My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Incan Gold
Close Zoomed Image Incan Gold

Incan Gold

English language edition of Diamant


List Price: $25.99
Your Price: $20.99
(19% savings!)
(Worth 2,099 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Product Awards:  

Ages Play Time Players
8+ 20-40 minutes 3-8

Designer(s): Bruno Faidutti, Alan R Moon

Manufacturer(s): FRED Distribution

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Incan Gold is a quick, fun game of bluff and daring in which explorers push their luck while exploring an old Incan temple in search of gold and treasure. In each round, you decide whether to delve deeper into the temple, adding to your riches, or escape with the share you’ve acquired so far.

Every time an explorer braves new territory, more gems and dangers appear. Giant spiders, mummies and fire can cause you to lose everything. Is it worth the risk? You decide. But if you leave, those who remain in the temple may acquire a bigger share of each stash of jewels yet to be found.

After five rounds of exploration, whoever has the most treasure is the ultimate explorer and the winner!

Zoom In Cover Image: Incan Gold
Close Zoomed Image aIncan Goldb
Cover
Zoom In Photo 1 Image: Incan Gold
Close Zoomed Image aIncan Goldb
Photo 1

Product Awards

Major FUN
Award Winner, 2008
Games Magazine Awards
Best Family Game Nominee, 2008
Spiel des Jahres
Recommended, 2005
International Gamers Awards
Best Strategy Game Nominee, 2005

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Bruno Faidutti, Alan R Moon

  • Manufacturer(s): FRED Distribution

  • Artist(s): Matthias Catrein

  • Year: 2009

  • Players: 3 - 8

  • Time: 20 - 40 minutes

  • Ages: 8 and up

  • Weight: 402 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #65

  • Language Requirements: Game components are language-independent. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English. This is a domestic item.

Contents:

  • 5 Temple cards
  • 16 Player cards
  • 8 Tent cards
  • 30 Quest cards:
    • 15 Treasure cards
    • 15 Hazard cards
  • 110 Treasures:
    • 60 turquoise
    • 30 obsidian
    • 20 gold
  • rules

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4 in 20 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
A proven and popular press-your-luck game for everyone
June 02, 2012

Along with For Sale, High Society, and Roll Through the Ages, I would regard Incan Gold as one of the essential must-haves in the Gryphon Games Bookshelf series of games. As a "go-to" game, for a quick and fun filler, Incan Gold hits the spot, and has a huge amount of a appeal.

Here are some of the things that help make it a hit:

  • Plays quickly
  • Handles groups of up to 8 easily
  • Press-your-luck gives a huge fun factor
  • Appeals to people of all ages, both young children and older gamers can join in
  • Great looking components
  • Easy rules that are quick to teach. Few other games can provide all these elements in one package.

What makes Incan Gold work so well, is that it has a very accessible theme, and a very high fun factor as a result of the press-your-luck element, combined with simultaneous selection. This cuts out down time, and keeps the game fun for everyone. It's true that you can't expect repeated play with the same group, especially with serious gamers, and the handing out gems during the game can be a little fiddly. But the amount of fun and table time this game has seen with a variety of groups is hard to beat. It appeals to people with all ages, and even with 8 players there's not really any down time. The Gryphon Games edition also has improved some of the components (e.g. the tents) from the earlier Sunriver edition.

If you're looking for something to play when grandma comes over, or Uncle Dave and his mischievous 7 year old son, or even when the colleagues from work pop in for some wine and cheese, then you can't go wrong with Incan Gold! Fun, fun, fun!

EndersGame, BGG reviewer
Profile: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/user/EndersGame
Reviews: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/37596

 
 
 
 
 
Great family fun!
August 13, 2009

I love this game... it always brings laughter and enjoyment to everyone... even people who don't care for games. If you're looking for a simple and FUN game... look no more!!!

 
 
 
 
 
by Ken
Great game for everyone
April 27, 2009

This is simply a simple and great game for just about everyone. I was not impressed that there was no board, but you can print one out on photo paper and it works fine. My 5 year old and all the way up enjoyed it. Strongly recommended even by my wife.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Portable, Fun, Fun, and Fun.
April 13, 2007

I managed to jump into a game of Diamant a couple years ago at Origins, led none other than one of the designers himself – Alan Moon. The game was quick, simple – and I remember thinking how much fun I had in such a small amount of time. I wanted to pick up a copy, but was amazed at how much the game cost, so let it go for a while. When I heard that an American reprint was being done, I was exceptionally eager to get my hands on a copy and, after several delays, finally got to play Incan Gold (Sunriver and Funagain Games, 2007 – Alan Moon and Bruno Faidutti).

