My Account
0
cart
Your cart is currently empty.
Search
 
Shop by Age Shop by Players Kids Family Strategy Card Party Puzzles Toys Extras
Funagain Frank's Adventures Ashland, Oregon Eugene, Oregon Free shipping at $80! Facebook
 
 
 
 
ASHLAND
oregon
 
 
EUGENE
oregon
 
 
FREE
SHIPPING
AT $80!
 
 
Axis & Allies: Europe 1940

Axis & Allies: Europe 1940

Second Edition


List Price: $90.00
Your Price: $71.00
(21% savings!)
(Worth 7,100 Funagain Points!)

This item is temporarily out of stock []. You can still add the item to your cart and we will ship it to you as soon as it becomes available!

Quantity:

Ages Players
12+ 2-4

Designer(s): Larry Harris

Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Avalon Hill

Please Login to use shopping lists.

  • Please note that due to manufacturer restrictions, we are unable to ship HASBRO products outside the United States.

Product Description

Includes new Italian Miniatures as well as new mechanized infantry, transport, and anti-aircraft artillery pieces.

Axis & Allies Europe 1940 can be combined with Pacific 1940, to create the greatest Axis & Allies experience to date!

Same great game as the last version of Europe 1940, including the extra large 35"x 32" game board for greater play experience.

Both game boards unite to create a massive 70" x32" playing field that will let you experience the full scale of World War II global conflict.

Zoom In Cover Image: Axis & Allies: Europe 1940
Close Zoomed Image aAxis & Allies: Europe 1940b
Cover

Product Information

  • Designer(s): Larry Harris

  • Manufacturer(s): Hasbro, Avalon Hill

  • Year: 2012

  • Players: 2 - 4

  • Ages: 12 and up

  • Weight: 3,145 grams

  • Language Requirements: This is a domestic item.

Contents:

  • 1 rulebook
  • 1 game board
  • 5 national storage boxes
  • 1 research & development chart
  • 1 battle & casualty strip
  • 100 national control markers
  • 16 navy base markers
  • 14 air base markers
  • 22 industrial complex markers
  • 80 chips
  • 6 dice
  • 610 plastic miniatures
You might be interested in these related products as well:
Axis & Allies 1914 (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $99.00 $79.99 (19% savings!)
Axis & Allies: 1942
2nd edition
List: $65.00 $51.99 (20% savings!)

Axis & Allies: 1941
boardgame (Temporarily Out of Stock)
List: $30.00 $23.99 (20% savings!)

Product Reviews

 
 
 
 
 

Average Rating: 4.2 in 23 reviews

Sort reviews by:

 
 
 
 
 
by Ryan
Air Superiority Rules
May 21, 2008

I fully agree with Russia being vulnerable to Da Blitzkrieg (fast attack). To counter this I added my own Air Superiority Rules that makes Germany have to finance a Luftwaffe and AA guns to defend against Britain. Basically air unit can’t be attacked by ground units and get strafing and bombing runs (1 per plane per turn) and damage is distributed between infantry and tanks, AA guns attack fighters at 2 and bombers at 1, AA guns get to attack first, fighters may move to defend adjacent areas, as long as their own area is not under attack. This is the basic idea there are some more ‘rules’ that really evens it up a bit. But A&A is a blast and makes for a great time with friends.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
My favourite board game!
April 17, 2004

I have little experience with comparing games, but I certainly consider this game to be magnificent. I don't like to criticise things like board games because I decide what I like and no one else chooses for me. So what if the history is a little off(if so). The game and it's pieces are beautiful and I find the game to be very fair.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Excellent
November 01, 2003

This game is excellent, it by far exceeds the original. iwould just like to say that me and my group began to lose interest in the game at one point but we added Italy to the game by giving them most of what they had in ww2 plus alittle of germanys territory, and sued japans units from world as italys, and split germanys money accordingly with italy, it made it much funner and more challenging

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jeff
Incredible
July 05, 2003

This game was incredible! The new units and rules make this a great addition to the original. Tons of new strategies. Subs are a lot more powerful due to the submerging rule and destroyers take the level of play up to a whole new level. Artillery is a great Addition to the land units, I tend to purchase a lot of these in a game as they increase infantry's attack value, a big bonus in any engagement. The British and German battleships are not the same as Blackhawk said but are fairly different. Areas are individually named as in the original all of France is just named Western Europe. Germany is a lot more powerful and can hold their own for many turns. With Germany you should strike fast, defensive play will lose the game. Place your casha dvance in an area to help your original units attack the middle east and take it over. Make Russia have to buy for two seperate battles as you are paying for three. Keep up the assult on their rear and try to capture Stalingrad, then place your units out of there and Russia is out of it. Also if you are playing againts a person that when he knows he is losing buys a lot of men and puts them in his capitol(I have played many who do this), they are just prolonging the inevetable, put a seige on them by taking over the surrounding areas and build up your force for the big strike. Awesome game and a best buy.

