My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Zoom In Money
Close Zoomed Image Money

Money

tuck box edition


List Price: $9.99
Regular Price: $7.99
Sale Price: $5.00
(50% savings!)
(Worth 500 Funagain Points!)

This item is currently backordered [] with no firm available date. As soon as it's available you'll be able to purchase it right here.


Notify me if/when this item becomes available:
(you will be asked to log in first)

Ages Play Time Players
10+ 20-30 minutes 3-5

Designer(s): Reiner Knizia

Manufacturer(s): FRED Distribution

Please Login to use shopping lists.

Product Description

Money rules the world! It doesn't matter whether you collect euros, dollars or yen as long as the exchange rate is in your favor. And the more you exchange, the more you can make -- if you plan carefully and keep your wits about you.

For 3-5 players, this 30 minute game provides an entertaining experience for families and gamers alike. Now published with beautiful new art to help players learn more about the world's great currencies.

This mini-travel edition is perfect for taking Money with you!

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Reiner Knizia

  • Manufacturer(s): FRED Distribution

  • Year: 2009

  • Players: 3 - 5

  • Time: 20 - 30 minutes

  • Ages: 10 and up

  • Weight: 186 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is an international edition or domestic edition of an imported item. Manufacturer's rules are printed in English. Game components are language-independent.

Contents:

  • 63 currency cards
  • 6 coin cards
  • 5 bluff cards
  • Rules

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 3.7 in 12 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
Fast, Fun, and Full of Tough Decisions
March 26, 2000

What a great little game! Simple mechanics, every player involved in every round and nobody is sure who's winning until the final card is drawn!

There's an incredible depth of strategy in the seemingly simple process of wagering cards in your hand for those on the table.

One of Knizia's finest.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Simple Rules Conceal a Great Game
November 03, 1999

There are people who love games by Reiner Kniza because they are complex mind busting creations such as Modern Art. Or they love the complex nature of Tigris and Euphrates. As a serious gamer I must admit I love these, but there is a place for a game which mixes luck, player interaction and just plain fun. This game, like many by this author, involves bidding and collecting. There is an element of bluff as well as timing and close player interactions.

Like his Lost Cities card game, if you simply play a few games you'll dismiss it as a 'simple diversion'. (This is what Bridge was once called by Whist experts) This game is truly a fine product. Its Spiel de Jahres and Games 100 awards are well earned.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Right on The Money!
April 11, 2004

If you ever liked any Knizia's card game, this is a good bet. Employing alittle blind bidding with a two tiered set collection mechanic, Money is an intriging game delivered via clear rules and an aesthetically pleasing package. I used to think this game was too long because of how drawn out it was with my regular group. But after playing it with a different group, I see it is just a matter of not overthinking it. With the element of bluff here, this game does rely on a bit of luck.

And if you have never checked out a Knizia card game due to the negative press they get, I would say this is a good place to hop on. With games like this, Schotten Totten, Scarab Lords, and Too Many Cooks, Knizia, clearly, has a strong handle on what it takes to deliver a simple but compelling card game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
An excellent filler!
October 31, 2002

Sure there's a hefty luck element, so what?!? If you're dealt a lemon, make lemonade! In this set collection game you might start out trying to collection one particular set but have to switch gears to claim another. Whatever you do, don't just sit there and bemoan the luck element.

I also like the fact that lots are worth more to some players than others (ala Ra). This makes the bidding varied and tense. It's also a blind bidding game, and I usually *hate* blind bidding games, but here it works.

It can handle 3-5 easily and plays quickly. A perfect little filler and I recommend it highly.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
An excellent bidding game.
February 18, 2001

Like Knizia's Katzenjammer Blues, Money is a bidding game with tough choices. Tension mounts as the game progresses and players must bid valuable cards in hopes of winning other valuable cards to fill out their currencies (suits). Selecting the cards to bid with each turn is not easy; 40-, 50-, & 60-point cards may win you bids on the cards you need, but get snatched up by opponents to build their currencies. Play too conservatively, however, and you'll find it difficult to win.

This is an easy-to-learn, fast-playing card game that requires strategy and nerve. Highly recommended.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Knizia's remake of Lamarckian Poker...
August 26, 2000

I like this game. It is arguably a remake of the game Lamarckain Poker, where the object is to offer up card and get cards back. Knizia doubles the amount of cards out, and how players score is different. All and all, I like the game. It is a good, fairly quick game. I also think of it as an improved version of Katzenjammer Blues, which I found merely to be OK, but not great.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Don't overlook this gem!
August 25, 2000

This is a fine little game which we have just gotten hooked on in the last few weeks. I guess we put off learning it because it sounded so much like Katzenjammer Blues (another game we very much enjoy), but it has actually turned out to be quite different.

