My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Munchkin Deluxe
Close Zoomed Image Munchkin Deluxe

Munchkin Deluxe


List Price: $29.99
Your Price: $23.99
(20% savings!)
(Worth 2,399 Funagain Points!)

This item is In Stock []
Quantity:

Play Time Players
60 minutes 3-6

Designer(s): Steve Jackson

Manufacturer(s): Steve Jackson Games

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Go down in the dungeon. Kill everything you meet. Backstab your friends and steal their stuff. Grab the treasure and run. Admit it. You love it! Munchkin has been a runaway hit for the last ten years, with international sales of more than a million Munchkin games, plus lots and lots of supplements! Compete with your friends to kill monsters and grab magic items. Fast-playing and silly, Munchkin will make your group laugh out loud. And while they're laughing, you can steal their stuff! Now in a special deluxe edition complete with game board, 6 plastic pawns, dice, cards, and more!
Zoom In Front Image: Munchkin Deluxe
Close Zoomed Image aMunchkin Deluxeb
Front

Product Information

Munchkin Deluxe has the following expansions available:
Munchkin 2: Unnatural Axe
List: $19.99 $15.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin 3: Clerical Errors
List: $19.95 $15.99 (20% savings!)

Munchkin Dice (Restocking)
List: $14.95 $11.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin 4: The Need for Steed (Preorder)
List: $19.99 $15.99 (20% savings!)

Munchkin Level Counter (Restocking)
List: $14.95 $11.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin 5: De-ranged
List: $19.99 $15.99 (20% savings!)

Munchkin Bobblehead (Restocking)
List: $14.95 $11.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin 6: Demented Dungeons
List: $10.99 $8.99 (18% savings!)

Wicked Munchkin Bag & Die (Restocking)
$9.99
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Munchkin: Holiday Surprise
2015 (Preorder)
List: $19.95 $15.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin: Zombies Deluxe
List: $29.95 $23.99 (20% savings!)

Munchkin: Dragons Trike
Blister pack (Preorder)
$5.99
Munchkin Zombies: The Walking Dead 
List: $19.95 $15.99 (20% savings!)

Munchkin: Holidazed
List: $14.99 $11.99 (20% savings!)

Munchkin: Game Changers
List: $19.99 $15.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin Zombies 4: Spare Parts
List: $10.95 $8.99 (18% savings!)

Munchkin: Tricky Treats
15-card expansion (Restocking)
$5.99
Munchkin: Boxes of Holding Set 2 (Restocking)
List: $12.95 $10.50 (19% savings!)

Munchkin: Easter Eggs
15-card expansion (Temporarily Out of Stock)
$4.99

Munchkin Zombies
List: $24.99 $19.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin 7: Cheat With Both Hands
List: $19.99 $15.99 (20% savings!)

Munchkin Boxes of Holding (Restocking)
List: $9.99 $7.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin Kill-O-Meter
List: $6.99 $5.99 (14% savings!)

Munchkin Quest: The Munchkin Boardgame
List: $59.95 $47.99 (20% savings!)
+6 Bag O' Munchkins
6 pawns (Restocking)
List: $5.95 $4.99 (16% savings!)


Munchkin: Plus-Six Bag'O Level Counters (Restocking)
List: $9.99 $7.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin Zombies: Meat Locker
List: $9.95 $7.99 (20% savings!)


Munchkin: Plus-Six Bag'O Level Counters Set 2
List: $9.99 $7.99 (20% savings!)
Munchkin: Skullkickers
15-card expansion
$5.99

Munchkin Zombies 3: Hideous Hideouts
List: $10.95 $8.99 (18% savings!)
Munchkin: Penny Arcade
15-card expansion (Temporarily Out of Stock)
$5.99

Munchkin: Naughty & Nice
15-card expansion
$5.99

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.3 in 29 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Funny with an experienced player
March 10, 2006

This is the ultimate RPG card game that makes fun of RPG's. I'm not a huge RPG player, but I've kind of dabbled in it, and playing Munchkin hits just the right balance between RPG and "let's make fun of RPG's" for me.

I agree that the rules can be confusing for first-timers, and it helped exceedingly to have an experienced player on board for the first few games to get the hang of it.

The beauty of this game is that when you are small and weak, those "unbeatable foes" usually have some caveat, like they will not chase you if you are level 3 or less, so you can back away quietly in that situation.

