My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Axis & Allies: Pacific 1940
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Axis & Allies: Pacific 1940

AKA: Axis & Allies: Pacific deluxe edition

List Price: $90.00
Your Price: $71.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 7,199 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here. It may also be available in another edition. Try: Axis & Allies: Pacific 1940

Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
12+ 120-720 minutes 2-4

Designer(s): Larry Harris

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Avalon Hill

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Axis & Allies celebrates 25 years of strategy war gaming with a deluxe edition of its original theater-level game. Axis & Allies Pacific 1940, designed and developed by Larry Harris, utilizes the updated rules established in A&A Anniversary Edition. Two new combat units debut in this game, Tactical Bombers and Mechanized Infantry. Australia and New Zealand, joined together as the ANZAC forces, represent a new playable ally. China fields more forces than ever before, but will need help from their allies -- the United States and England -- to withstand the might of expansionist Imperial Japan.

Axis & Allies Pacific 1940 features an oversized board that measures 35 inches wide by 32 inches high. With over 450 pieces, deluxe game components and local storage boxes, this game raises the standard established by A&A Anniversary Edition. All new rules for neutral nations, naval & air bases, kamikaze attacks and convoy disruption add even more depth and historical accuracy to this giant game.

Finally, this deluxe theater-level game is designed to join together with Axis & Allies Europe 1940 to create the greatest Axis & Allies experience to date! When joined, these boards will measure 5 feet wide by 32 inches high. Both games have been designed to play alone or together to offer a 2-6 player global 1940 scenario, complete with separate set up and national objectives.

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Larry Harris

  • Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Avalon Hill

  • Year: 2009

  • Players: 2 - 4

  • Time: 120 - 720 minutes

  • Ages: 12 and up

  • Weight: 2,500 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is a domestic item.

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4 in 15 reviews

Sort reviews by:

A high quality game
February 02, 2005

Not your typical wargame. Japan starts a military powerhouse and must maintain its hold on southeast Asia for as long as possible to win. The allies must makes inroads to stop the Japanese from gaining too many points for victory.

A much shorter game in length of time than the rest of the A & A series. A great naval and Air war game. Real pieces instead of markers makes this a high quality game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Excellent Game Concept! It's More Than Just Attrition
July 09, 2001

This game will amaze you. It's much more pleasing to the eye with detailed units, and a gameboard that has rounded territories along the edges to represent the vastness of the Pacific Theatre.

What is best is the game concept. Japan is horribly outmatched economically, but the Allies are not battle ready. Japan must strike hard and fast before the American juggernaut can get rolling. This isn't a game of attrition like the original Axis & Allies. It's a game of economic strategy and a fight against the clock. Can Japan take an Allied capital quickly? Or can America bring her forces to bear and pummel the Japanese before they island-hop to victory?

I originally thought the Japanese could never win. Then my friend took Australia and won. Next game I took India and won (in 3 turns). Finally Japan nearly captured Australia again before the Allies could finally manage a win. This game is truly a 'whole new puzzle to solve'!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
May 14, 2001

Once again a great game. If you loved Axis and Allies, Axis and Allies: Europe, you certainly will like this one. There is a lot of space to outmanoeuvre your opponent(s).

The additional rules for airbases in naval ports are good. The rule-change for cruisers, CV of 2 for coast-bombardement is okay because they were a bit to powerful in the Europe-version; nobody bought battleships anymore.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Excellent Well-Balanced Game
May 14, 2001

Axis & Allies Pacific is the third in the [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Axis and Allies series of games. I have played this game three times against different opponents. In my opinion, this game is in the best in the Axis and Allies series. Play is extremely well-balanced and there are several options for the strategy used by each of the three players (Japan, UK, and US/China). In addition, both of the Allied players have important roles to play in achieving an Allied victory. One of the more innovative features, the victory point track, allows for Japan to employ a variety of viable strategies. Furthermore, the Japanese player does not need to decide which strategy he will use until the second turn. This allows for some flexibility and uncertainty in both players' strategies.

