great game!
August 05, 2001

I can't echo the sentiments of the other reviews nearly enough. After a couple of months, I finally tried this out with my game group. Experienced or new, everyone loved this game. The final scoring really does keep everyone interested. (It's sometimes difficult to tell who's really winning until the end...)

Great bits, great rules, great fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
One of the best strategy games -- EVER!
July 11, 2001

WOW! Let me add my raving review to those below. This game is truly the classic I always heard it to be, and now Hasbro/AH has even dressed it up with some outstanding bits. Even during one's initial playing, a player becomes aware of numerous available investment strategies, and the necessity to think two, three, or more turns ahead to maximize tile placement and stock purchase, while hedging against or thwarting the plans and play of the opponents.

It's a must for every serious game collector and player.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The archetypal business game
July 10, 2001

Acquire has a long and storied history, going back to the 1960's. It has had a number of publishers, and has never been out of print for long. Why is this? Simply put, there are few games this good.

While nearly every family game closet boasts a copy of Monopoly in one of its many permutations, this is the game that rightfully should have its place. The rules are simplicity personified, and yet the strategies can be both complex and subtle.

Many newer games are direct descendants of Acquire, including the excellent Stephensons Rocket and Union Pacific, both of which take the business mechanic and put on a railroad theme. While both games are very, very good, neither of them has the classic status of their forefather.

The newest version of the game is one of the nicest-looking games on the market. The only drawback is that the tiles themselves are thin, and difficult to stand on edge to hide them [page scan/se=0050/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Scrabble-style. Other than that, this is a near-perfect game.

Highly recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
More Realistic Payout Schedule Tightens Already Great Game
May 09, 2001

This is my wife Bambi's favorite game and in my top five. The one weakness to me is the payoff structure. If someone is not in on at least one of the first two mergers they will sit unhappily watching other people buy stock while they sink angrily into last place. I have altered the payoff so that all 4 players (that's all that should ever play) get paid if they own stock. Majority pay is the same. Second gets 75%, third 50% (the old second place payoff), and fourth gets 25%. Sometimes a payoff has to be rounded up $50. We also lay out all our stock so everyone sees exactly what is happening. In real life you have to report your large stock holdings anyway. Now no one ever gets shutout and we typically have all four players within $15,000 at higher total scores. This makes for a tighter, more nail biting, more realistic Acquire than you have ever seen. I gave away our second edition but still own the first and third edition of this excellent game. Mr. Sackson, you are the man!

P.S. The also excellent Union Pacific does not need this modification although its payoff scheme is similar.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rocco
Brilliant and Fun Game!
May 08, 2001

I recently bought the new Hasbro edition of Acquire after playing it once at my cousin's house. I immediatley fell in love with this game and it has become my favorite game. The best part is that you are never really completely sure who is winning until the end when you add up the scores. The amount of luck involved in picking the tiles is small enough that it isn't much of a factor, which concentrates the play on what the game is really about, which is buying the stock for the corporations.

The few negative things about the Hasbro edition--which in no way detracts from the actual gameplay--is the fact that the tiles don't stand up to well, the game doesn't come with markers showing which chains are 'safe' and it doesn't come with the Special Powers Cards. The way I fixed these minor problems was I used Scrabble tile holders to hold the tiles, I bought some white gaming stones to use as markers showing 'safe' chains, and I printed my own Special Powers Cards which I found on the Internet. Now a perfect game is made to be flawless in every way.

I highly recommend you buy this game now! Even if it doesn't become your favorite game, as it did for me, you will still love this game and play it often.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Duane
This is a great game to play with a school class.
April 24, 2001

I've adapted this game to be played with my 5th and 6th grade classes and have been playing it with them for 25 years. We divide into six groups of 4 or 5 students in each group. The tiles are 3 inch x 3 inch cards that are stapled to a 3' x 4' butcher paper board with squares from A1 to L12. We have students acting as banker, real estate person (the one that staples the cards to the board) and a recorder that posts records of sales on the chalk board. There are some modifications to the rules to make the game easier for 10 year olds to play. (Teams can buy before they play their card, and they can sell shares back to the bank if they need cash.) The winners of one game get the option of being the bank officials of the next game. Over the years students that have come back to visit have told me one of the highlights of being in my 5th or 6th grade class was playing the hotel game, and because of time constraints we're lucky if we get to play the game 3 times in a school year.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ted
Various Strategies
April 23, 2001

I grew up playing Acquire on a plywood board with plywood pieces that my dad made and loved it despite its modest apearance. The new look just adds to this excellent game.