And I still can’t believe what an amazing gem of a game this is. It’s a short, simple game that handles up to eight players, and I can see it getting literally scores of plays over the year. Everyone I played the game with enjoyed it tremendously, and it’s a wonderful game to fit in at the beginning or end of a gaming session. The game is perhaps a little under-produced, but it’s sold for a reasonable price and is highly portable.

Each player in Incan Gold is an adventurer (Indiana Jones style) who is searching an Incan temple for gold and trials. The game takes place over five rounds with five temple cards that form a “game board” of sorts, although it’s completely unnecessary. Each player receives a tent card, folded in half to form an actual small tent, and two player cards – one with a torch on it, the other with a picture of the players’ camp. A pile of treasures in three denominations (1, 5, and 10) is placed near the board, and one player takes a deck of thirty cards (fifteen hazard cards – three each of fire, spiders, rockslide, monster, and snakes; and fifteen treasure cards, with various values from “1” to “17”). The first round is ready to begin.

Each round, one artifact card is added to the deck, and the player turns over one of the temple cards to mark the round. The player with the deck then turns over the top card from the deck. If the card is a treasure card, the players all equally divide it amongst themselves (if possible), with the remainder placed on the card. Players set these treasures beside their tent. If the card is a Hazard, nothing happens, UNLESS the Hazard card is the same type as one that has already been turned over. If this occurs, then all players still in the temple lose all treasures next to their tent, and the Hazard card is removed from the game. If an artifact card is turned over, it is simply left on the table.

After this, players all must decide whether or not they wish to stay in the temple. Each player places one of their cards face down, using the Camp card if they wish to leave, or the Torch card if they wish to continue exploring. Cards are revealed simultaneously, and players who used the Camp card are “safe”. The players split all the gems that are still on cards on the path, leaving the remainder of them. They then place all of the gems next to their tent underneath it and are finished with the round. Additionally, if there are one or more Artifacts on the table, and only ONE player leaves the temple, they receive the artifacts. The first three artifacts are worth five treasures, the last two ten treasures.

The rest of the adventurers continue on, with another card being flipped over; until either everyone is crushed in the Temple, or everyone has escaped. Once this occurs, the deck is reshuffled, another artifact added, and the next round begins. After five rounds, players reveal the treasures under their tents and add them to the value of their artifacts for their final score. The player with the highest total is the winner!

Some comments on the game…

1.) Components: The game comes in a small, flat box – equivalent to those used in the Kosmos two-player series, and easily holds all the cards and the generous amount of treasures. The treasures are plastic polyhedral and are fun to move around and create a nice visual effect. I do think that there are too many “5” valued ones, but there is certainly enough to play the game. All of the cards have excellent artwork on them and certainly help emit a treasure-hunting theme. The one component that I’m not overly fond of is the tent cards. You can fold them in half or gently curve them (there is a sheet included in the game dedicated to just explaining the various methods), but it just is a little “cheaper” than I would like. However, no one that I played with had a problem with it – so it could just be me, and I will admit that the tents were functional. The game is very easy to tote around and can be set up quite quickly.

2.) Rules: The rules are on in a small four-page booklet that easily and quickly explains how to play the game with several color illustrations. As for teaching the game, I’ve now taught it to dozens of people and never had anyone not immediately understand the game. It has a “push your luck” element to it that is simply intuitive to most people; and since the game has a high-speed element, many people learn simply by watching others play.

3.) Artifacts: Artifacts were not included in the original Diamant rules, and the rulebook for Incan Gold even mentions that you can take them out – but I can’t fathom doing so. I certainly enjoyed Diamant, but the artifacts add another level to the game –as players are rewarded if they are the only one who runs, and another player can take the big prize from them. They are a welcome edition, and I highly recommend leaving them in, since they add that much more fun to the game.