The most pleasing aspect of this game for me was the finely balanced nature of the gameplay. In Axis and Allies: Europe, a German 'Missle strategy', in which a massive army of tanks, artillery, and armor is built up in Poland and sent into East Poland on turn 4 or 5, is impossible for an Allied player to parry if the German player uses his initial naval forces wisely. This means that Germany always wins. In this game, either power has a chance for victory and every seemingly small decision, especially the placement of naval vessels, has a tremendous impact. I should note that for those who have difficulty making decisions this may make gameplay long and mentally intense, somewhat resembling a chess match. In one game I played, it took over one hour for the Japanese player to finish his first move.

The introduction of naval and air bases, CAP, and Kamakazes does add flavor and variability to the game.

The game pieces are of excellent quality, although the use of brown Russian infantry from the original A&A to represent Chinese infantry was somewhat disappointing. The addition of the naval fleet markers is helpful to gameplay.

The game could have been improved through the use of larger islands and/or island blow-up boxes. In certain cases the small size of the islands makes it difficult to tell whether planes are flying CAP in the sea zones or on the islands themselves. A minor point is that the Japanese pieces set comes with too few transports.

Overall, this is an excellent game. Axis and allies fans will absolutely love it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Natoe
Exciting action game; well done sequel to A&A world.
April 28, 2001

This is a great add on to the [page scan/se=0431/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]A&A series. If you enjoyed the Europe version this is a great game. Additional rules like air bases and ports make it so much fun. As the other A&A games the rules are still fairly simple. The realisim you can tell was worked on very much--it is just a great game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Great expansion on the original design!
April 21, 2001

I've been an Axis and Allies fan for years and since Axis and Allies: Europe came out I never play the original anymore. The Pacific edition is a great companion to the Europe edition. The map in Pacific is mostly islands and ocean and the rules are updated nicely to maintain a great standard in game design. The modification to victory conditions also reduces the length of game time--no more 8+ hour games!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
The Flavor + Excitement of "Victory in the Pacific".
April 11, 2001

I loved the Old Avalon Hill's Victory in the Pacific. The rules of this game were absurd (disabled ships magically returned to port, escaping the danger of being sunk!), and in many cases it was a dice rolling contest, but it was fun and made for a good evening. The Axis and Allies system is much cleaner and a bit more logical. While Victory in the Pacific was unbalanced, there are more options in this game for both sides to achieve victory.

The simplicity of the game leads to contemplation on overall strategy. I could see this game developing quite a following and the old VITP crowd should take a serious look at it.

Once again, the people writing the rulebook have done an excellent job in making the concepts fairly simple.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Difficult Choice
August 17, 2004

Ive played Axis & Allies Pacific three time with other guys who had some experience on A&A Europe, and we have clearly noticed that Japan is hard to beat. Although the Allies have a monstruous IPC sum, the Empire of the Rising Sun has the oportunity of the first turn.

After the devastating and wide move, the U.S. will need at least 2 turns to be ready, and Australian and Indian forces will be barely able defend themselves. China can only help on India.

Im not telling that its easy to play with Japan. Unlike Europe, Pacific depends much more on moving than on atrition.

The consequence is that its very difficult to choose each turn 'what to purchase' with Japan or U.S.

The game is very, very good, but takes to much time to play a serious match.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Japan's situation
August 16, 2004

Hello,i am an axis and allies pacific player that always plays japan. I play axis and allies with my father, but lately ive been looking at how hard it is for japan to win. i am always frustrated when the us can buy much more combat units than japan. i mean, the americans get 75 ipc to japans 19 plus the british player gets 35 not counting convoys.the austrailians did not have that much money,nor did india.i think japans first turn is not as good an advantage as they say because i took japans income up to 41, but still the americans are crushing me down to 29. i figured out the problem. have you looked at how much the us is worth ,55! the reason you cant take away much of us income is because allmost all of their income is from their capital it would be more fair if the us got its high income from varied islads example us 5, midway 3, wake 4 guam 2, hawaii 4, aleutians 4, ect. bye.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
The most historical of the Axis & Allies series.
October 02, 2002

Of the three games in the series, Axis & Allies: Pacific is the best at simulating the Second World War --- far superior to its sister, Axis & Allies: Euorpe. The original Milton Bradley version of Axis & Allies (it had first been published by Nova Games), was sort of a compromise in complexity between Risk! and conflict simulations such as World in Flames and Avalon Hill's Rise and Fall of the Third Reich, attracting thousands of fans from both. Much of its appeal stems from the free play it affords, but seldom does it produce historical situations or results.