In response to another review claiming that the one in control of the biggest company wins, you havent played enough. There are various strategies. One is to control the biggest companies. Another is control a number of smaller mergers that add up.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
WOW! It really is a classic!
February 18, 2001

I was prepared to dislike this game. I have been playing 'German' games for about a year and like them a lot (especially compared to the shlocky American games I was raised on) and since Acquire is an older American game, I lumped it in with Monopoly. I knew it would be fairly abstract (it definitely is), I knew it wasn't a great looking game, it is an economic game (anytime I think of Monopoly, I shudder), and all the hardcore gamers seem to really like it (which is usually the kiss of death for a game for me.)

THIS GAME IS FANTASTIC! Yes, it's abstract, boring-looking, economic, and a gamer game. But it is also that good. Understand that I usually play games that are more 'middleweight' games and really theme driven like Settlers of Catan, Aladdin's Dragons, Tikal, Wildlife Adventure, Big City. Acquire is nothing like any of those. So why do I like Acquire? The game is excellent. A great system, the theme somehow doesn't seem atrociously applied, and the decisions are very tough (which I love).

Is it fun? Yes. Is it for families? You know what--I would say that this is a great game to teach teenagers, so yes, it works for families. It is strategic, but it just seems to work somehow. I can't tell you why I like this game, I just know I like it a lot. And I will be playing this game for years and years.

Highly recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Game for the Ages
February 07, 2001

This game has stood the ultimate test of time and culture. My parents used to play this game with their friends when I was a kid. I starting playing when I was 12 and have continued ever since. When I got married my wife wasn't a big game person, but over the years she even has grown to love this game. It is a game of strategy but not too complicated for those nights when you don't feel like thinking too hard. A really well written game. This game is a must for everyone!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great game... kinda predictable... but there is a fix to that
January 26, 2001

This is a very fun game even with two players. There is not a whole lot of strategy to the game because luck is involved when drawing your tiles, hoping to get one that will start up a company for you.

The strategy comes with the decisions you are faced with when mergers arise. Do you keep your stock in the company that was bought out (hoping it will start up again somewhere else on the board and you will have a head start in buying stock) or sell it all for the cash to buy other more stable companies on the board? These decisions are influenced by the tiles you hold and the layout of the board. Hold the stock if you can open the company again on the next turn, especially if it will be merged quickly.

One small variant that can be added is a pre-game prediction. Each player writes down on paper, keeping it to themselves, which company they think will dominate the board in the end. The winner gets the prediction pot of $15,000. A spin that will actually add some strategy as everyone works to make their prediction come true. Ties can split the pot, or you can make secondary predictions as to which company is the second biggest in the end. Works well in 2 player games, as even if you're behind you never really know by how much. This will give you something to shoot for so you won't give up, and if you win the prediction pot you may just edge out your opponent in the end.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
a family classic - let's have a game!
January 05, 2001

Little did I know that so many other folks are so taken with Acquire. My family has been playing this game since about 1964. We have it down to an hour and would 'have a game' at the drop of a hat. We've all married since then and our husbands and children have all been indoctrinated into the family game. Family from Florida was here for Christmas and we found the time for an quick game of Acquire. This game is tops in our book. You can't go wrong. Each game is different and good strategy pays off.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Completely engrossing
November 08, 2000

I like multi-player strategy games. Unfortunately I find that many people are turned off by what they perceive as the negatives associated with that category--such as long playing times, steep learning curves, historical or warlike themes, etc. Consequently games like Civilization and Axis & Allies don't come out of my closet very often. To remedy this, I decided I needed a more accessible game. Acquire seemed to fit the bill and has garnered nearly unanimous praise, so that's what I went with.

Needless to say, my decision has been richly rewarded. Everybody loves it, regardless of whether they prefer deep strategy or more casual games. We've had three Acquire sessions so far and on each occasion we've kept going until the wee hours. You want this game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Wendy
Just look at this game's perfect score!
October 23, 2000

I'd dare anyone to give this game less than the 5 stars it's received from every reviewer thus far.