4.) Fun Factor: Normally, I talk about game mechanics for a while before getting to this point, but I really have a hard time talking about Incan Gold without mentioning just how stinkin’ fun the game is! Really, it’s just a blast to play, and you’ll hear the entire group laughing the entire time. There are yells when everyone runs at the same time, giving small amounts of treasure to all, and there are cries of dismay when a player pushes their luck too far. I’m the type of player who likes to stay in the temple as long as possible, and often I’m the only one left, gingerly turning over cards, hoping that I find a mother load of jewels. Unfortunately, it seems as if the cards conspire against me, and I lose everything to the squeals of delight from other player. And really, that’s all Incan Gold is – a game in which players attempt to push their luck and warily study the other players, wondering when they are going to dash from the temple. Game play is simple, the time is short even with the full complement of eight players, and invariably people will want to play again. Just today, I introduced the game to a bunch of teenagers, and they didn’t want to stop playing. Games like this are a “must have” for my collection.

I’ve only added a few points to this review, but I think that I can’t say much more – other than that the game is pure fun. It reminds me quite a bit of Cloud 9, and the fact that it plays quickly in large groups – even groups that aren’t used to playing games. Good for youth groups, school classes, get-togethers, and openers for game groups – Incan Gold has the potential to become extremely popular – and it should, a clever, simple little game.

Tom Vasel
“Real men play board games”

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
You will spend hours!
July 08, 2006

This game has one of the best qualities that I love in a game. Easy for the whole family to pick up. The mechanics are very simple, but they work beautifully. If you are looking for a bluffing game that has a very distinct flavor to it this is it. So grab a bag of chips and get your friends because this game is an intense riot!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
People want to play right away when they see it
May 08, 2005

I like bidding games, and this one is perfect for a quick play without complicated rules. The theme, vaguely reminiscent of "Indiana Jones," makes it a game people will want to play right away when they see it.

The rules are easy to learn, and while the strategy is thin, you do have to decide when to opt out of the bidding, much like the dice game Can't Stop.

Players choose an explorer that's used only for a fist-bid when they want to claim their jewels.

The player collecting the most jewels in five rounds of play wins. What's interesting about the game is the decision on when to claim your jewels.

A card is played with either a number (1-17) representing jewels discovered or a hazard (poison gas, explosion, snake, scorpion, rock slide). Players bid simultaneously on staying in for another card turn or opt out and claim the jewels. Example: When a 12 card is played and there are 4 players, each player receives 3 jewels. In situations where there are excess jewels after equal disbursement -- a common occurrence -- the remainder go on the card.

After several rounds of play, the remaining jewels sitting on cards can add up to quite a stash, further enticement to stay in the bidding as the harzard cards pile up. When a second similar hazard card is drawn, people still bidding lose everything.

Fairly often you have situations where the hazard cards come out to start play and it's obvious that you will continue bidding, so you have to go through the motion of making a fist bid anyway.

The playing pieces are nicely done.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by annie
Our five-year-old loves this game
January 25, 2009

We played this tonight for the first time and our five-year-old went nuts for it. My husband and I were happily surprised by how fun this was for all three of us. We'll play this often for sure.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Greg J. Schloesser
Grab your share of Incan Gold!
December 06, 2011

Design by: Alan Moon and Bruno Faidutti
Published by: Gryphon Games
3 – 8 Players, 20 – 30 minutes
Review by: Greg J. Schloesser

NOTE: This review was first published on the Opinionated Gamers website

I've always been a big fan of Sid Sackson's Can't Stop. The push-your-luck aspect of the game creates a tense and exciting experience, as a player hopes to get lucky with the right roll to keep going. It is a terrific, light game that appeals to just about everyone. So what does Can't Stop have to do with Incan Gold? The push-your- luck aspect, which is why I find the game so fun to play.

Incan Gold is the reincarnation of Diamant, which was originally released by Schmidt Spiele in Europe. This new version published by Gryphon Games has been revamped and turned into a pure card game. Gone are the meeples, board and nifty mining carts. All of these components were certainly superfluous, but they still added atmosphere and helped the game feel like more than just a card game. This new version adds artifacts to the proceedings, which does make the decision to run or stay more difficult.

Designed by Alan Moon and Bruno Faidutti, Incan Gold entices players to enter mysterious and dangerous Incan ruins in search of precious gems and artifacts. The dangers are numerous, but fabulous treasure awaits the bold. Stay too long, however, and all treasures will be lost. Perhaps if you keep going just a bit longer, you can uncover a mother lode of precious gems. However, there are significant dangers, so remaining too long could result in disaster. When do you decide to run from the tunnels, taking your treasure – and those left behind – with you? These decisions help make Incan Gold tense and fun.