It is almost essential to make alliances with the other players at the right time so your combined forces can slay the monster. However, this is usually when the other player(s) take the opportunity to stab you in the back with a wandering monster or something. Trying to get out of a battle that gets too deep as a flurry of cards is cast down is almost as fun as winning the easy battles.

You have to see how using cards can nullify other cards, and hopefully you have that one last "trick" up your sleeve that helps you win by the hair on your chin. The sex changes, curses, and other "surprises" that happen along the way add to the fun!

This is a FIRST RATE game that I absolutely love playing. Once you get the hang of it, the reply value is very high since the stars never line up the same way. Each game is different.

If you want some lighthearted RPG cardgame fun, this is a great diversion.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great game for gamers and non-gamers
January 17, 2004

Munchkin is a game that can be played and enjoyed by dedicated gamers and those who are less so. We have played with a diverse group, and some of the non-gamers, once they learned how to play, became the most ardent players of the game.

The best part of the game is the interactions that the players go through. Play starts out mostly cooperatively, but changes in the later stages of the game to a bloodthirsty brawl. There is usually at least one player who will take offense at some other player's actions, to the point that they will try to 'get' that player at all costs.

The hardest part of the game is interpreting the rules, the rules are vague on some points, but in my opinion that actually adds to the game. By being open to interpretation, the rules can be interpreted differently in different games, we've had some great arguments over them, and since we use a somewhat democratic approach to the arguments, most players are at least partially satisfied.

A minor annoyance is that the discards have to be put in the correct pile, treasure or dungeon, and there is no way to tell from the front of the card what it is, you have to flip the card over to see the back. If the background of the face of the card were a different color for treasure and dungeon, the problem would be solved.

I heartily endorse this game as a good one to get more people into your gaming circle.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Rich
D&D lovers, get this one -- and even if you're not...
January 15, 2004

then get it anyway. I love this game. It has great screw or help your neighbor mechanics, lots of trading, and great for a good laugh. I have played this one with my friends over and over and I even got both expansions as well. All ages can play and it's fun for all. It's a bit pricy for what you get but the game itself makes up for it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Hilarious, time and time again
January 22, 2003

This game has been a favorite among my friends for the past year, the kind of game we can play over and over again. I suppose it helps that most of us are at least familiar with early dice-based roleplaying games and the stereotypes surrounding them, but even non-gamers I've introduced the game to have picked it up quickly and enjoyed it. Everyone can figure out the humor when a formidable hero with a Really Impressive Title (+3) loses a battle to a Potted Plant that is not only Humongous but also Enraged. The satirical comedy is spot on, and Kovalic's wacky illustrations are great.

Just when the game starts to wear out -- after about a year my friends and I had memorized all the cards -- there are two expansion packs that make the game as fun as new again.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
this is one cool game
December 01, 2002

This is probrably one of the greatest games of off all time. You can be races like elves and wisard and curse people how much better can you get. it's a game about chance alliance enemys and stoping people from winning. You can be a combenation of things like an orc that is a thief or use special cards and be a elf/orc thief. i'ts just one of those great games

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
SQUEE!
November 24, 2002

They say everything is funny late at night when suffering from lack of sleep! And they were right! I first played Munchkin at a con, and the event was entitled, 'Munchkin at Midnight' and it was the most hilarious thing i have EVER done! the game is quite adicting and is perfect for a bunch of people suffering from lack of sleep!!!!! he he he...

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Funny as hell
July 12, 2002

The amount of fun you get from this game will depend on your group. If you love off the wall humor (like the sneaky bastard sword... OF DOOM!!!) you will love this. If not, stay far away. It's the same type of humor as Space Ghost coast to coast. I loved the show, so I loved the card game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
RPG, except not!
June 01, 2002

Very fun! Passes the time well! Lots of players can play! Worth Buying! Great parody game for some good laughs. Befriend and backstab. Good for people who want to play Dungeons and Dragons but a lot more simple. 'It's dead Jim. Take its stuff.', 'Sword of slaying everything except squid', 'Kill the Monsters. Take the treasure. Stab your friend.'

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Bo
Awesome Game
December 07, 2001

The rules are vague for a reason. What RPG has well defined rules? NONE. This game is hilarious and very addictive. The cards have a great theme to them and there is room for more cards to be added at a later date. Play can be confusing for new players, but once learned, it's very easy.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Hilarity Ensues
August 17, 2001

This is one of the best 'screw your neighbor' games around, trumping even Wizards of the Coast's delirious Guillotine for sheer 'making enemies out of your friends' goodness.

