My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
NEW!
REWARD
program
 
 
NEW!
MEMBER
program
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Close
 
 
Apples to Apples: Party Box
 
 
 
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Apples to Apples: Party Box


Your Price: $29.99
(Worth 2,999 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Product Awards:  

Ages Play Time Players
12+ 20-30 minutes 4-10

Designer(s): Matthew Kirby, Mark Alan Osterhaus

Manufacturer(s): Mattel

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship MATTEL products outside the United States.

Product Description

The wild, award-winning card and party game that provides instant fun for four to ten players! It's as easy as "comparing apples to apples"... just open the box, deal the cards, and you're ready to play!

Select the card from your hand that you think is best described by a card played by the judge. If the judge picks your card, you win that round. And everyone gets a chance to be the judge! Each round is filled with surprising and outrageous comparisons from a wide range of people, places, things and events. Fast moving and refreshing, Apples to Apples is perfect for any get together with family and friends!

The Party Box comes complete with over 1,000 cards.

Product Awards

Product Information

Contents:

  • 756 red apple cards
  • 252 green apple cards
  • quick play rules
This game has the following expansions available:
Apples to Apples: Party Box Expansion One (Temporarily Out of Stock)
$19.99
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Say Anything
$24.99
$20.49
(18% savings!)

Crappy Birthday
$14.99
$11.99
(20% savings!)
Apples to Apples: Party Box
2007 edition (Restocking)
$39.99

The T-Shirt Game (Restocking)
$20.00
$17.95
(10% savings!)
Mad Scientist University (Restocking)
$24.95
$19.95
(20% savings!)

Funny Business (Restocking)
$27.99
$22.40
(20% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.3 in 75 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Excellent party game!
December 10, 2008

Apples to Apples is hands down the best ice breaking party game I have bought yet. It's quick, easy to learn and totally hilarious. We've been playing frequently ever since I brought it home.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The best party game!
December 17, 2006

If you are looking for a game that will make you laugh you don't have to look anymore! We played a lot of games lately and this is definitely the winner.

What is great is that explaining the rules is going to take you 2 minutes!

Now every time we play another party game our friends say: "it is a good game but can we play Apples to Apples already?"

If you have a family or friends that like to laugh get this game and expansions right away. There's a great deal, for just a bit more you get 2 expansions included and the wooden box too! It is called: "Apples to Apples: Apple Crate Edition".

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Brilliant Fun!
November 27, 2005
There is no better party game than Apples to Apples! Not only is it simple and easy to understand, but I've never seen ice break so quickly at a party. If you play with close friends you'll see how well you know them or if it's with perfect strangers you'll find out a lot about them in a hilarious and entertaining way. Do yourself a favor and get this game before your next party.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good Party Game
November 08, 2005

Easy to understand and fun to play, this game is good for a wide age range (although you have to explain some of the concepts to elementary kids).

Exceptionally good as a mixer, this game really gets you talking to each other, especially with some of the variations available...

At the end of the game, read out which nouns you won - do they describe you?

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
A Cross Generational Game that is easy to play!
November 04, 2005
We brought this game to the lake, where we play games all week (no TV allowed). My 14 yr old daughter asked her 78 yr old grandmother to play. Grandma said she didn't think she'd be any good at learning a new game. Well, after 1 round of Apples to Apples with 2 of her teenage grandchildren and 3 adults, she learned the game quickly and continually cleaned our clocks every night we played. We had alot of laughs, fun anticipating what someone would judge, and learned alot about each other in the process.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great party game
September 26, 2005

This is a great party game. Easy to teach in 30 seconds, or just by watching. People can come or go from the game midway through if needed, and the game plays great in the whole range from 4 to 10 players. It won't appeal to those who want to prove their superior intellect to themselves by winning a game through pure reason, but if you like human interaction, and have friends who won't sit for an hour learning a set of rules, you will probably like it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
The best game ever created!!!
June 25, 2005
This is really one of the best games out for anyone to buy. It is fast-paced and extremely funny. It also accommodates large numbers of people. I own many obscure games and the biggest trouble is have a limited number of players who are willing to play. In this game almost too many people want to play. This game is without a doubt a modern classic. If you don't already own this game you should undoubtedly buy it. Highly Recommended!!!
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun, Refreshing, Different!
April 06, 2005

I like this game for two main reasons. The most important reason is just that it is fun! It's creative, and quirky methods just make you laugh and have a good time.

The next reason, is that it is so different from all the other games. It is not like the strategy games, (which I do love) or like your normal board games or card games. It is thought provoking in a very fun way, and brings out the personalities of the players.

It is very fun to play as a different type of game, especially if you have a "game night" and like to play 2 or 3 different games with your friends or family.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very Hilarious
January 10, 2005

This game is one of the funniest I have played in a long time. The best part is that it only takes a minute to explain to everyone (even your grandmother... well, it took me several minutes with her but that is another story).

The basic idea is that a noun card is drawn and placed face up on the table. Then everyone chooses from 7 advective cards in their hand for the adjective that goes best with the noun. The person whose turn it is will be the judge of which adjective goes best.

Simple concept. Hilarious pairing come up due to the limited cards in your hand, and you learn to start playing to the judges. Some people like humor and others like to be serious. All in all, a great game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A party game EVERYONE should have.
May 16, 2004

I love teaching people to play games; and many times, after a game session, people tell me how much fun theyve had. One of the biggest compliments is how easy it is to play the games that I teach; and for this reason, Im always on the lookout for German games that have simplistic rules. Whenever I go to any event, like a picnic, or some such get-together, I always bring a box of games, with several simplistic games, for everyone to play. But I also always bring several party games, because nothing can generate more fun and excitement than a good party game at a fellowship. I have dozens of party games, with my personal favorites being Times Up and Talking Tango. However, the most popular party game I own, with NO exception; and one that I take to almost every event, is Apples to Apples (Out of the Box Publishing, 1999 Matthew Kirby).