What more can be said?

For all those 'gamers' out there in the masses, forever buying up the latest editions of [page scan/se=0003/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Monopoly, they are truly missing the boat on a real business game which Acquire truly is.

It's purely addictive because every game is different and anyone can win. Our twelve year old son beats us!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Family stays up all night to play this game
October 22, 2000

My brothers live in California and Tennessee; I live in Oklahoma. We get together and we have a tournament to see who is the best out of three games total. We have done this for over 25 years. Now our grandchildren play this wonderful, exciting game with us. If you love the stock market or Monopoly you will really get into Acquire.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ron
This Game is Great!
September 03, 2000

I have been playing Acquire for over 10 years. My friends and I have a weekly Acquire night, which is the highlight of the week. This game is great. It combines the strategy of chess plus the psychology of poker, with a little luck thrown in to spice things up. If there is ever an online version of this, LET ME KNOW!

Don't expect to get my level of enjoyment out of this game if you like socializing while you play. Take this game seriously, and you'll go nuts over it too.

You won't appreciate the value of this game merely by observing others playing it; you must play it--and more than once--to understand its beauty and excitement.

The rules state you can play with 2-6 players. Two players is a joke. Five and six players ARE a social experience. The ultimate number of players is three or four.

THIS GAME IS GREAT.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
One of the Greats... Time and Time Again
July 26, 2000

This is one of the best games in my collection. It is rare to find a game with such simple instructions, but with such varied complexity. Depending on how the tiles fall in the middle of the game, this could be a game of projecting the demise of your companies, or upholding their growth.

Small initial money to invest creates interesting challenges to growth, and the dilemma over what to do with defunct stock is probably where most victories are decided.

I can't wait to buy the new release, and hope all gamers reward Hasbro for re-releasing this titan of a game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
An extraordinary game
April 11, 2000

When I was in the Army we played this game almost continuously when we were not in the field. It is a fast game, requiring strategic thinking, and great fun. Try playing as teams if you have more than 6 people wanting to play. We often had tournaments that would last for hours. I have been looking for this game for years and will be buying a copy as soon as it is out.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by David
Best of the best
April 06, 2000

All the accolades that have been heaped on this game are deserved. This is a game I played in the seventies and ever since. 3 or more players would spend about an hour in a battle of wits and luck unlike anything that had come before it. It is a pioneer that has lasted and can still stand up to the best that is available. I have an original 3M version but judging by the recent reviews the new Avalon Hill version is pretty good. The old Avalon Hill version was too garish and was distracting from the game itself. This is a must buy for any game players out there.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Way to go Hasbro!
March 28, 2000

Wow! When Hasbro bought out Avalon Hill, lots of people were skeptical. Well, Hasbro must have listened to the skeptics because it seems that they have put a lot of energy into proving the skeptics wrong.

This new version of Acquire is not just a game, it's a piece of art and then some! The light plastic tiles, the wonderful shiny black plastic board and the molded plastic company markers (which come individually wrapped inside the box!!) make Acquire such a pleasure to play.

You also get a nifty tray that neatly organizes the shares and provides a place to place the unused company markers during game play.

This is the first game I've ever owned that just screams 'PLAY ME!!!'

Acquire is played on a grid. Each player gets to put one randomly selected tile on the board each turn. When two or more tiles are joined, the player can create a company (out of a possible seven) in which he/she gets one free share. Each person also gets the option of buying three shares of any company each turn.

The more tiles that are connected onto a single company, the more it's worth. When two companies are joined by a single tile, you get a Merger. This is where bonuses are handed out to majority and minority share holders of the company that's being absorbed. This is also the only time people can sell or trade stocks.

As you can see, the rules are pretty simple and that is exactly what makes Acquire so addicting.

If you've never played Acquire before then I'd definitely buy two copies of this new version; one to play and one to store somewhere safe, as this version is destined to become a classic.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great remake of a classic.
March 12, 2000

This is a terrific remake of Sid Sackson's classic game. The components are top-notch, and the gameplay is unchanged -- i.e. superb.