Players will enter and explore the tunnels and passages of five ruins. The procedure for exploring each ruin is the same. The ruin card is revealed, displaying the artifact that might be discovered hidden in the tunnels. It is then shuffled into the deck. One-by-one, cards are revealed and placed face-up, forming a path. A card will either be treasure, an artifact or a hazard. If it is treasure, the amount listed is divided evenly amongst the players, with any remainder being placed on the card. The treasure can be a small amount – one or two gems – or a mother lode consisting of over a dozen gems. If it is an artifact, it is placed on the path. If it is a hazard … well, more on that in a bit.

After each card is revealed and placed … and any treasures divided … all players must decide whether they are going to remain in the ruin or dash for the exit, returning to their camp. They do this by simultaneously revealing either a torch (stay) or camp (run) card. Players who run take the gems they have gained, splitting any gems that were left on the cards along the path. If only one player runs, he gets it all, including any artifact card(s) on the path. Treasures are stored in the players' tents. Those who opt to remain in the tunnel continue on the journey.

What about those hazards? There are five types of perils – spiders, snakes, mummies, etc. – each with three cards in the deck. When the first hazard of a particular type is revealed, nothing happens, and the hazard card is added to the path. However, when the second hazard of a particular type is revealed, disaster strikes. All players remaining in the ruin lose all treasures they have collected from that location and the round ends. Only those who had previously run from the ruin get to keep the treasures they collected. This second hazard card is removed from the game, reducing the odds of that particular hazard appearing again.

Play continues in the fashion for each of the five ruins. After all ruins have been explored, players tally the value of all gems and artifacts in their camps. The first three artifacts collected are worth five points apiece, while the remaining two are worth ten points apiece. Their appearance certainly makes dashing from a ruin quite attractive. The player with the greatest value of treasure is victorious.

There is not much strategy to the game, but it is not designed to be a strategy game. It is designed to be a light, fun filler, and it is exactly that. There is considerable tension when players decide to run or stay. The turn of each card causes anxiousness, which morphs into outbursts of relief or despair when the card is finally revealed. It is push-your-luck fun played in 20 – 30 minutes.

Incan Gold is easy to learn and plays quickly, everything a fun filler should be. What's more, the game has proven popular with just about everyone with whom I've played, both gamers and non-gamers. My only real complaint is the removal of the board, meeples and mine carts. Of course, there really weren’t any mine carts used to explore Incan ruins! Still, while those components aren't really necessary, they gave the original version of the game a more professional feel. Regardless, I am happy to see the game gain wider distribution, even in its more streamlined state. So what say you? Are you bold enough to brave the horrors of the ruins in hopes of becoming fabulously wealthy? Are you ready to grab your share of Incan Gold?

 
 
 
 
 
by Matt
Great party game
December 12, 2008

This is a GREAT party game to be played with many people of all ages over 4. My only complaint is that when playing with 7-8 people, there aren't enough pieces of turquoise, but we substitute pennies.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Quardlepleen
Great family game
April 02, 2008

Simple, yet fun game, built around one decision: 'Should I stay or should I go?".

Players are exploring a cave. Each turn they simultaneously show whether they are staying in, or leaving the cave. If you leave, you pick up any leftover treasure on the way out. If you stay in, you split whatever treasure you find, but you could lose it all if you hit one of the 5 dangers for a 2nd time.

Best with 8 players, a full game takes all of 20 minutes. This game always goes over with non-gamers. There is always laughter when people bluff, and try to out-guess each other.