This game is well worth your money, and not just for the art. The mechanic is simple to learn but has enough depth and interesting items, classes, races, and monsters to give it some punch.

The only two flaws are:

1) I wish the two card types (dungeon and treasure) had different colors for their backing and borders. It's too easy to get them mixed up.

2) If you are looking for 'perfectly balanced', this isn't it. Those with the good luck to draw the Wizard class or the Kneepads of Allure will very likely mop the floor with you and your friends.

But hey, the name of the game is Munchkin, and it wouldn't be so sickeningly fun without some serious power-gaming silliness going on.

4.5 stars out of 5

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great card game recreation of the RPG experience
July 08, 2004

Think of Munchkin as the Monty Python of card games. Is it the most polished card game out there? No. Does it layout everything in clear detail for you? Definitely not. Is it an incredibly amusing experience that has garnered a cult following? Yes.

I happen to be a member of this cult. In order to truly appreciate Munchkin, you really need to understand the genre of game that it is trying to mock - Dungeons and Dragons-style role-playing going horribly awry. Much like Monty Python, if you get the joke, it is great. If not, you're left wondering what all the fuss is about.

I have no doubt that the 'incomplete' rules are a part of the joke. The slightly inflated price tag and poor differentiation between the two sets of cards are the only things that keep this game from getting a four in my book. If you think you might enjoy this game, find a friend with a copy and play it before you buy it. If you get the joke, you'll find yourself buying a copy before the end of the night.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Not for the intellectually challenged.
January 27, 2003

Not to slam the players that rated this game poorly, but what were you thinking? This is not a game to replace poker night or for the humorless. This is a game that requires you to read the rules to understand the gameplay. It is simple and the games only last 1-2 hours. I do have to agree with the others on one point though. If I saw this game sitting next to a game such as Settlers or Risk, I would have to take them first. It is rather expensive for such a simple game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Chad
Fun game!
September 06, 2002

I thought this was a very fun game! As someone addressed earlier, this game mocks role playing games, so the vague rules I think suit this game perfectly. (I own the game so when there's a contridiction the rule is up to me, so that's always a plus!) The game gets more fun if you play with the same group a few times, and everyone knows the house rules.

The only drawback I see is the fact that the game can go on forever, since there are so many ways to screw people over! Yeah, screwing people over is a lot of fun, but's it's nice for someone to win at some point!

Oh yeah, and it's a little overpriced as well.

Overall, this is a hilarious game that everyone should give a shot!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Perhaps 'Loonies' would be a better name
March 03, 2002

There's an old joke list comparing Real Men, Real Roleplayers, Loonies and Munchkins. I believe this game will appeal to the Loonies like myself - those who enjoy gaming for the fun of it (and if you can manage a bit of warped humor and a ton of bad puns, go for it!)

I agree the game is a bit pricey, but I found the rules were fairly straightforward. The game is very replayable, and some of the outcomes can be quite fun! In our first game, we took out the Potted Plant with it's Mate, and encountered the Ancient Lame Goblin.

I found that a 10 or 12 sided die could be used to keep track of levels, although it would have been nice if level counters and dice had been included.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Really more of a 3.9 Game.
September 22, 2001

After getting through your first few games and ironing out the wrinkles in the sometimes ambiguous rules, you'll be hooting and hollering as you mess each other up in this dungeon-crawling card game. Anybody who's ever played or known somebody who's played pen & paper RPGs will appreciate the humor of this game. It's a fun way to spend an hour with some friends. It's also a good way to temporarily 'lose' some friends.

Art on the cards, by John Kovalic, is excellent!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Slanted to male RPGers? Sure, but try it anyway!
December 23, 2002

Positives: This game is a heck of a lot of fun. (Can I say that?) The cards are comic, the humor is apt, and the art fits in perfectly. All of you munchkins ('power gamers' for all non RPGers) out there need to play this. Also, if you have ever had delusions of grandeur, this will satisfy that need. Everyone gets to join in the fun, and no one is ever ruled out of the game; no matter how far behind they might be, they have a chance at winning. On the flip side, no matter how far ahead you might be, you still have a great chance at losing!