If you read about Apples to Apples on the internet, you will find a wide range of opinions about it. Some people love it, and think that its the greatest party game ever. Others find that it falls flat for them, and recommend other party games over it. But one simple truth cannot be denied. Every time, without exception, that I have introduced the game to a new group of people, they have loved it on the spot, and wanted to continue playing. People who insisted that they would just watch ended up joining the game enthusiastically, and wanted to play another game immediately after. Yes, Virginia, there are better party games; but no other game is so easy to learn and is so easy to play, giving Apples to Apples the kingship of party games.

The rules for the game are incredibly simple. There are two stacks of cards Green apples (which are adjectives, such as Fresh, Moronic, etc.), and Red apples (which are nouns, such as Mel Brooks, festering wounds, My Past, and Japan). The stack of green cards is shuffled and placed in the middle of the table, along with the red cards with each player being dealt a hand of nine Red cards. One player is chosen to start, and then play passes clockwise around the table.

The player whose turn it is (the judge) flips over the top green card. Each other player tosses a red apple card onto the table (face-down) that they think most matches that card. The last player to play a card must return it to their hand. The judge shuffles all the red cards, then lays them out, reading them out loud. The judge then, at his own discretion and whims, picks the red card that he thinks best matches the green card. Players are allowed to lobby for their card (or any card), but the judges word is final. The player whose card he picks receives the green card. All red cards are discarded, and a new card dealt to each player whose hand has only eight cards. Play continues until one person has reached a set number of green cards (determined by how many players are in the game). This player is the winner!

Some comments on the game

1.) Components: The game comes in a small but long box, similar to a baseball card box. The box, like all OOTB games, is extremely sturdy, and a pleasant design scheme helps make the game friendly and inviting. The cards are of decent quality I would like better quality cards, but that would probably drive the price of the game up quite a bit. The cards themselves are well designed, with three synonyms on each green card to better clarify the adjective (to help with the selection of the red cards), and humorous quotes or explanations about the subjects of the red cards.

2.) Rules: The rules come on a durable cardboard insert in the box and are extremely well formatted. They are precise and are easy to learn a trademark of all OOTB games. The rules can be taught in about 10 seconds, the time it takes to play one turn. People nowadays have an irrational fear of rules, and this is certainly not a problem here.

3.) Whims: There is only one strategy in Apples to Apples cater to the whims and desires of the judge. The better one learns how to do this the better that person will play the game. I know, for example, that if I throw down Mel Gibson for some gals, that they will pick it, irregardless of the adjective. Other people (myself included) will pick the combination that makes them laugh the most. Some people throw out any cards that they dislike others may pick a card that has some kind of personal meaning to them. Husbands and wives do well, having an intuitive knowledge of what their spouse will pick. Of course, sometimes one will get a hand full of junk, with no cards that match the adjective in the middle. Often the best response is to throw in a random card; it just might get picked! One time, we played with a computer, where we drew a random card from the deck and threw it in the mix; and it came in second place. This proves that strategy isnt that great in Apples to Apples with the hilarity of answers bringing most of the fun to the game.

4.) Variants: Unless Im playing in a very competitive group, I throw out the rule about last card down goes back to the hand. Rather, we accept cards from everyone, unless someone takes forever to decide. Ive had almost unanimous approval from people about accepting this rule; although the rules, as written can cause some frenzied games! Another variant plays the game backwards, dealing out green cards, and flipping over one red card at a time. While fun, that variant doesnt seem to catch on, so I rarely play it.

5.) Expansions: There are four expansions for the game currently in print, and two full-sized versions of the game for younger folk. I bought one of the younger sets, two of the expansions, and even made some custom cards (the website, along with a pack of ink-jet printable cards makes some really nice additions.) All of this gives me a HUGE selection, and rarely do we run into the same combos twice. (And I play a lot!) If you have the game, I highly recommend getting one of the expansions and expansion 4, which has pairs (i.e. Black & White, Sick & Tired, Pepper & Salt, Lois & Clark, etc.) is by far my favorite. I have to admit though that the custom cards I seeded my game with usually bring about the biggest laughs (although Im not always pleased to see the adjectives my name is paired off with!)

6.) Fun Factor: The thing that makes Apples to Apples such a big hit is that it is easy fun. Its not hard to select a card from your hand and throw it down, and nothing you do is really stupid. The game is just plain, easy fun, and the laughs that occur at some of the combinations can cause the whole group to go into hysterics. Times Up makes me laugh more, but also brings stress as you are trying frantically to win. Apples to Apples is easy going fun.

If you dont have Apples to Apples, shame on you! I dont expect that gaming groups will play this one often, as theres not much of a challenge in it. But Apples to Apples goes so well with so many different groups and people, that it should be on all shelves; because eventually youll run into a situation where it is the perfect game. I always have people request this game, and kids and adults can play in perfect harmony (and laughter). Apples to Apples is destined to become a classic game, and one that should be on every shelf.

Tom Vasel

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rich
The most requested game at our house
January 15, 2004

This game is as much fun as you can get. It has a lot of player interaction as well as great comedic moments. Players try to play a person, place, thing, or event that closly matches the adjective card drawn from a seperate deck. Sometimes in the rush to get a card in, funny ones are played. Examples of some cards we had get played were 'Charging Rhinos' played on 'Sensual' and one judge getting both 'My mind' and 'My Personality' played on 'Odd'. This is our favorite game out of about 40 that I own.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
An All-Time Great of party games
May 12, 2003

This may well be the single best party game ever made. It's exceedingly simple, yet tons of fun, highly replayable, flexible, and appealing to all ages and temperaments.

Most party games involve cards that only work once, and hence run out after a while. Apples to Apples cards are virtually inexhaustible, not only because of the millions of possible combinations, but also because the cards will mean different things to different people. Matching 'The Beatles' to 'Frightening' might work perfectly for one Judge, and be utterly wrong for another Judge. (As well as being a rollicking good time, this game is a great way to gain insights into the other players' opinions and personalities.)

The game can be learned in about 20 seconds and played for exactly as long as you want. Oh, you can use the 'official' winning conditions if you wish, but the game itself encourages you to tamper with that. You can change the number of Green cards needed to win, or see who has the most after a set time, for instance. Or sometimes, (as has happened to me,) the group might choose to continue until the entire deck of Green cards has been exhausted (which takes a while, but time can fly during this game). Plus, you can tamper with other aspects of the game, either in ways suggested by its makers or whatever suits your fancy.