If you've played and enjoyed the original, I recommend you pick up this version for the great components (and to save wear and tear on your classic version!). If you've never played Acquire, pick it up to experience a wonderful game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rob
Bar-none the best game for serious players ever
December 13, 1999

There is no other game that is as addictive or competetive as this one. The aspects of never being out and 'screwing' your neighbor make the game worth the time. My six brothers and I have played the game well over 5,000 times over the past 20 years. Now we are all hundreds of miles apart but the high point of reunions is playing Acquire all night long and into the morning. 'There's always time for one more game.'

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
outstanding game of investing and timing in the hotel biz
May 24, 1999

I have played Acquire for more than 30 years. It is always fun, plays fairly quickly (about 1 hr for anyone with more than 2 games under their belt). My brothers & I introduced many of the 'Special Powers' (before they were called that) when we play with TWO boards (works better with the 3M version). Acquire is a tantalizing game of investment timing in hotel chains. Each turn one can place a tile (hotel) which could begin a chain (for a share bonus), expand a chain (increasing its value for sales and bonuses) or cause mergers between chains (the only time when you can sell shares for $$$, or trade for the bigger chain at 2 old for 1 new or keep the old shares and hope the chain reappears on the board soon!). One must attempt to decide which hotel chain(s) will survive for the long term and which can be used as 'cash cows' to get badly needed currency for future stock purchases. You also have to watch your stock holdings carefully as even a one share difference between you and an opponent can slice your bonuses in HALF! Acquire always seems to have an exciting end as players maneuver to expand chains they hold majority interest in or destroy chains that may interfere with those original plans. A great game for nearly everyone from about 12 up.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
It's like potato chips, one (game) is never enough!
December 15, 1998

I learned this game at college.

2 of my best friends and a mentor teacher (who taught us the game) would start about 6pm and have marathon games until breakfast the next morning.

I have discovered that 3 or 4 players is the ideal setting for me. More players make the game much less predictable, and strategy goes to pot.

Once you're hooked, you're hooked for life.

I've taught dozens of people this game.

They all loved it!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The best business game I have ever played!
December 10, 1998

My father introduced this game to me and my brother almost 15 years ago, and we have been playing it ever since--never growing tired, and always having differing outcomes.

This is a basic game to learn, but complexity of play increases as players learn strategy.

What I most like about this game is winning is determined mostly on ability, and not pure luck. While luck is a part of the game, the winner is almost always determined by who has the most ability.

I highly suggest this game, at least give it a try.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
What a superb finance game! Some luck, lots of strategy!
November 25, 1998

I first learned the game 3 weeks ago. I have played at least 30 times since! Wow! I can't get enough of it! Build hotel chains. Buy stock in hotel chains. Create mergers. Sell stock. Trade in for the bigger hotel chain's stock. Buy! Sell! Trade! Merge!

Basically, do whatever you can to be the wealthiest player at the end of the game.

P.S. Get the 3M copy, I like it better.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Put simply -- a classic!
January 10, 2007

Although out of print now, this game was issued in multiple editions from 1962 through 1999. I only discovered it last year, but was immediately convinced that this is the real thing. For those who appreciate a thinking game, this is better than Monopoly any day!

It is simple to learn, yet requires attention to what other players are doing in order to win. This game requires good strategy and tactics as your money is limited and you need to hold some back in order to invest in the right companies at the right time.

There are still used and new editions available on-line. The 1999 edition is the most attractive with the colored buildings towering over the board, but all editions play the same, so you can save some money if you get an older copy.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ian Tan
i would rate it 5 stars if...
August 18, 2004

1. the information card isnt too soft. I had to laminate all six of them straight away.

2. There's a little bag that comes along with it to store the tiles. That bag with tiles would be pass along from player to player when they need to draw tiles to replenish their own. That would be pretty neat.