Another reviewer sees the game as 'Ra Lite.' I have to disagree with that on the grounds that the game I see as 'Ra Lite,' always having to decide whether to risk turning up one more card on your turn, is Zirkus Flohcati (another fine game).

But let's talk about Money! Once I started playing it, the game it first reminded me of was For Sale. In both games there are several auction rounds in which every bidder, even the lowest bidder, comes away with something. In For Sale the lowest bidder automatically gets the lowest-valued card. In Money it's more complicated: bidding is simultaneous, and the highest bidder gets first choice of all the displayed SETS of cards, those being the sets displayed as bids by all the other players plus the two sets put on offer by the bank. Once the highest bidder has made his trade, the next highest bidder gets his choice of the remaining sets, now including the first player's set, on display where it was traded. And so on until every player has made a trade. Depending on how fast the deck gets used, there are half a dozen or so rounds in a hand, taking 10-15 minutes total. There's no subsequent sell-back round as there is in For Sale, but you don't miss it with the extra complications of the bidding and trading.

Another game Money reminds me of--and I'll ask you to use your imaginations here, because this idea is a little goofy--is Pit. In both games players try to improve their hands by trading, and in both games there are suits of nine cards, it being desirable to collect as many in a suit as possible. Of course Pit simplifies matters by ending the hand as soon as anyone gets a complete suit, whereas Money rolls on to the end of the deck. At this point several players may have collected all nine of a currency--there are always two more currencies in the game than there are players--or maybe not. You can't tell what it'll to take to win the hand until it's all over and the numbers get crunched. Being able to trade for more cards than you bid, and not all the cards in the trade having to be the same suit, makes Money's scoring less simple to sort out--but since it doesn't have the frenetic free-for-all trading system of Pit, there's ample opportunity to savor the complexity.

Despite the comparisons, Money is genuinely a game unlike any other and well deserving of being played on its own merits. Set your goals, look for bargains, decide when it's worth it to pay extra for something you really want. There are lots of factors to juggle in your head, and for us it's been a good fun 15 minutes every time.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
More, more, and more ...
April 24, 2000

In this game, you need to bid money to collect more money in order to win the game. The game plays with 'discard unused money - get useful money - more money'. Sounds simple? It seems to be a simple game, but you need to decide your target curreny. No one knows what you want! Also, I suggest you to play this game with 4 players only, as 5 players may lead to several players getting scores of zero!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Fred
Cute, Fast, Gets the job done
August 30, 2001

It's not fair to compare this game to the heavier board games, and I have yet to review [page scan/se=0027/sf=category/fi=stockall.asc/ml=20]Bohnanza, Caesar & Cleopatra, and Hera and Zeus.

However, I like Money!. It plays very fast, which makes it an excellent filler around a board game if you have a lunch hour to game at work--or as a warm up into a gaming session if you're waiting for more players, or for people to add to the end of a board game while the game beside them is wrapping up. Cards are durable, the tiebreak by serial number is a nice touch, and it works very well for 3-4 players. It's also approachable by a wide age range, and carries in your pocket. Good stuff!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Spiel des Jahre material? Hardly...
June 28, 1999

Money! is one of the more recent designs by the prolific Dr. Reiner Knizia. Like many of his games, it involves a series of auctions. Here, the players are trying to collect sets of currency cards from around the world. Players use their small initial hand of money cards to bid on additional sets put up for auction. As their holdings increase, they try to corner the market on certain currencies, since there is a bonus for having blocks of the same currency type.

Money! was one the 1999 nominees for the German Game of the Year award, which usually indicates a wonderful design. Unfortunately, Money! suffers from too large a degree of randomness in the draw of the cards. While a nice diversion, it is just not up to the standards of other Knizia games that should have been nominated, such as Samurai and Ra. As a matter of fact, Money could be perceived as Ra Lite, and is definitely not up to the lofty standard of that game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Very VERY light
February 18, 2001

I just barely don't mind playing this, but I find it is too light to be worthy of even getting 3 stars. The pros and cons and well covered in the reviews below. I will just say that the cards are gorgeous and the game is very bland.

(Despite giving it a 2, I am willing to play it--which usually means an automatic 3--but I can't give this game a 3... I gave Vinci a 3 for crying out loud.)

Not recommended for families. You'll fall asleep. =) Well, maybe not--the game is so short, you don't have time to fall asleep. At least you could paste the cards to a board and have a neat looking poster....

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Disappointing
August 26, 1999

Usually a game by Reiner Knizia means an interesting and fun game that can be played in a reasonable amount of time. After a few plays our group lost interest in this game and we haven't wanted to play it since. The game seems to rely a bit to much on luck and randomness, as it was never quite clear to us on why or how someone won.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Money:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.