I've introduced this game to all sorts of people and it's a hit each and every time. A classic!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The most fun you'll have!
April 24, 2003

I can't tell you how many hours of fun I had with my family playing this game. The best part was my 7 year old nephew was able to join in and not only came up with the funniest answers, but also won the game! I have and will continue to recommend this game to anyone that enjoys a good laugh!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Henry
An apple a day
April 19, 2003

With the right group this game can be a lot of fun. I would however try to avoid playing this game with the highly competitive retentive type. The game is way to fluid for this type of individual and they may not like the unpredictable nature of the winning answers. With a carefree group however this game is a winner. The more the merrier. Another advantage of this game is the 30 seconds it takes to explain the rules. Yes, that 30 seconds also includes answering questions from the excited glossy eyed hordes waiting to play. Recommended for large groups.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Apples to Apples
February 27, 2003

It's true that the game can get a little esoteric, and if you have a gamer in your group who needs to have very straightforward rulings (as in the 'Ghandi' example given below) they might get frustrated when their answers are not chosen. But that's why the rules encourage you to use what you know about the judge. I discovered early on that the card that wins is usually the one that garners the largest laugh from the judge, not necessarily the one that best matches the adjective in play. The expansion pack has the added advantage of throwing in blank cards and in my house we have always used these to write the names of the people playing, makes it that much more personal and that much more fun. If you like to laugh and have fun, and winning is not necessarily the main reason you play, you will LOVE this game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
As unpretentious as APPLES to APPLES pie!
January 06, 2003

The 'critics', who gave this game four or five stars, have it right! It is meant to stir your 'humor' juices up, so you can really enjoy a good time with your favorite friends/relatives! Life, in general, is too serious! This game is a delicious portion of fun, with just the right amount of outrageousness as seasoning! As a game store associate, (should I have said that?) this is one of about a dozen games that I would personally guarantee to my customers, and that includes FLUXX! GO APPLES!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Duh... Maybe some people didn't GET the point?
December 20, 2002

After reading some of the reviews, it dawned on me something that should indeed be mentioned: THERE IS NO FAVORITISM in this game. The cards are supposed to be given to the judge face DOWN, not up, and at least in our house, we procced to shuffle them, just in case. Of course, if the judge saw what cards are being played, it would be a silly game! Read the instructions carefully; it's the difference between great and mediocre.

To say that this game is 'random' and that it gets boring after a while is a utterly simplistic and demeaning way of putting such a fun, entertaining, perfect party game. It was indeed so good, we bought the extension cards for it at the next opportunity.

The point of this game is trying to find, not some random card in your hand, but a card in your hand which actually has something to do with the theme of the round. It becomes hard because every person is different; if the judge is my husband, for instance, I will try to find a card that is accurate, maybe with some historical pun, hopefully something he will find amusing. If it is my oldest boy, something radical will probably be the best solution; my youngest boy is harder, since he can go both ways. My oldest daughter likes things sweet and fluffy but can sometimes go for serious, and my youngest daughter will always pick something if it has bugs, dragons or food on it -- she actually doesn't mind about the 'theme' at all, will just pick 'slugs' or 'bubble gum'.

So, the game is challenging in two ways: One, you have to know who you are playing for, because as a judge, this person will have to find a card that matches the theme without knowing who played it. The second way is, you have to find in your hand a card that best matches the theme, adding to that (as I already stressed) the person you are playing for. In our house we call it 'Playing for the judge.' Also, a twist to the game is, sometimes even the most creative person can't find a card which corresponds to the theme...so they will chose to go in the completely opposite route, which can be fun and (sometimes) hit the mark with a humorous judge, in the right day. There are so many variables, it's infitine at its core.

All I am saying is: please, judge for yourself. Don't take other people's views of this game, because you would be the one missing the opportunity. In my city, there is a store which had one of these games opened, and we played only a round before deciding to take it home.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
hours of fun!
December 13, 2002

i have only played this game one time and i have been wanting to play it again ever since but it can not be found in stores anywhere. it is ok i will live because i asked for it for Christmas!! the one time i played was with three friends and we played not for 30 min like the box said, but for three hours!!! it was the GREATEST game i have ever played!!!! we played untill we ran out of cards!! we all laughed and had tons of FUN!!!! i recomend this game to EVERYONE!!! it is soooo great i love this game!!!!it allows you to use your mind but does not make you think too hard it is a super fun game!!!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
My ribs hurt!
December 12, 2002

From laughing so hard!

My bf and I gave this as part of a collection of games to our newly wedded friends, both of whom are gamers. We broke it out over the weekend, and we couldn't put it away! This is a game of quick thinking. Your goal is to match the adjective presented by the judge more accurately than your oppponents can with a card in your hand. But since there's a limit on how many cards can enter the judging phase, you must be fast. Of course invariably when the 'peaceful' card is presented, no one will have the 'Mahatma Ghandi' card, giving the judge the unenviable task of having to choose between say, 'oranges' and the 'Milky Way'! Since the judge changes every turn, this adds an element of psychology. The better you know your opponents, the better you'll do. For instance, Bill thinks that everything is funnier with monkeys. So I save my 'chimpanzee' card for when Bill is judge and I'm guaranteed a point! Ann's a romantic, so I use that to my advantage when I have the 'getting a hug' card.

We took a time out to play another game, but went right back to Apples to Apples. Why? Because it's just so much fun! Although I consider myself to be a very competitive person, after only one game, I found myself egging on the judges to choose in favor of the best card, even if it wasn't mine!

If you play games to prove how very intelligent you are, if you need to have cerebral strategy in every game that you play or if you absolutely must win, then this game is not for you. However, being a big John Kovalic fan doesn't hurt.