5 Stars. Jeff

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Better than the original!
July 04, 2003

This game was awesome. I have the original myself and think the Europe one exceeds it. The units are incredible detailed and destroyers and artillery add more strategies. THis game makes naval units more important to success for both sides, Germany capturing the convoys and the allies taking them back. Subs are also a lot mor useful especially to the Germans were as in the original they are almost useless. The idea of putting units in different sea zone and naming each one allows for German units to be deployed in the Atlantic on the very first turn. Battleships are more powerful because they take two hits to kill instead of one and the new strategic bombing rules allow for escorts and interceptors. Destroys are a great addition to the units because of their abilities in combatance againts Subs and artillery makes men a lot more useful to a fight by allowing infantries attack to become 2. Germany's money also allows them to stand alone in the fight where as in the original they have a fairly low income and are taken over fairly easily once Russia and Britain build up forces after about 3 turns. The allies really need to work as ateam in the Europe one and not alone as int he original. America's large income is countered becaus ethey need to bye transports or aircraft and it take a whole turn to get them to Britain. It takes about 8 turns until you can really see who has the edge. In the first turn it seems like the allies are doomed right away as the convoys are captured and Russian is pounded. After about 5 turns though it starts to even out and the longer the game the less of a chance Germany has of winning. An extrodinary game and a great addition if you have the original, even without the original you should be able to catch on fairly fast and enjoy it as much as I did. 5 Big Stars!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Swell
December 03, 2002

I can see how a game of this sort would put itself into a rut if you play with the same people using the same strategies and having to set up the board the same way every time, but when you switch between groups and play with different people, it really doesn't lose its sense of adventure. You are always having to think on your feet.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Major drawback can be overcome
November 18, 2001

Having owned this game for several months, our play group began to realize that what it all comes down to is the battle to take Moscow, and everything else is jockeying for superior position in that final showdown--very repetitive.

Avalon Hill is testing optional rules that introduce a victory points track a la A&A: Pacific, and we've tried a version we found on the internet--excellent improvement! I'm convinced this game now has a long life ahead of it.

You'll be satisifed with the existing rules for quite a while, but if you're just buying it now, then by the time you find it tedious I expect AH will have published their fix and it'll be new all over again. Great game!

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Scott
more strategies and as playable as the original
July 03, 2001

Axis & Allies: Europe gives both the axis and allies a wide array of strategies to consider. Although it seems like Germany is typically outmatched in a 3 on 1 tag team, der Vaterland has several good options to utilize.

1) Focus on the Middle East with transports and equipment. This causes Russia to have to fight on two fronts. If they stay consolidated in Belorussia, it makes it nearly impossible to dislodge them.

2) Save your money for a turn and purchase a navy in the Baltic. Start transporting equipment to the north and force Russia to again fight on the two fronts.

Either of these two options can give Germany a fighting chance if you purchase bombers and strategically bomb Russia till they can't see straight. Make sure you hit all you can of the British on the first turn and you won't have to worry about them for about 5 turns.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
This is as good as the original.
January 21, 2001

Axis and Allies Europe feels more realistic, in comparison to the first Axis and Allies. The Allies are at an advantage at the beginning of the game, but as the game progresses the advantage can often turn to Germany. I almost felt discouraged at first because it is Germany versus three other countries.

In the first game, the Allies could be independent of themselves and often times the USA just sat gaining money, not doing anything. But in this game all three of the Allies have to work together a lot more.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
The sequel exceeds the original
May 22, 2000

As a huge fan of A&A, I was nervous that A&AE might fail to live up to the original. My anxiety was misplaced. This is a great game! I won't get into the mechanics, as that's covered elsewhere, but here are some general remarks:

The game is very nicely balanced (contrary to some reviews). Germany is outmatched economically, of course, but the overall balance is better than A&A. I initially felt it was unbalanced at first, but subsequent playings have revealed several effective German strategies. I've found this to be a tense game many turns in, with the outcome in doubt even up to the 10th turn. Yes, generally a long game will favor the Allies, but that's historically apropos.