Axis & Allies: Europe was released many years later, and added some realism with nifty rules for U-boat/anti-commerce warfare, defensive fighters, and destroyers, but its victory conditions put all the pressure on the Axis (German) player who usually gambled on one massive attack on the USSR to win. Failure in this drive (and some argue that the Germans can't be stopped with this strategy) forced the Germans on the defensive, to be overwhelmed by superior Allied production. The game was essentially over as soon as the German drive in Russia stalled, and the subsequent turns --- gradually grinding the Axis down -- all seemed rather anti-clamatic and pointless. The game doesn't offer players as many options -- fun --- as Axis & Allies, while also falling short as a historical simulation.

Enter Axis & Allies: Pacific. With lessons learned from the earlier games plus some innovative rules, mapboard configuration, and --- best of all -- victory conditions, this game is a tense contest that offers strategic options to both the Axis (Japanese) and Allied (British/American) players. No longer can the Allies sit on a defensive strategy until its production can overwhelm the Axis. Both sides must be very aggressive from Turn 1, with the Allies counter-attacking every chance they get while they build up forces for the end game. Should the Japanese drive for Australia or India, or even the Western US? Will the Allies player deploy forces to blunt Japanese attacks everywhere, or concentrate to counter-attack where he is weak?

Japanese and US anti-commerce submarine warfare, air bases & island-hopping campaigns, dramatic sea battles, kamikazes, the Burma Road, the devastating Pearl Harbor raid, strategic bombing, US Marines --- they're all here.

Fans of Avalon Hill's Victory in the Pacific will recognize some of that classic's innovation and simplicity here, but with the added plus of a full-blown land game as well, including the war in China.

This game is truly worthwhile -- less wild than Axis & Allies, and more realistic than Axis & Allies: Europe. As with the earlier games in the series, the game components are second to none, and are a strong facet of the game's charm and attraction. The only drawback is playing time; one must be willing to invest 3-4 hours to complete it --- no surprise to veteran Axis & Allies fans. And that is still less than most wargames.

I really like this well-conceived and beautifully-packaged game. Highly recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Good concept & pieces but too restrictive needs a bigger map
October 31, 2001

I bought Axis & Allies: Pacific after A&A: Europe and I was delighted with the great pieces. However, what happened to Japanese yellow? They are now bright red. In A&A and A&A: Europe, the USSR is dark red/brown and red/purple. Now if you use all of your pieces together (as I do), the Japanese are two very different colours. I will paint mine yellow. (An auto spray can of lemon yellow should do the trick.)

The Combat Air Patrol rules are good. I have seen similar house rules, and these work well.

The politics and setup of the game are a bit off. Historically, the Japanese got a lot of their resources from Manchuria, but it was not more than the industrial output of Japan itself. In this game, Japanese-occupied China and Korea are worth 7 IPC and Japan is worth 5. Australia is worth 10 IPCs. This is just plain wrong. In 1941, Australia was not a powerful industrial nation equal to twice Japan's production. Never mind the 10 IPCs from convoy boxes for Dutch East Indies and New Zealand and possibly 12 IPCs from the UK convoy boxes. 32 UK vs. 19 Japan's total, and we haven't even added India (another 13).

And speaking of India, they did not have heavy technical industry in 1941. Sure, they could make locomotives and produce excellent soldiers, but they could not produce spitfires or tanks in quantity.

What about the USSR? The Japanese did fight them in Manchuria in 1939 and again in 1945. If you want to play A&A: Europe and A&A: Pacific at the same time (develop house rules for the US income), you cannot do so easily. And the USSR can never attack Japan.