I'm purchasing a copy to bring to the next family gathering. Which always needs some stress reduction.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
What can you add to all the reviews below?
November 28, 2002

So many reviews state the case for the fun-factor of this game, that I won't bore you too much. Simply put, this is the funniest, fastest to play, and fastest to learn party game, I have ever played. And it is inexpensive to boot. Absolutely recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Hilarious!
November 28, 2002

This game is so much fun! You have to be willing to think out of the box throughout the entire game! Also, the judge needs to be in the mood. If they are to serious, not many laughs will come up. But, if they have a wild amagination, the Green Apple Cards could mean anything from Will Smith to Fuzz to Hangnails. You never have the same game twice! I highly recommend this game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Karen
This is the BEST Game EVER
November 17, 2002

Every single time a male comes over to our house young or old that swears he hates games ends up BEGGING to play this game the next time they come over. Pictionary nor ANY other game can compare!

WE have the best time argueing over this game!

This game makes one really get to know how others think and the people you think you know the best....Well it really teaches us that we do not!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Carly
One of the best games!
October 15, 2002

I think this is one of the best games ever! I am 16 years old and family time is scarce. I love to pull out Apples to Apples, sit down with my family, and have fun. I recomend this game. I have learned a lot as well as had tons of laughs while playing this game. I hope that I have inspired someone out there to take time off and get this game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A Game Built To Be Enjoyed, Not Won
August 17, 2002

The first time I looked at this, it was my birthday. It seemed as though it were a modest game, but being the birthday kid, I HAD to play it. It was an immediate success with me, being a card game lover myself. But when I peered deeper into the game, its psychology blew me away. I found that playing with friends made the game much more enjoyable. This is because that even when I didn't have any appropriate card, I could always read the judge's personality and play from there. But there are some times when there are totally ridiculous cards played, making for some bouts of uncontrollable laughter. This makes the game fun, which is what games are all about.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
It is really fun
June 07, 2002

The first time we played Apples To Apples, there was non-stop laughing. Even my sister (age 6) had lots of fun (although she needed help playing because she can't read). It is funny to see all the nouns to match up with the adjectives.

The game is funner to play in a big group (6 people and up).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Bruce
My friends have spoken
May 06, 2002

I love gaming, I've played the gambit from Risk to Chess to D&D to Settlers to this fine game. I also enjoy exposing my various groups of friends to the various games that I enjoy the most. Apples to Apples and Settlers of Catan are the ONLY two games that I have never had a complaint on. Every other game I know of has someone comment about length, of thought required, or presentation. More often than not, the people I play this game with go out and buy apples to apples after just one game. I fail to understand how there can be people out there who don't enjoy it, but then again, maybe you missed a few of the rules that some claim to be non-existent.

1.) the judge doesn't know who played what card. Cards are played face down so that the judge cannot play favorites. telling the judge which card you played is frowned upon, but of course the person could be lying.

2.) you play the card to the judge. The game is more about figuring out what appeals to the judge than figuring out the 'correct' answer. I played the game online once, and the people I was playing it with played the game entirely too seriously. I had to leave when one of them told me that I picked the wrong card and was serious about it, I wasn't enjoying the experience. As others have alluded to, that was the company's fault, not the game's.

As other people have stated, this game is about having fun, which is really the goal that gaming aims to achieve. If you're not having fun with a game like this, complaining that its not fair or not structured enough, maybe you should re-think why you play games. It shouldn't be solely to win.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A real winner
May 02, 2002

This may be one of the greatest party games ever made. I've only played it a couple of times but so far everyone has really enjoyed it. The only problem came up when we eliminate the last card played, with four people if just became an attempt to play random cards as fast as possible and that was pretty stupid. Once we fixed that problem we have had nothing but a load of laughs from the game and I look forward to playing it again and again. Yesterday I went out and bought all three expansion sets because my girlfriend just loves the game, keep in mind I can't get her to play games with me at all and she asks to play this one. That alone earns it 5 stars in my book . One of my non gamer friends was so into it that she said that it was the best game that she has ever played if that tells you anything.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This is a social game, not a strategy game!
February 17, 2002

As a social game, it is a lot of fun. Teach it to anyone in minutes and have a good time. Sure, there is a little bit of strategy, but minimal. So don't judge this game against chess or the European games, it is simply a party game and a great one at that.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Malex
Surfing the Web was Lucky this time!
December 31, 2001

Wow! I bought this sight unseen, which is unusual for me, and was amazed. People who didn't like it should try it again with a different group of people. How fun it is can definitely depend on where and who plays it. Having said that, it rocks.

Those who disliked the constantly changing judging, I don't know what to say--it seems like the changes are a main part of the fun and anyone who hates them for some reason would dislike the game as a whole. Sometimes almost all the cards make no sense at all, so the judge chooses the boring one just on principle. Often, the pun wins just because it's so bad.

Here's our immature rules variant: all the blank cards are 'Yer Mom' (obviously referring to the abstract communal mother, not the judge's mother)--even the green ones. And almost every time the 'Yer mom' card comes out, it wins.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great game for diverse groups
October 03, 2001

Of all the games I own (over 150, I hate to admit) this is the only one which I have seen consistently enjoyed by many diverse groups of people: serious gamers, casual gamers, young children, grandparents, etc. It's a game which works well with people of all ages and skill levels. Whether you win or lose, when the game is played right, everyone has fun--and that's what this game is about.

Each player throws out a card which they think best matches the current adjective. The cards are then mixed up so the judge can't play favorites, and then the fun really begins as the judge makes a decision. Players can lobby for certain cards, perhaps explaining why they feel the judge should select that one (or maybe try to throw off the judge from knowing which card they really played). Some cards might have been played for humor value hoping the judge might appreciate the joke and pick that one. The key is, each turn a different player gets to be the judge and enforce their own sense of reasoning on the process. Some judges try to be impartial and make a logical selection, while other judges may encourage the other players to express their creativity in matching the cards. It's up to the players to know what card to play based on who is currently the judge.

Some 'house rules' I've found enjoyable:

  • Accept all the cards played, rather than discarding the last one. This works well in less competetive groups.
  • Allow the judge to make a modification to how the cards will be played that turn. For example, 'Rather than match an adjective card, play the card you think is most like me' (which might backfire against my egotistical ideals and draw out the 'Cockroaches' and 'Nose picking' cards).

