My Account
Your cart is currently empty.
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Funagain Points System Funagain Membership System Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
AT $80!
Hammer of the Scots
Get Funagain Points by submitting media! Full details, including content license, are available here.
You must be logged in to your account to submit media. Please click here to log in or create a free account.

Hammer of the Scots

Third Edition

List Price: $59.99
Your Price: $53.99
(10% savings!)
(Worth 5,399 Funagain Points!)

This item is out of stock [], expected availability: Wednesday, September 30, 2015. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available! We do not expect it within the 30-day period for .


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Product Awards:  

Ages Play Time Players
12+ 120-180 minutes 2

Designer(s): Tom Dalgliesh, Jerry Taylor

Manufacturer(s): Columbia Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Hammer of the Scots brings the rebellion of the Braveheart, William Wallace, to life. As the English player, you seek to pacify Scotland by controlling all the important noble lords. The Scottish player also seeks the allegiance of nobles to support a difficult struggle for freedom.

The third edition has a new map. The other components are the same as the Second Edition.

Product Awards

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Tom Dalgliesh, Jerry Taylor

  • Manufacturer(s): Columbia Games

  • Artist(s): Jerry Taylor, Tom Dalgliesh

  • Year: 2009

  • Players: 2

  • Time: 120 - 180 minutes

  • Ages: 12 and up

  • Weight: 425 grams

  • Language Requirements: Game components are printed in English. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English. This is a domestic item.


  • 56 large wooden blocks (24mm)
  • Labels
  • Rules 3.0
  • Mapboard (22 x 25 in)
  • 25 cards
  • 4 dice

Product Reviews


Average Rating: 4.6 in 12 reviews

Sort reviews by:

by Henry
It's Hammer Time
May 24, 2003

Wow only 6 pages of rules and a third of that is historical information. Being the unofficial game rule maharishi and interpreter of games. This game was up and running in a half hour with a non-war gamer. The first game actually required very little in the way of the typical scanning of rules for answers.

After the instructional first game ended and we had a solid grasp of the rules we chose to play a second more strategic game. This started at 10: 30 (My friend is usually good until about 11:30) and ended at 1:30 am. After the game was done we both agreed that it went fast and were surprised that it only took about an hour. Until we looked at the clock! Holy Cow, it was a three hour game. My friend should have been bobbing in and out of a semi-conscious state by this time. Did the company lace the event cards with some time altering chemical?

This game while short in rules is not short in strategy or tactics. It has a quick learning curve and is not bogged down in the typical war game minutia. The cards add a real element of strategy. The dice do have a tendency to create a luck factor. However it does not seem to be excessive when coupled with the other game stratagems and tends to balance itself out. Highly recommended if you like war games. I would also recommend this as an entry level game. Dont take me the wrong way when I make this last statement. This is a game that seasoned war gamers will enjoy but the rules are just that simple to comprehend.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Filip
a perfect mix of Eurogame and wargame
January 12, 2003

How this games works has been talked about in previous comments.

Let me add that I started to shift from the german boardgames (eurogames) towards the more american wargames. Axis and allies is game that more or less fits the description. Hannibal, although very, very good was just a bridge to far to enjoy in the same way I enjoyd a eurogame. Finally after a long search my eye fell on this beauty. Expectations were high but now that I have played it three times...woowww. The only negative comment one could have is the low standard of material used for map and components in comparison with the typical good quality eurogame. Buy the gem.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Hammer is a master stroke!
November 12, 2002

Hammer of the Scots, by Jerry Taylor of East Front fame, is Columbia's latest block game. It covers the key period in the Scottish Wars of Independence, from Wallace's revolt to Bannockburn. Like all block games, there is the fun and suspense of not knowing exactly what forces your enemy has. The blocks are set up on edge so that only you can see your units' type and strength. The game is driven by action cards, which determine how many areas get to activate each turn. Each year is made up of five turns, followed by a winter phase. In each turn the players simultaneously reveal a card. The side with the higher card moves first, English winning ties. After all movement battles are fought in contested areas. What sets this game apart is how in eight short pages of rules you get a wonderful feeling for this tumultuous period.