Geographically the map is OK, but could be bigger. Hawaii is in the CENTER of the ocean, not up against the US west coast. The map could be 5 inches wider and have the USA a few sea zones over to the east. And this is 1942--the US did not have a big navy to come after the Japanese after Pearl Harbor. In fact, they were worried about a Japanese invasion of the West Coast. This is not represented on the map.

Attu and Kiska should be separate islands. Alaska should be there. Hawaii is not just one territory. Had the Japanese landed, there would have been a fight for the separate islands.

Airfields are a good idea. They give aircraft a bit more range on some islands. But why not on other islands? Making airfield tokens would have costs pennies and added a whole new unit. Purchase/build one for 2 IPCs.

Naval stations are OK as well. These I can understand, as natural harbours do not exist on every island. And they are useful only for non-combat movement. They are a nice feature to have and allow for quick movement of the US fleet.

The kamikazi rules are realistic--they only come into effect when the USA fleet gets too close to the Japanese homeland.

The convoy rules do not work as well as they did in the A&A: Europe game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Nick P.
Fun but unfair
July 13, 2008

The first A and A game I played was axis and allies Europe. In fact, I loved it. But when I played this game I just didn't get the same fun out of it. This was mainly because of the unfair rules which allows the allies to easily overwhelm Japan long before they can achieve 22 victory points or obtain a capital. This major flaw is why I give the game such a low rating, for a game that has such great potential.

Pro: Numerous pieces that are historically accurate to the nation. Each piece has it's own unique abilities.
Pro: The countries in Pacific each have their own unique abilities unlike Europe
Con: Unfair which is the major flaw
Con: there is not enough land territory to take, so for Japan to achieve their victory points (through money) they would have to take almost all the land there is to take. This is another disadvantage to a already hindered country.

I enjoy the A & A series and plan to buy more but sadly, this game probably isn't worth your money because it's unfair. If you can find a way to make it fair then go for it, and this game will be the one for you.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Ron
Japan always wins
September 03, 2004

the first 3 games japan loose, but when we figyred it out to play with japan, japan always win,first round 3 vp, then 5 rounds 4 vp and than slowely defend what you got

the american fleet is always one step to late for pressure and india and australie with only 6 and 11 money and britain 5 should japan care, dont think so

when somebody knows to win with the allies just mail, because we are tireded to play the game knowing japean wins

ps europe is better

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by David
Japan is unbeatable
February 06, 2003

Three vet players played three games, each playing each country. Results, Japan lost barely in the first game, won in the second game and dominated in the third. All Japan has to do is grab the islands, park the massed fleet in the PI and build fighters. With the new CAP and I-Raid rules Japan can just sit until victory point win. US is too far from the conflict, and AUS is too weak. By the time the US fleet can do anything it is too late.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Japenese forces heavily disadvantaged
May 11, 2001

In My five times of playing the game since I first purchased it I have come to the conclusion that the game is heavily weighted to the side of the Allies. Even with all the unrealistic rules that the Japenese are given in order to try to create a level playing field (such as a the ability to cary an infantry unit on your destroyer and the first turn handicap on defence), the Allies remain too strong to be defeated. The majority of this lies in the poor distribution of IPC's with the allies making nearly three times that of Japan at the start of the game. This factor would not be so bad if it meant that Japan could attack and be able to earn some territories with land values themelves, but with the massive amounts of small worthless islands scattered sporadically throughout the board, and the extremely divided Chinese mainland which has no real oppertunity for IPC advancement (only two IPC points are divided over the entire area, and those are nestled next to the Himalayas where no tactical advantage is gained) the Japenese struggle to make even 30 IPC's. Overall I feel this game was not designed fairly. The UK begins with too many peices on the board and owning too much territory, and the amont of money the United States has to throw against the Japenese is simply obscene. I love the original Axis and Allies game and this one really fell short of my expectations.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Axis & Allies: Pacific 1940:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.