All in all, it's a very fun, creative game of word association.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
you and your rules!
September 25, 2001

To respond to one of the Apples to Apples' detractors below: What satisfaction could one possibly derive from describing Gandhi as 'peaceful'? That is true enough, but would never be the way I would choose to play Apples to Apples.

Please, at the very least, understand that this game is about wordplay, stretched associations, fabulation. Yes--God forbid--subjectivity; not modifiers so dry they're more tautology than description.

Certain acquaintances of mine hate this game; it frustrates them terribly. That is why I have trouble hanging around with them socially. They are bores.

This is not to say that I don't love rules in a game. I like [page scan/se=0058/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Die Macher even more than this one. But, we can love both!

This game does not, however, get away clean. I have issues with the overabundance of proper nouns: 'Cindy Crawford', 'Michael Jordan'. I prefer those that evoke contradictory impulses and signify more broadly than a celebrity pin-up: 'challenger explosion', 'scene of the crime', 'bubbles'. And I'm told that the expansion pack is even worse this way--sad.

We've added an element which comes close to doubling the fun. The adjectives that you come to collect over the course of the game are said to describe you. At game's end we must all write a personal ad describing ourselves that incorporates all of our adjectives. So far, one bite, but they're still together 9 months later!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
You won't regret buying this!
August 17, 2001

I love games. There, I've admitted it. I especially love games that hurt your head with limited actions ([page scan/se=0899/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Princes of Florence and Torres, to name a couple). So I was pleasantly surprised when I first played this party game ('cause I thought, "How great can a *party* game actually be?"). My prejudices have been washed away with Apples to Apples.

How simple the rules! How elegant the gameplay! How much fun can you possibly have with a group of people? You'll find out all of these things and more if you pick up Apples to Apples. Then after you play about a dozen times, you'll want the expansions, too. Trust me. This game is highly recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Think fast party game!
July 11, 2001

Great fun in a fast thinking enviroment. Several options for game rules, and encourages loads of people interaction. Overall, an excellent game.

The expansions add more cards, but make it more difficult to find good matches.

Really good for people who don't like competition and would rather have fun than win.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Chock full of gut-splitting humor
June 17, 2001

This game was an instant smash among those in my gaming circle. We all love Apples to Apples.

Knowing the current judge's personality is the key to winning--not that winning really means anything; it's easy to sweep up the cards and begin a whole new round.

This game is a one-way ticket to a person's funny bone. I watched my brother laugh until he cried because I played the card 'Festering Wounds' in response to his request for cards matching the adjective 'irritating'... you probably had to be there.

Anyway, if you have friends, you will do them a favor by owning this game. And after playing a bunch of rounds, you *will* be compelled to buy the expansion decks.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great party game!
April 24, 2001

This simple game has slidden easily into the weekend routine of my friends and I. It is fun not only as a simple party game, but also as a drinking game, and the rules give leeway for as much irony to be used as possible (such as saying Hairballs are Sexy). BUY THIS GAME! :>

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A Fabulous Game
March 30, 2001

Our gaming group has the ultimate match-up: The word is VISIONARY. The answer: HELEN KELLER. Even if you are playing the game totally straight, that's a win. But, if you have a twisted sense of humor....

Apples to Apples is quite possibly the perfect game. Light and easy, completely entertaining, and somewhat addictive. When we sit down to one round, we stay on for three, and just wait for the trump card to appear: GIANT SQUID!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The Last Review is Nuts
March 21, 2001

This is a very good set to go with your Apples to Apples core game (pun intended). When added along with the first expansion it will add many years to the lifespan of the game. This is important because as you play you blow through a lot of cards and it is not quite as much fun when the same cards keep coming up. With the 2 expansions added in, there are enough cards that that problem has pretty much been allievated.

Out of the Box Publishing originally had white circles on the backs of their cards but have switched over to yellow circles. If you have the newer sets then this is a must buy, if not see the previous review.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Cathy
There is no Wrong answer; Everyone has FUN!
February 26, 2001

We have played this game a number of times with a varied age group each time. We have included players as young as 5 and as old as 66. Everyone has FUN! The five year old needed help reading the card but and we let her choose a card that she could understand. Once she got the knack of it she played as well as the rest of them. Everyone loved taking their turn judging the answers and knowing that their answer was the RIGHT answer. It is so fun to see people's reaction to and then judgement of each card. It is interesting to hear everyone's explanations and conclusions on what is their RIGHT answer for the card. We can't stop playing and laughing onece we start. What a fun way to look through another's perception and into another's brain....

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
It was cool!
January 23, 2001

We played this game at my Aunt Carolyn's one night. I thought it was fun! --Anna (13)

I think kids would like it, ranging from age 10 to 40. --Emily (10)

This is a game for men, women and kids. Even grandpas and grandmas can enjoy joining in on the fun. Of course, the kids can help them if they don't know what some of the words mean! He he he. --Mom (Do I have to say my age?)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A game even your non-gaming friends will love
December 23, 2000

As I write this there are already eleven reviews for this game, so I will only add my insights into the playability of the game within your social circle. Apples to Apples is the sort of game that is absolutely perfect for the social gathering where you, the gamer, have a lot of people over who, well, aren't. No problem! Apples to Apples is the perfect way to spend an evening with company when you want something a little more meaty than dinner and a movie on the VCR or small talk. This game has three ingredients going for it which are an absolute must when entertaining non-gamers. First, you can teach it in (literally) two minutes. I've found that the non-gaming ilk are far more receptive to your particular tastes if you don't weigh them down with all types of special conditions, that is, rules. Second is the humor factor. The game itself is amazingly entertaining, and the more the better. After playing several games, a pattern seems to have developed--a best match usually wins, but devastatingly funny ALWAYS trumps a good fit. Third and lastly, the game plays with any number of players from 4 and up, and a player can drop midway through if needed without seriously altering the course of play.

