My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Jungle Speed
Close Zoomed Image Jungle Speed

Jungle Speed


Your Price: $14.39
(4% savings!)
(Worth 1,439 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Ages Play Time Players
7+ 15 minutes 2 or more

Designer(s): Thomas Vuarchex, Pierric Yakovenko

Manufacturer(s): Asmodee Editions

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD
    Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.

Product Description

Jungle Speed was invented approximately 3000 years ago by the Aboulou Tribe in Eastern Trisopotamia to determine the shares of food each member received after a successful hunt. The Aboulous originally used eucalyptus leaves as cards for the game. These early games usually ended in bloody fights because, unfortunately, all of the cards were identical. This simple error nearly drove the tribe to extinction. This is why Jungle Speed remained unknown by the outside world until the 20th century, when 2 clever gamethropologists, Tom & Yako, replaced the leaves with the playing cards we now use today.

In Jungle Speed, you must rely on your keen sense of observation and quick reflexes. It requires a steady hand - which can be hard to maintain during the many fits of maniacal laughter! The wooden Totem sits in the middle of the table, waiting for the player with the fastest reflexes to snatch it up and win the game.

Each player is dealt a hand of cards. In order to win you must be the first player to get rid of all of your cards. Each turn, all of the players reveal one of their cards. If two cards are identical, those players must make a grab for the Totem. The faster player then gives their cards to their unfortunate adversary.

To add to the difficulty, certain cards are almost identical, which can trick a hapless player into grabbing the Totem by mistake - a grave error. Other cards force all players to make a grab at once, change the method of play, or otherwise add to the difficulty. It's a Jungle Speed Free-for-all... Do you have the catlike reflexes and the eye of the hawk to win?

Zoom In Photo 1 Image: Jungle Speed
Close Zoomed Image aJungle Speedb
Photo 1

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Thomas Vuarchex, Pierric Yakovenko

  • Manufacturer(s): Asmodee Editions

  • Year: 2009

  • Players: 2 or more

  • Time: 15 minutes

  • Ages: 7 and up

  • Weight: 350 grams

  • All-Time Sales Rank: #157

  • Language Requirements: This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item.

Contents:

  • 1 Cloth Bag
  • 80 Cards
  • 1 Rule Book
Jungle Speed has the following expansions available:
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Jungle Speed: Safari
List: $24.99 $19.99 (20% savings!)
Jungle Speed: Silver
List: $12.99 $10.99 (15% savings!)

Jungle Speed: Dark (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $12.99 $10.99 (15% savings!)
Jungle Speed: Raving Rabbids
expansion
List: $24.99 $19.99 (20% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.1 in 8 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
A must have game!
April 24, 2011

My kids (aged 6 - 14) and I play a ton of games. I am always n the lookout for games where 5 or more players can play, is easy to learn, and can be played in under an hour. This game certainly meets those standards. So the ultimate question is, "Is this game any fun?" A resounding YES!

In explaining the game, the first thing the kids noticed was that the totem reminded them of a dog toy that doesn't squeak. It is soft and "squishy". I wasn't sure why, when I was thinking it would be wooden. Well, after the first minute of playing, I was glad it is soft and squishy because it went flinging off our table and into the master window. I would shudder to think what could have happened if it had been made out of wood.

The kids instantly loved this game. Loud cheers and laughter are definitely part of this game and truly add to the excitement. It has become their number one game requested. Everyone has to be alert meaning there is no downturn. It moves quickly and can become quite addictive. The only downside would be that we cannot take it to a coffee shop to play as it would be too noisy.

This is a definite buy and the playability is extremely high.

 
 
 
 
 
by Jason Woodall
Need more copies...
April 11, 2007

Well I finally purchased my copy of Jungle Speed. Picked up two and sent one across country to my sister. Still love this game, need to find more people to play with though. The neighbour upstairs has a copy as well, so we can combine to play with more people.

My sister broke it out, and my dad loves it too. Great party game, drinking game, family game, pub game. Great all around.

The rules are easy to learn, the skill is tough to master. Great for any level. I have an aunt with developmental problems who is great at it. Kids of 10-12 excel at this game.

Should be listed in the party games section as well.

Just make sure you don't have any drinks on the table while playing.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great game
March 05, 2007

I just played this this weekend at a game convention. I stumbled upon a group of people playing it.

I love the concept and the game play, tons of fun and easy to learn.

Great for hand eye coordination and training your mind to recognize shapes.

I don't own it yet, but will be picking up a few copies.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Chaotic, yet marvellous game!
December 18, 2003

This is a game where it all comes down to being the fastest player! It's a game which gamers of all ages tend to like and since it's playable with various numbers of players, it's grown out to be our gaming group's number one party game!

A must buy for people who like games with speed!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Easy to learn, Great for families & parties
December 02, 2003

This game is great when you have company over. It takes very little time to learn. A child of 7 is just as likely to win as any adult in the room, and it is a lot of fun for EVERYONE!! You can play with as many people as you can fit around the table. The more the merrier!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun game, but the fastest gets punished!
June 02, 2008

This is a fun game, however one mechanic I don't like is that if the players have nails (or have them poorly trimmed), the fast guys usually gets his hand cut up (slower hands close on top, or make it part way there).