Negatives: The rules leave much to the players to decide. This is not a problem if you are experienced gamers, but it might be a death sentence to light gamers with little patience for such things. This makes the game a very specialized endeaver for a select group of friends. If you are looking for a more approachable game for your gathering, try something in the order of Fluxx. It is inexpensive, VERY easy to learn, and non-specialized, unlike the Munchkin series, and, in fact, many of Steve Jackson's games.

Verdict: If you are a diverse gaming group, with a goodly amount of experience in many different gaming genre (including RPG, LARP, or other similar styles), get this game. I suggest you also get the expansions. All of them. The more cards you have, the more they will add to the longevity of the game and counter the game's low replayabilty due to card/scenario memorizing (which we know all gamers worth their salt engage in).

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very funny with poor replay value
January 04, 2002

I have only played this game twice and both times it was very amusing. The artwork and concept of the game is great. You can equip yourself with ridiculous armaments and mess up your friends by stealing their items or cursing them. But as mentioned in other reviews the rules are a bit hazy and it wasnt until half way through the second game that we started to play with the correct rules (I think). Though I have yet to grow tired of this game I can easily see its lack of staying power. The hilarity of the cards could wear thin after a few games and then you are left with is a game which is weak in its system and very dependent on luck. If you enjoy the role playing which this game parodies it is definitely worth playing a few times to laugh at the cards.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
$25 for 110 two-color cards in an oversized box?
June 01, 2004

AND THEY CAN'T EVEN INCLUDE THE DIE?

I was furious upon opening the box and discovering that I paid $25 for 110 cards that aren't even full color, and that I needed to scrounge up a die and tokens to play the game! Oh, and since there's no plastic tray in the huge box, the cards rattle around inside and get all mixed up so that the next time you play you get to sort them all out.

Not to mention that the game is mind-numbingly dull.

Sure, it's funny the first time through the cards, and the Kovalic art is great (which is why I gave the game 2 stars), but it would be more fun to just read the cards and enjoy the art than to actually play sit through 3.5 hours of gameplay.

One of the cards is incredibly unbalancing (kneepads), so once it comes up, you pretty much have a winner. The FAQ for the game even recommends removing the card before playing. Did they not playtest this?

And it's definitely NOT a family game as some have insinuated. Unless you play, the humor will be lost on you, and as I mentioned, that's pretty much what this game has going for it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Dave
Funny, but spend your money elsewhere
June 01, 2004

The first time I played Munchkin with my friends, I had a hilarious time. After the newness was gone, I noticed that the game is too long, too expensive (just a deck of cards), and it never makes it out of the closet shelf.

The object of the game is to kill monsters and get treasure, but it is completely random whether you have to fight a low or high level creature, and what kind of treasure you are rewarded with.

There is a big variety of cards and skills and monsters and rules, with clever artwork, but the game is mostly luck with only a little strategy. Some of the cards in the game are 'broken', making things lopsided for one player.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fun - but many issues
May 31, 2004

Munchkin has a great premise, good writing (on the cards) and pretty good art. However, the game seems to fall down in a couple of areas.

First, the game requires a die but doesn't provide it. This game costs anywhere from $20-30 and it seems inexcusable that it doesn't include the die. I could understand if this was one of the inexpensive Steve Jackson pocket games from years back - but this clearly isn't! The production value is high otherwise.

Second, the main problem with the game is that it is WAY too long. We played a 5 player game that took 2.5 hours. Now that would be OK with the game if your strategy was constantly evolving and play progressed as you became more powerful. Sadly, this isn't the case. The game that was a blast for the first hour became tedious in the third.

Third, the play balance isn't that great. There is one card (Kneepads) that overbalances the game tremendously (even the FAQ on SJ's website acknowledges this.) One player simply didn't draw monster cards during his turn and was never in the game (needless to say he thinks the game is terrible.) The remaining 4 of us were competitive and enjoyed the swings of success and failure the game provided, but once one player got way ahead in terms of magical items, the others could no longer compete - yet we had to play another hour before there was a winner because everybody played spoiler rather than trying to win.

I guess I would say that your hard-core gamer isn't going to care for this game. The gamer who say, loves Pokemon video games, may find Munchkin to be a nice treat.

I root for SJ games (I like lots of them and have owned many over the years) and I really wanted to like Munchkin (so many others obviously do!) Unfortunately a few things seem to be missing.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
not worth your money
April 15, 2002

The rules are ambiguous, the price is at least $15 too high, after 2 hours everyone can frustratingly be back at the starting setup, and there's not much strategy involved in play.