As far as a strategy goes, I can think of only two which have worked for me, and I seem to win my share. First and foremost, know thy judge. If he or she has a raunchy sense of humor, use it. If they like to laugh, go for the funny card. If they like the clever fit, use your best match. A clear pattern usually develops after a few rounds. The second is the ability to ditch limited cards when the opportunity arises. For example, you may have a card such as 'Antarctica', which will only work in a few circumstances. If someone plays a card you don't have a match for and you are saddled with a card you think will be difficult to match, this is an opportunity to purge your hand of a 'lousy' card.

If you consider yourself to be something of an extrovert and love a clever word game then Apples to Apples is a sure bet. A good time will be had by all.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The best card game
December 22, 2000

Perhaps the most fun in a group with a card game. Apples to Apples has multitudes of possibilities and can be played at a frenetic pace. It never takes long to run a game and the rules are fast and simple! Even people with an aversion to parlour games will get caught up in the action of describing the judge with wacky adjectives.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The perfect recipe for a game
November 01, 2000

Apples to Apples is the best game we have played in a long time. I think it is the perfect recipe for a game because it is fun to play and easy to explain and learn. Even non-game players enjoy this game because of its simplicity. You definitely need at least 6 players and 8-10 works very well. A couple of house rules we added are that we only 'judge' the first 3 or 4 cards played (depending on the # of players) as opposed to everyone but the last, and we also have the winner of the card be the next judge, rather than passing the judge to the left.

Play this game with your friends and family and everyone will be talking about it for months to come.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Wendy
Expect to have a blast!
October 23, 2000

But you better be fast because if you're the last one to throw in your card, it will be discarded and no one will know how creative you really are... It's a great rule... gets you to think really fast as well as creatively.

There's some good strategy too: If you know your opponents well, you can 'play to the judge' and pick cards you think they'll choose. That can be an art. If you don't know your opponents well, you certainly will after you see the depths of their often twisted sense of humour! ...or perhaps this game just brings it out in people... in any event, a must have for a great night of entertainment.

I'm probably just happy about this game because I win a lot... AND I'm super f-a-s-t...!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Painfully Hysterical . . . The Ultimate "Inside Joke" Maker
October 21, 2000

Wow. I bought this game in anticipation of the sporadic game-nights that I try to get together around here, not expecting to have enough people to really enjoy it for some time. Turns out enough people showed up the day after I bought it, so we got to playtest Apples to Apples right quick.

I repeat myself: wow.

This isn't a "gamer's game" or, for that matter, anything to be taken seriously. After one person won, we decided to play until we ran out of red cards. We were laughing so hard my throat got hoarse, and it was fairly unanimous that Apples to Apples rocked the casbah.

Catering to the judge is half the fun. We had two punsters, and when someone threw 'Wright Brothers' on 'Plain' just to get rid of it and won... well, we all just about fell out of our chairs. None of us will ever be able to hear 'Bangkok' without snickering, and visions of Oprah Winfrey busting into one's house will haunt the players for years to come.

I can't recommend Apples to Apples highly enough, if you can manage to get a large enough crowd to have a good time. We had 6, and it played perfectly.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The word is "Fun"
October 10, 2000

Best answer: 'Apples to Apples'. A great party game for virtually any number of players. Very easy to start playing. One of the few games where there are no disputes over the rules because each player gets to judge cards however they wish. I highly recommend tracking down more blank cards to write your own words and names in.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by David
Relative to Relative
April 12, 2000

I have made it my mission in life to introduce this game to as many people as possible. My girlfriend and I introduced it to another gaming couple and the next time we saw them they had their own copy. Gave it as a Christmas present to her parents and now my girlfriends sister and aunt have gone out and obtained their own copy. Her parents neighbor now comes over and plays it with them. Wherever it is introduced it leaves a lasting mark. For me it has replaced Balderdash as my favorite party game. Such a simple premise seems to have caught on. Just about every game web site is singing its praises. Nongamers love it as well and it is a perfect game to pull out at gatherings that normally do not lend themselves to games, such as family reunions, company picnics or church outings. Once 4 or so people are playing it will draw a crowd and everyone will get involved. If playing with nongamers you should leave out the last card played is picked up rule and then it is a social event that will be remembered. Dont forget to get the expansion.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Simplicity and Fun
December 14, 1999

This is a great game to get a bunch of friends together--especially the non-gamers. I have one friend who generally refuses to play games altogether but I invited her to play this and she gave in... afterwards she bought three copies of the game! Players try to creatively match up the nouns in their hands with the adjective played on the green apple but sometimes the 'correct' match isn't necessarily the best answer. Creativity is the key as players find completely wacky combinations. One really nice feature is it takes less than a minute to teach, breaking the newbie barriers.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by April
my favorite way to spend an evening with my friends
December 02, 1999

I recently went to a friends house for a get together. She brought out the game Apples to Apples. I had never heard of it before. I was in for a surprise. It's the best game I have ever played. I was amazed that such a simple idea could be so much fun. We played for hours and every time was hilarious. We laughed all evening. As soon as I got home I looked the game up on the Internet so I could order one too.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great and Quick Party Game
July 24, 1999

Apples to Apples is a great game. It takes only seconds to learn the few rules and everyone can play. Basically a category card is played by the dealer/judge and every one else tries to play a card that matches the category best. Naturally you may lobby the judge for your played card which in turn can lead to some very interesting converstaions! Since the judge postion moves with each round everyone gets a fair shake. It even gets non-gamers intersted!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Sporkboy
One of the best party games
October 19, 2006

I’ve played Apples to Apples in various editions in lots of groups and it is a great, light party game. With easy instructions and quick setup time it’s just about perfect.

The only drawback is that it is dependent on the group are playing with. For those who know English as a second language the game can be tedious and confusing. Additionally if your cousins think that mold is more evil than Hitler it can be equally as frustrating.

Playing to the judge is absolutely key to this game so you have to pay attention to who is making what choices and you’ll do just fine. Great for what it is but the few limitations keep me from giving it a 5, it is a solid gift buy however.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
From 25 to 55, we all enjoyed playing.
December 27, 2005
My eldest daughter received this game as a gift from her mother- in-law. We understood the rules of play in minutes and enjoyed several games in less than an hour. On the surface, Apples to Apples is a simple game, but opportunities for greater depth exist. By the second game, we had learned to "play to the judge" in our choices.