A must-have.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by A Gamer
GREAT game for kids
February 27, 2008

Incan Gold is a fine party game -- quick, sometimes tense -- but I like it most as a game for kids. We've played it often with groups of kids from 6 to 11 and it's been a mega-hit. The kids love the game components (the jewels, the graphics on the cards), and the rules are so easy even non-gamer kids can pick it up quickly. We've adopted the habit of the moderator asking players "Be you brave or be you chicken" when asking players whether they are going to risk their treasure by staying a little longer in the temple, and it's been very interesting watching the kids begin to realize that it's not always a bad idea to chicken out. As a teacher, I also love the game for the math skills it teaches--not just the general probabilities and the usual game- benefit of adding up the score. Because the treasure is split among the players remaining in the temple (with the remainder left on the path, waiting for any fleeing treasure-gather to snatch it up during his or her exit), Incan Gold is a great way to introduce very young kids to division (and remainders). As far as I'm concerned, board games are the best way to teach math by immersion, and Incan Gold is one of the best we've found.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun, but has its limits...
January 08, 2008

Players in this game are archeologist/explorers who have discovered an Incan Temple. The temple has 5 entrances, and each entrance takes the explorers into a different tunnel. During one game players explore all five tunnels.

The farther you opt to go into the tunnel, the greater your chances of finding treasure and artifacts. At the same time, however, the greater your chances of running into a tunnel terror so intense that you drop everything and run like mad to get out. Only players who decide to leave a tunnel before the terror shows up get to keep what they found in a particular tunnel.

A tunnel's contents are revealed as cards are drawn from a deck that contains treasure, artifact, and hazard cards. So, basically, the game presents players with a series of choices about whether to delve deeper into a tunnel and increase their chances of getting rich, as well as their chances of running into a hazard and losing it all, or taking a sure thing and getting out while they still can.

We purchased this game for the family, and it was a hit. Our crew includes children ages 17, 15, 13, and 8. All of them enjoy playing, but after a few rounds we made some house rules. In our opinion there are too few treasure cards and too many tunnel hazard cards. There are, I believe, 3 each of 6 different kinds of hazard cards. When two identical hazard cards are turned up in a tunnel all explorers still in the tunnel must drop their loot and flee. In order to increase the amount of loot we could collect, and thereby increase the fun of the game especially for younger players, we decided to pull one of each of the hazard cards from the deck. That means that the farther you get into the game, the fewer hazards you have to deal with (you'll see when you play). That made the game more fun for us.

As for the game itself...we enjoy the premise, but the cards are kind of flimsy, and the tent cards leave a lot to be desired. I'd have been willing to pay more for plastic tent pieces and a larger deck of more substantial cards.

All in all this is a solid family game, and the game is designed for up to 8 players. The play is fast enough to keep younger players engaged, and it's interesting enough to keep teens involved.

With all things considered, this is a solid 4 star game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Brad N.
Think it's simple? The rules are but the decisions are not.
March 01, 2007

I almost didn't buy this game because the idea of a "press your luck" game sounds boring to me. The roulette wheel and gambling where you "pick numbers" has never appealed to me because the skill involved seems so minimal. And, while it is true that Incan Gold is not a game of great skill, it does take some skill and some smarts about what the other players are going to do. The clever mechanic of picking up the artifacts and leftover gems when you leave the mine make it appealing to quit sometimes. But you really only want to stop when you're the only one making that decision.

We've played this game with just four people and had a lot of fun. It moves quickly and everyone wants to play again when we're finished (win or lose). We've learned to play this one at the end of the night or else we won't get any other games in. I'm guessing the game will be even more fun with more players.

We felt like the two cards that show whether you are staying or going could have been more different so that it was more obvious which card you are selecting and which card others selected when they turn them over. This was a very small annoyance, but one that just about everybody brings up when they play the game.

Overall, this game is a winner and perfect for any crowd.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good Game but Diamant is Better
January 21, 2007

The game play is very good and appeals to all levels of gameplayers but I have a real problem with the actual game pieces. Unlike Diamant where you get a very cool mining car to store your jewels, in Incan Gold you fold a game card in the shape of a tent. Trying to cram your jewels under the folded card is pretty cheap. The 2 cards that you choose between when deciding whether you are continuing on or getting out of the round are very cheap and not a very efficient way of deciding your course of action. The wooden figure in Diamant is much easier and more appealing. I would suggest using one of the jewels instead of the 2 cards. If the jewel is in your hand - you are getting out of the round. If your hand is empty - you are continuing in the round. The game is good but the actual components leave a lot to be desired.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Excellent for families and non-gamers
July 02, 2006

This is a fine, fun filler for gamers, but it is invaluable as a game that families can play together or gamers can play with non-gamers. The game is very simple to teach and moves very quickly. A typical game is over in 20 minutes or less, which is great for folks who are new to games or whose attention span is short.