In short, it's a failed beer & pretzels game. Save your money to buy more pretzels, or buy it at a 60% off sale.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Terrible rulebook mars humorous game
January 10, 2002

Slapping this game with a negative review is painful for me, as I am a HUGE fan of Steve Jackson Games and have been since the early days of releases such as Kung Fu 2100 and Raid on Iran. But SJG really dropped the ball with Munchkin -- a very rare fumble from a company whose standards are usually some of the highest in the industry.

First, the bad stuff:

o This game is horribly over-priced (even taking into account Funagain's discounted price). For $24.95, one should be able to expect more than a box -- which mostly holds empty air -- a very short rulebook, and a bunch of cards. No tokens or dice are included, although both are needed for play.

o The rulebook is AWFUL. This is one of the worst rulesets I've ever read (or, rather, attempted to interpret), and is easily the worst effort I've ever encountered from SJG. However, if you're into contradictions, ambiguities, guesswork, and outright confusion, you'll feel right at home reading Munchkin's rules. There's a reason the official Munchkin FAQ at SJGames.com is such a big file

Now for the positives:

o As usual for SJG products, the humor is the best in the business. The cards will be funny to anyone, but will be particularly enjoyed by those who have ever played a fantasy role-playing game, especially of the 'dungeon-crawl' variety.

o John Kovalic's artwork is perfect for the game and its setting.

Finally, how to fix Munchkin:

o SJG should make immediate plans for a second edition. The 'new' Munchkin would be priced at least $7 to $10 lower and would feature a totally re-written rulebook, complete with a re-structured sequence of play, numerous examples, and the elimination of the roughly 8,000 ambiguities that plague the current edition.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Worth seeing, play once, then what?
November 25, 2001

I managed to play this game at a local game club, and I'm glad I did. Now I won't need to bother playing it again. The game rules as mentioned are poorly defined, and they describe a rather weak game. The combination leaves something without much replay value, which is somewhat disappointing as the humor value is there otherwise. After playing an interminable game which lasted over two hours (we stuck by our early rule interpretations despite their 'smack the leader' potential), I now am confident I've seen most every card. Unfortunately, at that point, I'm afraid there isn't much more appeal.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Andy
Funny cards & great concept, but unimpressive game
October 07, 2001

I bought this game based solely on the fact that the cards on the back of the box cracked me up. And make no mistake--the cards are hilarious, moreso if you've ever done any time playing [page scan/se=0834/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]D&D ('Sneaky Bastard Sword', heh). Unfortunately, the game itself is fairly disappointing.

First off, I paid $25 for a deck of cards and an instruction sheet in a grossly oversized box. I feel like I bought a $15 card game and a $10 box.

A bigger problem with this game is that it's not very well balanced. One player managed to up his score in leaps and bounds due to his Wizard card. The Kneepads of Allure never made it into play, but I'd be very afraid of what would happen if they did--they seem terribly unbalancing.

But the biggest problem by FAR is that the rules are horribly incomplete. Many times during the game, someone would play a card, someone else would offer an alternate interpretation of the card, and then there'd be the mad re-reading of the rules to find an answer. Then came re-re-reading the rules. Then came several choice epithets about the rules. Then we just voted on which interpretation we'd use. This was repeated at least a dozen times during the course of our game.

There are several events that are mentioned in the rules (such as multiple monsters), but no explanation of what to do in such events. (Are the monsters fought seperately or cumulatively?) In one case, a rule was clarified (sort of) by the text on another card, but most times, there was no answer. This became increasingly frustrating--I must've read the rules at least 5 times during our first game and I still have many unanswered questions. (If anyone can figure out what happens when you fail to flee the Floating Nose, I'd love to know.)

At the end of the rules, there's a joke about how to resolve conflicts when the rules don't cover a situation, but after one playing of the game, it's not very funny.

If the game's creators had taken half the time shoring up the rules to this game as they did thinking up clever cards, Munchkin would be a really great, fun game. As it is, it's an amusing concept with a second-rate game attached to it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Ehh.
September 23, 2001

John Kovalic's artwork is hilarious--granted.

The cards themselves are pretty funny--granted.