P.S. Unless we did not understand the game as well as I thought, the green "judge's cards" are adjectives and the red "players' cards" are nouns.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Hilarious and simple
October 19, 2005
This was one of my favorite party games for several years simply because it was so simple to teach to ANY group of people, and because it is always good for a few laughs. The only problem is that it gets a little old over time and the same type of jokes seem to come up again and again. So while it is not my favorite party game to play (right now that is Cluzzle), it is still my favorite game to teach to any random group of people because it is so easy to teach and get them into playing it.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great for an easy laugh
January 27, 2005

What makes this game work is the ease of it all. It takes no time at all to explain the rules, and then you can start playing.

The first few times we played it left something to be desired, though. The problem was, people would race to get a card out and take no time to actually consider which card matched the best. My recommendation is to play so that everyone can submit a card. This makes the game a thousand times more enjoyable. More thought can be put into your decisions, and the judge actually has some decent choices.

It's not a game we want to play every day, but it works great with a large group. And I can't say enough about how easy it is to explain the rules and get started.

It's especially fun to play when it's getting late and people start getting tired. It's just funnier to hear someone call a "Rhinoceros" "Delicate" when your sleepy.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Mirta G
Cute party game
January 13, 2005
This game provided an excellent opportunity for getting to know each other on a recent casual dinner party. We laughed a lot and learned interesting things about attitudes and ideas of people we just met. Good to have around.
Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Hilarious fun!
April 19, 2003

The best part of this game isn't really the game itself...it's the people that are playing it! You'll need family and friends with a great, and sometimes sick, sense of humor for this game to be really fun. The rules are easy, but the fun is in finding out which noun card the judge decides to choose that most 'closely' describes, in their opinion, the adjective card. People can pick the most hilarious comparisons, and that is where the laughter begins.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Sure-win expansion of fun party game.
December 12, 2001

Positives: The entire Apples to Apples series is worthy of most any party, whether it be with your grandparents or with your drinking buddies. This expansion remains equal to that high standard, and allows those die-hard players some more cards to spice up the game again.

Negatives: I have noticed more names, and fewer generic nouns to use. This makes the game slightly more dependent upon prior knowledge, although most all names are easily recognizable. This cost one star in the rating. The quotes are still just as funny, however.

Verdict: If you like the original, get the expansions--end of story. The addition of new cards can only help the game. If you come across cards that you really do not like, then get rid of them. If you have more cards, then you have more choices of cards to add or remove.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Andy C
Even though some people have no sense of humor...
July 08, 2001

...this game is lots of fun.

The better the friends, the better the game, as you'll have more inside jokes to play off of each other. Grab a card, and decide which of the other players' cards best describes or matches your own.

Who thought the word 'Canadians' could be so versatile?

Great stuff. But if you're humor impaired or have thick friends, steer clear. :)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
I HATE PARTY GAMES
June 21, 2001

I could not help but enjoy this gem. When this game came out on the table, I must admit that I cringed. I don't generally enjoy games that are designed for the masses, as they are usually so light they could float away. But this was a lot of fun, and we had a lot of laughs. The price is right... this one is a keeper.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Surprisingly, it does work with four!
December 26, 2000

My skepticism with party or parlour type games is that they will lose a lot when played with too small a group. Well this one may, but it is still a great time with the listed minimum of four players. Enough has been said in the assorted other reviews about the general appeal of this game. It won't satisfy your thirst for some strategic competition, but if you are looking for the social exchange of a good game, this is the one for you!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
A Great Introductory on "In-Between" Games Game
September 17, 2000

Apples to Apples is a Game Night favorite at my house. It's good for dragging non-gamers into creative thinking and avid-gamers into distraction.

The gameplay is simple and easy to explain. The cards are varied and provide a lot of flexibility and diversity.

But I don't look forward to playing it. It's too simple, too arbitrary, and too low-cost. I like the competition that games provide, and Apples to Apples is more of an ambience game than one of victory or loss. There is little to build on previous experiences. I feel you take nothing with you from playing the game that can be used in future games. There is no 'growth' of thought or focus to make future plays more interesting.

I play this excellent game, and I have a good time. But I still don't enjoy when the gaming concensus is Apples to Apples.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great Party Game
January 09, 2000

Played this game with five people and again with 10 people. It was a blast. Easy to learn; fast paced and lots of fun.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Outrageous
November 22, 1999

Imagine: you have to pick the answer that best matches the word 'outrageous'. Your choices are: 'a bowl of cherries', 'Betty Crocker', 'my family' and 'going to the dentist'. Tough choice? Apples to Apples is full of moments like this.

The premise behind this entertaining party game is very simple. One player is judge. This player takes a card from the green apple deck, which contains an adjective such as 'outrageous'. (There are synonyms printed on the card which will help if the players' vocabulary isn't huge.)

Now every other player chooses a card from his or her hand of seven red apple cards, each of which contains, usually, a noun (and some explanatory text for those who don't know who, say, Betty Crocker is). All players play their red apple cards face down simultaneously. The judge then collects them all and decides which red apple (noun) card best matches the green apple (adjective) card. The player of the winning red apple card then earns the green apple card as a prize.

Then all players draw back up to seven red apple cards and the next player around the table is judge. Play continues until one player has collected a set number of green apple cards. That player is the winner.

What makes Apples to Apples so much fun is the need to think fast. When more than four players are playing (up to ten can be accommodated without loss of speed) the last red apple card played to the table is ineligible to win; as a result there is a mad dash to play a card - any card - as soon as the adjective is read out. This results in some very surreal answers, which may even have a chance at winning, since the judge's decision is both arbitrary and final.

With over 100 green apple cards and over 300 red apple cards, it would take quite a while for answers to repeat themselves. The publisher already has a contingency plan for this, however, and there are expansions and theme sets in the works. It should take quite a while before they become needed, though.