What's great is that most folks will want to play more than once after they've played the game. And since the game is more about testing your nerve than any real strategic thinking, everyone is on a pretty level playing field.

I've played this with kids, with hard-core gamers and with non-gamers and it's gotten a universally positive reception.

I haven't given it a 5 because to me that should be reserved for the rarest of titles, but don't let that deter you - Diamant is a great title.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Who has the guts?
June 25, 2006

Diamant is worth searching for. I expected much from it since Alan R. Moon (of Ticket to Ride fame) and Bruno Faidutti (Mystery of the Abbey) created it, and it doesn't disappoint. Don't expect the intricate game play of these creators' previous works here as Diamant is a short filler game that is just cleverly constructed.

You are a splunker trying to take as many gems as you can out of five jewel-encrusted caves before you get overcome by gas, explosions, rock slides, scorpions, or snakes. It is a bit of a risk- taking game as players who decide to back out of a cave are able to keep the jewels they have gathered but give up the opportunity to explore further and fill their coffers more. The risk- takers will lose all the jewels in a cavern if any of the above mentioned obstacles turn up more than once. In this game it can pay to be cautious or reckless, but it is never predictable.

I managed to find a German version of the game and found that the only difference between this one and the English-language version is the inclusion of a starting camp board. This is an unneccessary element as it does not enhance game play at all. I hope the English-language version doesn't charge more for this artistic addition as the game is ultimately a boardless game and a fun one at that.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Paul
Incan Gold - fun for a little while
February 07, 2008

This game was fun the first few times we played it. It is fun if you want a game that is easy to play and socialize at the same time. I enjoy the game, but after the five rounds of play I am ready for it to be over. i think the game becomes a bit monotonous having to flip cards every other minute. I have found the players grow tired of this formality and many hesitantly go along with their duty while others just seem to borderline refuse to do it correctly.

Bottom line is it is a fun concept and game, but I find playing it with children doesn't work as well because their strategies often are shortsided.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Good Introduction Game or Large Group Game
March 23, 2009

The advantages of this game is that a large group can play it. It is also simple and fun that it can be a great game to hook people into playing the European board games. It works well with children and I use it in the library on board game day. Adults also enjoy playing the game. I would rate it on gameplay about three or four stars. It is not a deep game but, it can be fun to pull out every now and then.

So, why two and half stars? Sadly the game manufacturers should had not been so cheap in producing this game. They give out cards which you have to fold into tents to hide the gems you collect. This is an important element of the game. (It has helped keeping children who are too competitive playing the game because they can't tell who is winning) The tent cards don't work. I tried gift boxes and that didn't work either. The boxes worn out. The solution was buying velvet pouches online. Only $2.00 for ten. The shipping cost though was four dollars. An almost twenty dollar game shouldn't require the expense of six more dollars to make it playable.

Another problem is that if you are not carefully about having people trade the stones worth one point for five point stones you can run out of one point stones. However that is a minor problem and can be dealt with incurring any extra expenses.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Paul R.
Good in small doses, components lacking
June 19, 2008

Let me start out by saying that I like this game in small doses. Three in a row is about all I can take in one sitting. It just gets old too quickly compared to some of the other great games I own. I could see this being used as a gambling game where people throw in a buy in and settle up at the end of the five rounds.

The components are really lacking. All that you get are some cards and some stones that a friend compared to fish bowl stones. She is right. The tent cards are pathetic as they don't have much life in the crease to stay standing after just a few games. After looking at the photos of the original Diamant the game components for this are just sad. Bottom line is I expect more than a set of cards and some plastic stones.

Gameplay I give 4 stars.
Components I give 2 stars barely.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Sub-par components
March 14, 2007

One is almost better off making their own components and cards; the original 'Diamant' seems much better regarding game component. (it's been a week and already I've lost much of the 'gems' that come with game and I almost laughed and cried when I eagerly opened the game upon receipt) It's a shame, Sunriver really seemed like a game company the would just take off as Havoc! is one of my favorite card games (right next to Category5, Texas hold-em, Wizard). Modern gaming market is high competitive creating the most appealing and tactile games for gamers. For a few bucks more Incan gold would've been an awesome game, as it is I am somewhat embarrased to even suggest to pull the game out during parties. Dont get me wrong, its a great push your luck game with very few and low complicated rules.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Incan Gold:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.