All else is good. Rules are simple. Easy to play. easier to get hooked. Surprised to learnt that this games is forty years old?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Can
Luck and Strategy
May 14, 2003

I both played the flat box edition and the normal edition.After 10 years, acquire is still an exciting game.But there is LUCK besides the little strategy.You have to play for being the second winner not for being the Winner if you are unlucky.You can buy this 4 star game but if you dont like Luck in games i advice you to go and buy something like TikaL.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Henry
Light strategy
April 20, 2003

I enjoy the game as a light strategy game. If you are the type that enjoys great depth in your strategy games then this one may come up a bit short. However it is a game that most players will enjoy and offers a lot of subtle strategy that may take a while to master. The only problem is the strategies are so subtle that luck will often rear its ugly head. Recommended as an entry level game, that can still be enjoyed by an advanced game player. I give it four stars leaning toward five because of the straight forward nature of most of the moves.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great fun, but little strategy
February 18, 2003

When I first played this game, I had a lot of fun. It seemed like a great game that wasnt bogged down by rules. But as I played it a few more times I realized that the strategy in this game is very limited. While I still find it fun, the fact that the strategy is so apparent and that getting the right tiles can make or break you reduces the appeal to me and do not play it as much as I used too.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good financial game
October 16, 2001

Acquire is an excellent, time-tested game of high finance.

The only real flaw I have with it is that it's very easy to spend several turns with nothing to do because you got shut out of the first two or three mergers. There are several variants available to fix this (check BoardgameGeek), and I feel they make the game infinitely more fun and less dependent on the draw of the tiles.

A keeper!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Tom
I like it more each time I play!
May 06, 2001

Nobody introduced this game to me. I simply saw that it was atop the [page best]Funagain Favorites list and read all the great reviews and figured I'd give it a try. I've played this game three times now and despite the bad reaction I've received from most of the people I played with, I like it. The first time I tried it, one person in our group hated it so bad that she quit (of course I was referring back to the rules constantly which frustrated her). I played the game a second time about three months later with two others and once again it was not well received. I was beginning to conclude that these people hated this game because they didn't see the strategy. What they saw in both cases was one person collecting money throughout the entire game and always buying new shares (me) while they placed a lousy tile on their turn and ended it because they had run out of money buying all the wrong shares early in the game and playing all the wrong tiles. By the third game I had formed a good understanding of the rules and some basic strategies. I was able to get one person who played previously with me to try it again and had brought a new player to the game. This time I was able to explain all of the rules to them quite easily without constantly referring to the rule book and I also advised them on some of the strategies needed for success. As it turned out, the third time was a charm. We all had a good time and the game was quite close. After playing the third game I see even more strategies that weren't previously apparent to me. I am now starting to see why this classic has stood the test of time. I only give it 4 stars because it does not make a good first impression on most new players (at least in my experience).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Just a consideration if you want 2 player games
February 01, 2001

I really like the strategy and attention that Acquire requires. The two player adaptation for the game, however, leaves something to be desired. The 'bank' acts as stockholder with a close to random decision on the number of stocks. Especially early in the game, one player can suffer from the bank getting impossibly large numbers. This is also disappointing since the two player game seems to be decided very early (whoever comes out better in the first merger).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
So far so good
September 05, 2000

I'm a newbie to this game--taking advantage of the new release since I've never played the old version--just heard about it in whispers, like those of the other reviews here, calling it a classic.

After a few games under my belt, I can say this is a good game. Fun and intriguing to play. But for all that I enjoy it, it doesn't seem 'great.'

Some problems:

  • The gray cubes. The hotel-towers are cool. The money and the stock is cool. But the game is dominated with stackable gray cubes that never stack. Sure, they're functional... but yuck.

  • The strategy. I haven't seen 'subtle' strategy yet. It's blunt. Buy stocks, and hope you get the tiles that allow a merger at the right time for you. It's been clear at mid-point each game who would win. That's because so far, the games are being dominated by what I call the 'Microsoft' ending... a huge company eats up all the others before they can get a foothold. Whoever is the majority in this big company ends up winning the game, and the stock gets bought quickly.

  • The 2 player version, where the bank is also a stock-holder, was just unpleasant. too much randomness to have a good strategy in place.

I'll keep playing and hope that it grows on me. It still intrigues me and others I've played it with, and we're looking forward to continued exploration.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good but with cheap pieces
July 13, 2000

I played Big Boss before I played Acquire. Due to the difficulty in availablity (and the cost) of Big Boss I bought a copy of the recently re-released Acquire instead. Maybe I expected too much, but I must say myself and my friends who I played it with were not impressed by the quality of the pieces. The tiles, of which you must keep the values hidden from your opponents, are not designed to stand on their sides and two of the hotel colours used in the game are so similar it can be confusing to play. I thought it was a real shame.