It has been quite a while since I played a game so completely fun as Apples to Apples. I can imagine this party game being useful for introducing players to how another player thinks (by what answers they pick as judge), or as a vocabulary expander, but honestly these thoughts don't occur to me as I frantically pull out a card to match 'outrageous' and then realize that I neglected to play 'Andy Warhol.' Oh well, there's always next round.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Simple and silly
December 20, 2004

This game has nearly no skill at all, and yet it is a lot of fun. Why? Who knows! I think it has to do with how much humor it generates with the random card selection. The basic idea is that an adjective card is played and everyone needs to choose a noun from their hand that fitrs best with the noun card. Since each player only has a few cards in their hand, tons of silly ideas will get thrown in the mix. Very amusing!

This is the first game I came across to use the random card selection in this manner. Now there are countless games that use this mechanic. Kudos to who ever came up with this idea.

Also, I played this game with a bunch of young kids once and realized that many of the nouns were too obscure for them. I think this game has to played with teenagers or older folk.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This one can go from a three star to a five star
June 13, 2004

Apples to Apples has quite a reputation. When I introduced it to my family at an annual outing, we got extremely mixed reviews. I think it all comes down to how humorous do you find nonsequittars.

'Mud is tragic'

To the lovers of silly wordplay, this gets a chuckle.

'Umbrellas are heroic'

To the friends of the rational world, this is stupid.

My father played one round and had no idea what was so funny. Before quitting outright, he decided to simply choose the adjective that had the least to do with the term and see what reaction he got.

This game is laugh out loud funny for the first twenty minutes. As soon as the gang figures out the trick to it, the laughs become more stale. I recommend using this game as a warm up that should not be continued after two games.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely fun for a few games... then on to the next
April 26, 2004

This game held my high interest for about a dozen games, then died. I agree with 'A GAMER' from Georgia (12/10/02) that you can only match one silly word with another for so long until you're no longer interested.

However, this game still deserves a lot of credit because it has the ability to get everyone (who have never seen it before) playing and immediately having fun with little explanation or competition. Great ice-breaking party game.

In summary, this would be the first game I break out if I am at a party with non-gamers who are looking for something to do. It is fun to see them first realizing the absurdity of the card combinations. We usually play that everyone gets to throw a card to eliminate the need to 'get the first card you grab in your hand out just so you get a card in' strategy. In a room with gamers (who have all played apples to apples a half a dozen times), this game would sit on the shelf.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good Game but loses interest quickly.
August 20, 2002

What high praise this game is getting and for good reasons. This game is an excellent party game but must meet certain conditions. First, you have to have a crowd that is willing to get into it. Second, it will get boring seeing the same cards come up everytime; this game has an extremely high card burn rate.(if you order this, get the booster decks also) Third, don't try playing this game twice in the same sitting; after playing once your over it. This game has been shelved, except when we get new players. This is a good game but loses interest quickly.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Tom
Amusing at first, but it gets old
May 07, 2002

This game is a fun party game but it has no lasting power. That is why expansions keep coming out, because people get bored with seeing the same old cards being flipped and the same cards being thrown in. We enjoyed it the first couple of times but the appeal of the game wore thin and now it is never played. If your looking for a great party game with lasting power I would reccomend either Pit or Beyond Balderdash over this one.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great fun at parties and family gatherings.
July 11, 2001

This is the kind of lite game that easily brings gamers and non-gamers together. The rules are so simple, some gamers might maintain that it's not much of a game, while non-gamers may not realize they're even playing one.

It plays quickly despite the number of players, and it generates a lot of laughs. Use it to warm up a party, or as a filler at a gaming session.

But most of all, don't take it seriously--just enjoy it!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Roy L.
Simple Party Fun
August 19, 2006

A simple game that's good for party laughs. A good basic staple for family vacations and parties with non-gamers. Works well for all ages (there's really no need to get the "junior" version) and levels of attention (it requires almost no thought).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
not completely amused
September 06, 2001

During the one opportunity I had to play the game with several friends, it didn't strike me as a game that I wanted to play again and again. With no rules to go by, a judge could capriciously vote on a card just because he/she liked the person. Perhaps a consensus or some sort of balance would have evened out the game play. Perhaps it was just the particular crowd I was playing with.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Tolerable only for the humor-impaired
December 09, 2002

A game that is maybe fun the first couple of times, but even with kids it quickly grows tiresome. How entertaining can it be to put together one silly non-sequiter after another, ad nauseum? Puhlease!

Maybe my kids are too clever and saw the absurdist potential in the game from the get-go. Well, silly randomness trumps silly randomness only so long before everybody is ready for something different to do with their time...

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Complete lack of structure ruins interesting concept
September 23, 2001

Apples to Apples' biggest problem is what non-gamers find so attractive about it: the are no rules, and 'winning' is not a difficult accomplishment. The completely random nature of each round's winner selection process leads to favoritism, ridiculousness, idiocy and--frequently--pure contrariness (as when 'Gandhi' is not chosen as a match to 'peaceful' but rather he is like a 'bowl of cherries'). Serious gamers: stay away unless drunk.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
this is not a game
July 06, 2001

Do not be fooled by this. It is not a game but an exercise in futility.

There is no strategy, no skill, no thinking, just a random waste of time.

If you're looking for a party game, play something like Rage, Fluxx, or any of the Milton Bradley party games.

This is just dumb.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
caution to Apples to Apples fans
March 20, 2001

I love Apples to Apples and gave it a 5 star review (see David but with a differant email). I had purchased the first expansion and was very pleased, but not with this set. Yes, you get great cards with the same good humor but now the cards are marked. Instead of a white circle on the back there is a yellow circle. You can usually tell pretty much which cards not to pick to keep someone from winning. You have been warned.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Barb
Save your money!
January 31, 2008

I only gave this game half a star because zero stars was not an option. This is by far the dumbest game I have ever played. I know people who think it is absolutely hilarious but I truly am mystified as to why. I have a great sense of humor and really enjoy just about any board game or card game. But I would rather watch Lawrence Welk re-runs than play Apples to Apples. My husband agrees as does my friend.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Apples to Apples: Party Box:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.