Let's start with the units. The Wallace block represents his guerilla band, able to hit hard against a weak opponent, or to slip away against a stronger. King Edward and his knights pack a mighty wallop, but they usually return to England each winter. (Edward I can keep his army in Scotland over one winter, but never two.) The English infantry is poor in battle, but they can stay in Scotland to garrison English gains. Welsh and Irish infantry pack more punch, but may decide not to fight their Celtic brethren. With the optional schiltrom rule the Scots infantry is better than their English counterparts - but not if the English have longbowmen!

The blocks in the game are the Scotish nobles. Stronger than the infantry, but weaker than the English knights, the nobles have three unique properties that set this game apart. Firstly, you have to win over the majority of the nobles to win the game. Secondly, if a noble is eliminated in battle, it switches sides! The noble, or his successor has been forcibly persuaded to ally with the victor. This are both an English and a Scots blocks for each noble to accommodate this. Thirdly, in winter all nobles must return to their home areas. If these areas are occupied by the other side, the noble is forced to change his allegiance. This rule leads to a whole gamut of interesting tactics.

The game board is a beautiful map of Scotland, divided into about twenty areas, fourteen of which represent the earldoms. These are shown by the noble's coat of arms. The same coat of arms is on the noble's block, which makes finding their way home in winter very easy. Each area shows how many units it can support over winter, and each border is colour coded to show how many blocks may cross it. Highland areas can only winter one unit, and movement in and out of them is restricted to two blocks.

One area represents the north of England. Every winter all English except the infantry must return to the force poll, and a new levy is drawn randomly and set up in England. Edward may in the invading force, or he may be off campaigning in France or quelling baronial dissention in England. Between the luck of the card draw, and the variability of the levy, the fortunes of war will ebb and flow. This feels right. When Edward I came north in force, he did indeed hammer the Scots, and yet there were years when Wallace or Bruce pretty much ran amok.

The card deck contains twenty action cards, which allow one, two or three areas to activate, and five event cards. The events allow you to: 1) pillage an adjacent force, 2) build your own forces, 3) win the allegiance of one noble, 4) make a sea move from any friendly coastal area to another (this leads to some surprises!) and 5) call a truce (which can save ones bacon if played as the last card of the turn!) In addition, if both players play an event simultaneously, the turn is over. This simple mechanism elegantly simulates the on-again off-again nature of this conflict.

There are many historical touches presented with a minimum of rules. Edward I can winter over in Scotland, while ineffectual Edward II can not. A Norse block, representing the possible intervention from Norway or the Lord of the Isles, can strike suddenly at any coastal area. Wallace may always slip back to the Selkirk Forest to winter. Moray is so anti-English he will never switch sides. The Scots may support an extra unit in the areas with the principal Scottish cathedrals, representing the influence of the pro-Scots clergy. The Scots may even crown as king one of Balliol, Comyn or Bruce, but nobles of the opposite faction immediately defect to the English!

With a few blocks, a simple map, a small deck of cards and a slim rule book Columbia has produced a gem of a game. It is well balanced. It has a great historical feel. There are all sorts of surprises in store. There are many tactical and strategic options. The scenarios play in about three to four hours, and they are very replayable. This is a classic. So, out thy guilders, hasten yee to thy nearest hobby store, and purchase yee Hammer forthwith!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Let Us Praise Taylor and Dagliesh
October 14, 2002

Hammer is something of a Columbia Games tour de force.

It's far and away the best of their pre-20th Century block games (I omit those because I haven't played any except Victory -- god help me).

Hammer's use of a very small (but well-conceived) deck of cards to drive play is the first significant improvement that CG has made to the simultaneous-moves-to-written-orders method they pioneered in Quebec 1759 30 years ago.

And a significant improvement it is.

The game manages to capture the flavor of strategic medieval warfare both with its card activations and its brilliant (but simple) wintering rules.

HAMMER plays intensely, brutally, and believably (once you've consigned the nutty Norse Block to Turn Marker duty).

The rules are straightforward and brief, but I encourage you to read them carefully and obtain the FAQ on Columbia's website -- the game's apparent simplicity belies the deep interconnection of its parts.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Scotland the Brave
September 12, 2002

According to me this is one of the better games in the Block-series.

The aim of the game is to control the 14 Scottish Nobles. Or the game ends if the Scottish King or King Edward II dies in battle.

You still have the fog of war, but more tactics are required. You also will have to bluff by using the cards which allow you to go first or last, of course depending on the card of your opponent. A gameturn is finnished after 5 round. A that point all the Nobles return to their homeland BUT if their homeland is occupied then they change side. You'll have to watch out for this!