I have since ordered a used copy of Big Boss from funagain.com, and I very much look forward to the extra simplicity and high-quality game experience that it offers over Acquire.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
We are Acquire addicts!
December 12, 2003

There is a group of us from our church that plays at least once and usually twice a week... often getting 3-4 games in a night. We have went so far as to track our scores on an Excel sheet, and are currently planning a weekend retreat in March to hold our Acquire championships! This is perhaps one of the greatest games invented... period!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jeff
Greed Is Good
May 26, 2003

(Warning: I'm writing this review after getting my backside whupped in a game of Acquire.)

I've played Acquire about 6-8 times now and have a decent feel for the pros and cons. I think when playing this game with really good players, the luck factor actually increases because getting the right tile to merge your corporation before they do becomes mandatory for success. I guess you might be able to counter bad tile drawing with exceptional money management, but that might just be wishful thinking.

Acquire has been compared a lot to Union Pacific, and UP has been unfairly called a rip off of Acquire. I think UP is a better game, and has a lot of differences. Especially the fact that you can pretty much choose at will which train line you want to add to, rather than sit and hope to draw the proper tile.

Acquire is a good game in which I've had some success. But it is an unmerciful game if you get too far behind.

If you're waffling over getting Union Pacific or Acquire--go with the trains.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Alan
Good but not Great
February 12, 2003

I've been playing acquire now for about 6 months both online and the board game. It is a good strategy game, but not a great one. When playing with players who know the strategies, all too often, the winner is determined in the first 5 minutes and the next 20-40 minutes is just playing it out to the end. There is a sizable luck factor, and in time, the strategies become fairly obvious. Sometimes the games are tight and intense; other times the game just drags on.

I agree with those who said that this game had its place in history, but it cannot compete with some of today's great ones.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This game is just OK these days.
December 09, 2002

I've heard many people comment that, if it showed up as a new game today, Acquire would get little or no attention. Although the new Hasbro version has fantastic plastic pieces, I think I have to agree with that sentiment.

I like my old Yes albums, and I still watch re-runs of The Odd Couple every now and then. But not with regularity or gusto.

I feel sort of the same way about Acquire. 20 years ago, it was one of the most sophisticated and intriguing board games you could play. But today, there are literally hundreds of thoughtful and clever trading/negotiating business games.

True, it's a 'Classic,' but I don't think I'll get around to playing it very many more times.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Fred
Good for the right crowd.
October 08, 2002

Acquire is one of those games that I have developed a love/hate relationship with. I love the aspect of trying to figure out from limited information, which companies are going to merge. This is a key point in the game. If you are not involved in the first two mergers, you will have a hard time catching up. When you correctly predict and control a merger, it feels great.

The problem is that you don't always have the tiles you need to control a merger. You can often feel that your fate is entirely at the mercy of those players who do have the proper tiles. That is where the hate part comes in. This luck aspect is fine in a quick game of poker or rummy. But for a game that takes an hour and a half with money changing and stock counting taking up a fairly large amount of that time, you sometimes wonder if it is worthwhile. And it's not like you can plan a great deal while others are thinking, because your move will depend on what tiles they lay down.

I know that this may offend some of the fans of this game, but after trying numerous times to see what all the fuss was about, I must say that it is not a bad game but it does have a tendency to drag sometimes.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Acquire is starting to show its age.
September 04, 2002

I may be going against the mob here, but I think this game isn't quite the venerable classic that everyone thinks it is.

Back before there was a Settlers or a Puerto Rico or a Carcasonne, it stood out as a complex challenge that was much better than Monopoly or 'Careers.'

Now that there are literally hundreds of fantastic strategy board games out there, Acquire is really just another decent economic model game. If it came out today, would it get that much attention?

True, the latest version features some high-class bits. But my game group seldom breaks it out anymore.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Ineradicably Disappointing
February 06, 2003

I bought Acquire because of the high marks it received from other customers. Boy, what a mistake. I only played this game once and will never play it again. It is very boring; the strategy is so simple that the game amounts to luck in the pieces you draw. Compare to rich European games, this game amounts to nothing.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Acquire:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.