The game is very dynamic. One flaw in A&A is that the game becomes very 'chess-like' in the opening moves--if you fail to make optimal moves the first turn (esp. as Germany), you're sunk. A&AE provides players more early options: Sea Lion or Barbarossa? Operation Torch or D-Day? Germany has several viable options for victory, and the game is overall less formulaic than its predecessor.

The game is fun to play. It's wargaming 'lite', and the great bits, high production quality, and overall ease of play allow you to focus on strategies, tactics, and the flavor of the game rather than the intricacies of the rules. Like A&A before it, it's just plain fun, regardless of the (rather weak) simulation value.

One not-too-serious gripe is that it's so fun to play Germany, I never want to play any other power. The US and UK in particular are quite dull for at least two, and sometimes as many as four turns. In this the game is inferior to A&A, at least for the first couple of turns.

In sum, I think this is an excellent game. The new units (destroyers, artillery), production quality, and overall balance are top-notch. I highly recommend it.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Fantastic addition to the Axis and Allies game system
March 20, 2000

The new Axis & Allies Europe adds a more detailed treatment of the World War II in Europe. Besides adding destroyers and artillery, the map adds a lot of new areas in Europe along with areas for convoys to do battle for. The game retains much of the feel of the original Axis and Allies (both a good strategy and not a little luck are required to win). The game's plastic miniture pieces are in my opinion a huge improvement as compared to the ones included in the original Axis and Allies. Instead of entirely generic game pieces, Russian tanks are T34's, British fighters are Spitfires and so on. I brought this game down to my wargame club and all the guys were so taken by the pieces they started playing with them!

Some of the rules changes to the Axis & Allies system include: bombers now can have fighter escorts on strategic bombing raids, Lend Lease can be accomplished thru the Patriotic war rule: Allied units in Russia can be converted to their Russian counterpart (I like this rule a lot!) It would appear this rule can add a lot to the games strategic options. Submarines can now submerge after being attacked in the first combat round, making them sometimes difficult to destroy. Submarines can't be attacked by aircraft without attacking destroyers present. You aren't allowed to build new factories. When the German player controls convoy zones they deduct income from the allied player who owns that zone. The changes seem to improve the realism and excitement (and it's a lot of fun!) to the game system. Bottom line, if you enjoy the original, buy this game! If you never liked the original, this game won't change your mind.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Artillery, Artillery, Artillery!
March 05, 2000

Oh my God, this game is too much! The feel of the game and the challenge is incredible. Not until the final fall of my dear Moscow did the pressure and suspense let up. The British and Americans both had their own Battleship types. Germany even had the Bismark, so I'm not sure what 'Blackhawk' was talking about when he said everybody had the same Battleships. Fighter escorts accompanied my bombers while over Germany, only to be met with flak from Jim's German AA guns, not to mention his fighter interceptors defending against my allied strategic bombing raid. It was all too cool.

Finally, the land war takes on another feel of reality. ARTILLERY, ARTILLERY, ARTILLERY! Couple them with Infantry and you can launch a beautifully effective poor man's offensive. Throw in tanks and, like Patton, you can push the British and Canadians back into the sea, even if you are the Americans! Speaking of tanks: yes, its true that the British and the Americans both have Shermans but, if I remember correctly, most of the British armor units were equipped with U.S. made Shermans.

Look, this game is great. It looks like war. It tastes like war. It even feels like war. My God don't step in it. Four Stars? No way! Like Ike, this deserves 5 stars.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by AXAE
Amazing
May 12, 2008

The game is fantastic. I don't know anyone who wouldn't want to play this game. I used to be a risk nut before I played this game, that certainly changed. There is just so much more depth to this game than of risk (another quality game). I would never go back because of the availability of different troops which consist of land, air, and sea. This is unlike any game I've played before, and I give it 5 STARS.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by J Quick
Not just a one-nighter...
May 01, 2004

Even I have to admit that many war games like the original Axis and Allies can be quite a burn out, especially in an intense game. Risk I play maybe once a month just because the game goes on for six or seven hours at a time; and the first players to drop out sit around and watch everyone else play for about five hours. But this game doesn't have that 'burn out edge' to it.