But after the fourth or fifth time, it felt a lot like [page scan/se=0902/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Chez Geek--there just isn't much 'game' there. And for your $20 you could get something like Chrononauts, with infinitely more replay value and strategy. The cards are too random to allow for much thought--kill what you've got in your hand, hose the leader, hope for good treasures. Bah.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Hilarious Artwork - Mediocre Game
August 09, 2001

Munchkin is a card game that parodies fantasy role-playing games (in a similar vein as Chez Geek, only the parody is about the RPG characters, not the players). Game play is simple and meant to simulate the hack-and-slash aspect of fantasy RPG's. I won't go into a lot of detail, but essentially on your turn you turn over the top dungeon card:

  • If it is a monster, you must fight it or run away (you can ask for help from one other player). If you fight and win, you gain 1 or more experience levels and 1 or more treasure cards (scales with the difficulty of the monster). If fight and lose or fail to run away, 'bad stuff' happens to you. Could be loss of items or levels, could be death.
  • If it is a curse, you suffer the consequences.
  • If it is anything else, you can either play the card immediately or put it into your hand for later. Other cards types include character classes (wizard, thief, etc.) and races (elf, dwarf, etc.) which convey special abilities to you, and specialty cards that allow various things like bringing in extra monsters, doubling their strength, etc. You then have the option to either play a monster from your hand and fight it (i.e., you pick the monster, so you play something you can beat), or 'loot the room' and draw the next dungeon card to add to your hand.

There is a limit to the number of weapons and items your character can wield, and a limit to the number of cards you can have in your hand, so some trading and/or 'charity' card giving takes place. Play continues until somebody's character reaches 10th level at which point they win the game.

I found Munchkin to be a 'ho-hum' game. Game play is simple, yet the game can take quite a while to play (90+ minutes). Because card distribution is random, a string of tough monsters and curses at the beginning of the game will slow things down. The game also has a strong 'gang up on the leader' aspect to it which really prolongs the game. Overall it isn't a bad game, but just not that great either. I don't mind playing it, but it definitely isn't one of my top choices. Combine that with a ridiculous price tag ($25 MSRP for a deck of cards and instructions) and I really can't recommend this game unless you are a fantasy RPG fanatic.

The one really redeeming aspect of the game is that it is quite funny. John Kovalic's artwork is great and very appropriate for each of the cards. Many of the cards are very good puns for fantasy RPG fans. As a long time [page scan/se=0834/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]D&D player, I kept cracking up at the different monsters and items that came up. Of course, this wears off after several plays, and then you are left with... well... a mediocre card game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Where's the Fun?
December 30, 2005
Munchkin was included as a free game in a set of games I bought recently. I was a bit suspicious why the store owner would have given away a fairly clever-looking game for nothing, then I played it with some friends.

The few cards you are given to begin the game hardly prepares you to do battle with any "monsters," and the humor of the card descriptions soon gave way to confusion when we "opened the dungeon door" (turned over our first card) and were faced with an almost unbeatable foe.

Starting players out at level one and making them human (without rank) almost dooms you to either playing interminable meaningless rounds at level one before you can advance or suddenly dying before you are even able to get the hang of the game.

The rules seem to assume an awareness of this kind of game that those of us playing did not possess. In the end, we gave up on the game since it seemed to have given up on us early on. It was humorous to read the cards and laugh at Steve Jackson's witty characters and situations, but, as a game, it was more frustrating than entertaining.

I was relieved that I hadn't paid for the game, but I still felt somewhat swindled.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
One shot wonder
May 30, 2002

You can really only play this game once. (Maybe twice) After that, you know all the cards, and the novelty wears off. It can't be played in a mixed group. Everyone has to be an RPG nerd. I thought the cards were really funny, but my wife didn't enjoy the game at all. It is all luck and stupidity. Maybe fun if you are in the right mood, but it can't stand up on its own. I can't believe it won the Origins award. I have lost all respect for their endorsement. You are better off buying an old copy of Murphy's rules and reading that until you are all laughed out!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Randy
This is a poor one...
March 21, 2002

We play multiple games every week but Munchkin was the first in awhile to get a poor rating from everyone at the table. For a beer and pretzel type game we played two hours and still only had 4 points! Way too many ways to make this game last forever. The price was a bit high, the rules were so-so, the time was long and though the cards were funny... no one was laughing when we quit the second game. Same sort of problem as Talisman... if it's a light-hearted, simple and luck oriented game you want to finish in an hour. Thumbs way down.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Munchkin Deluxe:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.