Also, it ranks as a good drinking game. :-)

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fast and Furious - best for kids
October 27, 2006

My first instincts were to shy away from Jungle Speed (Asmodee Editions, 1999 – Thomas Vuarchex and Pierric Yakovenko). It was a game of speed, something I’m not too terribly fond of (although I love watching them); and it just seemed to strike a discord with the other Asmodee products I’ve seen, such as Dungeon Twister – a game of deep strategy. Still, I’m bound to try any game once, so I gave it a whirl and was immediately reminded of another game of this genre that came out in Korea – “Wow”, and still another that drives me absolutely bonkers – Halli Galli.

Yet Jungle Speed didn’t really annoy me that much, most probably because of the incredible clever way that the designers managed to utilize symbols and colors as to be deceptive. The components are top notch (except the box), the gameplay is fast and furious – catering to teenagers, and it’s a game that I’ll bring out when we have energy and a short time. Fun for a quick laugh, Jungle Speed will add some frenetic entertainment to your table.

As I said, the components for the most part are of high quality. Chief amongst these are a large totem, which is a large wooden block that is curved in such a way that it can be easily grabbed with one hand – it almost looks like a miniature dumbbell. This and the eighty square cards that come with the game can be stored in a nice cloth bag with drawstring – which is a good thing, since the box is flimsy and seems more geared towards display than storage. When playing the game, the cards are dealt out to each player randomly in piles of equal heights, with any leftovers placed under the token. One player is chosen to go first, and the game begins.

On a player’s turn, they simply turn over the top card of their pile and place it in front of them, covering up any cards they have already played. The cards in the deck are mostly different shapes – each coming in four colors (orange, purple, green, and yellow). Several of the shapes are similar, such as four sunbursts with varying ray shapes and sizes, three shapes in a row, and more. It’s very easy to confuse a hexagon/square/hexagon card with a hexagon/circle/hexagon card, and that’s the complete point of the game.

When a player flips the top card in their pile up, and it is the exact same shape as another revealed card, a “duel” ensues. But don’t let that word fool you; players simply both grab for the totem as fast as they can. The player who grabs it first wins, and the loser must take all face up cards from themselves, the winner, and under the totem, placing them at the bottom of their draw pile. Players can only use one hand to play their cards and must flip them towards everyone else when flipping them over – an admonition that I must make towards players (especially teenagers) several times a game. Many times a player will be tempted to slowly draw the card towards themselves so that they can see it and compare shapes before anyone else can – and this will ruin the game.

Of course, mistakes can and will be made. Players will grab the totem quite a few times when they shouldn’t. When they make this mistake, they must pick up ALL face up cards on the table. I can’t emphasize how much this happens in a game; players are constantly grabbing the totem in a panic, only to find out that their symbol is merely similar to another one, rather than identical.

There are also three arrow cards with four arrows on them. I’d like to mention that remembering which arrow card did which was confusing – words might have been better in the situation. The “All Flip” card causes all players to flip a card over at once – one of the most interesting and chaotic moments of the game. The “Fast Grab” card means that every player must grab the totem. The player who grabs it first gets to put all of their cards under it, as a present for someone else (hopefully!). The “Color Match” card means that players must immediately check to see if their symbol’s color matches another player’s color and must grab for the totem at that point.

The rulebook is eight pages long and spends a lot of time showing example games, silly history, and what to do under special circumstances involving different combinations of the arrow cards. But really, the game is easy, and players are flipping and grabbing in no time flat. The grabbing can be a little brutal, and I’ve seen more than one person get a fingernail scratch down their forearm from an overeager opponent; but for the most part it’s reasonably civilized.

OK, I’m sorry – but I couldn’t write that last part down without laughing too much. Jungle Speed is really anything but civilized. I’m sure that the game can be played in a muted, somber way; but every time I’ve played it, players have transformed into crazy hooligans who yell, gesture, and clamor for the totem. Players are attempting to get rid of the cards in their decks, and the first player to get rid of all their cards is the winner!

Since the game does lend itself to screaming and bedlam, it’s a natural for teenagers; and I’ve had great success with it in youth group and other groups of teenagers. The shapes are subtly different but not so much so that you can’t tell them apart when carefully comparing them, and it’s a good skill to learn to recognize the difference. I occasionally run across a clown who thinks that they should simply grab the totem every turn, no matter what – just to see what happens when they get all the cards, but I usually handle that by ejecting them from the game (most teenagers won’t be pleased with that, thus playing more sensibly.

Optional rules are include with the game, including an odd two-player variant, but the basic game seems to work just fine for my groups. It still hasn’t beaten out Halli Galli as a favorite, but that’s probably just because it’s new – the kids seem to have a complete blast when playing it. Sometimes we just seek simplicity in a game and a large dosage of fun. Jungle Speed is enough to drive a mild mannered player nuts but can be fun in large groups (the game goes up to eight players) and certainly makes for a good icebreaker game. I won’t be playing it too often, but I’ll certainly bring it out when the situation calls for it and when kids are around – that situation will often occur.

Tom Vasel
“Real men play board games”

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Retep Nostnikta
My Tribe's Experience
December 13, 2010

When i used this game as suggested in the description (a way to help divide up food), my experiences were less than satisfactory. Having already lost an eye in a fierce game of scrabble, i was naturally wary of playing this. No sooner than three minutes in, my right eye was plucked from my head by my mother-in-law because i grabbed the totem wrongly. Turns out, this game is still violent today. And apparently this game can be played by seven year old?! Think again!!! What screwed up parent would let their seven year old tear and scrape and possibly kill another family member just to get the biggest slice of pizza?

I will be returning this on my trip home from the hospital.

Other Resources for Jungle Speed:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.