At the start the Scots will have difficulties to survive but when they do it's hard to beat them.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Strategy and History and Fun - no waiting!
August 31, 2002

For those of you who enjoy playing a well-constructed, simple-to-play, strategy game with a historical theme, Hammer of the Scots is a winner. Using the proven Columbia Games 'block' system that allows for the 'fog of war' by hiding your oppponent's unit types and strengths, Hammer of the Scots adds a card-driven movement system that keeps players guessing about the next move. Initiative changes constantly, and while luck plays its part, the game rewards players who think through what they want to accomplish. Interesting game mechanics include the return of Nobles to their homeland each winter (often changing sides as they do!) as well as raiding Norsemen, archers, and William Wallace. The game plays to conclusion easily in 2 hours, so you can actually play this game in one evening and have a whale of a good time to boot.

If you like history and strategy without tedium, you'll like Hammer of the Scots.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Awesome Game!
August 29, 2002

This from a gamer of 20 years...

Mechanics and rules are short (about 6 pages of large font). Easy to learn the rules but tricky to win.

The greatest thing about this game is a real feel for the medieval period, and a very strategic game that doesn't require deep studying to the point of getting headaches or having to peer at a zillion small counters.

About as easy as all the German parlour games (Settlers of Catan, El Grande, Tigris, Taj Mahal, etc to learn, but I find it much more fun to play - 2 players only!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Best Game to come along in years!
August 18, 2002

'Hammer of the Scotts' is the best new game I have seen since Breakout Normandy. The game is well balanced and there are tricky decisions to make every action. The victory conditions, based on control of the nobles, are a new twist to the gaming hobby. It seems well researched and every game plays differently, giving it a replayability that few games have. This game is an instant classic, and every serious gamer should own it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
A fun challenge and an exciting game
August 15, 2002

Hammer of the Scotts, a design by Jerry Taylor & Tom Dalgliesh, is a worthy addition to anyone's game library, and especially to a block-game enthusiast such as myself. The game is fun and fast, representing with elegance the history behind Mel Gibson's 'BraveHeart'.

The game includes historical aspects such as the Scottish Noble's willingness to throw the English out, but only if it did not place their personal land holdings at risk, resulting in back-stabbing against both sides. This is at the same time fun and scary, depending on how heavy your reliance on these Nobles is for a given battle or campaign. I have played 5 games, none of them the same, and each of them exciting and played to conclusion within 2 hours.

I can't compliment Jerry and Tom enough on this brilliant design, and look forward to more from this design team. Run, don't walk, to the order page and get your copy now!!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
by Pete
Great but the Scots have a tough time of it!
September 11, 2002

Another great game from Columbia but after playing 5 games, two as the English and three as the Scots - the English have won everytime! Is there a strategy to win as the Scottish player? If there is, I'd like to know what it is!!!

Like someone else said, the rules could use some more explanation but it was easy enough to work out what was going on.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
It's Hammer time!
August 12, 2002

I picked up a copy of this game at WBC last week and have gotten several plays of it in and it's an enjoyable game with a lot of subtle strategy.

It utilizes Columbia Games block system to hide the strength of the units from your opponent and the use of cards to activate groups of units is a nice touch.

After playing 5 cards the winter comes and all of the nobles must return home to their own castle. If their castle is occupied by the enemy the nobles change sides!!

This leads to some interesting action late in each year.

There are three scenarios that can be played and each has a different feel. Braveheart is based on the historical actions that Mel Gibson's movie depicted.

The Bruce concerns itself with what happened after Bruce was crowned King and the campaign combines the two.

This is a good solid game that has a lot of replay value. I recomend highly.

The reason there are only 4 stars is there are several rules which are not written well. The answers are easily figured out but they could have been better explained.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
Overly complicated
December 06, 2009

I was told this game is similar to Stratego, but better. I was very disapointed when the game arrived. There were 8 pages of rules! ...and the font was tiny (like newspaper size).

I've tried to teach several people, but we've never gotten through the rules. So I haven't yet played the game! :-( The reason it gets two stars is that I have played the game by myself (where I played both sides) just to get the rules down, and that was fun.

So if you have a lot of free time, and someone who wants to learn a complicated strategy game, then you might like this one. Otherwise, I'd stick with Stratego or Lord of the Rings: The Confrontation (which is a little bit more complicated that Stratego, but manageable).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Hammer of the Scots:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.