In reading some of the reviews on this site, I have seen the occasional line of 'limited strategy' and 'smaller game board'. Those statements in no way reflect this game. In the original A and A, the US could leap across the atlantic and take Germany in two moves; not to mention that Britain was one sea zone...blockading germany's atlantic fleet with little difficulty. The only real criticism about territories being too small would be the US ability to jump over to Africa in two moves. Other than that, the many Russian territories added onto the many smaller german territiories actually make MORE room for maneauverability...not to mention added convoy zones that count as another sea space.

All in all, it's a fantastic game, greatly superior to the original A and A. Even the presenation and art work...along with the individualized game pieces are improved. The middle east along with the convoy zones make another dividend of strategy to the game.

The only reason this game doesn't get a fifth star is because 3 versus one player is very rough. Italy should be a seperate smaller faction with Germany. I would by a remake to the game if that was the add on.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
After playing this I may break down and buy the revised A&A.
April 27, 2004

Okay, so I'm a stick in the mud. I usually refuse to believe a knock off could be as good as the original (a la Settlers), so I ignored Axis and Allies: Europe for years. I finally bought it at a going out of business sale for a couldn't-say-no price. I am glad I did.

I have always liked the occasional game of Axis and Allies, but unlike many reviewers I haven't played thousands or even hundreds of times. I have owned Axis and Allies since it came out in the 80s. Over the years I have probably played less than two dozen games to completion and had as many unfinished games. The reasons for this are; it lasts a long time; and there is waaaaay too much down-time. However, win or lose I always felt satisfied at the end of the game and looked back on the previous 6-8 hours as fun, even if at the time I was board stiff waiting for the U.S. player to take 15 minutes each turn deciding what to buy. Another reason I played so few games is that you really needed two or five players to have a really good game. Three or four player Axis and Allies was clumsy, although do-able.

Axis and Allies: Europe has taken the basics of the original game, added a few rules and churned out a game superior to the original in most respects. Game play is a couple hours less, turns are quicker leading to less down-time, rules for subs and battleships are better, artillery is a nice addition, and the game excels with either 2 or 3 players (a four player game would leave two powers, U.S. and the U.K., as minor players, but in a three player game those two are combined). I do prefer the tactics and strategy of having the entire world to maneuver as you did in the original game. Having 'edges' really limits strategic options. But that is the main reason it is a quicker game, fewer options = less down-time = quicker game (you can't have it all, ...sigh).

All in all, I am quite pleased with Axis and Allies: Europe. It is a good light war game, superior to the original Axis and Allies in many respects.

As a side note I must commend the new Avalon Hill concerning rules. Rules for all of their games that I have played are concise, well organized, give ample examples, and are generally user friendly. They are setting a new standard for rule books for semi-complex games.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Could be better?
January 29, 2004

Axis and Allies europe is a great game in itself, but there could be some improvements.

-Add Italy as a separate country with it's own IPC's and military.

-Break up the territories into smaller spaces.. this will allow for more realisitic play that would increase game depth.

-Change naval sub rules to allow the battle of the Atlantic to last more than one round.

-Allow for neutral countries.

These are just a few game changes I would make to improve the depth and playability.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Great game - but the map is too small
October 30, 2001

I really like the pieces that come with this game. I am a fanatic of Axis & Allies (A&A) and have 4 sets of regular A&A men and will probably try to get more sets of the A&A: Europe pieces. I have a tribute site to A&A on the web.

However I am not an expert in A&A: Europe. I've played it a few times and like the way it plays. Germany does have a good chance of winning. But, like the original, it becomes a race against the US buildup of its invasion forces.

New rules are good. Submarines are useful to Germany now--the UBoats in the Atlantic behave the way they should (and did with the very first A&A rules by NOVA). Destroyers, Convoy rules, and Artillery add a great deal to the game.

The mideast rules are an extra economic component that isn't really needed in the game. If it was regular UK territory or if it was treated like the convoy boxes, i.e. denied income to UK if under Axis control, then they would work better.

The map could be three times bigger and geography could be added, too. Can Tanks go over the Alps?

With the buildup of forces on the Eastern Front, the territories tend to get crowded before any big battles.

All in all a great game--4 out of 5. I would like to have given it a 5, but I just want more.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Jeff
Great game but flawed...
May 18, 2000

Axis and Allies: Europe is an incredible game and one that definitely hit its mark of being on the same level of excellence as the original Axis and Allies.

The pieces are fantastic and are thrilling to play with! The new rules that they utilized are also fantastic, and make submarines much more powerful. This version of the game truly adds a great deal to the realism and mirrors the factual outcome of the war much more closely than the basic Axis and Allies game.

However, A&A Europe has one major flaw, which is that the game seems to be stacked against Germany from the begining of the game. At first Germany is very strong, but if Germany does not have a tremendous amount of luck on his side and does not conquer Russia early, then the game falls into a very predictable German decline to ultimate ruin. The US is far too strong economically and quickly (too quickly in fact) overcomes the German defenses.

This problem can be easily corrected by making a few minor adjustments in the game such as allowing the German subs to have a first strike regardless of enemy destroyers, or by eliminating the initial $12 bonus that the Allies have at the start of the game. There are many other ways to balance play, and it will make the game much more enjoyable.

In summary, if you are a fan of the original Axis and Allies, then this game is a must. If you are new to Axis and Allies then I would also highly recommend this game as the unbalanced play is not a major factor considering the high quality components and the great flexibility that this game has.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
An excellent improvement in an old classic!
March 04, 2000

I picked it up the day it came in the store, and opened it right away. I was first impressed by the quality of the game. The pieces are fantastic, each being patterned after actual WWII units. Not all countries' units are depicted, however--the British tanks are also Shermans, all the allied artillery are the same, and the battleships for the Axis and US are the same as are the Russian and British. But the others are great! I love the fact that the T-34's can once again try to hold off the Panzer Brigades, and a black cloud of Stukas can carpet Stalingrad. The addition of more spaces to occupy and divide up the economic war greatly increases Germany's ability to win the game, without any alterations to the rules of the game. The convoys of the Atlantic add a whole new dimension to the war in the Atlantic--and with the addition of the destroyers, taking on the enemy subs is a new game. This is well worth the money, and I recommend it highly to those that like A&A original. I cannot wait for the Pacific Version of the game.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Todd
Old strategies had to be rethought
January 02, 2014
My brothers and I have played Axis and Allies for many years. I saw this version recently and pick it up. The new units and territories certainly did throw us a curve as some old strategies had to be rethought. We played on new years day and it really was quite unbelievable. Russia played two turns then fell to Germany. Horrible dice rolls had a big part to play in it but it left the rest of the allies feeling hopeless. All they could do is sit and watch. How it is that on a 'seemly bad' day the game can be decided in just two rounds and there is nothing the allies can do? I gave it three stars for the new units and territories. I hope future games proved to be more play worthy.
 
 
 
 
 
Needs more balance.
February 18, 2008

This game is far too one sided for the German player. I've found that any half way competent player can dominate as Germany. All that player needs to do is build tanks every turn. Russia is too weak to hold off this kind of strategy unless the German player has nothing but horrific die rolls. The U.S. and Britain are far too weak to help the Russians very much. Aside from the playability issue, I love the maps and playing pieces. This is a high quality game, but just needs some tweaking of the rules to improve the balance.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
Disappointing
January 10, 2003

Although my skill in Axis and Allies is far from superior, I have a couple of buddies who are great at it. My biggest gripe about this game, (and reason I give it two stars) is that Russia is too easily defeated right away. Anyone playing Germany now, can take Russia(or make them forfeit) within three turns (assuming no horrible roles on Germany's part). With Germany being allowed to go first, it allows too many of Russias forces to be depleted far to soon, unlike in the original Russia went first giving a much better, back off/push up ability to better hold their lines and wait for some help on the other fronts. We've all but stopped playing this Theater now, because we've figured out how to take Russia far too quickly with absolutely No ability for the U.S. to help. If you have better suggestions on how to hold Russia better, I'd love to hear them to hopefully make this game fun once again.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.
 
 
 
 
 
by Ben
Don't buy
January 20, 2008

It's impossible to beat Germany. U.S. and Britain can't do anything to help Russia so Germany wipes them out easily every time, unless the German player sucks then you might have a chance.

Note: this review refers to a different release of this product.

Other Resources for Axis & Allies: Europe 1940:

Board Game Geek is an incredible compilation of information about board and card games with many descriptions, photographs, reviews, session reports, and other commentary.